Columbus, OH 
Ohio State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Try

2-4    6/10/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Huge cement tees which also are grooved for excellent traction

+ Nice newish Chainstairs for baskets

+ Well groomed fairways

+ nice looking signs
Cons: - Not the most accessible DG course with it being on a busy campus and pay to park

- Holes lack significant variety, feeling repetitive at times

- Noisy and lots of non-players and cars/buses to worry about hitting

- Signs take up the back corner of the teebox instead of being off to the side. Distances marked in yards instead of feet for some reason.
Other Thoughts: An effort was clearly made to make this course nice and work with the land that ended up being available. However what resulted is a relatively forgettable playing experience with little challenge aside from the fear of shanking a drive into a car, bus or passerby. Even though some of the signs show a left to right path to the basket, I noticed no mandos and you can throw a right to left shot off every teepad although a straight shot makes more sense some times.

If I were an OSU student I could see playing here more frequently because of convenience. But there are much more relaxing and challenging courses not far away so its a hard course to recommend to somebody that lives off campus or is just passing through town.

I did like most of the tee boxes as they were oversized and grippy. But at times the tee signs were actually on the back end of the box and at other times there were benches on the side taking away much of that room.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A Tight Windy Urban Course

1    11/10/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: Sjames88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept, has nice baskets, good markers. The tee pads are different, lots of extra traction. Nice short grass, leaves taken care of during the fall.
Cons: Parking is a pain, the course doesn't have a nice flow and new players have to be aware of signs to find some holes. The tee boxes could be longer, and the signs for the tee's are actually on the box itself. This can interfere with your approach depending on your shot type. Very very busy, i wouldn't recommend going there on a weekday during class times. Lots of cars to avoid. I even had people walking through some fairways in front of me after getting off buses. It feels like you play the same hole more than once, not much change between hole styles.
Other Thoughts: If you are like me, and enjoy the nature aspects of disc golf, then this isn't the course for you. There are lots of cars, pedestrians and roads to watch out for. Rather than being in a nice out of the way course, and enjoying a quiet relaxing round. You find yourself trapped in a busy urban area. I would recommend that someone looking to play in this area would much rather enjoy playing Glacier Ridge Metro Park, or Griggs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 campus course

2-4    8/21/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course takes you on a little journey around the OSU campus

- Well maintained

- Nice signage

- Nice pads
Cons: - Parking sucks

- Concrete and blacktop everywhere - also parked cars if you have errant throws

- Not much diversity

- Little privacy

Other Thoughts: This course will do in a pinch. I would play any Columbus area course before this one.

Hole one has some distance, and you will think this course may really challenge you. Hole 2 on though, is less intriguing. There are a few nice holes, but mostly, this is a drive - putt, drive - putt style course. You play through parking lots and have pedestrian traffic that couldn't care less for your disc golf.

There are few true hazards.

The parking is an issue. The first time at the course I parked quickly at the Jesse Owens center. I thought, "I heard parking sucked, this isn't bad". Next time, I circled for 20 minutes looking for a place to park.

I guess its about your wanting to play. If you are in the area, and Griggs is slammed as usuall, it is definitely serviceable. It is an 18 hole course with nice baskets and pads. If nothing else, it is a nice change of pace course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Swarf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well kept, clear signs, nice teepads, short, but challenging enough as to not be boring.
Cons: The parking lots and sidewalks could be a pain, but on a Sunday before the start of the semester it wasn't too bad.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small/Challenging Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: KGosche
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, well taken care of and nice baskets as it is a relatively new course.

Decent hole lengths with some having extra challenges with blind drives and doglegs. Good course to work on straight and curved drive approaches.

Several reviews talk of excessive wind at this coures, but in my experience I have had little problems with the wind affecting my shots. Could just be me getting lucky and avoiding windy days but seems to be a non-issue for me.
Cons: There are alot of parking lots next to the holes and you must watch out for passing pedestrians and cars as I have come close to hitting some...

Parking seems to be a reoccuring issue so no need to repeat that.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course as it is close and with a low par score(54) it is challenging for the beginning/intermediate player to get under par (with no mulligans and gimmies that is)

I have had only one bad experience at this course in which I threw a drive into a group of bushes on the eighth hole and was attacked and stung three times by a group of hornets. The bushes are clearly in play on the hole, I just happened to be lucky enough to hit the nest, but I have reported the incident to maintenance so that next time I play I will not have to worry about that happening again. So just watch out!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed

5+    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very Clean
Easy to Navigate
Great Teepads
New Baskets
Always Kept Mowed
Great Tee Signs
Cons:
Parking (Pay Parking and Debit or Credit Only)
Holes Measured in Yards
Not A lot of Variety
Very/Too Open
Plays Around Parking and Vehicle Traffic
Pedestrians Will Get In the Way
Benches Are On the Tee Pads
Other Thoughts:
I have played this course several times as it is only about a 10 minute drive from my house. It is a fairly nice course, always kept clean and mowed. Teepads are very nice, concrete tees with drainage grooves that keep water off and add a lot of traction.

