Fairfax Station, VA
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Godd place to learn

1    6/10/1986   6/30/2009
Review By: RevDrDisc
Played: 88  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A well established course that has trees and water hazards and some open grass shots. Well marked and maintained.
Cons: Holes tend to be short. Park gets a lot of use. Sometimes takes a while to get parking.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good but Crowded

5+    5/28/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Lumberg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, new white tees added as of May 2009 to change up an old course, well maintained, free entrance with VA plates, lake scenery, trees that add challenge, close to home for me, good for beginners
Cons: fairly short course, takes longer on weekends, very popular for NOVA residents and crowded - families walk from carousel to lake right in your way and are clueless
Other Thoughts: where i grew up and learned to play...nice classic course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

5+    9/12/2008   4/12/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty setting by a lake. A few really nice tight shots like #3, #7, #14, #15 and #17. #18 is a nice closing hole. Some interesting technical holes like #13 and #16. Lots of other attractions in the park like boating, fishing, golf (and putt putt), attractions for kids like the mini-railroad and merry-go-round.
Cons: Course has been overtaken by advances in disc technology. Remember, it was installed in 1979.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played so it will always have a special place in my heart. I think I may have played over a 1000 rounds there, most of them from '83 - 89. Started with Super Pros until I saw Whamo 86's on sale in Bradlees. Back then disc technology hadn't advance to where it is today so it was pretty challenging. The course has been tweaked and lengthened over the years to add diificulty where at all possible. I think it's been stretched as much as possible, it'll take some more real estate (which is hard to come by) to stretch it any more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate relationship

1    4/4/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent New Signs were recently added. This course has now had all new baskets, newly cemented "pro tees" and new signs added over the last 2 years. This shows how much the park management has committed to the sport, and I certainly appreciate it! Kudos also go out to the Rotary Club who sponsored the new signs and pro tee cementing project.

This is my home course. and I've played it hundreds of times in all kinds of conditions. The course features 2-3 alternate basket placements, and concrete tees, with alternate dirt Pro tees (rumored to be concreted soon) on most holes.

Hole by Hole:

1. This hole is a short clear shot with the basket usually hidden behind some trees on the right, this hole favors a forehand throw.

Hole 2: A short downhill throw, on a quartz outcropping- be careful of discs coming from tee offs from hole 1, as many go near the tee box. The hole has two basic paths, both on backhand throws.

Hole 3: A fairly long hole, with some trees in the fairway, and a path along the left side of the fairway. Hole doesn't favore any particular type of throwing style, I've seen people do forehand, backhand and tomahawk with success.

Hole 4: A very short "Ace" hole.

Hole 5: A short down hill hole with a Mando tree. The hole pretty much makes you throw backhand around the mando, but I have developed a floppy forehand throw that works as well.

Hole 6: A medium uphill shot, with the basket bracketed by some trees.

Hole 7: A longish (par 4 if you play marked) hole with a nasty set of trees close to the tee box that seem to eat up alot of tee offs. The hole is infamous for it's proximity to the Carousel, so be aware of the music :).

Hole 8: (Par 4) Is a nice downhill hole, that bears right. I like to use a nice forehand flick on this hole.

Hole 9: (Par 4) Located across the street from 7, this is a longer uphill shot, with a power pole in the middle, that seems to get hit all the time. I've seen some players use a roller on this one.

Hole 10: This is a short downhill throw, with a nasty "Charlie Brown" tree guarding it.

Hole 11: (Par 4) is a long downhill shot with a nice clear meadow then thin woods. This is a good hole to let loose on.

Hole 12 Back across the road, this is a short uphill hole which bears right, definately is one to use your forehand on.

Hole 13: A very sharp downhill right throw, one you must be able to throw a sharp forehand, or a backhand with a ton of hizer.

Hole 14: (Par4) This is one of my favorite holes, it's long, with a slight slope to the left, which can kick your disc back to the woods on the right.

Hole 15: The toughes hole on the course, it's short- only 156 feet, but the hole is on top of a hill, and the fairway is a sharp dogleg to the left.

Hole 16: (Par 4) This hole features a mando to the right, and is one that can be challenging for backhand throwers.

