Newport, NH 
Pinnacle Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 131ft.   3 / 182ft.   3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A fantastic course

2-4    5/18/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best heavily wooded course I have played, no two holes are the same, challenging, different tees, clean, free
Cons: Some tees are too close to holes, can become quite overgrown in the summer, tees aren't ideal (crushed rocks)
Other Thoughts: I love this course. If my high school had a course like this I would've started playing years ago! Unfortunately finding discs can be quite hard once greenery starts growing all over the place therefore this course is best played in the spring and fall in my opinion.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Free Course in NH

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: TBabb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pinnacle Disc Golf course is located behind the Newport, NH Middle High School in the woods. The course is free to play, which is often not the case in New England. The design of this course is wonderful, weaving up and down a wooded hill. There are many memorable shots here. There is plenty of variation between left, right, straight, uphill, flat, and downhill shots. The first hole starts out in the open but then the rest of the course is in tight woods. There are benches on many holes. The course is quite clean despite the lack of trashcans throughout. Challenge here comes from thick woods, varied elevation, some OB, and creative basket placement. Hole distances run between 208 and 511 feet on the long holes and shorter tees will make life easier on beginners. The scenery is beautiful, the area has a lovely smell of pine and the shade keeps things cooler in the summer months. There's also a huge ski jump here which is a sight to behold. I was here on a beautiful summer day and it seemed I had the whole course to myself, so crowds are not an issue. There are many mountain biking trails, and a ropes course here too.
Cons: The tees are functional but could be better. They are made of gravel, but small and often ripped up by an aggressive pair of cleats. Baskets aren't in great condition, but they still catch ok. Hole signs are hand drawn and not very informative and questionably accurate. There are navigation signs, but they are easy to miss. We never got lost, but navigation could have been easier. There are tons of bugs here, you'll want to take a bath in Off! before you arrive. There's plenty of parking, though I imagine it could be an issue during the school day. No restrooms unless you can get into the school.
Other Thoughts: The design aspect of the course is where the course really shines. Lots of great holes with a steady flow, beautiful scenery, and adequate challenge. However, a lot of the basics of a disc golf course do leave a little to be desired. With mediocre baskets, tee pads and signage, this 4 star course gets knocked down to a 3.5. Still worth a visit and plays great, but there are better courses out there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wooded golf at its finest

2-4    4/13/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-kept forest setting.
Excellent hole variety made up of long, challenging par 3's with a few par 4's and ace runs mixed in. Good balance of left/right tee shots with defined fairways and gaps that are tight but fair. The rough is generally open when you miss your line but it will cost you a recovery shot. Elevation changes are well-used and often dramatic. Pin placements add difficulty with many guardians, side-slopes, and death putts so no hole is a gimme. Many memorable holes and features.
Cons: I played very early in the season when some missing signage made the early holes difficult to navigate first time through. Baskets are antiquated but adequate.
Other Thoughts: An active network of maple taps and a 30meter ski jump tower (moved from Lake Placid in 1976) make for some unique scenery during your round. A well-designed course that rewards good, conservative play and punishes errant shots. I also enjoyed the designer's (James Beaulieu) work at nearby Mount Sunapee and look forward to playing his next effort at Storrs Pond (Hanover/Lebanon) on completion. For me this course is an excellent example of what wooded golf should be.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging

1    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging holes, varied, and flows well. Nice environment, and not too busy. Decent tee pads and putting surfaces for a volunteer maintained public course.
Cons: Really a very nice course! Most tee pads were a bit eroded.
Other Thoughts: Not too far from mount sunapee. I enjoyed playing both in one day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun but not a 4

