Kaukauna, WI
Kaukauna Jr. DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #6
4 / 177ft.   -- / --   4 / 256ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for beginners and ace runs

2-4    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set between 2 elementary schools. This is a great set up for younger kids to learn the sport and still fun for more experienced players to work on your short game. There are two sets of concrete tees on almost all the holes which is really cool for a short beginner course like this. The reds were the shorts and the blacks are the longs. The baskets are Mach 5's that are in great shape and catch nicely. There's not any real long holes here but enough for beginners to be tested. The shortest hole is 85' on number 3's red tee up to 310' on number 4's black tee. Most holes are in the low to mid 100 foot range. There are signs by each tee that have hole #, par, and distances. These look like the same ones they have at Plamann park. There are trees to make things challenging on almost every hole and some very slight elevation on a couple holes. It was extremely windy when we went and that made for the biggest challenge that day. The course was well mowed and maintained when we went. Hole 9 ends right by hole 1.
Cons: It is a school course so it wouldn't be playable during school hours. Again the distances are short but it is for younger players. If you park by the water tower you have to walk to the other end of the course to get to hole 1. No restrooms, garbages, etc. But again it is a school course.
Other Thoughts: This was another surprise in the Appleton area. Nothing too amazing but a fun place to try for some aces. There were three elementary school kids playing when we were there which is awesome to see. Again if in the area check it out, but don't go out of your way for this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/19/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick, easy practice course
While being short, there are ample trees to make you concentrate on drive shot
Full size pads, even though no run up really needed
Cons: Plays around the back side of a school. I wasn't there when school was in session, but there might be little ones around.
All holes can be played straight at the pin, no real curve needed.
Other Thoughts: I parked on the road and started playing at hole 4, not 1 which is up by the school.
All holes can be aced and you can make a run of the course in under 15 mins. With plenty of trees and not much activity you can really play from anywhere to any pin and practice your skills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not your typical wide open lame school course

1    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very beginner friendly. Of course it is . . . it is on a school property and I assume it gets used by the school to introduce the game to its students.
It is short and I mean short (only one hole is not EASILY reachable and that is hole #4.

2) NIcely sized dual concrete tees with a small colored strip to indicate which tee you are on! Are you kidding on a school course . . . this course was done right and is all ablout representing the sport to the beginners!!!!

3) Nice signs on the course with distances and a minimal diagram.

4) Baskets are in good condition.

5) This course incorporates trees into about 7 of the 9 holes. Being short on the holes with tree you can still sortof just gun a putter or a roc right up to the basket, but for beginners they will have to learn how to shape shots a little bit which is good.

5) This course is mostly flat, but does incorporate some rolling hills and does have two tees that are elevated slightly from the basket.

6)Just a great representation of how courses should be done . . . obviously this was designed with beginners and introduction to the sport and it was very well done with that mindset. Don't come here expecting a tough challenge with great holes, it is just a beginner course, but one I can appreciate as designed very well.
Cons: 1) Not enough of a challenge for most above average disc golfers.

2) Mostly flat which is somewhat boring.

3) No garbage cans or benches on the course, although you can play in about 15 minutes so you probably won't finish a soda in that time, nor will there ever be a wait.
Other Thoughts: Short tees are short and long tees are still short! Still a very enjoyable course. I good place to practice some hyzer flips, a massive anny, and your putter driving. Go for as many aces as you can in one day! All in all I still think it was a worthhile course and I think you can find ways to enjoy it even though it is short and truly a beginner course. It is the best beginner course I have played because it still provides some challeneg because of the trees on the property.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Skip it.

1    8/19/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: mzuleger
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The tee pads and signs are nice. Ace runs (not sure if you would count an ace on a 130 ft hole though).
Cons: This is a Jr. course so it is very small, the longest hole is 301ft the rest are under 200ft. I would only recommend this course if you live down the block and want to practice putting. Otherwise make the drive to one of the other full size courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, I thought it was a waste of time, but I did run into a dad who brought his young daughter discing... it seems like the perfect course for a situation like that.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.