Gilbertsville, PA 
New Hanover Community Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 125ft.   3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Terrible

1    6/1/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Crooow
Played: 187  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 29.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are okay. First couple of holes are okay.
Cons: Tee pads are useless - better to have natural tees then these little blocks. Heavy shule off most "fairways" - several holes were very hard to even know which direction you should be throwing. Lots of poison ivy everywhere. Ridiculously narrow fairways on many holes. Basket 9 is literally in the weeds with tall weeds growing up through the basket.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 was fine - a 295-footer down a small gully where the hillside lets your errant throws roll right down to the basket. I thought "why is this course so maligned?". Then I played the rest of it. Ridiculously narrow fairways with nastiness off both sides. The only other long hole is #7 which "winds" through the woods - yeah it's about a 5 foot fairway that makes 3 turns as it snakes out its 328 feet. Unless you can throw a pineapple like Moe Howard, you have no chance to have any fun on this hole. One of the tees was completely surrounded by 3 foot weeds and woods and we had no idea which direction to throw. We found the short tee and used it instead. Hole #8 or #9 just has a solid wall of vegetation in front of the short tee. One of those courses where I wanted to walk off halfway through (and on every hole after that) but was convinced to persevere - it wasn't worth it. A real waste of decent baskets.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Stand and Deliver

1    3/27/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 79  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: A list of pros and cons for this course would be pretty one sided. In stead, I'm just going to tell you what you're going to get here.

The "Concrete tee pads" are big enough to put both of your feet on... At the same time!! No, really, they are, I swear. Seriously though, who needs a run-up when you're throwing 115'? Ok, from the "Advanced" tee the longest throw is actually 328' but other than perhaps that one, you're only throwing a putter or a mid all day. There are some interesting throws to try to make through the woods here. Even hole 8's 115' throw is kindof cool, you have to put it through a tiny window in the trees about half way to the basket but if you get through the hole, you're right on target for the ace. I almost put mine in but even the split second it looked good was long enough for me to think, "Oh no, I don't want to get my first ace on a little 115' phony baloney hole!" Or is it just gimmicky having to thread the needle on such a short throw? The rest of the holes aren't quite that short nor as tight. You're basically throwing along small walking paths in the woods. The rough didn't look too thick, but it's early in the year and things haven't grown in yet. There are a couple of slightly elevated baskets. I guess the OB sign behind one of them is to make the hole more challenging? Like the sign says, "Better luck next time." Did I mention 2 tee squares on almost every hole? If you feel like you need to throw from the shorter tees though, the tight throwing lanes are probably not going to make you very happy either. In other words, this in not a beginner friendly course in any way.

The whole course seems kinda gimmicky and to be honest, so much so that I'd have a hard time calling this a real course. If I lived in the neighborhood I'd probably come here for a quick practice round once in a while. If you're driving by, add another course to your played list and make a run at a 115' ace, but don't go out of your way to play here. Where else are you going to find a 9 hole course that doesn't have matching baskets? It takes longer to weave your way through the neighborhood streets to get here than it takes to play the 9 holes, and trust me, it's only 9 holes... You're not going to go around a second time to get in a full 18.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Could have been worse...

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: Ashtyn
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: Clean, short, easy course. If you are a novice, like me, you might actually enjoy this course. I found it to be quite a relaxed stroll through the woods without having to worry too much about throwing my arm out just to have a chance at making par.

The holes are all pretty short, the longest being hole #7 I believe and the shortest being hole #8.

Small cement tees are all pretty nice except a few broken ones.
Cons: I was a bit confused my first time playing as to where to go since the signage for the course is either missing, vandalized, or misleading. But once I learned the flow of the course, it wasn't so bad.

I'm glad it was hot out the day I went, because I had to go swimming for a disc on hole #4, watch that one.

Some broken tee pads, missing signs, and over all course maintenance is needed.
Other Thoughts: All be it a pretty decent course for beginners. I may just play here again since it's so close to my home.

 Short and Rough

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 137  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets were all there. Most were Mach IIIs except 7 & 8 were brand new DISCatchers.
-Navigation was pretty straight forward. Most tees were visible from the previous basket and there were 2 tees for almost every hole.
The course played in a circle with hole 10 ending back at the parking lot.
Cons: -No room to air it out at all. Every hole was short and tight.
-Most holes had lines that were nearly impossible to hit or really had no line at all.
-VERY easy to lose a disc. The rough was rough.
-These were literally the shortest tee pads I have ever seen. They were all standstill room only unless you started behind.
-There was no tee for the basket labeled "10" we just played from the picnic table.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not worth going out of your way to play. If you're in the area and in the mood for looking for discs then this is the course for you. Otherwise, there are lots of other great courses in the vicinity.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Never Been So Happy To Finish A Course

2-4    7/17/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 437  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Didn't lose a disc. Never have to play it again.
Cons:
Number-8 was the best hole of the last four - and that's because it was missing.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays on the ever-narrowing paths through the trees/brush along the side of a small neighbourhood park. The first indication the course has some problems are the extremely tiny pair of concrete tee "pads" at #1, continued throughout the course. Long tee-2 backs up into a tree and bushes, so you essentially have to stand and throw without too much back-swing. The simple-but-effective signs begin to worsen at hole-4. Basket-5 is 6' high (hmm, okay for something different, I guess), but inexplicable out-of-bounds just a few feet away.