2-4    6/2/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - High overall level of difficulty, with a few ace runs and amateur tees to offset it as needed
- Free
- Relatively clean and well maintained for a free course
- Excellent use of elevation
- Some unique shots required (hole 2 and 18 in particular)
Cons: - A lot of unremarkable, repetitive holes
- Fairways were rather overgrown
- Signs were not particularly helpful
- Some tees were way too close to the previous pin.
Other Thoughts: My discing buddy and I had been meaning to make the trek up to Pinnacle for a while, trusting that the 4/5 rating was accurate and worth the trip. While the course has many positive features and was a good time to play, I simply can't justify rating it higher than I have with the faults it has. From the very beginning there is a sense of letdown stepping up to the rutted teepad and seeing the remarkably unremarkable hole 1. Many of the holes beyond that had some interesting spots, but for the most part the majority of the holes didn't leave much of an impression. All of the teepads had some degree of degradation, with the worst ruts being found on the longer holes where a big drive is necessary. In addition to the teepads themselves being a bit treacherous, their location in regards to the previous basket was an issue in a few cases. If the course was ever busy (no idea of the usual traffic but it was empty on a beautiful Sunday morning and afternoon), there were spots where getting hit with an approach shot would be a valid concern. Navigation was generally decent though there were a few spots where the aged wooden arrows blended into the trees they were nailed to. The tee signs were very basic but showed the general location of the pins and the distance properly.
Regardless of the design and amenity flaws, there was a lot of good at Pinnacle as well. The high degree of difficulty keeps the course interesting, and there are alternate tees on most holes to allow newer players a less frustrating experience. Based on the cleanliness of the course and the many signs requesting that players pick up after themselves, it's clear that there's at least a couple people that care for the course. There were a few bottles and cans here and there, but overall Pinnacle was quite tidy for a free course. The fairways however, were not tidy. While it must be said that it would take a veritable army of volunteers to maintain the wooded fairways, that fact doesn't stop the overgrowth from being a detractor to the course. There were several instances where one of us had to spend a lot of time looking for a disc that turned out to be hidden in the fairway. There were several very muddy spots that played host to thousands of mosquitos. Some effort had been put into irrigation and creating dry paths, but work is still needed.
The elevation in play is used to maximum effect on most holes. There are about an equal number of flat, uphill, and downhill shots, and the downhill shots, particularly hole 18, were a lot of fun. Most of the uphill shots were tight corners with tiny lanes, which made them a little awkward. Some holes felt forced, and given that there was a fairly long walk from 18's pin back to the parking lot, they didn't have to be. Overall, the par of 57 was tough but fair. I could see where some would feel #14 should have been a par 4, however there were shorter holes that were tougher, and if they were 3s, 14 should be as well.
Pinnacle is definitely a course worth playing, and if I lived within 30 minutes or so I'd likely play it once or twice a week. That being said, it's not a 4 and there are many courses in NH and ME that are rated lower that provide a much better disc golf experience. Worth the trip but not good enough to lure me back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring the Good Plastic, Boots and Camera

1    10/6/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very beautifully nestled in the woods. There is a lot of challenging holes. Tee pads were well taken care of. The signage for each hole was great. Multiple tees for most all the holes but not all the tees have pads.
Cons: No course map showing location of next tee pad from basket. A lot of TREES, no cheap plastic.
Other Thoughts: This was totally different from the courses in San Diego, I will be back. Maybe instead on the flags or old pieces of wood marking the extra tee spots, how about using some of the natural rocks or wood as markers, similar to the beautiful benches on the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    7/24/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Whit Skinner
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: So challenging that it's extremely difficult to master...so it never gets old.
Cons: I spend much of the year out west where the lanes and fairways are wide open so the trees are a rude awakening for me whenever I return home for the summer. It keeps me humble tho!
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 really should be a par 4. This is my home course and I've seen a grand total of 3 pars on it in five years of playing. I've never seen a birdie. Something has got to give.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Woods

5+    4/25/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1st pro = FREE!

