Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #13 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ok course but I'd like to see OSU do something great!

2-4    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
Pros: -Concrete tee pads with nice signage
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Score cards
-You can rent discs from OSU if you don't have any
-Is on campus (West Campus, to be exact)
-Has nice trees that create nice obstacles
-Has a decent array of skill shots involved. This course is good for the short game.

Cons: -Not much green space to work with. Errant throws go in the street.
-Hole distance is measured in yards and seems inaccurate
-There is a sizable walk from 7 to 8 that is out of the way, but I guess this is how they had to fit the course into this space.
-The tee signs, although they're very nice, are built into the tee pads on a block of concrete and are literally part of the tee. They can get in the way if you want to start at the back corner of the tee.
-This course is very short
-There are always geese by the small pond out here and they are certainly crapping all over the hole/
Other Thoughts: This course is best used for practicing finesse shots and making runs at the chains. It is very short and several of the holes are basically long putts. I did enjoy throwing around trees and seeing what shots I could take. This course is surrounded by busy roads and parking lots so if you have a bad throw it can be trouble. There are some decent/good holes here and the equipment is nice but it seems like they just stuck a course in the slivers of green space that surround West Campus. Since OSU obviously put some effort into this course I think they could have it somewhere there is more space. All in all, the OSU DGC is just ok if you're looking for a DG fix. It's not worth going out of your way to play. It's short, precarious, has nice tees, and is measured in football distance.

 OSU: Short and Open

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very grippy pads and good signage. Nice baskets with number plates. Hole 4 is decent
Cons: Even though the signage is good, the placement of the signage is not. The signs are concrete literally on the back left side of the tee pad. It can be a nuisance at times.

This course does not present much challenge with it being so open and short. You can throw a hyzer on almost every hole. Some holes are extremely short such as 2, 16, and 17. On 16 I could jump putt from the tee.

There is a 900 foot stroll between hole 7 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you purchase a parking receipt near hole 1's basket at the corner of the parking lot and place it on your car's dashboard before you play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OHIO STATE COURSE NOT UP TO PAR

5+    6/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: * Concrete Tees

* Easy even for beginners

* In the Columbus city limits
Cons: * Easy even for beginners

* Surrounded by parking lots

* Often windy

* Must pay for parking

* Almost a constant flow of people walking around on the course.
Other Thoughts: I would have thought that OSU would have a higher standard for their athletic facilities. I know they were trying to fill the space with something constructive but they could have chosen a better location...

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 osu

5+    4/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good cement tees
-Nice signage
-Easy to navigate
-Newer baskets
Cons: -In the middle of a huge parking lot
-Very crowded with non disc golfers (who have no idea what disc golf is and will walk right through the fairway when you are trying to throw
-Many parked cars and moving cars that you have to worry about hiting with a bad throw
-Pay to park if there is spots open
-No holes in woods
-Most holes are short
-Holes are measured in yards
Other Thoughts: im not a big fan of this course at all. i will play it on occasions if my friends want to go. to many people around that have no idea what disc golf is and will get in the way. if you trow in the street the cars will run over your disc with out thinking about it exspecialy the buses. no pro shop onsite.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Try

2-4    6/10/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Huge cement tees which also are grooved for excellent traction

+ Nice newish Chainstairs for baskets

+ Well groomed fairways

+ nice looking signs
Cons: - Not the most accessible DG course with it being on a busy campus and pay to park

- Holes lack significant variety, feeling repetitive at times

- Noisy and lots of non-players and cars/buses to worry about hitting

- Signs take up the back corner of the teebox instead of being off to the side. Distances marked in yards instead of feet for some reason.
Other Thoughts: An effort was clearly made to make this course nice and work with the land that ended up being available. However what resulted is a relatively forgettable playing experience with little challenge aside from the fear of shanking a drive into a car, bus or passerby. Even though some of the signs show a left to right path to the basket, I noticed no mandos and you can throw a right to left shot off every teepad although a straight shot makes more sense some times.

If I were an OSU student I could see playing here more frequently because of convenience. But there are much more relaxing and challenging courses not far away so its a hard course to recommend to somebody that lives off campus or is just passing through town.

I did like most of the tee boxes as they were oversized and grippy. But at times the tee signs were actually on the back end of the box and at other times there were benches on the side taking away much of that room.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 campus course

2-4    8/21/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course takes you on a little journey around the OSU campus

- Well maintained

- Nice signage

- Nice pads
Cons: - Parking sucks

- Concrete and blacktop everywhere - also parked cars if you have errant throws

- Not much diversity

- Little privacy

Other Thoughts: This course will do in a pinch. I would play any Columbus area course before this one.

Hole one has some distance, and you will think this course may really challenge you. Hole 2 on though, is less intriguing. There are a few nice holes, but mostly, this is a drive - putt, drive - putt style course. You play through parking lots and have pedestrian traffic that couldn't care less for your disc golf.

There are few true hazards.

The parking is an issue. The first time at the course I parked quickly at the Jesse Owens center. I thought, "I heard parking sucked, this isn't bad". Next time, I circled for 20 minutes looking for a place to park.

I guess its about your wanting to play. If you are in the area, and Griggs is slammed as usuall, it is definitely serviceable. It is an 18 hole course with nice baskets and pads. If nothing else, it is a nice change of pace course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.