Newport, NH 
Pinnacle Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 227ft.   4 / 401ft.   4 / 483ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pinnacle’s Plethora of Pines

1    7/9/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 123  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Multiple tees (three on each hole). Longs are fine gravel with wood borders. Blue/Red are natural and in varying condition.
• Tee signs show distance for each tee as well as the fundamental layout
• Primarily heavily wooded and technical
• Balanced in right/left/straight holes
• Elevation is a factor particularly on the back 9
• Flows naturally and is easy to navigate; seemed very broken in/well used
• Course was free of trash and debris (no garbage cans - its carry in/out)
• Nice benches at some tees with well constructed stairs and bridges placed in necessary areas throughout the course
• Quiet and secluded forest feel even though course is located in town at the local high school
• Baskets are homemade & seemed to be in good shape.
• Disc loss possibilities seemed low however hunting for your disc could consume some time on several holes.
Cons: • Long gravel tees were somewhat slippery on a number of holes & several had significant divots - I actually fell for the first time ever on a tee pad here (gravel was sharp as I cut both my knee and hand)
• It was a little marshy in places and subsequently, lots of insects (played in July so to be expected)
• While the course was devoid of people when we played (and school was not in session), it appears possible conflicts exist on the first few holes with school activities and on others with multi-use paths.
• Chains dislodged from the hooks on some putts. This didn't cause any problems with play, I merely put the chains back on the hooks. Additionally, more orange flags would aide in spotting pins better.
• Not sure if this is really a 'con' however the par 3, 511ft hole 14 in the tight woods seemed stingy on the par - especially considering the par 4, 400ft hole 12 in the woods and a more open 483ft par 4 hole #4.
Other Thoughts: The opening hole's wide open drive is so atypical that it feels like a transition with the sole purpose of indicating there's a disc golf course on the premises. Holes 2-4 are more characteristic as they venture through the tall pines and offer ample needle covered fairways to navigate. Holes five through nine progress into the hardwoods, the fairways start to narrow, elevation and basket placements become more evident but in turn, fair and attainable length off the tee is offered. Overall, the front nine eases you into the course with more welcoming holes and scoring opportunities however you can sense the development into something more substantial and intricate.
The back nine is where the course really steps it up. The fairways contract and add complexity making precision extremely crucial, elevation is more substantial and essential to the hole design and to top it all off, the length increases (3000+ ft. versus the front nine's 2600ft). When reflecting back on Pinnacle, these are the most memorable and defining holes elevating the course status into the 'excellent' sphere.
I would have loved to have had a course like this at my high school when growing up & envy those who are close enough to get the pleasure of playing here on a regular basis.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Where's my chainsaw?

1    9/26/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Far and away the best course in New Hampshire that I have played. The signage is great: clear tee signs that show all three tee positions and next tee signs. There is a welcome board with a place for scorecards (although only trash was in there). There is three sets of tees that offer totally different looks at the hole. There are scattered home-made benches throughout the course. Stairs and bridges are there when needed. The home-made baskets are in amazing shape and catch very similar to Mach V's. There is a great use of natural terrain and tricky pin positions to challange every shot in your bag. There are several ace runs as well as a couple of long par fours. Really good mix of dogleg rights/lefts, "s" holes, and uphill/downhill. In order to shoot par here you have to have everything going for you. Even though this course is on a high school property you can't really ask for much more.
Cons: The tee boxes are in rough shape (I'm told it mostly do to one person who digs in like he is playing baseball). The first couple of holes interfere with some school activities; athletic fields and a low ropes course. The design also has the course turn over on itself on a couple of the holes. Rough has a ton of fallen debris and trash scattered throughout. Very minimal use of OB. Large sand pit on eigtheen could casue some problems. Hiking trails intersect with a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The baskets were made at the high school. There is a low ropes course and ski jump at the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: tight course with some length on a few holes. Loved the amount of trees and difficulty of the course. Several holes 16,18 come to mind are unique and fun to play. Very unforgiving course if you have bad shots but personally thats what makes it more fun. First time at the course and i hope to go back soon.
Cons: Only con id say is the older baskets. They have a few less chains than newer ones and i swear more puts skip out left and right with those. Maybe i just didnt putt well but i feel it better to blame the baskets.
Other Thoughts: worth the 2 hr trip,,,hope to go back soon.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Why all the praise?

