Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Meh

5+    5/18/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course appears to have made decent use of otherwise empty space, which is good I guess.

-Really good signage with pictures as well as solid, concrete pads.
Cons: -OSU is just a plain course with nothing really to brag about at all. There are really no memorable holes to speak of. They're basically all "throw straight with small curve to the left/ right." Not much more than that.

-The entire course runs very close to the road and parking lot, so if you shank it, you might be hitting a car or person.

-If it's windy, this course gets really, really rough to play. It's not in an enclosed area at all, it's all surrounded by flat parking lots, so the wind gets reallllly bad here. Highly recommend NOT playing this course if it's even slightly windy because your discs will carry and you will be chasing discs all day.

-You have to pay to park in the parking lot. After OSU sold off all their parking rights, the Campus Parc people patrol all lots on campus at all times of the day, and this one is no exception. If you come to play this course, pay the money, like $1.50 per hour (which it's not even remotely worth it) and park. Otherwise, there's a very good chance they'll find you and stick you with a 20 dollar ticket, which is dumb and frustrating.
Other Thoughts: -Really the only reason to play this course is if you're a beginner and want to try the sport out. I believe the Jessie Owens building near the first tee will loan you discs, so if you're a student reading this, ride your bike, walk, take the bus or whatever and try the sport out. It's fun, and this course is a good place to get your first 5-10 rounds in at. However, if you consider yourself to be anything above a novice, don't even bother coming here. The parking situation is annoying and the course, for lack of a better word, just kind of sucks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well manicured, easy practice

5+    5/4/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: Mulligan
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated on the west campus of OSU, and as such is beautifully manicured and well kept. It really can't be overstated how perfectly taken care of this course is. When all the other local courses are loaded with weeds and overgrown, you can go here and have an easier go of it. Multiple benches and trash bins are really nice.
Its generally a simple course, but really pretty, and great for beginners. Nice baskets, gorgeous flowering trees, and easy parking (though, you've got to pay).

Favorite holes are the trio of 5,6,7, the pseudo island shot at 14, 17s uphill hyzer bomb, and 18s very pretty finish to the course
Cons: Most of the course meanders around parking lots and amongst University buildings and near busy campus roads. Follow the paved bike path from 7 to 8 (300yds). 8-13 is painfully boring as you circumnavigate asphalt with mostly straight shots. The woods on 8-9 come into play, but generally are easy to get through if you shank on in there. 10s high grass off to the left must be avoided as its one of the most impossible places to find a disc if you dump one in there.

Concerns over shanking one into parked cars, moving cars, or pedestrians are very real throughout most of the course, especially if its windy cause this course has very little natural wind breaks. Missed opportunity for an over the water shot on #15. 16 is basically a long putt, but within 30-40ft of a bus stop. Sidewalks or walking paths come into play on around half of the holes, when folks aren't just walking across the fairway anyhow.

Can also get really busy, with large groups of friends playing together and holding up the line... The last time I played, there was a group of 3 people (non disc golfers) that decided to just park their car way back in the lot near #8 and use the tee pad for a picnic! WTF?! Who does that?! (Update: This has happened to me a total of 3 times!)

Honestly, I speed play this course several times a week, and the worst are those "serious" disc golfers that feel the need to bring their entire collection out to play here when you could get by with a putter and still get under par. Seeing someone tee off with a Boss (or Groove, lol) from any tee here is just hilarious, but also frustrating and dangerous.
Other Thoughts: You only really need 2-3 discs to play this course (putter and mid/fairway driver is plenty), which is great for working on form or testing out new discs. Unfortunately, there are still those guys who are bringing a full backpack of 20+ discs to this course, and others just don't know about letting people play through, so feel free to jump ahead and skip some holes and come back to them when you loop back around.

Play in off peak hours and during campus lulls for the best results and luck with parking. OSU is moving towards more parking in the outer edges and bussing into main campus, so this area could become extremely busy in the next couple years. As a Buckeye myself, this is my home course, but even I can't give it more than a 2, and thats with 0.5 for the effort.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Best Setting for a Course

1    10/3/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 102  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 2.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Ohio State University plays around massive parking lots through small bits of grassy courtyards. The course starts and ends next to the Jesse Owens Tennis Center and metered parking is provided near Bevis Hall. I parked in the first empty lot that I saw because I was unfamiliar with the campus. I did not get ticketed, though it seems to be advised to park in the dorm lot. The course does a nice job winding back around to where it starts.