A great layout (and workout) using Pinnacle Mountain for a challenging 18 holes. Heavily wooded, this course is hard for beginners and pros alike. Recently I have noticed a lot of work and time getting put into clearing up brush and fallen trees.
Cons: Trees. Lots of trees. This course has a very narrow fairway, on some holes not more than a few feet wide, and the trees are unforgiving.
Other Thoughts: Bring old beat-up discs, for you will need them to get yourself out of the woods to save your better plastics.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pinnacle’s Plethora of Pines

1    7/9/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Multiple tees (three on each hole). Longs are fine gravel with wood borders. Blue/Red are natural and in varying condition.
• Tee signs show distance for each tee as well as the fundamental layout
• Primarily heavily wooded and technical
• Balanced in right/left/straight holes
• Elevation is a factor particularly on the back 9
• Flows naturally and is easy to navigate; seemed very broken in/well used
• Course was free of trash and debris (no garbage cans - its carry in/out)
• Nice benches at some tees with well constructed stairs and bridges placed in necessary areas throughout the course
• Quiet and secluded forest feel even though course is located in town at the local high school
• Baskets are homemade & seemed to be in good shape.
• Disc loss possibilities seemed low however hunting for your disc could consume some time on several holes.
Cons: • Long gravel tees were somewhat slippery on a number of holes & several had significant divots - I actually fell for the first time ever on a tee pad here (gravel was sharp as I cut both my knee and hand)
• It was a little marshy in places and subsequently, lots of insects (played in July so to be expected)
• While the course was devoid of people when we played (and school was not in session), it appears possible conflicts exist on the first few holes with school activities and on others with multi-use paths.
• Chains dislodged from the hooks on some putts. This didn't cause any problems with play, I merely put the chains back on the hooks. Additionally, more orange flags would aide in spotting pins better.
• Not sure if this is really a 'con' however the par 3, 511ft hole 14 in the tight woods seemed stingy on the par - especially considering the par 4, 400ft hole 12 in the woods and a more open 483ft par 4 hole #4.
Other Thoughts: The opening hole's wide open drive is so atypical that it feels like a transition with the sole purpose of indicating there's a disc golf course on the premises. Holes 2-4 are more characteristic as they venture through the tall pines and offer ample needle covered fairways to navigate. Holes five through nine progress into the hardwoods, the fairways start to narrow, elevation and basket placements become more evident but in turn, fair and attainable length off the tee is offered. Overall, the front nine eases you into the course with more welcoming holes and scoring opportunities however you can sense the development into something more substantial and intricate.
The back nine is where the course really steps it up. The fairways contract and add complexity making precision extremely crucial, elevation is more substantial and essential to the hole design and to top it all off, the length increases (3000+ ft. versus the front nine's 2600ft). When reflecting back on Pinnacle, these are the most memorable and defining holes elevating the course status into the 'excellent' sphere.
I would have loved to have had a course like this at my high school when growing up & envy those who are close enough to get the pleasure of playing here on a regular basis.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Where's my chainsaw?

1    9/26/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Far and away the best course in New Hampshire that I have played. The signage is great: clear tee signs that show all three tee positions and next tee signs. There is a welcome board with a place for scorecards (although only trash was in there). There is three sets of tees that offer totally different looks at the hole. There are scattered home-made benches throughout the course. Stairs and bridges are there when needed. The home-made baskets are in amazing shape and catch very similar to Mach V's. There is a great use of natural terrain and tricky pin positions to challange every shot in your bag. There are several ace runs as well as a couple of long par fours. Really good mix of dogleg rights/lefts, "s" holes, and uphill/downhill. In order to shoot par here you have to have everything going for you. Even though this course is on a high school property you can't really ask for much more.
Cons: The tee boxes are in rough shape (I'm told it mostly do to one person who digs in like he is playing baseball). The first couple of holes interfere with some school activities; athletic fields and a low ropes course. The design also has the course turn over on itself on a couple of the holes. Rough has a ton of fallen debris and trash scattered throughout. Very minimal use of OB. Large sand pit on eigtheen could casue some problems. Hiking trails intersect with a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The baskets were made at the high school. There is a low ropes course and ski jump at the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.