Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: jcf5083 Hole #1
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Buckeye Nation

1    5/20/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course in a campus enviornment
Best tee pads ive ever played on. Verry grippy
Not crowded(it was sunny and 93)
Nice course for begginers
Nice baskets
Pretty good signage exept for #1
Practice basket
Trees added for difficulty. Without trees=1 star
Layed out nice
Very close to campus
Hole 7
Cons: Way to close to parking lot and roads
Very short
Measured in yards
Couldn't use practice basket because of cricket game(???)
Lake dosent come into play
No restrooms or water fountains that I saw
300 yard walk from 7 basket to 8 tee
Parking costs $1.50/hr.
Couldnt find 1st tee so had to tee off from #2
Other Thoughts: I was at the university for my sisters dive meet and thought I'd check this place out. Very nice. This is the 1st university course I have played and was very impressed.

Criteria

Landscape: 3/5
Baskets, Tees, and hole diagrams: 3/5
Variety in hole distances: 3/5
Variety in hole types: 3/5
Difficulty/Challenge: 2.5/5
Course flow: 3/5
Outside interference(Pedestrians, Distractions, etc.) 3/5
Fun Factor: 3.5/5
Use of available land: 4/5
Overall Grade: 3/5

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Short Course

5+    2/25/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: streetz.2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Well marked. Great course to work on your short game. Plays fast.
Cons: Near several parking lots and roads. Not much variety from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you are able to control your shots well and you want to get in a quick round.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/28/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easier course for beginners and advanced players alike. Easy to navigate. Well marked, well kept.
Cons: Some holes are close to parking lots, leading to discs being run over or hitting cars. There is constant foot traffic, sometimes of people not playing. Can be slow going if stuck behind groups.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses i've played, being a beginner. The pros at lease level out the cons. Watch out for the pond around hole 15 or 16. My friend has lost a disc or two in there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is in buckeye country. It has Decent holes that keep you coming back for more. Perfect course to go to sneak in a round. Something I do often. This course has a practice basket.
Cons: Some of the holes are next to roads. I have been stuck behind slow groups of 5 or more! Thats a big flaw right there. One time there was a group of 8 I had to wait for so I passed them to be stuck behind another group of 5. This happens often by the way! You have to pay for parking even in the summer what a rip. Even when there no college students parking in sight. And yes you can get ticketed there my Dad got one once when we came back from a round.
Other Thoughts: even though I had a lot of Cons to say about this course I still see this course as a masterpiece but i do have to be honest and all of those comments are true. I have played the course enough times to say what has been said.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Place to Play

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: GREAT tee-pads. Some of the best I've seen at any course, the grooved concrete really gives you the grip you need to let it loose. Every hole is a par 3, so it makes scoring pretty easy to remember without a scorecard or smartphone app to use. Good mix of hyzer and anny shots. Clearly marked "next tee" signs help the first timer a lot.
Cons: There's a LONG walk between two of the holes, although I can't remember which ones. The pictures on the tee-pads of the holes are sometimes laughably wrong in their depictions, and they list the distances in yards, where every other course I've played list distances in feet. A few of the holes feel like carbon copies, but it's still a fun course.
Other Thoughts: Not really a challenging course, but fun to just get out there and throw. Lots of open holes but a couple times you have to throw around trees and bushes, so it isn't completely open. A few of the holes are very short, makable with a mid-range. It could use a Par 4 or Par 5 to break up the monotony of every hole being Par 3, but it's a fun course. Great for beginners.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Look out for wondering Students

5+    10/4/2009   3/4/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Columbus Is quickly becoming a great great Disc Golf town, Catching up to Cincy and beating the crap out of Cleveland
Most holes are good
It's a fun course I'm having trouble finding the reasons why. An advanced player or someone who takes Disc Golf really seriously probably would not like it. But a OSU student trying to kill an afternoon or a casual player would have fun.
Cons: High High High traffic. Look before you throw
First timers may have some trouble navigating the course
Lots of roads and parking lots to contend with
Lots of the holes are very similar, sometimes one after another. It can feel like your in one of those Haunted Houses you see in the movies. You know the ones, you exit the door only to enter it again from the door on the opposite side of the room.
Parking
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course with lots of good holes. I wouldn't recommend it for experts.