2-4    4/24/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2013
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A nice course with decent baskes, placed at proper height. And this course provides a great physical work out and a beautiful walk in the woods.
Cons: Too many trees. I've played plenty of wooded courses but this one is crazy. There is not enough variety in hole layout. It seemed every tee or at least every other tee was faced with a wall of trees. I actually like courses with some wide open holes or at least some forgiving routes. If you throw a disc even slightly out of the narrow fairways, it's nearly impossible to recover a decent score.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is nice and hole 2 is interesting and there are a couple of open holes, but I don't see why all the praise for this course. I drove 1 1/2 hrs to play in the tournament and the first time at the course. I had a great time but I wouldn't drive that long to play there again, when I can drive a little less and play Maple Hill.

1/8/2013 Update - With development and improvement in my game, I now enjoy the challenges that this course provides.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 my kind of course

1    10/12/2009   2/12/2010
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Woods golf at its finest with different alley ways to the basket on many holes

Nice mix of left and right turning fairways

Great use of elevation
No crossing fairways or danger zones makes for a good tournament course

Good diversity in length of holes where distance and accuracy is needed. No pointless open holes without obastacles.

Overall a well thought out and designed course

I can't wait to defend my title at next years NEFA tournament!
Other Thoughts: Permanent tee pads would make this course even more enjoyable

The course is located in a school zone so be aware of that when you open a beverage....

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Pinnacle

1    12/3/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: wpc3436
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with plenty of trees and good uphill and downhill holes. Seems pretty quiet and sounds like crowds are not a problem.
Cons: Very few negatives if any.
Other Thoughts: I just began playing this summer and have played many courses in Colorado. Pinnacle was the first New England course that I've played, and I feel it's as good as anything out West, including Conifer. Holes 14-18 are amazing. I'll play this course whenever I come back East.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    8/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: aboule13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I have to give this course a rating bump because I thought it was an excellent course. Great amount of elevation change, good use of landscape, and a couple of unique "signature" type holes made this a blast to play. I travel around New England looking for fun courses a couple times a year and I would suggest anyone doing the same would try this course.

I would say its a little more difficult than average, which I enjoy. I wouldnt expect to show up and shoot an under par round there on my first try.
Cons: First tee was hard to find. It is located exactly at the corner of the tennis court. I think there are some little maps there to help you on your way once you find it.
Other Thoughts: I had to resist the temptation to climb the skiing "long jump" ramp and throw discs off the top. Ive played courses with elevation change with that magnitude out west, and it never ended well for the disc.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place

2-4    9/6/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great trails, well marked holes. Free! Good course, I took two friends who had never played disc golf before and even with the tight fairways and many trees they both had a great time. I would play it weekly if i lived closer. Has HUGE potential with some more work.
Cons: Not for the impatient. Many a disc will find the trees even for more experienced players. But it makes each good shot that much more enjoyable. This course will make you a better golfer if you play it.
Other Thoughts: The tee boxes are pro distance but there are red and blue markers for intermediate and beginner. I met James, the builder/caretaker Great guy, if you see him out there take a minute to talk to him or even lend a hand.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Control Control Control

2-4    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: Crazyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Diversity in hole play and basket location, beautiful surroundings, many tight shots requiring great accuracy, Free, Easy to navigate once finding the first tee box next to the tennis courts, plays pretty quick even with not so great shooting.
Cons: sticks and brush on fairways(i'm picky), 2 hour ride from where I live(but well worth the trip)
Other Thoughts: Great course not an easy course thanks to a billion trees but it played fun and it will get better as it ages just like fine wine. Thank you James

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of diversity on each hole. There are no two that are alike. Each hole has a "ideal" placement in the woods, meaning that you will not find one that does not feel like it belongs there. The signs are the typical block of wood made in shop class, they list the distances from all tees, and the pars. Four nice benches located at 2, 5, 10, and 14. I have birdied every hole but 13 and 14, so the possibility is there, but I have only two pars on 14 the 511 foot par 3. Trees are abundant here, and elevation change is constant. No problem navagating the course.
Cons: TREES TREES TREES TREES TREES TREE. There are lanes and there are fairways, big ones too, but most of the time even beautiful throws are snagged, snared, and pommeled by these frisbee killers. On your best day here your score card will still not reflect a good day golfing. Frustration is frequent here, but control is rewarded...slightly
Other Thoughts: this is now my home course since moving to the area, and it is the most difficult I have played other than Maple Hill. If you show up here be ready for a really nice course with a new obstacle for you to overcome on every hole. You will like the experience over all, just dont let the TREES get to you. There is not much I can think of that I would change here, not even thinning out the TREES

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.