Newport, NH 
Pinnacle Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 227ft.   4 / 401ft.   4 / 483ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Peak of Perfection

1    8/21/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2014
Pros: Pinnacle is unlike most any other disc golf course I have played, because it shares land with the only ski jump practice facility I have seen in person. That should be evidence of the radical elevation changes encountered here. It is a course next to the local high school, that is built and maintained by the students in some resource management classes. They are doing a great job if you ask me. There are lots of ups and downs, and lots of trees as well. It is a workout treading up and down these slopes, worse if you get bad rolls or lose a disc. Hole 2 is a long one, and with a sharp left and steeply up hill at the end. My drive missed on hole 3 to the left, and trust me, you don't want to do that. It is down hill fairly steep and wooded, and slick with pine needles. Very hard to recover. There are three par 4 holes, and this is a tough 57. 14 was a really good hole, long and downhill and turning right. Most of the middle section here are short to medium distance, weaving between trees, up and down the slopes. Making up what it lacks in distance, with elevation and vegetation. I shot a 66, and only managed one birdie on the single round I played. Ironically that came as I hastily chucked discs, rushing through the last four holes to escape a cloudburst. I liked the winding layout that was constantly changing direction, but not difficult to follow. No one else was playing when I was there, and it was overcast but pretty nice out when I arrived.
Cons: The signs and the tees could be improved, but the spirit of the course shines through the minor blemishes. If they leveled the boxes and installed good tees, and furnished nice signage, it would be nice. I played at the end of the summer, and the last 5 holes had some seriously overgrown fairways. Lost a Roadrunner on 14, but was called the next day and it was returned. Big ups to Rudy for the assist.
Other Thoughts: Pinnacle is pretty great by my standards. It thought hard about only giving it a 3.5. Despite the rough tee amenities there are some really fun holes, and some really tough holes. No yawners. Par 54 keeps you on your toes.

A fantastic course

2-4    5/18/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +The best heavily wooded course I have played
+No two holes are the same
+Challenging, different tees
+Clean
+Free
Cons: -Some tees are too close to holes
-Can become quite overgrown in the summer
-Tees aren't ideal for some run-ups (crushed rocks)
Other Thoughts: I love this course. If my high school had a course like this I would've started playing years ago! Unfortunately finding discs can be quite hard once greenery starts growing all over the place therefore this course is best played in the spring and fall in my opinion. This punishing course is well worth the visit.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wooded golf at its finest

2-4    4/13/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-kept forest setting.
Excellent hole variety made up of long, challenging par 3's with a few par 4's and ace runs mixed in. Good balance of left/right tee shots with defined fairways and gaps that are tight but fair. The rough is generally open when you miss your line but it will cost you a recovery shot. Elevation changes are well-used and often dramatic. Pin placements add difficulty with many guardians, side-slopes, and death putts so no hole is a gimme. Many memorable holes and features.
Cons: I played very early in the season when some missing signage made the early holes difficult to navigate first time through. Baskets are antiquated but adequate.
Other Thoughts: An active network of maple taps and a 30meter ski jump tower (moved from Lake Placid in 1976) make for some unique scenery during your round. A well-designed course that rewards good, conservative play and punishes errant shots. I also enjoyed the designer's (James Beaulieu) work at nearby Mount Sunapee and look forward to playing his next effort at Storrs Pond (Hanover/Lebanon) on completion. For me this course is an excellent example of what wooded golf should be.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging

1    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging holes, varied, and flows well. Nice environment, and not too busy. Decent tee pads and putting surfaces for a volunteer maintained public course.
Cons: Really a very nice course! Most tee pads were a bit eroded.
Other Thoughts: Not too far from mount sunapee. I enjoyed playing both in one day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    7/24/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Whit Skinner
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: So challenging that it's extremely difficult to master...so it never gets old.
Cons: I spend much of the year out west where the lanes and fairways are wide open so the trees are a rude awakening for me whenever I return home for the summer. It keeps me humble tho!
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 really should be a par 4. This is my home course and I've seen a grand total of 3 pars on it in five years of playing. I've never seen a birdie. Something has got to give.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pinnacle’s Plethora of Pines

