Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Through the clearing ahead and slightly to the left.



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    4/12/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: saylor.50
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + The tees are outstanding. The large grooved concrete makes grip no problem on run-up drives, even during rounds in the rain.

+The course is always well maintained and mowed.

+The signs are excellent (even though distance is measured in yards instead of feet).

+Benches can be found on multiple tees to rest.
Cons: -Parking is a SEVERE issue for those without an Ohio State West Campus Parking Pass. There is metered parking in the back of the lot but then it is a good hike to reach the first tee. Make sure you pay attention to where you park as Ohio State Security monitors the lot constantly and you will get a ticket.

-The course layout is, for the lack of a better word, terrible. Half of the holes will have you playing in direct proximity to heavily used roads and parking lots. Hole #1 in particular will be skipped during most rounds as it has you driving through a field (located next to the Jesse Owens West center) that is heavily occupied by students. While some may view this as an added "challenge," It is essentially a lawsuit waiting to happen.

-Only one set of tees/baskets are present with no real room for alternates in the future.

-Facilities for non-OSU students are severely lacking.

-Shot/hole variety is basically non-existent. You will get deja vu from seeing the same type of open, unobstructed shot over and over again.
Other Thoughts: I lived within a three minute drive of this course for two years and still remain less than impressed. I would recommend it for beginners or intermediates, yet without accuracy while driving it could very well result in a broken windshield. There is little to no imagination required to hit par which can make the course get boring quick (and I have played in all seasons/conditions).

Columbus is quickly blossoming into a disc golf city. It is because of this that I issued my rating in accordance and comparison of other local courses. OSU simply cannot stand up against the others. It can provide a quick round in between classes, though does not merit going out of your way to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Change of Scenery

5+    4/17/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Cement tee pads
*Signs
*Very easy to navigate.
*Urban setting
*Great putter and midrange course
*Takes about an hour and 15 minutes to play. Easy to squeeze in two rounds on a tight schedule.
*Has 300' holes mixed in.
*Well maintained.
Cons: *Heavy traffic toward the evening hours. People walk through the fairways and it can add time to your round. Most of the people seem to be clueless or careless about walking around the course.
*The windy conditions can turn your disc into a dangerous projectile if you're not careful. Every hole gives you the potential to either hit a car or a person if you're not careful. Added pressure!
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 parking is the most ideal place to park. When coming off of Kenny rd. Turn onto carmack and take the first left. If the parking lot is completely full, you can keep trucking down to the second left and park back there. This would have you starting on hole 7. I've done this a couple of times.

When it is windy, watch out! I've almost drilled a crowd of people with a driver and my buddy has nailed a moving car with a disc that is on a hyzer. This course is a change of pace with the urban setting. It's beautifully maintained and offers some thick brush you need to stay away from hole 7 through 10. Other than that, the course is open, but crowded with campus life.

I would recommend playing this course if in the area, but griggs, hoover, and alum creek offer more of a challenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Look out for wondering Students

5+    10/4/2009   3/4/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 151  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Columbus Is quickly becoming a great great Disc Golf town, Catching up to Cincy and beating the crap out of Cleveland
Most holes are good
It's a fun course I'm having trouble finding the reasons why. An advanced player or someone who takes Disc Golf really seriously probably would not like it. But a OSU student trying to kill an afternoon or a casual player would have fun.
Cons: High High High traffic. Look before you throw
First timers may have some trouble navigating the course
Lots of roads and parking lots to contend with
Lots of the holes are very similar, sometimes one after another. It can feel like your in one of those Haunted Houses you see in the movies. You know the ones, you exit the door only to enter it again from the door on the opposite side of the room.
Parking
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course with lots of good holes. I wouldn't recommend it for experts.

It's a nice change of pace if Hoover is too busy, Blendon has gotten too easy, and Griggs is flooded

The scenery is good and about half of the holes are interesting. I guess the main issue is both the pedestrain and vehicular traffic. I'm sure there are plenty of people there who are unaware that Disc Golf even exists. So keep an eye out for people wondering onto your fairways

Keep em coming Columbus

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 osu

5+    4/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good cement tees
-Nice signage
-Easy to navigate
-Newer baskets
Cons: -In the middle of a huge parking lot
-Very crowded with non disc golfers (who have no idea what disc golf is and will walk right through the fairway when you are trying to throw
-Many parked cars and moving cars that you have to worry about hiting with a bad throw
-Pay to park if there is spots open
-No holes in woods
-Most holes are short
-Holes are measured in yards
Other Thoughts: im not a big fan of this course at all. i will play it on occasions if my friends want to go. to many people around that have no idea what disc golf is and will get in the way. if you trow in the street the cars will run over your disc with out thinking about it exspecialy the buses. no pro shop onsite.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Try

2-4    6/10/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Huge cement tees which also are grooved for excellent traction

+ Nice newish Chainstairs for baskets

+ Well groomed fairways

+ nice looking signs
Cons: - Not the most accessible DG course with it being on a busy campus and pay to park

- Holes lack significant variety, feeling repetitive at times

- Noisy and lots of non-players and cars/buses to worry about hitting

- Signs take up the back corner of the teebox instead of being off to the side. Distances marked in yards instead of feet for some reason.
Other Thoughts: An effort was clearly made to make this course nice and work with the land that ended up being available. However what resulted is a relatively forgettable playing experience with little challenge aside from the fear of shanking a drive into a car, bus or passerby. Even though some of the signs show a left to right path to the basket, I noticed no mandos and you can throw a right to left shot off every teepad although a straight shot makes more sense some times.

