Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #17 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Basket is at the top of the hill near the fence, left of the trees at the top of the hill.



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Short Course

5+    2/25/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: streetz.2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Well marked. Great course to work on your short game. Plays fast.
Cons: Near several parking lots and roads. Not much variety from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you are able to control your shots well and you want to get in a quick round.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not too fun

1    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very grippy teepads

-Baskets caught well

-Tee signs look very nice

-Variation of short and long tees

-Locals were very nice
Cons: -The wind was insane, and by other reviews it seems like this is regular.

-More than half the holes had a possibility of throwing into a crowded parking lot.

-Con 1+ Con 2 = Not good.

-The course was extremely crowded, which is good for the game, bad for you.

-Some people were walking through the fairways on their way to classes and had no idea what they were doing.

-No pars on tee signs, not that big of a deal. The signs also had distances marked in yards.
Other Thoughts: I liked the idea of some of the holes, but they were next to impossible to play because of wind as well as avoiding the parking lot. The one time I got to play this course without bad wind was very enjoyable, but I've played it a couple more times with wind being a major problem. It's unfortunate that this decent course has to have this problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt, Crazy Wind sometimes

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty Good Baskets
Extremely Grippy Tee pads
Grass is maintained well
Good practice course and place to bring your beginner friends
Cons: Extreme wind on alot of days since there is so much open space due to the parking lots
Parking costs alot which they've just raised to $1.50 an hour
Students are there yes, but most are aware that there's people throwing around, not a huge deal
Every shot is RHBH hyzer shot, which could be a plus if you're a strong RHBH thrower
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a ton since I live on campus. If it's not windy it can be fun. If there is wind, you can look at it two ways: 1. Great way to learn how your discs fly and how to control the wind. 2. Zero fun because your discs go anywhere without your knowledge.
I don't mind the students, you just wait until they pass and throw, no big deal. There are alot of ace runs and really you could play the whole course with a putter if you only wanted to carry one disc. I would like to see a mix of shots like some anny's along with the hyzers, but it's not a bad place to work on your game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/28/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easier course for beginners and advanced players alike. Easy to navigate. Well marked, well kept.
Cons: Some holes are close to parking lots, leading to discs being run over or hitting cars. There is constant foot traffic, sometimes of people not playing. Can be slow going if stuck behind groups.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses i've played, being a beginner. The pros at lease level out the cons. Watch out for the pond around hole 15 or 16. My friend has lost a disc or two in there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is in buckeye country. It has Decent holes that keep you coming back for more. Perfect course to go to sneak in a round. Something I do often. This course has a practice basket.
Cons: Some of the holes are next to roads. I have been stuck behind slow groups of 5 or more! Thats a big flaw right there. One time there was a group of 8 I had to wait for so I passed them to be stuck behind another group of 5. This happens often by the way! You have to pay for parking even in the summer what a rip. Even when there no college students parking in sight. And yes you can get ticketed there my Dad got one once when we came back from a round.
Other Thoughts: even though I had a lot of Cons to say about this course I still see this course as a masterpiece but i do have to be honest and all of those comments are true. I have played the course enough times to say what has been said.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 OHIO STATE COURSE NOT UP TO PAR

5+    6/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: * Concrete Tees

* Easy even for beginners

* In the Columbus city limits
Cons: * Easy even for beginners

* Surrounded by parking lots

* Often windy

* Must pay for parking

* Almost a constant flow of people walking around on the course.
Other Thoughts: I would have thought that OSU would have a higher standard for their athletic facilities. I know they were trying to fill the space with something constructive but they could have chosen a better location...

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Place to Play

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: GREAT tee-pads. Some of the best I've seen at any course, the grooved concrete really gives you the grip you need to let it loose. Every hole is a par 3, so it makes scoring pretty easy to remember without a scorecard or smartphone app to use. Good mix of hyzer and anny shots. Clearly marked "next tee" signs help the first timer a lot.
Cons: There's a LONG walk between two of the holes, although I can't remember which ones. The pictures on the tee-pads of the holes are sometimes laughably wrong in their depictions, and they list the distances in yards, where every other course I've played list distances in feet. A few of the holes feel like carbon copies, but it's still a fun course.
Other Thoughts: Not really a challenging course, but fun to just get out there and throw. Lots of open holes but a couple times you have to throw around trees and bushes, so it isn't completely open. A few of the holes are very short, makable with a mid-range. It could use a Par 4 or Par 5 to break up the monotony of every hole being Par 3, but it's a fun course. Great for beginners.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/12/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: saylor.50
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + The tees are outstanding. The large grooved concrete makes grip no problem on run-up drives, even during rounds in the rain.

