Middlebury, CT
Hop Brook DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ehh..

2-4    3/20/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: GratefulDead
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodsy course, beautiful park. Interesting terrain and a challenging course. Fun for practicing. Yellow dots and yellow ribbons on trees help mark trails to next hole in the woods. Red veritcal markers help mark tees, but are NOT on every tee.
Cons: very confusing to navigate, had to study the map a few times to figure it out. couldn't find the basket on hole 3. took an absurd amount of time to find the tee box for hole #4. the basket on hole 8 is knocked over on the ground. The concrete parking blocks that designate where each tee is are very hard to find as they are on the ground, some tee boxes have vertical red signs that say "HBL DGC" on them are they are very helpful, but are not located on each tee box. Kind of a quirky layout, some fairways are very very tight with trees. The park doesn't open till May 17 2014 this spring, so where you have to walk from at the parking lot off of rt. 63 to where the course starts easily can take 15-20 minutes. There is an entrance closer to the course but it is only open during the time the park is open(spring-fall) and there are A LOT of no parking signs by the gate at that entrance, so i would not recommend parking there during the off-season(Bristol St. Extension). Would be pretty bummed to have to pay $4 to park during the season, have as of yet to have to do so. Tee Boxes are just dirt, with plenty of rocks and roots to trip you up. This course could be fun with some TLC.
Other Thoughts: Course starts in the woods behind the bathrooms near the swimming beach and dam. It's OK at best. Challenging course, very wooded. Needs some serious TLC. It's a bummer in a way because it is so close to my house but I would rather drive the 20 minutes to Bristol to play Page Park which is a great course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not so enjoyable

1    6/26/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 413  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 11.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation isn't hard red markers and orange dots on trees
Cons: Fairways were not defined, narrow and long for par 3. Hikes between some of the holes were silly. All holes except 6 and 9 are blind shots with no tee signs to help. Steep hills with minimal walk ways. 4,10,11 narrow mowed fairways in tall grass. Pay to enter park. Speed bumps every hundred feet when driving in, killer. 11 holes?
Other Thoughts: I didn't enjoy this course at all. I lucked out and didn't have to pay but driving over the speed bumps on the way in almost broke my truck. Also make sure you drive in from the west entrance the other would make for a long walk to the course. The course started with a bit of a hike literally to the first tee. I don't mind that but then there were similar hikes to get from hole to hole. Tees were natural and not that flat, marked by a parking lot cement thing. Fairways were way to narrow, long, and under defined for a par 3 course and 11 almost didn't even have one. Most holes play up or down the hills and there aren't good paths so watch your footing it's steep in some spots. Didn't have trouble getting around as it's pretty well marked and if all else fails follow the orange dots on trees. When you finally finish 11 walk straight into the woods cross the creek and take the paved path to the left to get back to the parking lot.

I don't know what happened that they spaced this one like they did or why they only put in 11 holes. Fill the gaps with holes define, and widen the fairways, add some tee signage and add some grades to the paths and this course could become an enjoyable course to play and worth the money you pay to play it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a look

1    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 66  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation and terrain, some fun downhill and uphill shots. Good variety, mostly wooded with a couple open shots. This will test every shot that you have. Lots of signs and markings on trees to guide you from hole to hole, even without map or having played before I had no trouble finding where to go. The trees provide some nice shade and the park is beautiful.

Baskets and tee-pads marked with hole number.
Cons: Only 11 holes

Tight tight tight, on at least three of the holes there was no fairway as far as I could tell and I ended up just throwing it and hoping for the best. The shear number of trees could make this extremely frustrating for beginners.

The terrain was very rough, luckily I had brought hiking boots. This could be pretty strenuous especially during the summer months. There were some long distance in between a few of the holes and it could have flowed better.

The tee-pads were dirt and could be rough

It is pay to play during the summer and a long walk from the winter lot during the winter
Other Thoughts: I got the feeling while playing that they just stuck some baskets in the middle of the woods and called it good. I wouldn't go out of my way to play it but if you are in the area you should check it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.