Columbus, OH
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not too fun

1    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very grippy teepads

-Baskets caught well

-Tee signs look very nice

-Variation of short and long tees

-Locals were very nice
Cons: -The wind was insane, and by other reviews it seems like this is regular.

-More than half the holes had a possibility of throwing into a crowded parking lot.

-Con 1+ Con 2 = Not good.

-The course was extremely crowded, which is good for the game, bad for you.

-Some people were walking through the fairways on their way to classes and had no idea what they were doing.

-No pars on tee signs, not that big of a deal. The signs also had distances marked in yards.
Other Thoughts: I liked the idea of some of the holes, but they were next to impossible to play because of wind as well as avoiding the parking lot. The one time I got to play this course without bad wind was very enjoyable, but I've played it a couple more times with wind being a major problem. It's unfortunate that this decent course has to have this problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt, Crazy Wind sometimes

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty Good Baskets
Extremely Grippy Tee pads
Grass is maintained well
Good practice course and place to bring your beginner friends
Cons: Extreme wind on alot of days since there is so much open space due to the parking lots
Parking costs alot which they've just raised to $1.50 an hour
Students are there yes, but most are aware that there's people throwing around, not a huge deal
Every shot is RHBH hyzer shot, which could be a plus if you're a strong RHBH thrower
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a ton since I live on campus. If it's not windy it can be fun. If there is wind, you can look at it two ways: 1. Great way to learn how your discs fly and how to control the wind. 2. Zero fun because your discs go anywhere without your knowledge.
I don't mind the students, you just wait until they pass and throw, no big deal. There are alot of ace runs and really you could play the whole course with a putter if you only wanted to carry one disc. I would like to see a mix of shots like some anny's along with the hyzers, but it's not a bad place to work on your game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Change of Scenery

5+    4/17/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Cement tee pads
*Signs
*Very easy to navigate.
*Urban setting
*Great putter and midrange course
*Takes about an hour and 15 minutes to play. Easy to squeeze in two rounds on a tight schedule.
*Has 300' holes mixed in.
*Well maintained.
Cons: *Heavy traffic toward the evening hours. People walk through the fairways and it can add time to your round. Most of the people seem to be clueless or careless about walking around the course.
*The windy conditions can turn your disc into a dangerous projectile if you're not careful. Every hole gives you the potential to either hit a car or a person if you're not careful. Added pressure!
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 parking is the most ideal place to park. When coming off of Kenny rd. Turn onto carmack and take the first left. If the parking lot is completely full, you can keep trucking down to the second left and park back there. This would have you starting on hole 7. I've done this a couple of times.

When it is windy, watch out! I've almost drilled a crowd of people with a driver and my buddy has nailed a moving car with a disc that is on a hyzer. This course is a change of pace with the urban setting. It's beautifully maintained and offers some thick brush you need to stay away from hole 7 through 10. Other than that, the course is open, but crowded with campus life.

I would recommend playing this course if in the area, but griggs, hoover, and alum creek offer more of a challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A Tight Windy Urban Course

1    11/10/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: Sjames88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept, has nice baskets, good markers. The tee pads are different, lots of extra traction. Nice short grass, leaves taken care of during the fall.
Cons: Parking is a pain, the course doesn't have a nice flow and new players have to be aware of signs to find some holes. The tee boxes could be longer, and the signs for the tee's are actually on the box itself. This can interfere with your approach depending on your shot type. Very very busy, i wouldn't recommend going there on a weekday during class times. Lots of cars to avoid. I even had people walking through some fairways in front of me after getting off buses. It feels like you play the same hole more than once, not much change between hole styles.
Other Thoughts: If you are like me, and enjoy the nature aspects of disc golf, then this isn't the course for you. There are lots of cars, pedestrians and roads to watch out for. Rather than being in a nice out of the way course, and enjoying a quiet relaxing round. You find yourself trapped in a busy urban area. I would recommend that someone looking to play in this area would much rather enjoy playing Glacier Ridge Metro Park, or Griggs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed

5+    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very Clean
Easy to Navigate
Great Teepads
New Baskets
Always Kept Mowed
Great Tee Signs
Cons:
Parking (Pay Parking and Debit or Credit Only)
Holes Measured in Yards
Not A lot of Variety
Very/Too Open
Plays Around Parking and Vehicle Traffic
Pedestrians Will Get In the Way
Benches Are On the Tee Pads
Other Thoughts:
I have played this course several times as it is only about a 10 minute drive from my house. It is a fairly nice course, always kept clean and mowed. Teepads are very nice, concrete tees with drainage grooves that keep water off and add a lot of traction.

As for the layout of the course, it could be a little better. A lot of the holes are medium to long hyzer shots, a few of them have some trees that can cause you some trouble but sometimes it can seem like you are playing the same hole twice in a row. Now this course can be a whole new monster if the wind is blowing. The course is basically built in between a lot of parking lots and the wind can rip through the open space and give you lots of added challenge, or frustration depending on how you look at it.

If you are in the area and have time, check it out, but if you have limited time in the area I would recommend Hoover (Brent Hambrick Memorial), or Griggs Reservoir over this course. If you do decide to play this course, watch where you park. Most of the parking near the course is reserved for students and faculty and requires a parking pass. There are some visitor parking spaced to the right of the basket for 18, which is the first basket you will see when you come into the park. It is metered and $1.25 will give you 1 hour and 15 minutes, which depending on how fast you are and if you have to look for any discs this could be plenty of time. Usually me and two friends can play this course in this time. There is also some visitor parking in the lot behind hole #1. It is also pay and you must locate the pay box and get the tag for your car.

There are restrooms and disc rentals located in the tennis center (red building next to the first tee). Score cards and a course map also available at the first tee and there is a practice basket nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 THE OSU Course

5+    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is right on campus, so it is easy to get to and quick to play.

The tees are amazing. You will never slip on the tee, ever.

Every hole is extremely well marked, though I would not suggest relying on the distances given or the "preferred line".

There are a few holes that are fun to play, and on a sunny day you can really enjoy yourself here.

Good learning course for beginners and those who want to practice controlled drives and mid-range shots.
Cons: Built around a parking lot. There are many opportunities for you to hit a car, a bus, a person, a person on a bike, etc.

Really simple. You can throw the same thing, over and over and over. Most of the holes have the exact same approach and distance.

Always windy. Of the 50 or so times I have played, only a dozen have been with no wind. I guess it is hard to escape in central ohio, but still.

Busy. There is almost always someone playing, and on nice days there will be at least one backup due to many people at one hole. Many groups come through, and most are slow moving.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, but nothing special. Really easy to get to off the highway, and within biking distance of OSU main campus. Watch out for geese poop everywhere, but other then that, there is nothing to fear.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent beginner course on nice campus

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee pads with built-in signs showing an image of the hole and length. Not much rough/ivy/thorns etc. Well designed and quick to play. Well mowed and maintained.
Cons: Parking- for non students, there are just a few spots and they are metered, might not be available. Short, with a few wide open holes with no trouble.
Other Thoughts: Could OSU designate 10-25 spots in a far corner of one of the many empty lots as disc golfer parking?

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.