Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #10 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 OSU: Short and Open

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very grippy pads and good signage. Nice baskets with number plates. Hole 4 is decent
Cons: Even though the signage is good, the placement of the signage is not. The signs are concrete literally on the back left side of the tee pad. It can be a nuisance at times.

This course does not present much challenge with it being so open and short. You can throw a hyzer on almost every hole. Some holes are extremely short such as 2, 16, and 17. On 16 I could jump putt from the tee.

There is a 900 foot stroll between hole 7 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you purchase a parking receipt near hole 1's basket at the corner of the parking lot and place it on your car's dashboard before you play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open course

5+    7/1/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: DiscDave
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked signs at tees.
Great tee pads!
Well groomed.
Occasional benches if you are waiting or need a quick rest.
Plays quickly, usually not crowded.
Cons: Distance given in yards.
Usually quite windy.
Parking lots and roads (OB) in play a LOT.
Pedestrian and car traffic can be hazardous.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot. I have taken several people here to introduce them to disc golf. You need to have some distance on your throws but it is not supremely challenging. Paying for parking can be a pain, but it's better than a ticket! Overall it is a great place to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buckeye Nation

1    5/20/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course in a campus enviornment
Best tee pads ive ever played on. Verry grippy
Not crowded(it was sunny and 93)
Nice course for begginers
Nice baskets
Pretty good signage exept for #1
Practice basket
Trees added for difficulty. Without trees=1 star
Layed out nice
Very close to campus
Hole 7
Cons: Way to close to parking lot and roads
Very short
Measured in yards
Couldn't use practice basket because of cricket game(???)
Lake dosent come into play
No restrooms or water fountains that I saw
300 yard walk from 7 basket to 8 tee
Parking costs $1.50/hr.
Couldnt find 1st tee so had to tee off from #2
Other Thoughts: I was at the university for my sisters dive meet and thought I'd check this place out. Very nice. This is the 1st university course I have played and was very impressed.

Criteria

Landscape: 3/5
Baskets, Tees, and hole diagrams: 3/5
Variety in hole distances: 3/5
Variety in hole types: 3/5
Difficulty/Challenge: 2.5/5
Course flow: 3/5
Outside interference(Pedestrians, Distractions, etc.) 3/5
Fun Factor: 3.5/5
Use of available land: 4/5
Overall Grade: 3/5

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Short Course

5+    2/25/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: streetz.2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Well marked. Great course to work on your short game. Plays fast.
Cons: Near several parking lots and roads. Not much variety from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you are able to control your shots well and you want to get in a quick round.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not too fun

1    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very grippy teepads

-Baskets caught well

-Tee signs look very nice

-Variation of short and long tees

-Locals were very nice
Cons: -The wind was insane, and by other reviews it seems like this is regular.

-More than half the holes had a possibility of throwing into a crowded parking lot.

-Con 1+ Con 2 = Not good.

-The course was extremely crowded, which is good for the game, bad for you.

-Some people were walking through the fairways on their way to classes and had no idea what they were doing.

-No pars on tee signs, not that big of a deal. The signs also had distances marked in yards.
Other Thoughts: I liked the idea of some of the holes, but they were next to impossible to play because of wind as well as avoiding the parking lot. The one time I got to play this course without bad wind was very enjoyable, but I've played it a couple more times with wind being a major problem. It's unfortunate that this decent course has to have this problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt, Crazy Wind sometimes

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty Good Baskets
Extremely Grippy Tee pads
Grass is maintained well
Good practice course and place to bring your beginner friends
Cons: Extreme wind on alot of days since there is so much open space due to the parking lots
Parking costs alot which they've just raised to $1.50 an hour
Students are there yes, but most are aware that there's people throwing around, not a huge deal
Every shot is RHBH hyzer shot, which could be a plus if you're a strong RHBH thrower
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a ton since I live on campus. If it's not windy it can be fun. If there is wind, you can look at it two ways: 1. Great way to learn how your discs fly and how to control the wind. 2. Zero fun because your discs go anywhere without your knowledge.
I don't mind the students, you just wait until they pass and throw, no big deal. There are alot of ace runs and really you could play the whole course with a putter if you only wanted to carry one disc. I would like to see a mix of shots like some anny's along with the hyzers, but it's not a bad place to work on your game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/28/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easier course for beginners and advanced players alike. Easy to navigate. Well marked, well kept.
Cons: Some holes are close to parking lots, leading to discs being run over or hitting cars. There is constant foot traffic, sometimes of people not playing. Can be slow going if stuck behind groups.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses i've played, being a beginner. The pros at lease level out the cons. Watch out for the pond around hole 15 or 16. My friend has lost a disc or two in there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is in buckeye country. It has Decent holes that keep you coming back for more. Perfect course to go to sneak in a round. Something I do often. This course has a practice basket.
Cons: Some of the holes are next to roads. I have been stuck behind slow groups of 5 or more! Thats a big flaw right there. One time there was a group of 8 I had to wait for so I passed them to be stuck behind another group of 5. This happens often by the way! You have to pay for parking even in the summer what a rip. Even when there no college students parking in sight. And yes you can get ticketed there my Dad got one once when we came back from a round.
Other Thoughts: even though I had a lot of Cons to say about this course I still see this course as a masterpiece but i do have to be honest and all of those comments are true. I have played the course enough times to say what has been said.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 OHIO STATE COURSE NOT UP TO PAR

5+    6/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: * Concrete Tees

* Easy even for beginners

* In the Columbus city limits
Cons: * Easy even for beginners

* Surrounded by parking lots

* Often windy

* Must pay for parking

* Almost a constant flow of people walking around on the course.
Other Thoughts: I would have thought that OSU would have a higher standard for their athletic facilities. I know they were trying to fill the space with something constructive but they could have chosen a better location...

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Place to Play

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: GREAT tee-pads. Some of the best I've seen at any course, the grooved concrete really gives you the grip you need to let it loose. Every hole is a par 3, so it makes scoring pretty easy to remember without a scorecard or smartphone app to use. Good mix of hyzer and anny shots. Clearly marked "next tee" signs help the first timer a lot.
Cons: There's a LONG walk between two of the holes, although I can't remember which ones. The pictures on the tee-pads of the holes are sometimes laughably wrong in their depictions, and they list the distances in yards, where every other course I've played list distances in feet. A few of the holes feel like carbon copies, but it's still a fun course.
Other Thoughts: Not really a challenging course, but fun to just get out there and throw. Lots of open holes but a couple times you have to throw around trees and bushes, so it isn't completely open. A few of the holes are very short, makable with a mid-range. It could use a Par 4 or Par 5 to break up the monotony of every hole being Par 3, but it's a fun course. Great for beginners.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.