Tee pads are nontraditional but are huge and provide more than enough room for a big run-up. Chainstar baskets are in good shape and are easy to spot from the tees.

There is a nice mix of hyzer, anny, and straight shots and the course does a good job of using - though limited - the elevation and trees provided. If contending with O.B. gives you a thrill, you'll really like that aspect about this course. There are a few cool pin positions with 14's island-like green and 8 and 9's tucked-away baskets among trees.

Holes 2, 15, and 18 were the highlights for me as they provided some scenic shots and were the most technical on the course offering a few different lines to choose from off the tee. 15 allows for some potential to get wet if you fade into the pond, though chances of doing so are minimal.

There is good use of navigational aids on the tee signs and with some 'next tee' signs. The course allows for a very quick 18 as the holes are pretty short and straight-forward.
Cons: This is one of the first courses I have played where I believe that a course may be better off not being here. I emphasize the word "may" because it really is great to have a course at a huge college to expose more people to the sport. However, there is a big danger factor here as the course literally plays around parking lots, busy roads, and campus buildings.

The holes often play dangerously close to the parking lots and roads, sometimes even crossing the roads. I played at probably one of the least busy times available and still had some issues with cars (parked and moving) and pedestrians. This is definitely not the usual case of clueless park-goers who are in the way of the course. I feel that this course is in the way of everything else going on.

There are some long walks from hole to hole in order to loop the course around the parking lots. From 7-8 the walk is marked as being 300 yards to the next tee.

Even without all of the busyness around the course, the holes are still below average in my book. The designers used the grassy land that is provided here the best they could, but the topography still doesn't allow for very interesting holes.
Other Thoughts: I tried to be as fair as I could in my review, but combining mostly straight-forward holes with a very dangerous setting makes me feel that this course may be better off not in the ground. With a maximum hole distance of 360 feet, limited chances of losing discs, and straight-forward design, this could be a good course to bring beginners to…just as long as the campus isn't busy! I'd recommend playing here when school is not in session or at dusk.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, terrible parking

2-4    9/9/2014   11/2/2014
Review By: Araskelo
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice beginner friendly course near OSU campus
Cons: People hardly ever let you play through, There is a 300 yard walk between two holes, You have to pay for parking even though it isn't obviously marked as so. I parked in an empty parking lot at 6pm and ended up getting a $55 ticket.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could’ve been more…more!

2-4    10/26/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 211  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginning at the entrance to the Jesse Owens Tennis Center on the OSU campus, this 18 hole course ambles about the sides of Carmack Drive and the parking facilities supporting this area. There actually are a couple of scenic shots approaching the pond and fountain on holes 13 & 14, and using some elevation on 16 & 17. The course starts with a nice map sign, and about a third of the holes have a sturdy bench and/or a trash can, plus campus maintenance, so the course remains very clean.

The large, level, ridged, concrete tee pads on every hole here at OSU are fantastic, and include permanent concrete tee signs (see pics) which give you a general overview of the hole, the distance (oddly, in yards), and sometimes an indication of the next tee position. The baskets are quality DGA made, seem to catch well, and the design incorporates the gentle rolling terrain, trees, and shrub lines whenever it could. Hole distances are scaled to the recreational to intermediate arm, ranging from 174 to 360 feet (which means no huge rips, but nicely sized for the fairways and obstacles they had).

There are a few holes which have a 'just blind' basket position to add a little thrill. #7 is a short sky hyzer (you might want a spotter for safety), while #8 is just blind on the left past the last large bush you see left of the next tee. Then you can spot the 9th basket by stepping out about 15' right of the tee.
Cons: It's pretty clear as you play OSU that they were given the islands of green space around the parking lots here, rather than the go-ahead to really put in a more robust, stand-alone disc golf course. There is plenty of space, and even some wooded potential that slaps you on the noggin as you come upon the 'next tee' sign between 7 and 8. I mean, 300 yards to the next tee? You walk almost a thousand feet beside some interesting looking woods, and keep thinking, 'at least three holes could go right along here…' Granted, there's a murky swamp in there, too, but c'mon! And even though you get pretty close to using the pond on #15, it feels a little disappointing that they couldn't ask for even 50' of water carry to make it more fun.

