Kaukauna, WI 
Kaukauna Jr. DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #6
4 / 177ft.   -- / --   4 / 256ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Kaukauna Jr. DGC Review

5+    7/26/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's fun to play as a mini-golf, disc golf course. The pads and pins are fairly new, so they play good. Good place to try out a new disc, that you want to figure out how it flies and how good you can throw it.
Cons: Its really short and easy. Not too much of a challenge for average and above players. Don't make plans to come here and expect a hard game.
Other Thoughts: For being a small course at the elementary school its pretty fun to go there with friends and play like a "mini" golf game. We just play round after round until it becomes boring.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for beginners and ace runs

2-4    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set between 2 elementary schools. This is a great set up for younger kids to learn the sport and still fun for more experienced players to work on your short game. There are two sets of concrete tees on almost all the holes which is really cool for a short beginner course like this. The reds were the shorts and the blacks are the longs. The baskets are Mach 5's that are in great shape and catch nicely. There's not any real long holes here but enough for beginners to be tested. The shortest hole is 85' on number 3's red tee up to 310' on number 4's black tee. Most holes are in the low to mid 100 foot range. There are signs by each tee that have hole #, par, and distances. These look like the same ones they have at Plamann park. There are trees to make things challenging on almost every hole and some very slight elevation on a couple holes. It was extremely windy when we went and that made for the biggest challenge that day. The course was well mowed and maintained when we went. Hole 9 ends right by hole 1.
Cons: It is a school course so it wouldn't be playable during school hours. Again the distances are short but it is for younger players. If you park by the water tower you have to walk to the other end of the course to get to hole 1. No restrooms, garbages, etc. But again it is a school course.
Other Thoughts: This was another surprise in the Appleton area. Nothing too amazing but a fun place to try for some aces. There were three elementary school kids playing when we were there which is awesome to see. Again if in the area check it out, but don't go out of your way for this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 spring 2013

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: vaughn_kitty
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Grounds maintained and baskets clearly marked along with pars.
Cons: beginner course. under 200 feet for all tees. ...............................................................
Other Thoughts: in-between two elementary schools so you may not want to play during regular school hours.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nearly perfect for its type

5+    11/25/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 724  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two broomed tees, per hole, with colored lines; designating tee skill level. Footage stenciled on each tee (I happen to get 50% credit for the painting work.) Signs on short tees.

Visually and quality appealing; red powder coated DGA baskets.

Couple of elevated tees from longs.

This is a fine example of a middle school course. From long tees; there is enough to make you feel you've played an actual course; just barely.

I only play here once or twice a year. But, I know of at least one high level advanced player (top 30 when advanced worlds was, most recently, in Wisconsin); who came here often; (for a couple of years); to work on his upshot game and make ace runs/long deuces. I believe he hit nearly 30 aces, during this period.

Can jog thru this one in very short time.
Cons: Of course that segways into the con: this course is short. (Nearly every hole requires a bit of line shaping; and trees are used as much as possible; but, you only need to bring your putter and perhaps one mid or driver).

Usual school course restrictions.

Other Thoughts: Parking here is odd; and most will probably park by the water tower; on the street. You can park in the school lot; by tee 1; but, it's a bit difficult figuring how to get there.

I've only seen a couple of other courses where you're this close to the cities' water tower. Our seven man group joked consideraly about trying to throw a disc high enough to even reach the bubble portion of tower; much less put one on top. No one gave it a try though.

We played the course as par two; of which I had eight (with a four also); to win, out of a seven man group (-7). Smashed chains on #9; which is always fun (didn't stay; it was left side).

Grignon Park, Kaukauna Jr. DGC, Kimberly High School (frontwards and then backwards), and Telulah Park, makes for a fun route of "checking courses off the list;" and there are others not too distant.

You probably won't want to return here; once you've played it once; but, it is in the midst of a fun scoring type day; and can be combined with some good courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 C- = Class of the field….for elementary schools

1    6/26/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of about 10-15 elementary/middle schools I have played, this ranks at the top. This course is well suited for elementary gym class AND it introduces some concepts of DG that many school courses don't. I love to see these elementary courses as I have 3 elementary ages kids myself. But unfortunately due to the purpose of this site, I need to rate 'em like I see 'em and my low grade does not do justice to the happiness in my heart this course gives me!

