Oroville, CA 
Riverbend Park - South Share
Uploaded By: sactoduck916 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
River Bend South course

2-4    3/30/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: Mr_Limo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical course of the two in the park.
Beautiful setting,
Cons: Older signs don't tell you where the pin actually is, and some have little markings at all
Other Thoughts: Great course for everyone, especially when the pins are in alternate locations. Played this course for the Feather River Open and it was a gas. Locals were friendly, and inviting. I'll play this course again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Scariest course EVER

1    3/22/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: None I can think of. The only nice thing I can think of would be back half is shady. Lots of parking toward first tee. Nice tee pads, look newish.
Cons: Looks like a crack smokers paradise. Actually witnessed a couple smoking crack on #6. Not good for kids/families. Scary locals with confusing directions. River on the left of the course at beginning. Errant shots lose your disc forever.
Other Thoughts: I'll never play this course again. It was on my wish-list, now it's on my wish I didn't list. Absolutely a course that would scare me as a solo player. Buddy up if you're adventurous....I'll stay away and let others "enjoy" this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun at the River

5+    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: blazer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, technical course, lots of trick shots involved, and I love that, also they mix it up with right/left variety throws. They move the holes ever so often to mix it up for us locals. random people walking on path with kids and dogs, bicyclists, lots of activities happening, if its hot out just jump in the river!!
Cons: can't always see the hole from the tee, signs damaged still, open to public so you see bumms and scary people, the one drinking fountain there is is non working, its hot and we need water, no bathrooms on the coarse, even with the cons its still fun
Other Thoughts: looks like they cleared a lot of thorn bushes and a few trees and weed eating a little, you can tell they are trying to keep it clean

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice shots, dangerous layout

1    11/26/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park along the river. A few holes on the back 9 use the small hills available to offer a couple downhill shots and one tricky uphill hole. The rest of the course plays through a mix of open areas and forest with enough underbrush to punish shots that miss the fairway.

Several holes play pretty technical, with low ceilings and tight gaps to hit. It felt like there was an ok mix of left and right turning holes overall. There aren't any real bombers, but there's still ok distance variety with several reachable holes and a couple longer shots in the 350-400' range where many players will pull out a driver. The tees are perfectly fine concrete pads and the signage is solid enough to follow the course and know where to throw.
Cons: The walking path is in play on most of the front 9. It seems to be pretty popular, and runs right through or along several fairways. There are a couple spots where there is a blind corner and you can't see whether a pedestrian is in your landing zone.

There are a lot of shorter shots here, about 3/4 of the course is reachable with a putter or mid for most players. Many of the holes that do bend one way or another are just straight shots with a small curve at the end so you don't end up shaping very interesting lines on those. There are some nasty patches of poison oak to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course tough with some tighter lines and some punishing rough, but the distances are pretty approachable for new players. More experienced players will find this course fun but not a huge challenge. This course is worth a stop if you're in the area, I recommend playing on a week day to avoid some of the conflicts with the walking path.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenging course

5+    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tee's
-Mach II baskets
-Most hole have multiple positions
-Hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots gives great variance
-River can come into play
-Mostly shaded which is nice during hot Oroville summers
-Trash cans and benches on most holes
-Dog friendly
Cons: -Weeds get very tall during spring and summer
-Mosquitoes are crazy bad for most of the year
-Summers in the north state can be real hot
-Pedestrians on the walkway on holes 1, 2, 5, 6, and 7
-Course can close when the river floods
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course to play. You can have a great round one day and a terrible one the next. Bring water or beer cause your going to be thirsty. This course is in a full on city park and can be busy but most of the time there are no problems. This course has had the most discs returned to me after I lost them, and the locals are fun to play with.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Goin' South!

5+    1/22/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 78  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Orovilles south course is an awesome addition to the easier Front 18; with tighter fairways & tons of shrubbery it's a fun challenge!
The course has long teepads with trash cans and benches on every hole
Great mix of Holes with the Feather River coming into play on 1, 5, 6 and 7. The versatility of the course is endless - the short pins are even rough with bushes and trees in the way whereas the longer pin placements give you a chance to unwind! Regardless of where the pins are - accuracy is a must on most holes.
There are multiple pin placements and are always changed regularly! The club is very active here, which is a huge plus!
Scenery on the Feather River is awesome! On a hot summer day you can hop into the river but it's still mighty cold but refreshing!
Cons: Bathrooms aren't the cleanest
The course itself is awesome for the type of land being used, I could complain about river rocks for fairways but it's the riverbottoms!
Other Thoughts: Watch for Pedestrians walking on the path throughout the front half of the course - some would call this a Con, but in order for growth of the sport we need to adapt with the other outdoor enthusiasts. . so waiting a minute isn't going to kill anyone.
Most people will park on the front by the Entrance to the park and play 1-8 on the front and then jump onto 8 on the back and play the whole back then from Hole 7 on the back hop to Hole 9 on front and play it towards the parking lot. Plays a fun 27 until the other baskets get put back in on the front!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Now here's where the funs at

