Newport, NH
Pinnacle Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring the Good Plastic, Boots and Camera

1    10/6/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very beautifully nestled in the woods. There is a lot of challenging holes. Tee pads were well taken care of. The signage for each hole was great. Multiple tees for most all the holes but not all the tees have pads.
Cons: No course map showing location of next tee pad from basket. A lot of TREES, no cheap plastic.
Other Thoughts: This was totally different from the courses in San Diego, I will be back. Maybe instead on the flags or old pieces of wood marking the extra tee spots, how about using some of the natural rocks or wood as markers, similar to the beautiful benches on the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Into the Woods

5+    4/25/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1st pro = FREE!

A great layout (and workout) using Pinnacle Mountain for a challenging 18 holes. Heavily wooded, this course is hard for beginners and pros alike. Recently I have noticed a lot of work and time getting put into clearing up brush and fallen trees.
Cons: Trees. Lots of trees. This course has a very narrow fairway, on some holes not more than a few feet wide, and the trees are unforgiving.
Other Thoughts: Bring old beat-up discs, for you will need them to get yourself out of the woods to save your better plastics.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why all the praise?

2-4    4/24/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2013
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A nice course with decent baskes, placed at proper height. And this course provides a great physical work out and a beautiful walk in the woods.
Cons: Too many trees. I've played plenty of wooded courses but this one is crazy. There is not enough variety in hole layout. It seemed every tee or at least every other tee was faced with a wall of trees. I actually like courses with some wide open holes or at least some forgiving routes. If you throw a disc even slightly out of the narrow fairways, it's nearly impossible to recover a decent score.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is nice and hole 2 is interesting and there are a couple of open holes, but I don't see why all the praise for this course. I drove 1 1/2 hrs to play in the tournament and the first time at the course. I had a great time but I wouldn't drive that long to play there again, when I can drive a little less and play Maple Hill.

1/8/2013 Update - With development and improvement in my game, I now enjoy the challenges that this course provides.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place

2-4    9/6/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great trails, well marked holes. Free! Good course, I took two friends who had never played disc golf before and even with the tight fairways and many trees they both had a great time. I would play it weekly if i lived closer. Has HUGE potential with some more work.
Cons: Not for the impatient. Many a disc will find the trees even for more experienced players. But it makes each good shot that much more enjoyable. This course will make you a better golfer if you play it.
Other Thoughts: The tee boxes are pro distance but there are red and blue markers for intermediate and beginner. I met James, the builder/caretaker Great guy, if you see him out there take a minute to talk to him or even lend a hand.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.