Fairfax Station, VA 
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 261ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Red Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Winter at Burke Lake

5+    12/18/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: thanxmikey
Played: 55  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind this round was played with 3 inches of snow on the ground. The tees boxes were not slippy at all. They are made of that coarse concrete that has a slight roughness to it. This helped with traction alot and although I could not use as much leg action in my throw it was close considering the conditions.

There were only two other groups of golfers so we had the whole course practically to ourselves.

The snow made it easy to find discs. The last few times we played here the leaves got thick so this was a nice treat.

Course in good shape.

Bathrooms are open in main house before hole # 1.
Cons: A lot of hikers on trails but not enough to impact throws.
Other Thoughts: I was elated to be out playing a game of golf on a brisk december day. temp was about 31 but no wind and a very nice day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Been Awhile.

5+    11/30/2008   11/30/2010
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's been awhile since I played this course so if there is a new layout I haven't seen it. This was always a fun course to play. My wife (fiance) at the time lived close by to this course and it was always a great place to go play a round before I went to work. This course is slightly short but this doesn't mean it is by any means easy. The holes for the most part are densely wooded which forces you to be accurate instead of just having huge throws. Great flowing layout very easy to follow and navigate the course. I tended to play early in the morning and during weekdays and the crowds were rarely a factor. The length of this course made it great to play a quick round if you are in the area.
Cons: I do remember one weekend when I was trying to play and spent 10 minutes waiting for a family who's child had wandered away from the carousel. I really did not want to shot while the child was there but they were in no hurry to get off the fairway. During the fall months the leaves on the ground can be brutal for finding a disc that you know is sitting in the middle of the fairway
Other Thoughts: Sometimes they do try to charge you if there is a guard at the guard house and you do not have a local ID. I would usually give them my fiance's (wife now) address and just tell them I had not gotten ID changed they never really questioned me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mini amusement park

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 229  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the best part is the amenities: vending machines, restrooms, mini golf, ice cream parlor, Carousel, train rides, playground, etc.
Beautiful new tee signs that have a screw to mark basket location.
Concrete tee pads.
excellent place to introduce the sport.
Good Discatcher baskets
Cons: $8.00to get into the park
Holes are really short, 1/3 of the course is under 200 feet. Average hole is 217 feet. Longest hole is 293, so Drivers are not needed.
Course is crowded, pedestrians are often in dangerous areas and walk very close to baskets.
Other Thoughts: Course looks like it is a very family friendly place and disc golf is a side attraction. This course would be a place to bring the family and you can sneak away for 45 minutes to play and get back to your family, or introduce them to the sport here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 my local spot

5+    9/14/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kennykaka
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: New hole placements! This has made for some significant change in course play. Maps are very nice.
Cons: soda machines are constantly only take change. people/families strolling threw the course, there is a sign that warns them but they don't care. I just don't pay attention to them either. People get offended I don't understand!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 Concrete t-pads for every hole
- Baskets are in good shape (especially since its such an old course)
- Lots of amenities, great place to take a family for the day.
- Nice mix of shots, very forgiving layout makes for a casual low stress round
- Very difficult to lose a disc
- Holes are easy to find and have VERY nice new signs that show both t-pads and all pin placements
- mostly wooded keeps it cool during hot days, as well as a nice lake breeze
Cons: - Can be extremely crowded and unsafe, I think i heard "FOUR" yelled 5 or so times today haha.
- Might be too easy / short for some
- Some of the holes cross over other holes, so you have to keep an eye out for other players alot.
- No place to practice putting
- costs 8$ a car to enter the park on weekends / summer
Other Thoughts: I played 2 rounds today, the first one was really quick with noone in the way. The second round was much the opposite, lots of large groups and discs flying over other fairways and regular park goers walkin dogs down fairways and things about doubled the amount of time it took to play.

I was considering giving this course a 4, its close, but some of the layout decisions and safety issues are kinda a big deal. The pro t-pads are great even though few people use them. I really appreciated the extra work taken to put them in.

The course is VERY beginner friendly, short holes, not alot of places to lose discs at, very forgiving. The signs are absolutely awesome, very nicely done and informative. I really enjoyd being able to work on my mid range throws alot at this course.