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Long concrete teepads, you can get a full run up on them.
- Nice baskets on every hole
- Beutiful seting next to the Feather River
- A wide variety of holes, open, tightly wooded, lefts and rights, a couple of low cellings.
- Many ace-able holes
- On one hole there is a tree that is leaning so far over that it's being heald up by a 6' tall poll, therefore making it a horizontal obsticle
- River comes into play on at least one hole
- Friendly locals
- Garbage cans and benches everywhere
Cons: - Not much elevation change, but what is there, is used well
- If you overshoot one hole you can very easily end up in the river
- Tee signs are geting old and could use to be replaced
- Tee signs could use to have a way to be able to tell what pin position the basket is in
- Not very challenging, but it does make for a fun round
- There are a few places that were a little hard to find the way from hole to hole, but the signs have a next tee point so you can find them if you pay attention.
- Watch for non discers on the path that runs through
-Blackberrys and mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: This is suposed to be the more advanced course of the two that are here in the park, but it is still playable by novices. There is a mix of hole lenghts from under 200 to about 400. On many of the first holes there are great views of the Feather River and on one the basket sits within 20' of the river. The concrete tees were some of the longest I've ever played on, and they alow you to get a full run up. The little bits of elevation change are used for making basket placements more challenging. The course is fun and locals are friendly but the challenge level isn't as high as I would like.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In my favorites

5+    11/18/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very good intermediate difficulty course. There is a good mix of straight, right, and left to test if you can place your drive carefully. Every hole can be birdied, while still remaining challenging and fun. And the pin positions change about once a month for some nice variety. There are concrete tees and signs, and plenty of tables and trash cans.
Cons: Be aware that there is poison oak and disc-eating blackberry bushes throughout the course. At certain times of year, the mosquitoes can be so thick that you can't see the basket. Always have repellent with you.

I have never seen a course map. It's a good idea to have a guide your first time through, as some of the tees are not obvious from the previous pin. You can make it fine without one, but it will take you a little longer.
Other Thoughts: I play this course all the time and it is in my favorites. The seasonal change is one of the reasons. In the spring and summer the leaves are thick, while in the winter and fall the course opens up a lot.

There are no real long-distance challenges, and only a little elevation change. If you want those, head up to Lava Creek.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun for the whole family!

5+    3/29/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All holes have large & long concrete tee pads with a sloping edge on the ends. Each tee pad has an embedded metal plaque with hole# too. Tee signs are understanding and legible giving the distance, multiple pin locations, next tee direction and hazards. This is a challenging course for any caliber of player. The course offers elevation changes, narrow alleys and water hazards. There are benches and tables at most holes and plenty of trash cans. The locals are friendly and helpful too. I have never seen the course crowded or have had to wait at a hole!

Cons: Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos: Especially on holes#11 thru 18. There are some non DG'rs that use the walk/bike path that runs along side the river and affects holes #1,2,5,6,7,8,9.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful 18/27 hole course that follows along side Feather River. I say 27 hole course cause the locals like to play holes#1-8 from the north course and holes#8-18 from the south course then holes#1-9 totaling 27 holes that flow together. I did lose a disc in the water while playing and mentioned it to a local who retrieves them and he gladly returned it by the end of the day! The course is maintained by the Riverbend DGC and is still making upgrades.
The park has much more to offer with two fishing ponds and the river with a boat launch. There is a swimming area with a sandy beach too. There are grassy picnic areas and pavilions with a playground centrally located and bathrooms to service all the amentities. There is construction currently going on which will include three soccer fields, Olympic size swimmimg pool, baseball field and a snack bar. This is an all around fun place for a family outing.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: DaWizard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I think it is a very good step in the right direction from the old North Course. A lot of challenging shots thru the woods. There is a good mix of dog leg lefts and rights. Also most holes have 2 and 3 different hole placements so is always changing. I would consider myself competitive and not a top frisbee golfer but not bad either. It is very challenging for me but i have only played 2 differen't courses and like this one a lot.
Cons: Signs are a little difficult and with all the work that has been done on riverbend park i only see it getting better. Not really sure what is left of the north course or where it begins and ends. So i played the south with i am guessing a few holes of the North
Other Thoughts: Great place for family outings with the Riverbend Park. So bring the family to Oroville and have some fun.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.