+The course is always well maintained and mowed.

+The signs are excellent (even though distance is measured in yards instead of feet).

+Benches can be found on multiple tees to rest.
Cons: -Parking is a SEVERE issue for those without an Ohio State West Campus Parking Pass. There is metered parking in the back of the lot but then it is a good hike to reach the first tee. Make sure you pay attention to where you park as Ohio State Security monitors the lot constantly and you will get a ticket.

-The course layout is, for the lack of a better word, terrible. Half of the holes will have you playing in direct proximity to heavily used roads and parking lots. Hole #1 in particular will be skipped during most rounds as it has you driving through a field (located next to the Jesse Owens West center) that is heavily occupied by students. While some may view this as an added "challenge," It is essentially a lawsuit waiting to happen.

-Only one set of tees/baskets are present with no real room for alternates in the future.

-Facilities for non-OSU students are severely lacking.

-Shot/hole variety is basically non-existent. You will get deja vu from seeing the same type of open, unobstructed shot over and over again.
Other Thoughts: I lived within a three minute drive of this course for two years and still remain less than impressed. I would recommend it for beginners or intermediates, yet without accuracy while driving it could very well result in a broken windshield. There is little to no imagination required to hit par which can make the course get boring quick (and I have played in all seasons/conditions).

Columbus is quickly blossoming into a disc golf city. It is because of this that I issued my rating in accordance and comparison of other local courses. OSU simply cannot stand up against the others. It can provide a quick round in between classes, though does not merit going out of your way to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Change of Scenery

5+    4/17/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Cement tee pads
*Signs
*Very easy to navigate.
*Urban setting
*Great putter and midrange course
*Takes about an hour and 15 minutes to play. Easy to squeeze in two rounds on a tight schedule.
*Has 300' holes mixed in.
*Well maintained.
Cons: *Heavy traffic toward the evening hours. People walk through the fairways and it can add time to your round. Most of the people seem to be clueless or careless about walking around the course.
*The windy conditions can turn your disc into a dangerous projectile if you're not careful. Every hole gives you the potential to either hit a car or a person if you're not careful. Added pressure!
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 parking is the most ideal place to park. When coming off of Kenny rd. Turn onto carmack and take the first left. If the parking lot is completely full, you can keep trucking down to the second left and park back there. This would have you starting on hole 7. I've done this a couple of times.

When it is windy, watch out! I've almost drilled a crowd of people with a driver and my buddy has nailed a moving car with a disc that is on a hyzer. This course is a change of pace with the urban setting. It's beautifully maintained and offers some thick brush you need to stay away from hole 7 through 10. Other than that, the course is open, but crowded with campus life.

I would recommend playing this course if in the area, but griggs, hoover, and alum creek offer more of a challenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Look out for wondering Students

5+    10/4/2009   3/4/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Columbus Is quickly becoming a great great Disc Golf town, Catching up to Cincy and beating the crap out of Cleveland
Most holes are good
It's a fun course I'm having trouble finding the reasons why. An advanced player or someone who takes Disc Golf really seriously probably would not like it. But a OSU student trying to kill an afternoon or a casual player would have fun.
Cons: High High High traffic. Look before you throw
First timers may have some trouble navigating the course
Lots of roads and parking lots to contend with
Lots of the holes are very similar, sometimes one after another. It can feel like your in one of those Haunted Houses you see in the movies. You know the ones, you exit the door only to enter it again from the door on the opposite side of the room.
Parking
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course with lots of good holes. I wouldn't recommend it for experts.

It's a nice change of pace if Hoover is too busy, Blendon has gotten too easy, and Griggs is flooded

The scenery is good and about half of the holes are interesting. I guess the main issue is both the pedestrain and vehicular traffic. I'm sure there are plenty of people there who are unaware that Disc Golf even exists. So keep an eye out for people wondering onto your fairways

Keep em coming Columbus

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center