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(Slightly below average in this area. The reason for this is that very few of the holes have any sort of trouble early in the fairway that will ever turn a bad drive into a bogey. There are a few bonus points in this category since several holes give you choices on what route to take and what throw to make….which is what real golf is all about.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(Surprisingly this course has some longer holes with enough shot shaping required that when you park it you actually feel like you have accomplished something.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
(Certainly not wooded, the use of available trees to make you throw a variety of shots is really quite good for an small, simple and flat course. It is about average for 9-holers…..which makes it one of the very top school courses out there since most of these courses simply are not on property where this can be accomplished.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(Below average for all courses, but above average for school courses. Nice grass, nice neighborhood, nice trees. Overall it's a quiet location for being in a town, but it is in no way secluded.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (But, if any elementary aged kid can complete the longer holes on this course in one throw…..I want to meet them and get their signature!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome beginner course

1    7/4/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, this course is just about perfectly designed for middle school aged kids to try the game. It's a reasonable length for younger kids, with really short tees for trying it out, and short tees for kids who start to get it and are ready for a little more challenge. There are enough trees to encourage trying some different shots, and to keep it from just being 9 of the same short hole.

Both sets of tees are nice concrete pads in good shape. There are tee signs at the shorter set with hole diagram and length from both tees, and the hole number and distance are stenciled on the long tee. The baskets are in great shape, and the red looks nice and unique. The grounds were well taken care of, with no trash or vandalism.
Cons: For anyone other than a middle school kid, the course is short and very easy, so I can't rate it much higher when I rank it in my full list of courses played. Even from the longer set of tees, there is one hole that justifies a midrange shot, the rest are ace runs with your putter (I hit chains 3 times during my round from the longer set of tees with just a wizard, and I'm not very good). A few of the long tees are simply straight back from the short tees, though for the most part the design tries to get a little different shot from the two tees for a little more variety. When parking on the street you have to start in the middle of the course as the first hole starts up by the school, not a big deal, just something to know so you don't go wandering around looking for the first tee.
Other Thoughts: I love seeing school courses that expose kids and the community to the sport, especially ones that are so perfectly designed for their target audience. I hate giving such a low rating to such a nice beginner course, but try to remain consistent in my ratings. Beginners will find some challenges to shape different lines here, and very reasonable lengths. More experienced players won't find much challenge, but might enjoy running every hole for the ace and getting some approach practice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/19/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick, easy practice course
While being short, there are ample trees to make you concentrate on drive shot
Full size pads, even though no run up really needed
Cons: Plays around the back side of a school. I wasn't there when school was in session, but there might be little ones around.
All holes can be played straight at the pin, no real curve needed.
Other Thoughts: I parked on the road and started playing at hole 4, not 1 which is up by the school.
All holes can be aced and you can make a run of the course in under 15 mins. With plenty of trees and not much activity you can really play from anywhere to any pin and practice your skills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not your typical wide open lame school course

1    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very beginner friendly. Of course it is . . . it is on a school property and I assume it gets used by the school to introduce the game to its students.
It is short and I mean short (only one hole is not EASILY reachable and that is hole #4.

2) NIcely sized dual concrete tees with a small colored strip to indicate which tee you are on! Are you kidding on a school course . . . this course was done right and is all ablout representing the sport to the beginners!!!!

3) Nice signs on the course with distances and a minimal diagram.

4) Baskets are in good condition.

5) This course incorporates trees into about 7 of the 9 holes. Being short on the holes with tree you can still sortof just gun a putter or a roc right up to the basket, but for beginners they will have to learn how to shape shots a little bit which is good.

5) This course is mostly flat, but does incorporate some rolling hills and does have two tees that are elevated slightly from the basket.

6)Just a great representation of how courses should be done . . . obviously this was designed with beginners and introduction to the sport and it was very well done with that mindset. Don't come here expecting a tough challenge with great holes, it is just a beginner course, but one I can appreciate as designed very well.
Cons: 1) Not enough of a challenge for most above average disc golfers.

2) Mostly flat which is somewhat boring.

3) No garbage cans or benches on the course, although you can play in about 15 minutes so you probably won't finish a soda in that time, nor will there ever be a wait.
Other Thoughts: Short tees are short and long tees are still short! Still a very enjoyable course. I good place to practice some hyzer flips, a massive anny, and your putter driving. Go for as many aces as you can in one day! All in all I still think it was a worthhile course and I think you can find ways to enjoy it even though it is short and truly a beginner course. It is the best beginner course I have played because it still provides some challeneg because of the trees on the property.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Blah..

2-4    7/10/2008   2/14/2009
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent, family oriented type course. Good for practicing mid range type throws and putting. Does have one decently long hole, I believe it's 8 or 9 that's fun to launch on.
Cons: No challenge whatsoever. Holes are VERY short. I landed way past the cage on one hole... with my PUTTER.
Other Thoughts: Recommended for beginners but that's about it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Kids

5+    9/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My nine-year-old loves it!
Cons: Not the place for a serious round of golf. But where else can you shoot a 2 on every hole?
Other Thoughts: I'm not nine years old, but it's fun to play ocassionally.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.