1    7/9/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 124  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Multiple tees (three on each hole). Longs are fine gravel with wood borders. Blue/Red are natural and in varying condition.
• Tee signs show distance for each tee as well as the fundamental layout
• Primarily heavily wooded and technical
• Balanced in right/left/straight holes
• Elevation is a factor particularly on the back 9
• Flows naturally and is easy to navigate; seemed very broken in/well used
• Course was free of trash and debris (no garbage cans - its carry in/out)
• Nice benches at some tees with well constructed stairs and bridges placed in necessary areas throughout the course
• Quiet and secluded forest feel even though course is located in town at the local high school
• Baskets are homemade & seemed to be in good shape.
• Disc loss possibilities seemed low however hunting for your disc could consume some time on several holes.
Cons: • Long gravel tees were somewhat slippery on a number of holes & several had significant divots - I actually fell for the first time ever on a tee pad here (gravel was sharp as I cut both my knee and hand)
• It was a little marshy in places and subsequently, lots of insects (played in July so to be expected)
• While the course was devoid of people when we played (and school was not in session), it appears possible conflicts exist on the first few holes with school activities and on others with multi-use paths.
• Chains dislodged from the hooks on some putts. This didn't cause any problems with play, I merely put the chains back on the hooks. Additionally, more orange flags would aide in spotting pins better.
• Not sure if this is really a 'con' however the par 3, 511ft hole 14 in the tight woods seemed stingy on the par - especially considering the par 4, 400ft hole 12 in the woods and a more open 483ft par 4 hole #4.
Other Thoughts: The opening hole's wide open drive is so atypical that it feels like a transition with the sole purpose of indicating there's a disc golf course on the premises. Holes 2-4 are more characteristic as they venture through the tall pines and offer ample needle covered fairways to navigate. Holes five through nine progress into the hardwoods, the fairways start to narrow, elevation and basket placements become more evident but in turn, fair and attainable length off the tee is offered. Overall, the front nine eases you into the course with more welcoming holes and scoring opportunities however you can sense the development into something more substantial and intricate.
The back nine is where the course really steps it up. The fairways contract and add complexity making precision extremely crucial, elevation is more substantial and essential to the hole design and to top it all off, the length increases (3000+ ft. versus the front nine's 2600ft). When reflecting back on Pinnacle, these are the most memorable and defining holes elevating the course status into the 'excellent' sphere.
I would have loved to have had a course like this at my high school when growing up & envy those who are close enough to get the pleasure of playing here on a regular basis.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Where's my chainsaw?

1    9/26/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Far and away the best course in New Hampshire that I have played. The signage is great: clear tee signs that show all three tee positions and next tee signs. There is a welcome board with a place for scorecards (although only trash was in there). There is three sets of tees that offer totally different looks at the hole. There are scattered home-made benches throughout the course. Stairs and bridges are there when needed. The home-made baskets are in amazing shape and catch very similar to Mach V's. There is a great use of natural terrain and tricky pin positions to challange every shot in your bag. There are several ace runs as well as a couple of long par fours. Really good mix of dogleg rights/lefts, "s" holes, and uphill/downhill. In order to shoot par here you have to have everything going for you. Even though this course is on a high school property you can't really ask for much more.
Cons: The tee boxes are in rough shape (I'm told it mostly do to one person who digs in like he is playing baseball). The first couple of holes interfere with some school activities; athletic fields and a low ropes course. The design also has the course turn over on itself on a couple of the holes. Rough has a ton of fallen debris and trash scattered throughout. Very minimal use of OB. Large sand pit on eigtheen could casue some problems. Hiking trails intersect with a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The baskets were made at the high school. There is a low ropes course and ski jump at the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 my kind of course

1    10/12/2009   2/12/2010
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Woods golf at its finest with different alley ways to the basket on many holes

Nice mix of left and right turning fairways

Great use of elevation
No crossing fairways or danger zones makes for a good tournament course

Good diversity in length of holes where distance and accuracy is needed. No pointless open holes without obastacles.

Overall a well thought out and designed course

I can't wait to defend my title at next years NEFA tournament!
Other Thoughts: Permanent tee pads would make this course even more enjoyable

The course is located in a school zone so be aware of that when you open a beverage....

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Pinnacle

1    12/3/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: wpc3436
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with plenty of trees and good uphill and downhill holes. Seems pretty quiet and sounds like crowds are not a problem.
Cons: Very few negatives if any.
Other Thoughts: I just began playing this summer and have played many courses in Colorado. Pinnacle was the first New England course that I've played, and I feel it's as good as anything out West, including Conifer. Holes 14-18 are amazing. I'll play this course whenever I come back East.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Control Control Control

2-4    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: Crazyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Diversity in hole play and basket location, beautiful surroundings, many tight shots requiring great accuracy, Free, Easy to navigate once finding the first tee box next to the tennis courts, plays pretty quick even with not so great shooting.
Cons: sticks and brush on fairways(i'm picky), 2 hour ride from where I live(but well worth the trip)
Other Thoughts: Great course not an easy course thanks to a billion trees but it played fun and it will get better as it ages just like fine wine. Thank you James

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.