Disc Golf Store
Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #12 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
aces up!

2-4    8/14/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
Pros: small and fast
could ace almost every hole because they are short
not as busy as you'd think
Cons: all par 3's realistically.
bust roads near buy
Other Thoughts: this is a fun small course you can run or play a cool off round after playing griggs. you really only need a good mid range, or a mid and a putter to play. you could realistically ace every hole if your a high enough caliber player (don't have to be a pro, just need some luck)

Ok course but I'd like to see OSU do something great!

2-4    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
Pros: -Concrete tee pads with nice signage
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Score cards
-You can rent discs from OSU if you don't have any
-Is on campus (West Campus, to be exact)
-Has nice trees that create nice obstacles
-Has a decent array of skill shots involved. This course is good for the short game.

Cons: -Not much green space to work with. Errant throws go in the street.
-Hole distance is measured in yards and seems inaccurate
-There is a sizable walk from 7 to 8 that is out of the way, but I guess this is how they had to fit the course into this space.
-The tee signs, although they're very nice, are built into the tee pads on a block of concrete and are literally part of the tee. They can get in the way if you want to start at the back corner of the tee.
-This course is very short
-There are always geese by the small pond out here and they are certainly crapping all over the hole/
Other Thoughts: This course is best used for practicing finesse shots and making runs at the chains. It is very short and several of the holes are basically long putts. I did enjoy throwing around trees and seeing what shots I could take. This course is surrounded by busy roads and parking lots so if you have a bad throw it can be trouble. There are some decent/good holes here and the equipment is nice but it seems like they just stuck a course in the slivers of green space that surround West Campus. Since OSU obviously put some effort into this course I think they could have it somewhere there is more space. All in all, the OSU DGC is just ok if you're looking for a DG fix. It's not worth going out of your way to play. It's short, precarious, has nice tees, and is measured in football distance.

 Night Discing?

5+    6/17/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: reubencanowski
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/19/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The majority of these reviews all mention the same pros, which I agree with all, just wanted to add one more:
- Night discing. I can't believe no one else has mentioned this. With the course having been built around the OSU parking lot, there are plenty of street lights near each hole to allow for night discing. Maybe bring your glow discs with you, but all you really need is a flash light or your cell phone light. With the course being as well maintained as it is, as long as you play it a little safe, your discs should be fine.
Cons: Agree with most everyone else's cons, although, I don't believe wind has ever been an issue for me.
...I take it back, wind is in play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Learners

1    5/8/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Good Baskets
-Nice tee Signs
-Nice Layout
-Can play with one disc
-Great for kids
Cons: -No Free Parking
-Very Short for experienced players
-Very repetitive on back 9
-Not the best flow
-Parking lot and road too close to fairways
Other Thoughts: If your just starting this is a great course, but more of a pitch and putt, or playing with just a roc/buzzz. If your in the area and want to play a round drive down to griggs for more of a challenge. I played this just to see what it was like and I found it lackluster, but I have played a round and found much better courses

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 OSU: Short and Open

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 173  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very grippy pads and good signage. Nice baskets with number plates. Hole 4 is decent
Cons: Even though the signage is good, the placement of the signage is not. The signs are concrete literally on the back left side of the tee pad. It can be a nuisance at times.

This course does not present much challenge with it being so open and short. You can throw a hyzer on almost every hole. Some holes are extremely short such as 2, 16, and 17. On 16 I could jump putt from the tee.

There is a 900 foot stroll between hole 7 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you purchase a parking receipt near hole 1's basket at the corner of the parking lot and place it on your car's dashboard before you play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open course

5+    7/1/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: DiscDave
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Well marked signs at tees.
Great tee pads!
Well groomed.
Occasional benches if you are waiting or need a quick rest.
Plays quickly, usually not crowded.
Cons: Distance given in yards.
Usually quite windy.
Parking lots and roads (OB) in play a LOT.
Pedestrian and car traffic can be hazardous.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot. I have taken several people here to introduce them to disc golf. You need to have some distance on your throws but it is not supremely challenging. Paying for parking can be a pain, but it's better than a ticket! Overall it is a great place to play.

Buckeye Nation

1    5/20/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course in a campus enviornment
Best tee pads ive ever played on. Verry grippy
Not crowded(it was sunny and 93)
Nice course for begginers
Nice baskets
Pretty good signage exept for #1
Practice basket
Trees added for difficulty. Without trees=1 star
Layed out nice
Very close to campus
Hole 7
Cons: Way to close to parking lot and roads
Very short
Measured in yards
Couldn't use practice basket because of cricket game(???)
Lake dosent come into play
No restrooms or water fountains that I saw
300 yard walk from 7 basket to 8 tee
Parking costs $1.50/hr.
Couldnt find 1st tee so had to tee off from #2
Other Thoughts: I was at the university for my sisters dive meet and thought I'd check this place out. Very nice. This is the 1st university course I have played and was very impressed.

Criteria

Landscape: 3/5
Baskets, Tees, and hole diagrams: 3/5
Variety in hole distances: 3/5
Variety in hole types: 3/5
Difficulty/Challenge: 2.5/5
Course flow: 3/5
Outside interference(Pedestrians, Distractions, etc.) 3/5
Fun Factor: 3.5/5
Use of available land: 4/5
Overall Grade: 3/5

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Short Course

5+    2/25/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: streetz.2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Well marked. Great course to work on your short game. Plays fast.
Cons: Near several parking lots and roads. Not much variety from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you are able to control your shots well and you want to get in a quick round.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not too fun

1    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very grippy teepads

-Baskets caught well

-Tee signs look very nice

-Variation of short and long tees

-Locals were very nice
Cons: -The wind was insane, and by other reviews it seems like this is regular.

-More than half the holes had a possibility of throwing into a crowded parking lot.

-Con 1+ Con 2 = Not good.

-The course was extremely crowded, which is good for the game, bad for you.

-Some people were walking through the fairways on their way to classes and had no idea what they were doing.

-No pars on tee signs, not that big of a deal. The signs also had distances marked in yards.
Other Thoughts: I liked the idea of some of the holes, but they were next to impossible to play because of wind as well as avoiding the parking lot. The one time I got to play this course without bad wind was very enjoyable, but I've played it a couple more times with wind being a major problem. It's unfortunate that this decent course has to have this problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt, Crazy Wind sometimes

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty Good Baskets
Extremely Grippy Tee pads
Grass is maintained well
Good practice course and place to bring your beginner friends
Cons: Extreme wind on alot of days since there is so much open space due to the parking lots
Parking costs alot which they've just raised to $1.50 an hour
Students are there yes, but most are aware that there's people throwing around, not a huge deal
Every shot is RHBH hyzer shot, which could be a plus if you're a strong RHBH thrower
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a ton since I live on campus. If it's not windy it can be fun. If there is wind, you can look at it two ways: 1. Great way to learn how your discs fly and how to control the wind. 2. Zero fun because your discs go anywhere without your knowledge.
I don't mind the students, you just wait until they pass and throw, no big deal. There are alot of ace runs and really you could play the whole course with a putter if you only wanted to carry one disc. I would like to see a mix of shots like some anny's along with the hyzers, but it's not a bad place to work on your game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.