As for the layout of the course, it could be a little better. A lot of the holes are medium to long hyzer shots, a few of them have some trees that can cause you some trouble but sometimes it can seem like you are playing the same hole twice in a row. Now this course can be a whole new monster if the wind is blowing. The course is basically built in between a lot of parking lots and the wind can rip through the open space and give you lots of added challenge, or frustration depending on how you look at it.

If you are in the area and have time, check it out, but if you have limited time in the area I would recommend Hoover (Brent Hambrick Memorial), or Griggs Reservoir over this course. If you do decide to play this course, watch where you park. Most of the parking near the course is reserved for students and faculty and requires a parking pass. There are some visitor parking spaced to the right of the basket for 18, which is the first basket you will see when you come into the park. It is metered and $1.25 will give you 1 hour and 15 minutes, which depending on how fast you are and if you have to look for any discs this could be plenty of time. Usually me and two friends can play this course in this time. There is also some visitor parking in the lot behind hole #1. It is also pay and you must locate the pay box and get the tag for your car.

There are restrooms and disc rentals located in the tennis center (red building next to the first tee). Score cards and a course map also available at the first tee and there is a practice basket nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mid-range review

5+    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: klyph76
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean and well-maintained. The course will definitely help hone in your mid-range game.
Cons: A lot of holes are very short and several are wide open with no real challenge. It's often windy and with not a lot of trees to break the wind it can be a bit challenging.
Other Thoughts: It can busy at times and lately on sundays the cricket players tend to draw a crowd that sits around the pin on hole 1 lessening the course to 17 holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 THE OSU Course

5+    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is right on campus, so it is easy to get to and quick to play.

The tees are amazing. You will never slip on the tee, ever.

Every hole is extremely well marked, though I would not suggest relying on the distances given or the "preferred line".

There are a few holes that are fun to play, and on a sunny day you can really enjoy yourself here.

Good learning course for beginners and those who want to practice controlled drives and mid-range shots.
Cons: Built around a parking lot. There are many opportunities for you to hit a car, a bus, a person, a person on a bike, etc.

Really simple. You can throw the same thing, over and over and over. Most of the holes have the exact same approach and distance.

Always windy. Of the 50 or so times I have played, only a dozen have been with no wind. I guess it is hard to escape in central ohio, but still.

Busy. There is almost always someone playing, and on nice days there will be at least one backup due to many people at one hole. Many groups come through, and most are slow moving.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, but nothing special. Really easy to get to off the highway, and within biking distance of OSU main campus. Watch out for geese poop everywhere, but other then that, there is nothing to fear.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course If There's Nowhere Else

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: elahti
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads!!! The signs are well placed and informative. Course is new (2007) and well maintained by the University, with little to no waiting. Not too difficult, many short holes, some challenging pin placements. Ace opportunities are available on 5, 7, 10, 16 and 17 due to minimal foliage and short distances.
Cons: With little brush or foliage on most holes, there is not much blocking the sometimes intense wind. A lot of pavement/cars to give some discs road rash. Distances marked in yards (just multiply by 3 if its a real problem). Walk to number 8 can be annoying if playing multiple rounds. It can be hard to get a good score since every hole is a par 3 and errant shots are highly likely to go into a parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course for its placement on campus. As a student at OSU, I play the course frequently. If parking is a problem, there is a campus bus route with several stops around the course area. The lot near the Jesse Owens Tennis Center is normally open after 5 and will not be checked for permits due to the Tennis Center and other recreational buildings in the area. Parking is also free on weekends.

If that doesn't work, I HIGHLY recommend other courses in the area such as the course at Delaware Resevoir State Park. If you are an intermediate to advanced player, OSU will be fun with a little challenge, but many other longer, more challenging courses are within a 20 minute drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/20/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Behace
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is ALWAYS in great condition. The tees are great, nice and wide as well as long. They also have groves so that you should never loss traction. The pins are placed in locations that require a bit of skill to get close to, only a few wide open straight holes. There are signs on every hole which let you know exactly where to go.
Cons: The distance between 7 and 8 is very excessive. As a previous review said if your disc lands on a street or in a parking lot RUN because most of the cars, especially the buses, dont care and wont slow down or avoid your disc. Since there are not many real hills or anything to block the wind it can come from any direction and can be pretty strong.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to have right on campus for students of The Ohio State University. If you are looking for a more challenging course there are better ones around Columbus. A few people have commented about the parking but if you go after 5pm you can park near the Jesse Owens West. While it says that parking there is by permit only 24h a day they dont really care because the campus police realize that there are a number of sports are played right there and so they normally let it slide. Overall since this is an Ohio State course it is a little disappointing because they could do better, but as just a regular course it is definitely above average.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.