Even though most of the holes flow pretty quickly one to the next, they can get a little repetitive, so you'll want to pay attention to the map, and some of the tee signs that indicate the next hole. And there will be some walking. If there's an event going on in one of the nearby facilities, there will be non-players to take care of, so don't throw if your shot might stray their way. And there's a lot of potential OB sidewalks and driveways to avoid.

Not a deal-breaker because the tees are all huge, but the stone tee signs are ON the pad, toward the back left quarter, which limits some angles of run-up.
Other Thoughts: Hey, there's a practice basket at the start which clearly gets dual usage as a place to tie up your dog when you come for a Sunday mid-day soccer match. And there's sometimes an attendant at the parking lots, collecting $5 for 'event parking', but you might feel just like I did to see it was apparently free to park there by the time I got done. (or not..sounds like they will patrol, but not necessarily provide any way to pay) Grrrr!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

aces up!

2-4    8/14/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: small and fast
could ace almost every hole because they are short
not as busy as you'd think
Cons: all par 3's realistically.
bust roads near buy
Other Thoughts: this is a fun small course you can run or play a cool off round after playing griggs. you really only need a good mid range, or a mid and a putter to play. you could realistically ace every hole if your a high enough caliber player (don't have to be a pro, just need some luck)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok course but I'd like to see OSU do something great!

2-4    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads with nice signage
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Score cards
-You can rent discs from OSU if you don't have any
-Is on campus (West Campus, to be exact)
-Has nice trees that create nice obstacles
-Has a decent array of skill shots involved. This course is good for the short game.

Cons: -Not much green space to work with. Errant throws go in the street.
-Hole distance is measured in yards and seems inaccurate
-There is a sizable walk from 7 to 8 that is out of the way, but I guess this is how they had to fit the course into this space.
-The tee signs, although they're very nice, are built into the tee pads on a block of concrete and are literally part of the tee. They can get in the way if you want to start at the back corner of the tee.
-This course is very short
-There are always geese by the small pond out here and they are certainly crapping all over the hole/
Other Thoughts: This course is best used for practicing finesse shots and making runs at the chains. It is very short and several of the holes are basically long putts. I did enjoy throwing around trees and seeing what shots I could take. This course is surrounded by busy roads and parking lots so if you have a bad throw it can be trouble. There are some decent/good holes here and the equipment is nice but it seems like they just stuck a course in the slivers of green space that surround West Campus. Since OSU obviously put some effort into this course I think they could have it somewhere there is more space. All in all, the OSU DGC is just ok if you're looking for a DG fix. It's not worth going out of your way to play. It's short, precarious, has nice tees, and is measured in football distance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Night Discing?

5+    6/17/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: reubencanowski
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/19/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The majority of these reviews all mention the same pros, which I agree with all, just wanted to add one more:
- Night discing. I can't believe no one else has mentioned this. With the course having been built around the OSU parking lot, there are plenty of street lights near each hole to allow for night discing. Maybe bring your glow discs with you, but all you really need is a flash light or your cell phone light. With the course being as well maintained as it is, as long as you play it a little safe, your discs should be fine.
Cons: Agree with most everyone else's cons, although, I don't believe wind has ever been an issue for me.
...I take it back, wind is in play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Learners

1    5/8/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Good Baskets
-Nice tee Signs
-Nice Layout
-Can play with one disc
-Great for kids
Cons: -No Free Parking
-Very Short for experienced players
-Very repetitive on back 9
-Not the best flow
-Parking lot and road too close to fairways
Other Thoughts: If your just starting this is a great course, but more of a pitch and putt, or playing with just a roc/buzzz. If your in the area and want to play a round drive down to griggs for more of a challenge. I played this just to see what it was like and I found it lackluster, but I have played a round and found much better courses

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OSU: Short and Open

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very grippy pads and good signage. Nice baskets with number plates. Hole 4 is decent
Cons: Even though the signage is good, the placement of the signage is not. The signs are concrete literally on the back left side of the tee pad. It can be a nuisance at times.

This course does not present much challenge with it being so open and short. You can throw a hyzer on almost every hole. Some holes are extremely short such as 2, 16, and 17. On 16 I could jump putt from the tee.

There is a 900 foot stroll between hole 7 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you purchase a parking receipt near hole 1's basket at the corner of the parking lot and place it on your car's dashboard before you play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.