If I were an OSU student I could see playing here more frequently because of convenience. But there are much more relaxing and challenging courses not far away so its a hard course to recommend to somebody that lives off campus or is just passing through town.

I did like most of the tee boxes as they were oversized and grippy. But at times the tee signs were actually on the back end of the box and at other times there were benches on the side taking away much of that room.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A Tight Windy Urban Course

1    11/10/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: Sjames88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept, has nice baskets, good markers. The tee pads are different, lots of extra traction. Nice short grass, leaves taken care of during the fall.
Cons: Parking is a pain, the course doesn't have a nice flow and new players have to be aware of signs to find some holes. The tee boxes could be longer, and the signs for the tee's are actually on the box itself. This can interfere with your approach depending on your shot type. Very very busy, i wouldn't recommend going there on a weekday during class times. Lots of cars to avoid. I even had people walking through some fairways in front of me after getting off buses. It feels like you play the same hole more than once, not much change between hole styles.
Other Thoughts: If you are like me, and enjoy the nature aspects of disc golf, then this isn't the course for you. There are lots of cars, pedestrians and roads to watch out for. Rather than being in a nice out of the way course, and enjoying a quiet relaxing round. You find yourself trapped in a busy urban area. I would recommend that someone looking to play in this area would much rather enjoy playing Glacier Ridge Metro Park, or Griggs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 campus course

2-4    8/21/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course takes you on a little journey around the OSU campus

- Well maintained

- Nice signage

- Nice pads
Cons: - Parking sucks

- Concrete and blacktop everywhere - also parked cars if you have errant throws

- Not much diversity

- Little privacy

Other Thoughts: This course will do in a pinch. I would play any Columbus area course before this one.

Hole one has some distance, and you will think this course may really challenge you. Hole 2 on though, is less intriguing. There are a few nice holes, but mostly, this is a drive - putt, drive - putt style course. You play through parking lots and have pedestrian traffic that couldn't care less for your disc golf.

There are few true hazards.

The parking is an issue. The first time at the course I parked quickly at the Jesse Owens center. I thought, "I heard parking sucked, this isn't bad". Next time, I circled for 20 minutes looking for a place to park.

I guess its about your wanting to play. If you are in the area, and Griggs is slammed as usuall, it is definitely serviceable. It is an 18 hole course with nice baskets and pads. If nothing else, it is a nice change of pace course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Swarf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well kept, clear signs, nice teepads, short, but challenging enough as to not be boring.
Cons: The parking lots and sidewalks could be a pain, but on a Sunday before the start of the semester it wasn't too bad.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small/Challenging Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: KGosche
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, well taken care of and nice baskets as it is a relatively new course.

Decent hole lengths with some having extra challenges with blind drives and doglegs. Good course to work on straight and curved drive approaches.

Several reviews talk of excessive wind at this coures, but in my experience I have had little problems with the wind affecting my shots. Could just be me getting lucky and avoiding windy days but seems to be a non-issue for me.
Cons: There are alot of parking lots next to the holes and you must watch out for passing pedestrians and cars as I have come close to hitting some...

Parking seems to be a reoccuring issue so no need to repeat that.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course as it is close and with a low par score(54) it is challenging for the beginning/intermediate player to get under par (with no mulligans and gimmies that is)

I have had only one bad experience at this course in which I threw a drive into a group of bushes on the eighth hole and was attacked and stung three times by a group of hornets. The bushes are clearly in play on the hole, I just happened to be lucky enough to hit the nest, but I have reported the incident to maintenance so that next time I play I will not have to worry about that happening again. So just watch out!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed

5+    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 126  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very Clean
Easy to Navigate
Great Teepads
New Baskets
Always Kept Mowed
Great Tee Signs
Cons:
Parking (Pay Parking and Debit or Credit Only)
Holes Measured in Yards
Not A lot of Variety
Very/Too Open
Plays Around Parking and Vehicle Traffic
Pedestrians Will Get In the Way
Benches Are On the Tee Pads
Other Thoughts:
I have played this course several times as it is only about a 10 minute drive from my house. It is a fairly nice course, always kept clean and mowed. Teepads are very nice, concrete tees with drainage grooves that keep water off and add a lot of traction.

As for the layout of the course, it could be a little better. A lot of the holes are medium to long hyzer shots, a few of them have some trees that can cause you some trouble but sometimes it can seem like you are playing the same hole twice in a row. Now this course can be a whole new monster if the wind is blowing. The course is basically built in between a lot of parking lots and the wind can rip through the open space and give you lots of added challenge, or frustration depending on how you look at it.

If you are in the area and have time, check it out, but if you have limited time in the area I would recommend Hoover (Brent Hambrick Memorial), or Griggs Reservoir over this course. If you do decide to play this course, watch where you park. Most of the parking near the course is reserved for students and faculty and requires a parking pass. There are some visitor parking spaced to the right of the basket for 18, which is the first basket you will see when you come into the park. It is metered and $1.25 will give you 1 hour and 15 minutes, which depending on how fast you are and if you have to look for any discs this could be plenty of time. Usually me and two friends can play this course in this time. There is also some visitor parking in the lot behind hole #1. It is also pay and you must locate the pay box and get the tag for your car.

There are restrooms and disc rentals located in the tennis center (red building next to the first tee). Score cards and a course map also available at the first tee and there is a practice basket nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.