I would definitely play this course again, but I wouldn't pay 8$ to do it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great for casual player

1    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: dbertrand
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As a casual player, this course is perfect for me. Holes are generally short and wooded, so accuracy is more important than length. New signs at every tee box with hole map & length are welcome addition. Also added some new hole placements.
Cons: Some holes are close to well used trail, so watch your errant throws. Also get the occasional oblivious park user wandering through.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  First & Favorite (So Far)

5+    7/29/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: TidBitWitIt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are all types of holes on this course, open and closed, long and short, blind and obvious. It's a beautiful cluster of fun.

You'll often see pro's out and about because of how fun this course is and how inconsistently difficult it can be.
Cons: During certain times of the year, some hole locations can get a little peculiar and ridonkulous --- as far as how deep in the woods they are.

Families sometimes obliviously walk through the course - on weekends mainly - that walk aimlessly and slowly, but yet, amazingly, straight down the middle of the fairway, staring at the people in front of them with strange plastic saucers in their hands.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, it's ace-able at times, it's perplexing at times, and yet it's almost always fair while playing all par 3's (except #15 when they reposition the hole mad deep in the woods). Conclusion, it's tough to just play one round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Family & Beginner Course

1    7/3/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Burke Lake Park is a large, well-maintained park in Fairfax county. The park is fairly easy to get to, there is good signage directing players to the section of the park where the DG course is located, and the course itself is in decent shape.

The course itself is a short, wooded, and fairly technical. In terms of the course layout, there are a good mix of left-to-right and right-to-left doglegs. Although short, the layout should provide a good challenge and learning experience for new players and a nice place for more well-seasoned players to practice their short-mid range.

Burke Lake Park features two concrete tee pads per hole on most holes. For the most part, both the concrete tee pads and the DISCatcher baskets appear to be in great shape.

Most holes had useful tee signs* that included distance, intended flight path*, and par (* see cons).
Cons: Safety is something that concerned me during my round at Burke Lake. The course is located in a multi-use park and in close proximity to bike paths, playgrounds, and a miniature train. Bystanders pass through the course frequently and have no idea that they're in the middle of a fairway (which is a great opportunity to educate them about disc golf). Additional safety concerns include some layout issues involving the close proximity of tees to baskets and the location of tees to one another*. This sets up some degree of confusion and danger.

Though wooded, the challenge factor at this course is somewhat diminished due to the short fairways* which average 217 feet (* see other thoughts).

While tee signs are always a nice amenity, on several of the holes some of the tee signs were missing while others had inaccurate pin placements depicted. There are several open holes located across a street in the park that are difficult to locate. I had to have a few locals point me in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: This is an older course. Some issues that had been identified with regard to hole length and layout were probably not an issue when the course was first developed as disc technology wasn't as refined as it is now. This had to be taken into consideration when rating and reviewing this course.

The par values shown for each tee appear to be beginner values. While I didn't allow this to impact my rating, each hole should likely be a par 3 across the board regardless of skill level.

All things considered, Burke Lake Park is a quick play and is pretty fun. There aren't too many courses in this area of northern VA so if you have an itch to play some DG, Burke Lake Park isn't a bad option.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Starter

1    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Gmasterandy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its a good starter course nice and wooded loved it that way great area for a family outing lots of stuff to do for families...not very changeling but has a few good holes
Cons: some of the pro teas are not very well marked but kinda figured it out as we went along...think there is to many people that just walk onto the course without starting from the beginning since the baskets are so close together so not a good idea to hit someone while they play the course when they just randomly walk and play any holes they want
Other Thoughts: there should be a box for score cards with the map on it at number 1 tea box or as u walk onto the course at 1

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 burke lake

5+    5/13/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: superphreak169
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good starter course with a few technical holes from the long tee's. The park is well maintained they just mowed the fields again. There are only a few trash cans speckled trough out the course but people seem to be pretty good about keeping the park clean
Cons: lots and lots of people, you will have to wait on the tees for larger groups. watch out for people picking up discs on some of the longer holes when the park is busy if you shot is not on the fairway people seem to think its ok to just pick up your disc and walk away with it
Other Thoughts: fun coarse but get there early to avoid the crowds. watch out for people picking up discs if you can throw. some of the baskets are blind from the tee so if you can get you frisbee down near the basket you are right along the trail. I had a disc stolen by a runner on hole 2 last week.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.