Disc Golf Center
Hudsonville, MI 
Hughes Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo   (Taken 10/2010)
Hole #13 Tee: Basket down center of trees in front of pavilion. Also basket for #9



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun ace run course

5+    8/5/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: hellbound
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short game course that has you seeing anything from a putter to a midrange ace run attemps. More than one time in a round you could be holding your breath or screaming get in the basket.

With the space the park has they out did them selves to give you a chance at a challanging pitch and putt kind of place
Cons: This park sees enough foot traval to see some kind of tee pads put in.

plays too close to the play ground.
Other Thoughts: I moved from grand rapids three years ago and everytime i make a trip back home i always try to make a stop here for a quick round to warm up the arm. I would not say this is a out of state destination but as a semi local it is worth a look or two.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Huges Park

1    3/17/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: jwetter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30
Pros: -nice little park
-good variety of holes, there is a lot of trees that make sure you have to do a variety of throws
-18 holes
-there is really good flow, I never got lost and there are very short walks between the basket and the next tee
Cons: -Only 9 baskets
-dirt tee pads
-not a large variety of distances, every hole is fairly short
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to play if you are in the area!

 Leave the Drivers in the Car

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs (Sort of) they have wooden posts for the end of the tee pointing at where the basket is where a distance (Although I think they seemed very off at time)

-Some Great Pin Placement especially as they are used twice. They even have Wooden Blocks on top of the baskets telling you the number when facing it.

-They do mix it up so that all the baskets are getting used in a different flow on the back 9 so it's not 1 2 3 4 ect.

-Great place to learn mids and putters a lot better(nothing over 300)

-Easy to find your way around.

-The first hole has a sign that says "Start" making it very easy to find.

-Clean
Cons: -Can seem to get jammed up a little bit because of the shared baskets(2 other groups were playing while I was there and I ran into both of them)

-Dirt Tee pads(besides hole 17 which has a grass one)

-Hole 3's and 11's green are on the tee pad of hole 4

-Playground in the middle of it, although it didn't seem to come into play or get in the way while we were playing.
Other Thoughts: This place is not your normal pitch and putt. There are some good lines, and I would say this place is lightly wooded. It seems to flow very well and easy to find your way around. There are a lot of pins placed right of the tee (lots of turn overs for RHBH). For a short quick course I would say this could be one of the better ones in Grand Rapids Area.

Seems that if people are here you are bound to run into them. It's a very nice clean park, and is also multi use. Has basketball, a Net for volleyball or badminton.

Complete side note, it seemed like discs popped out of these baskets quite a bit. They have the huge bottle park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Limited variety

5+    10/11/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: BlueBells
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: This course has been redone and is CONSIDERABLY more fun to play. Poles are non-existent

Baskets have been installed
Tee-off "areas" have been implemented
Signage is up and pretty unique
Course design is intelligent, and I would say about as good as it can be for the limited area.
Park is still clean. Really clean.
I've never had to wait here. Ever.
Course plays like a full 18 despite only having 9 baskets, separate tee areas for a singular basket make it seem like the hole is entirely different
Cons: Not too much to argue with here, this course works about as well as it can in the limited area.

Distance still remains a small factor, all the holes are within 160-250 feet. However, as I mentioned earlier, I have no idea how they would change this.

Other Thoughts: All in all, it's probably worth checking out, especially if you live in/around the area, or are passing by.

It's a nice little course that challenges your driving accuracy and consistency.

First tournament held here was won with 7 under (through 9 holes)...a reasonable possibility if you throw a consistent round. General scores seemed to be around 2-3 under for the front 9, more advanced players should shoot for 6 under.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quickie Course

2-4    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jdgdreamer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick play (I was alone on the course and played two 9-hole rounds with two discs at a round)

Easy to see the posts as long as you can find the overview map to find the first tee post.

Even though they are short holes, it gave me GREAT practice with the distance putts and mid range disc work on a couple of the holes.
Cons: This is the first course I've played with the posts as objects...I'm not sure I'm a fan.

I can see where this would be a problematic course when school is not in session. There was only a handful of kids in the park and luckily they knew what disc golf was because the youngest was running to throw my discs back on hole #3!
Other Thoughts: I think that there is enough room to expand the course and either make more holes or make a couple more difficult, and I'm not sure why they can't get catchers instead of the object posts...maybe I'll have to call and see about donating to help improvements?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.