Nampa, ID 
West Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Basket is directly behind the large tree in the center of the photo.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not Spectacular But Just A Solid Throw!

1    7/23/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
Pros: This is just one of those solid, not thrilling type of course. Everything about is decent. The signage is OK. The tee pads are concrete and decent sized. It has these older baskets but they catch fine. The park is mostly flat with some scattered trees. It's long enough to provide challenge for most rec players with three holes playing over 300'. Not a bad place to throw a few rollers. I understand the baskets get changed often enough to keep things interesting. The swampy water hazard on # 8 was fun even though it was mostly dried up in mid-summer. It's only 200' and you could easily throw around it but it provides the most excitement on this course. Would probably provide the pucker factor during other seasons.
The listed pars on the signs are for beginners or junior high aged players. Like # 9's 363 ft. Par 5. This makes for some eagle opportunities if you care to follow the listed Pars.
Cons: I understand the course can get busy at times with gatherings and especially soccer/football practices.
It's flat and mostly open throws.
Not much challenge for better players.
Other Thoughts: Because it sits right next to a Jr. Hi. School, I was pleasantly surprised with how clean and graffiti free the course was. Junior High age kids love to be destructive and disc golf courses are often likely targets.
West is a nice little course for beginners, offers just enough challenge for most players and along with Lake Lowell and the College Of Western Idaho 9 certainly provides Nampa recreational players with plenty of options.

Fun 9 holer

5+    2/23/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: natdog14
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Excellent layout and flow. Course is well maintained by parks department and has decent traffic throughout the week. One of my favorites for getting in a quick round after work.
Cons: Foot/bike paths through the course. Since it's just 9 holes, can get backed up with traffic some times.

Not bad in Nampa

5+    9/28/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple basket placements increase challenge and keep it fresh.
2 water hazard shots that are scary good.
Fairly easy course to post a low score.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
No elevation.
Could use some more trees.
Park is crowded at times and has a walking path that splits the course, so watch for peds.
Be accurate or use a floater on #2 and #8. The pond is pretty nasty looking, so you don't want to be wading around in it.
I wish it had at least 1 long par 4 or 5.
Other Thoughts: This course is close to a relative's house, so I get to play often. It's a fun little 9-hole that will bore a pro or someone used to championship level courses. As I mentioned in the "Pros" above, the multiple basket placements really help this course and boosted my review rating. #2 is tricky because you can't over shoot your drive or you're in the pond. You can play it safe and lay up short, but it will be much harder to make birdie. #8 is even more challenging because even though it's only about 200', you have to tee over the pond and land in a pretty tight spot for your birdie. I really like playing this one at night with my glow discs. I never have to share the course at night.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beter than I Expected

1    6/1/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.6 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate, and even though the park was busy, the course is intelligently laid out so you almost never have to worry about being in someone's way, or having someone in your way. Second and Eighth holes play toward and over a small pond, offering a nice challenge. Eight is particularly good, you have the option of playing over the pond or taking a wide arc to the right. That arc has a row of trees right in the line. Smart!
Cons: Course is very flat, there is only the little bank around the pond to give any variation. The tee pads are nice, but some were too short for me. Those who don't need/want as much of a run-up won't notice this. Biggest complaint? It's only nine holes.
Other Thoughts: Tee for three is the sidewalk next to the tee sign. Map shows fourth hole is to the left of the sidewalk, it's actually to the right. I'm in town for a week on business. I'll be here several more times this week.

 Great little course

5+    7/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: ChillyWilly002
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The tee and pin locations are great on this course. The little course map is awesome as well you never have to take a second to look for the pins as the park is very clean and maintained. This is a great course for someone just starting out and learning the sport.Clean and fun course.
Cons: This may not be a fun course for someone that has been playin for years as the holes are pretty easy and you never really have to bomb any shots because the holes aren't that long.
Other Thoughts: With little to no hazards this is an overall great little course if you only have about 30 minutes to play. On number 8 you do have to throw over a pond but in the winter there is no water so that is nice. But i do have to say if you go to one of the colleges around the area and you play come try it out.

Played Between Classes

5+    9/9/2010   7/9/2012
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From what I remember, this course was a great beginner course. A friend and I went to play in between college classes, and we fit 2 rounds in, in a pretty short time. A mix of short and long holes.
UPDATED: Bumped this course up to a 3.0 from a 2.5 because as I have played this course more I have found it to be more fun. A unique feature is the short over the water shot on hole 8.
Cons: Beginner course, not too many skill shots needed. hazard in the middle makes for a fun adventure if you lose your disc in it, I remember my friend looking for a disc and eventually finding it 15 minutes later.
Other Thoughts: Played this almost 2 years ago now, just remembered that it was one of the first courses I played, and I wanted to review it from what I could remember, more for my own memory than anyone else.
UPDATED: Course plays well for the Nampa League that meets on Wednesday evenings. Changing tee pads on some holes makes them a little more interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginner course

2-4    6/1/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: Nofearrider
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Light amount of obstacles and fairly open drive lines make this course a perfect place for a beginner or a first time disc golfer.
- intermediate gofers may find this a challenge as well. A few water obstacles and varied distances allow intermediate folders to hone their drive skills as well as their putting skills
- Water hazards are designed well so you can retrieve a disc if it is thrown in there
Cons: - This course is not the greatest play for advanced golfers
- If you have a variety of discs, this course becomes a none challenge
- Nice days have people walking everywhere and it makes it hard to make a composed shot. You feel rushed
Other Thoughts: Like I mentioned before this course is great for beginners and intermediates with only a few amount of discs. As your skill gets better and you acquire more disc, this course will become less and less challenging

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad.

1    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: DoOgSauce
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent, but short, tee pads, mowed grass, nice baskets. Hole 1 and 8 are the best on the course. Hole one because it takes a good shot to park it. Hole 8 because you have to throw over the pond. Tee signs are nicely designed and helpful.
Cons: The rest of the holes only had trees right around the basket, so they did not force any different kinds of shots. The only time I got confused is when throwing from the path that is hole 3's tee pad, because of the position of the tee sign. I originally threw to 4's basket , but realized my mistake quickly.
Other Thoughts: Not a killer course by any means but a fun one nonetheless. Great course for beginners. If you have to pick between here and Osborne park, play Osborne.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Quick Course

5+    2/8/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Bouh93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First hole is challenging with lots of trees and a tight fairway. Course can be played pretty quickly .
Cons: Not a very long course. Also, lots of walkers especially when the school next door lets out.
Other Thoughts: Great course for learning the game and experimenting with new technique. This can be a very forgiving course with the exception of just a couple of holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  West Park

5+    1/19/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: Shaunlund
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Access is easy. Difficult enough to keep coming back to. Great home course! Great to learn on.
Cons: Foot traffic after school. No elevation changes. The more experienced players should have no problem with this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.