Picuris Pueblo, NM 
Picuris Pueblo DGC Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #11 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 523ft.   4 / 198ft.   4 / 745ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful, long course

1    12/25/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: Le4385
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course with 27 holes! #1-16 are on one side of the road and the last 11 are on the other. Great shot variety. Hanging tees and a couple crazy mountain shots. The yellow signs helped us find every tee with no problem. Beautiful views on every hole.
Cons: There werent any maps available when i played. Lots of low trees in the fairway make it kind of hard to find discs.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has changed since the last couple people reviewed it. I played 27 numbered holes, all with nice tees and signs. It would have been impossible to navigate if not for the yellow signs and orange tape telling you where to go. Great exercise from walking all over the hills in the snow. Had alot of fun with the whole family on christmas day. Two Gray Hares is very close and is also very fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Course

1    4/12/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: mnestor
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Views! Multiple tee pads. Different basket variations, and great elevation changes.
Cons: Not many just make sure you watch where your disc goes.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to anyone in the Northern New Mexico area. One of the best I have ever played. Just a very creative course, amazing views, and lots of different shots. ( Some long shots and some technical, a great course for any skill level

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/26/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: avitus
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of challenging shots nice layout and nice basket placement hole 6 was really fun to throw off the pro tee very different from what im used to in michigan used to throwing through tree tunnels not over 5 foot high trees almost got a hole in one from the am tees on hole 3 disk hit the tree on the left side of basket but fell under the basket but heard disk hit metal
Cons: if you shank your disk on hole 6 have fun looking for your disk on the side of a mountain also the tee pad for hole 5 was a lil difficult to find

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awsome course

1    6/12/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: awsome layout sweet baskets lots of blind shots but theres are free course maps and is alot easier to get around with one it is alot of fun playing here hopefully i can come back and play here again soon lots of long disctance shots on the back nine u have to be very accurate
Cons: no cement tee pads
Other Thoughts: play here sipapu and two gray hares for a all day acticity because they are all really close to each other

Wonderful! Now watch your disc.

5+    8/3/2012   6/27/2010
Review By: nightwing
Played: 81  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 5/10/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Mountain setting in desert short pines.
-This course is on the Pueblo: The people are great and the place just FEELS outback and special.
-Great variety: Demanding shots & tough choices.
-Many cool features: hanging and raised baskets.
Lean-tos, paths, benchs, stone totems etc. '
Cons: THESE ARE MORE TIPS THAN 'CONS':
-A real scramblers course. No grassy fairways! -Good signage but can still be hard to get around. -Watch your discs! You can't see your drives land. -LOTS of small trees: 'Saves' can make or break.
-Hard to get a clean look or an easy stance.
-Sandy tee-pads, sage and trees will test you.
Other Thoughts: -SEVERAL LAYOUTS! 'Original 20' is still played.
-7 holes added to the west after hole 3 make the 'New 27' with cool views of Pueblo and Pastures.
-The shorter 'Front 16', is around the parking lot.
-'The longer 'Back 11' is across the road.
-You may want to play any layout with a local or on Tuesday at 5 or Saturday at 10am. You REALLY want hook up to find your way around the 20 hole 'Phantom Course' with the black signs
-Bring water, be patient, watch your discs. Enjoy.
This is a special course with many unique features.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

5+    8/25/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 76  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging. I am very thankful that the people of Picuris Pueblo opened up their land for all of us to enjoy. Great course to air it out. Close proximity to Sipapu allows you to play two completely different courses in the same day. Very cool locals.
Cons: I could see it to be hard to navigate for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: It is amazing that this course, along with Sipapu and Two Grey Hares are so close together. Make a weekend out of it and camp and play some amazing NM mountain golf!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    5/30/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course for sure. Plays very long. Large Variety of hole types here. Hyzer, turnover, long, uphill, and downhill. Unique High Desert landscape gives breathtaking views and adds some interesting obstacles on every hole.
Cons: Course is not well marked in my opinion. Only markings available were an arrow near each basket pointing towards next tee. Baskets needed more marking themselves. Tough to pick up an all grey metal basket among the brush.

The only saving grace was that I was there on a saturday when the locals have their friendly league play, without them I would have been lost.

All of the low brush can make it tough to find discs and also presents a problem for run-ups on second shots.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 sticks in my memory as the signature hole. Huge downhill shot with lots of trouble to the left and O.B. Road behind basket if you go long. Back nine plays really long.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/23/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful solitude. Clean air, everything I love about being in New Mexico. Not a lot of traffic the day I was out there. Nice use of elevation when available. I can't remember which hole, but one on the front nine is a great down hill shot with the pueblo in the background and much potential for tragedy along the way. On the back nine, I remember some nice use of uphill elevation as well. Most of the course plays fairly long with great views. Not too many ace runs, but not wide open either.
Cons: Little tough to find some holes, but not too bad. I was by myself from out of state with no guide, and I only wasted time on a few holes trying to figure out where to go. Good direction to next tee box, though, usually. Also, I don't remember any close stores to buy your golfing refreshments nearby, so stock up in town before you head out. On a summer day I could imagine water being a problem.
Other Thoughts: I would really recommend this course to anyone in the area. I stopped by Two Grey Hares, and the folks were very nice, but I only had time for one course that day, and their facility looked much more wide open that did Picuris. Therefore, I can't truly compare the two, but I was happy with my choice. Both courses could easily be played in a full day of golf, though.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    8/9/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: chazmo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course, Fun to play , Amazing views! First disc golf course on a pueblo in New Mexico.Alot of cool shots.Hole # 6 is awesome it over looks the Pueblo. It`s a lot tougher than it looks.You got to play this one.
Cons: No bathrooms or water so make sure you bring plenty.
Other Thoughts: A lot of hard work has gone it this course.it has some nice trails with yellow markers to show you to the next tee.these guys keep it in very nice shape.keep up the Great work.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.