Hole-6, long, is where things become sadistic Basket is maybe 250' away, at the end of a brush/tree-lined, 8'-wide path. The shape of your shot needs to be straight about 25', 60-degree left-turn, straight about 175', then a mini left-right S-shape at the end. Hole-7 lengthens things by 50', narrows the width by a couple of feet, makes the final 75' be right-then-left, and doubles the thickness of the brush and undergrowth - you will be searching for your drive, and probably your approach, too, 99% of the time on this hole. You're relieved that basket-8 no longer exists, and at least #9, a blind, right-turner, around a 4'-wide path lined with loads of thick brush, is under 200', and also means you're done with the torture!

This course came ever so close to being my first zero, but the first five holes were actually, although short, decent enough - #4, from open into woods, narrow entry, slight left, major slope behind basket, was actually a good hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: cblack129
Played: 49  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are in excellent condition except for #8 which is currently missing. It is a good course for improving your short game. There are 2 tees for each hole. Just about every basket is visible from the tee. Next tees are not far away from basket, almost impossible to get lost.
Cons: Very small concrete tee pads. Some lettering on the tee signs is falling off. Some tee pads are starting to fall apart.
Other Thoughts: There is a hole with a 6 ft. high basket. Adds something different to the course. Disc loss in fall and winter should not be a problem but i'm sure in summer the brush is very thick.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 1 Cinderella amongst 8 Ugly Step-Sisters

1    1/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #4 makes this course worth playing...I call this hole Cinderella. Tight wooded lane between 2 streambeds that then opens to a sloping green that falls sharply into a huge deep creek...the basket is set in a hyzer angle but that hyzer may induce you to miss and roll into the creek. Really fun hole with plenty of challenge on the drive, approach, and putt. I would play that hole a few times if I came back. Hole #5 plays tight as well to a basket which is on a six foot pole...so you have to shoot at eye level...different. Hole #8 is a short shot, 100 ft?, that forces a delicate short approach perfect anhyzer and you got an ace. The other holes mostly play tight and require very controlled drives to score par. The tees are concrete and tiny...but you don't need a run up so relax already. Course definetely rewards controlled and conservative golf. A good place to work on your 100-200 foot accuracy game. 2 tees for each hole. Marked adequately and easy to find way around for most part.
Cons: The course is just 9 holes, It is mostly short, There are no big holes to really unload a drive on. If you find yourself in the rough be prepared to get scratched up a bit and not get a good look. It's even hard to tomahawk out of trouble here..basically impossible if your off the fairways. No elevation really.
Other Thoughts: Funny thing I did. After hole 5 I threw over some bushes a sweet little anhyzer to a basket perched in an opening....I later found out I just safaried to the wrong basket. Was a deuce too..damn! I suppose if you are a local you could play this tight little flat course and then play the nearby little hilly but open 9 holer Earl Township course and call it a well balanced day.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your putter

5+    2/28/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: NateyFresh
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, honestly there arent many pros. Well one pro would be, if your back is hurting and dont wanna lug around your bag, then your in luck. Bring a putter and a midrange and you should be alright.
Cons: Redundant holes, picker bushes everywhere, and some holes are so short you question why you are even throwing. Hole 1, you need to be careful not to sail a disc to the left or you will hit a car if one is park in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Maybe change the pin positions and make real tee pads, and this 9 hole has some potential. It is beginner friendly i suppose.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short and tight 9

2-4    10/29/2005   10/29/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 333  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 30.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 9 baskets
Cons: too short on many holes, hole 8 is about
90 feet...this is stupid. Small cement tee pads.

Other Thoughts: very wooded technical course

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wild and Woody

6/26/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While small and short, it played quite challenging on the first run through. Most of the holes were about 250-350 feet long and played fairly straight forward. Signature hole would easily be number 4, which was flanked on the left side by a stream, and played straight through a narrow tree lined fairway. Hole 8 was also interesting (suggest a hammer or tomahawk) but easy to birdie with a solid drive over some very tall tree obstacles.
Cons: Trees and lots of them. Holes 1 and 3 were mostly open, while the rest played deep tall woods and over growth. This obscured pin placement on a number of holes. Disc loss is moderate and very possible. Tee boxes are unusually small concrete pads, and signage can be misleading.
Other Thoughts: We played after a moderate rain, and the stream lining 4 and 5 was running fast and brown. We actually lost a driver in the muck of it. Lots of tree coverage, so feel free to take a few beers for the course, but remember to take the empties with you and recycle.

All in all, this course offered enough challenge for an advanced player (me) to keep it interesting. I played with 2 novice players who also found it enjoyable, but frustrating at times (tree golf anyone?)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.