Hole 17 (Par4) I call this one the "Cathedral" because of the way trees line this very straight fairway,

Hole 18: (Par4) Finally, this hole is a long one, that has a fairway through a dry creekbed, Errant throws can get stuck in a marshy area, so be careful!`
Cons: Traffic...lots of foot traffic through Hole 1, 2 and 6. I've had to chase a few people off the fairways by reminding them that they're walking on a golf course. Another thing- there's a lot of young kids who like to play in large groups, and smoke weed/drink while playing. Nothing wrong with that, but it can be very distracting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Burke Lake

1    12/5/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park and decent baskets. Most shots are form a concrete slab.
Cons: Too easy, and the holes are not easily marked. We couldn't even find Hole 18.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth your time. It's fun and relaxing. Personally I believe if a course is to be easy, it needs to be laid out better, like Dunncroft-Castle Point Park. This course is minimally challenging, with no risky shots. I'd play it again, but I'm glad I live in Richmond where there are more challenging courses.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wish I saved my money

1    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful park.
Cons: The course is all dirt, no grass. The holes are very close together and there is a good chance of discs comming from other holes onto yours. The course is very poorly marked, most of the signs point in the wrong direction and the rest of them are missing. The course is set in a very crowded park and none of the other park visitors care that you are playing. I couldn't even finish one round due to people just wandering about the middle of the fairways and children climbing on the baskets. I gave this course 0 discs because the scale doesn't go into the negatives!
Other Thoughts: It costs $8 to enter the park if you're not a fairfax county resident. This cost is well worth it if you want to spend the day at the park with your family. Perhaps you can go for a ride on the little train, or have an ice cream by the lake. Save your money if you want to play 18 holes, IT'S NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!!

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course

5+    9/17/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: heyraffaello
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely my favorite course in the area. A good mix of terrain from woods, to open, to fairways covered in a large quartz formation (Hole 2) that stops discs cold if they get low (and it's a downhill course). Exceptionally well maintained, and heavily used so there are plenty of obstacles, but none you will lose a disc in.
Cons: Course is short, but when played as all Par-3 holes, and from the long tees, it can be challenging. On weekends, course gets crowded with families and beginner players, but that is not nearly the problem that angry soccer moms walking their kids down the fairways pose.
Other Thoughts: Very nice and interesting park. There is a carousel, ice cream parlor, and mini train for kids, a mini golf course, boating, and picnic areas. While I have never used any of the other activities at the park, they all appear to be well staffed and taken care of.

There is an $8.00 parking fee per car for non-county residents during the summer and on all weekends and holidays. I have been told that since Fairfax County has abolished property tax stickers for cars, you can remove your county sticker (with VA plates) and get waved through the gate. Haven't needed to try it, but I've heard it works.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/2/2008   8/2/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty setting. Nice park - during summer months there is a full-size carousel, a mile-long train ride, and an ice cream parlor for the spouse and kids. The lake is lovely and there are walking trails all over the place.

The course is well-maintained. If a tree falls in the woods, it's cut up and gone in a matter of days. The grass on the course's three open holes is mowed regularly.

The holes are creatively laid out, and they make effective use of the terrain. There are several nicely placed mandos as well.

You will have occasion to use just about every type of shot you've got in your bag. I throw flicks, backhands, thumbers, hyzers, anhyzers, and floaters off of different tees on the course. A nice variety of shots.

Regular league action. Doubles events happen weekly.

The course is perfect for adult beginners.
Cons: At times, there is a large amount of traffic on the course.

It's shorter than most good courses.

Honestly, it's hard to find much to complain about other than that.
Other Thoughts: Since the course is well-used, Fairfax County must be doing something right. There are better courses in the area, but it's clearly the "everyman's favorite" over nearby Giles Run, which is a better course by a long shot.

George Mason University is just up the road. There are often college students running in the park - many of them are fun to look at.

There isn't much in the way of food in the immediate area, however I did find quite a gem hidden just up the road, George's Steak and Things. George's is located at 5624 Ox Rd (aka Rte 123). It's tucked in a little plaza that is inexplicably set pretty far back off the road. The plaza is about a mile north of the park on the west side of Rte 123. The place has really good regular cheesesteaks and a PHENOMENAL cajun cheesesteak. The fries are really good, too. My buddies and I spend a lot of evenings there during the NBA playoffs because the owner is always watching the game on TV.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

6/16/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: Snaps017
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Creative hole set up. Several holes for good arms and longer drives, other more finesse. Wooded course which gives good shade in the summer and adds to the experience. Course is in Burke Lake Park which is a nice regional park, several of the holes border the lake next to a walking path. The park provides a good atmosphere for playing. Course is also well kept and signs at almost every tee.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the "easier" courses I've played, but still enjoyable. I would recommend this course to some one new to the game or people who just need practice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/8/2007   10/8/2007
Review By: lotsill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a nice established course. With tight but reasonable farways.
Cons: Playing on the weekend in Spring and Summer. Families walking threw the course. Picning on holes 9, 10 and 11.
Other Thoughts: A few families come out on weekends and pace of play slows down. Watch out for people walking down the fairways on the holes 1-6, 7, 18

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.