Fairfax Station, VA 
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Great Local Course

5+    9/17/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: heyraffaello
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely my favorite course in the area. A good mix of terrain from woods, to open, to fairways covered in a large quartz formation (Hole 2) that stops discs cold if they get low (and it's a downhill course). Exceptionally well maintained, and heavily used so there are plenty of obstacles, but none you will lose a disc in.
Cons: Course is short, but when played as all Par-3 holes, and from the long tees, it can be challenging. On weekends, course gets crowded with families and beginner players, but that is not nearly the problem that angry soccer moms walking their kids down the fairways pose.
Other Thoughts: Very nice and interesting park. There is a carousel, ice cream parlor, and mini train for kids, a mini golf course, boating, and picnic areas. While I have never used any of the other activities at the park, they all appear to be well staffed and taken care of.

There is an $8.00 parking fee per car for non-county residents during the summer and on all weekends and holidays. I have been told that since Fairfax County has abolished property tax stickers for cars, you can remove your county sticker (with VA plates) and get waved through the gate. Haven't needed to try it, but I've heard it works.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/2/2008   8/2/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty setting. Nice park - during summer months there is a full-size carousel, a mile-long train ride, and an ice cream parlor for the spouse and kids. The lake is lovely and there are walking trails all over the place.

The course is well-maintained. If a tree falls in the woods, it's cut up and gone in a matter of days. The grass on the course's three open holes is mowed regularly.

The holes are creatively laid out, and they make effective use of the terrain. There are several nicely placed mandos as well.

You will have occasion to use just about every type of shot you've got in your bag. I throw flicks, backhands, thumbers, hyzers, anhyzers, and floaters off of different tees on the course. A nice variety of shots.

Regular league action. Doubles events happen weekly.

The course is perfect for adult beginners.
Cons: At times, there is a large amount of traffic on the course.

It's shorter than most good courses.

Honestly, it's hard to find much to complain about other than that.
Other Thoughts: Since the course is well-used, Fairfax County must be doing something right. There are better courses in the area, but it's clearly the "everyman's favorite" over nearby Giles Run, which is a better course by a long shot.

George Mason University is just up the road. There are often college students running in the park - many of them are fun to look at.

There isn't much in the way of food in the immediate area, however I did find quite a gem hidden just up the road, George's Steak and Things. George's is located at 5624 Ox Rd (aka Rte 123). It's tucked in a little plaza that is inexplicably set pretty far back off the road. The plaza is about a mile north of the park on the west side of Rte 123. The place has really good regular cheesesteaks and a PHENOMENAL cajun cheesesteak. The fries are really good, too. My buddies and I spend a lot of evenings there during the NBA playoffs because the owner is always watching the game on TV.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

6/16/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: Snaps017
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Creative hole set up. Several holes for good arms and longer drives, other more finesse. Wooded course which gives good shade in the summer and adds to the experience. Course is in Burke Lake Park which is a nice regional park, several of the holes border the lake next to a walking path. The park provides a good atmosphere for playing. Course is also well kept and signs at almost every tee.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the "easier" courses I've played, but still enjoyable. I would recommend this course to some one new to the game or people who just need practice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/8/2007   10/8/2007
Review By: lotsill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a nice established course. With tight but reasonable farways.
Cons: Playing on the weekend in Spring and Summer. Families walking threw the course. Picning on holes 9, 10 and 11.
Other Thoughts: A few families come out on weekends and pace of play slows down. Watch out for people walking down the fairways on the holes 1-6, 7, 18

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ye Olde NoVa DG Course

2/15/2004   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 14.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signage, upkeep, established woods setting
Other Thoughts: Set in a big, nice park in the outer DC suburbs, Burke Lake is a popular course. Established in 1979, this course is also one of the oldest in the state. Well maintained, with good signs and teepads, playing within sight of a beautiful lake, and surrounded by many cool amenities, Burke Lake has much to offer the area's recreational players.

The course is fairly short, however, and laid out in a smaller space than most of the other courses I've played. Several holes were less than 200' and only a couple were longer than 250'. All but two or three holes play in the woods, and trees are nearby on those also. But the fairways are well defined and reasonable and other than big open drives or water challenges, I did use most of my skills on this course - left, right, tight approaches, uphill, downhill, and a couple of fairways worthy of the long range driver.

Like one of my home courses here in Richmond, if you can combine the touch and finesse needed at Burke Lake with the drives needed at some of the nearby Maryland courses, then you will truly have a complete disc golf game.

Favorite Hole - #11 - A mostly open hole, longer than most on the course, with a straight, gradual downhill slope.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.