Hudsonville, MI 
Hughes Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 250ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket just right of big tree in back.



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun ace run course

5+    8/5/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: hellbound
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short game course that has you seeing anything from a putter to a midrange ace run attemps. More than one time in a round you could be holding your breath or screaming get in the basket.

With the space the park has they out did them selves to give you a chance at a challanging pitch and putt kind of place
Cons: This park sees enough foot traval to see some kind of tee pads put in.

plays too close to the play ground.
Other Thoughts: I moved from grand rapids three years ago and everytime i make a trip back home i always try to make a stop here for a quick round to warm up the arm. I would not say this is a out of state destination but as a semi local it is worth a look or two.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Huges Park

1    3/17/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
Pros: -nice little park
-good variety of holes, there is a lot of trees that make sure you have to do a variety of throws
-18 holes
-there is really good flow, I never got lost and there are very short walks between the basket and the next tee
Cons: -Only 9 baskets
-dirt tee pads
-not a large variety of distances, every hole is fairly short
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to play if you are in the area!

 

1    9/15/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic--I like the small town park feel of this course. Old growth trees and little places to lose discs.

Baskets--nice. even though it's 18 holes for 9 baskets, they are in nice condition and are grippy.

Routing--Relatively easy. Big "Start" sign at first tee. next tee is typically close to the previous basket and pretty easy to find.

Traffic--very light, I was the only one on the course, but that could be reflective of the course.

the park itself--nicely laid out, playground equipment is well out of the way of the DGC.
Cons:
Challenge--little to none. I threw a -4 the first time through, many many birdies but a couple bogeys because of bad putts :(

kick strip tees-- Tees are dirt and have a 4x4 with the hole and distance, etc on them. they get covered in dirt easily and can be hard to see if you don't wipe them off with your foot.

"dual" tees v. 18 hole course--I can imagine if you were playing during prime times waiting and trying to figure out who's turn it is could get confusing. thankfully, the tees/pins don't line up 1/10, 2/11, etc... there is some variety.

other crap in your way--there are telephone poles/lines, buildings and other obstacles that pose threats to your lines. One in particular is a guy wire from a pole that is directly in your way putting on one hole.
Other Thoughts: It's not that it's not a nice park and a fun time. Just rating this one based on how I perceive DGC's now. I like more of a challenge. I like to be frustrated, in the end it's still disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ace run Shorty!

2-4    7/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: raptor4you
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.1 Years
Pros: Short ace run holes that helps work on midrange, upshot, and putts all day. Different lines to try different shots. Begginer friendly.
Cons: 9 pins with 18 pads. Many pins are located next to two tee pads, so many times there are either people shooting direclty at you or you are waiting for people to finish a different hole or the hole that is directly next to your tee pad. No cement, all flat, very little distance variation.
Other Thoughts: Patience is a virtue on this course as you will need to wait for people to play to the same pin you are shooting. There are also fearess squirrels and a few hawks on the course that you will likely see.

 Great Beginners Course

1    7/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Very short holes, you can expect to birdie every hole with a mid-range or a putter.
* A little challenging with the trees and the confusing backwards play for the back nine holes. Just be sure that they are clear before you throw
* Again, with it being a mid/putter course, not too much is in the course to challenge you besides the road at holes 1, 2 (and their back holes) and then trees, building, people, etc.
* Very clean course, not usually crowded
* Ground tees, with the information on in-ground tee markers, hole number/distance/etc.
* Baskets are fairly new, good conditions, they are all used twice.
* Bathrooms here!
Cons: * Too simple, not enough to challenge the normal golfer, birdie every hole (you should at least)
* With the tees being used twice, it causes two groups of players to come at it sometimes at once. Just be respectful and it shouldn't be a problem, but you know people...
Other Thoughts: I gave it a 2.5 due to the simplicity of the course, not because of anything to do with the community/overall course. It has to do with the fact it uses the baskets twice and that it is a fairly EASY course, all putter and mid-range. Not a bad course for beginners and golfers that want to practice mid-ranges and longer putting distances.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/8/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Ninja Librarian
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *New Baskets

*Set up nice for bringing beginners
-No long holes
-enough trees to make you practice several different throws but not enough to frustrate new throwers
Cons: *Tried to make an 9 hole course into an 18
-at baskets have 2 tees throwing at them. If that wasn't bad enough many of the tees are less than 10 feet from another basket.