It's a nice change of pace if Hoover is too busy, Blendon has gotten too easy, and Griggs is flooded

The scenery is good and about half of the holes are interesting. I guess the main issue is both the pedestrain and vehicular traffic. I'm sure there are plenty of people there who are unaware that Disc Golf even exists. So keep an eye out for people wondering onto your fairways

Keep em coming Columbus

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small/Challenging Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: KGosche
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, well taken care of and nice baskets as it is a relatively new course.

Decent hole lengths with some having extra challenges with blind drives and doglegs. Good course to work on straight and curved drive approaches.

Several reviews talk of excessive wind at this coures, but in my experience I have had little problems with the wind affecting my shots. Could just be me getting lucky and avoiding windy days but seems to be a non-issue for me.
Cons: There are alot of parking lots next to the holes and you must watch out for passing pedestrians and cars as I have come close to hitting some...

Parking seems to be a reoccuring issue so no need to repeat that.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course as it is close and with a low par score(54) it is challenging for the beginning/intermediate player to get under par (with no mulligans and gimmies that is)

I have had only one bad experience at this course in which I threw a drive into a group of bushes on the eighth hole and was attacked and stung three times by a group of hornets. The bushes are clearly in play on the hole, I just happened to be lucky enough to hit the nest, but I have reported the incident to maintenance so that next time I play I will not have to worry about that happening again. So just watch out!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mid-range review

5+    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: klyph76
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean and well-maintained. The course will definitely help hone in your mid-range game.
Cons: A lot of holes are very short and several are wide open with no real challenge. It's often windy and with not a lot of trees to break the wind it can be a bit challenging.
Other Thoughts: It can busy at times and lately on sundays the cricket players tend to draw a crowd that sits around the pin on hole 1 lessening the course to 17 holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course If There's Nowhere Else

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: elahti
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads!!! The signs are well placed and informative. Course is new (2007) and well maintained by the University, with little to no waiting. Not too difficult, many short holes, some challenging pin placements. Ace opportunities are available on 5, 7, 10, 16 and 17 due to minimal foliage and short distances.
Cons: With little brush or foliage on most holes, there is not much blocking the sometimes intense wind. A lot of pavement/cars to give some discs road rash. Distances marked in yards (just multiply by 3 if its a real problem). Walk to number 8 can be annoying if playing multiple rounds. It can be hard to get a good score since every hole is a par 3 and errant shots are highly likely to go into a parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course for its placement on campus. As a student at OSU, I play the course frequently. If parking is a problem, there is a campus bus route with several stops around the course area. The lot near the Jesse Owens Tennis Center is normally open after 5 and will not be checked for permits due to the Tennis Center and other recreational buildings in the area. Parking is also free on weekends.

If that doesn't work, I HIGHLY recommend other courses in the area such as the course at Delaware Resevoir State Park. If you are an intermediate to advanced player, OSU will be fun with a little challenge, but many other longer, more challenging courses are within a 20 minute drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/20/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Behace
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is ALWAYS in great condition. The tees are great, nice and wide as well as long. They also have groves so that you should never loss traction. The pins are placed in locations that require a bit of skill to get close to, only a few wide open straight holes. There are signs on every hole which let you know exactly where to go.
Cons: The distance between 7 and 8 is very excessive. As a previous review said if your disc lands on a street or in a parking lot RUN because most of the cars, especially the buses, dont care and wont slow down or avoid your disc. Since there are not many real hills or anything to block the wind it can come from any direction and can be pretty strong.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to have right on campus for students of The Ohio State University. If you are looking for a more challenging course there are better ones around Columbus. A few people have commented about the parking but if you go after 5pm you can park near the Jesse Owens West. While it says that parking there is by permit only 24h a day they dont really care because the campus police realize that there are a number of sports are played right there and so they normally let it slide. Overall since this is an Ohio State course it is a little disappointing because they could do better, but as just a regular course it is definitely above average.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center