*Natural Tees

*"Signs" telling you the where to throw, distance and par are in the ground and often covered with dirt making them hard to read.
Other Thoughts: If you could be guaranteed to be the only group on the course it would probably warrant a 2.5, but if there is any other group there you will run into them.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Leave the Drivers in the Car

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs (Sort of) they have wooden posts for the end of the tee pointing at where the basket is where a distance (Although I think they seemed very off at time)

-Some Great Pin Placement especially as they are used twice. They even have Wooden Blocks on top of the baskets telling you the number when facing it.

-They do mix it up so that all the baskets are getting used in a different flow on the back 9 so it's not 1 2 3 4 ect.

-Great place to learn mids and putters a lot better(nothing over 300)

-Easy to find your way around.

-The first hole has a sign that says "Start" making it very easy to find.

-Clean
Cons: -Can seem to get jammed up a little bit because of the shared baskets(2 other groups were playing while I was there and I ran into both of them)

-Dirt Tee pads(besides hole 17 which has a grass one)

-Hole 3's and 11's green are on the tee pad of hole 4

-Playground in the middle of it, although it didn't seem to come into play or get in the way while we were playing.
Other Thoughts: This place is not your normal pitch and putt. There are some good lines, and I would say this place is lightly wooded. It seems to flow very well and easy to find your way around. There are a lot of pins placed right of the tee (lots of turn overs for RHBH). For a short quick course I would say this could be one of the better ones in Grand Rapids Area.

Seems that if people are here you are bound to run into them. It's a very nice clean park, and is also multi use. Has basketball, a Net for volleyball or badminton.

Complete side note, it seemed like discs popped out of these baskets quite a bit. They have the huge bottle park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hughes new layout

5+    8/23/2014   8/1/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Finally they have baskets instead of posts. nice little layout. new layout can get tricky with basket placement and tree locations. part pro and part con. 18 tees but only 9 baskets.
Cons: first couple of holes the street and sidewalk can come into play since it goes directly along the outside within about 15 feet from the street. hole 7 and hole 16 shoot across the horseshoe pits. not too much of a problem since i have yet to see anyone using them. hole layout is 9 baskets with 18 tees so if someone is playing the other hole location you will have to wait to throw. next tee locations are really close to previous basket so if you are approaching the basket you have to wait till they tee off. still dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: personally i sort of like it. The tee pads are a wooden board in the ground near the basket with hole #, distance, par, and direction towards next basket. new hole layout is as follows.
#1 175 ft
#2 140 ft
#3 187 ft
#4 215 ft
#5 250 ft
#6 190 ft
#7 258 ft
#8 165 ft
#9 178 ft
#10 170 ft aim at basket #1
#11 253 ft aim at basket #3
#12 181 ft aim at basket #2
#13 232 ft aim at basket #9
#14 195 ft aim at basket #8
#15 198 ft aim at basket #4
#16 260 ft aim at basket #6
#17 186 ft aim at basket #5
#18 270 ft aim at basket #7


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Limited variety

5+    10/11/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: BlueBells
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: This course has been redone and is CONSIDERABLY more fun to play. Poles are non-existent

Baskets have been installed
Tee-off "areas" have been implemented
Signage is up and pretty unique
Course design is intelligent, and I would say about as good as it can be for the limited area.
Park is still clean. Really clean.
I've never had to wait here. Ever.
Course plays like a full 18 despite only having 9 baskets, separate tee areas for a singular basket make it seem like the hole is entirely different
Cons: Not too much to argue with here, this course works about as well as it can in the limited area.

Distance still remains a small factor, all the holes are within 160-250 feet. However, as I mentioned earlier, I have no idea how they would change this.

Other Thoughts: All in all, it's probably worth checking out, especially if you live in/around the area, or are passing by.

It's a nice little course that challenges your driving accuracy and consistency.

First tournament held here was won with 7 under (through 9 holes)...a reasonable possibility if you throw a consistent round. General scores seemed to be around 2-3 under for the front 9, more advanced players should shoot for 6 under.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quickie Course

2-4    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jdgdreamer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick play (I was alone on the course and played two 9-hole rounds with two discs at a round)

Easy to see the posts as long as you can find the overview map to find the first tee post.

Even though they are short holes, it gave me GREAT practice with the distance putts and mid range disc work on a couple of the holes.
Cons: This is the first course I've played with the posts as objects...I'm not sure I'm a fan.

I can see where this would be a problematic course when school is not in session. There was only a handful of kids in the park and luckily they knew what disc golf was because the youngest was running to throw my discs back on hole #3!
Other Thoughts: I think that there is enough room to expand the course and either make more holes or make a couple more difficult, and I'm not sure why they can't get catchers instead of the object posts...maybe I'll have to call and see about donating to help improvements?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.