Pierceton, IN
Little Bighorn Golf Club Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #10 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Am Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    8/10/2012   7/18/2013
Review By: theclash
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different terrain and obstacles. Most of the course is maintained since it's on a golf course.
Cons: The course can get really dry or really soggy, depending on what the weather is like.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are very wooded while others are completely wide open. Not the best course, but it has a little bit of everything.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 63  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees - Rubber tee pads. 2 Per Hole (Pro & AM). Each pad provides unique challenges per hole. Pads are 4 x 10.

Baskets - 18 Mach 5 baskets that are extremely grippy. Each basket has a bright orange flag above it to help locate the basket.

Signs - Each hole has a sign for it (including the practice hole). Only one sign per hole. It tells the location for both tee pads and the distances for each tee pad including the hazards.

Easy to Navigate - Just follow the path. Tees for next hole are close to the previous basket (with the exception of hole 10)

Pro Shop - This course shares land with a Ball Golf Course and has a pro shop with discs, drinks, and snacks.

Golf Carts - For a small fee, golf carts are available for the disc golf course. I would recommend getting one because the course covers a large amount of land.

Variety - A few holes are flat. The flat holes are very very long and/or have several trees as obstacles (1,2,5,6,7,8,9,12,14,15,17). The course is half in the woods and half in the open (all holes have multiple obstacles with the exception of holes 3 and 4). Wind is a major factor on the open holes.

Elevation - This course has a great about of elevation for holes 5-9. Hole 9 is a bomb throw downhill while holes 5-8 go up and down. Hole 18 is an uphill Ace Run.

Variety 2 - The distances vary per hole. The longest Pro hole is 700 feet while the shortest AM hole is 148 feet (uphill).

Power Lines - This course plays under power lines. The electric sounds the lines create make this course very unique.

Water - There are a few creeks and a pond that flow throughout this course. (holes 3, 5, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 18). It adds to the challenge. Holes 3 and 13 have tools to help you grab discs that have gone into the water.

Clean course - This course is well maintained since it shares land with a ball golf course. Trash cans on every hole and grass always mowed.

A much needed course for the location. Definitely a must play if you are in Northen Indiana.

If you have a cart, the journey from hole 9 to 10 is unique (see cons).

Practice Hole (technically there are 19 holes). The practice hole starts you off and it is very short but on a rolling hill. There is a sign detailing the hole.

This course has room to expand. Could easily be turned into 24 holes.
Cons: Lack of shade in summer heat - Some holes are in the open and there is a lack of shade.

Tees - Rubber pads can be uneven for some holes. It does not effect me but some people will see this as a con.

Baskets - Some baskets are tilted (1, 5, 6, and a few others).

Pay to play - I prefer courses that are free to play. However, this course is on the other half of the land owned by a ball golf course. 3 dollars per person to play without a cart. 10 dollars per person to play including a cart (it is worth it).

If you are walking, the journey from hole 9 to 10 is a very long walk. Can be annoying for some.

All baskets are in permanent position. Does not have multiple pin placements per hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my lakehouse and I play it every time I am in town (Warsaw). It is worth the price each and every time I play it.

The pro shop is always up to date including the newest released discs (mostly innova). The owner of the course places orders once a month and will take requests for future orders.

In addition to the practice hole (to start the course), there are 3 practice baskets next to the clubhouse. It gives you the feel of a high quality ball golf course except that it is disc golf.

This is a very long course. If you are new to disc golf, play the AM tees. If not, the pro tees are worth the challenge.

I would recommend this course for any lover of disc golf whether you are a beginner or a professional. You won't be disappointed.

The disc golf course never interferes with the ball golf course.

If the throw pads were level and concrete I would rate this course a 4.5 out of 5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Shared Use with Ball Golf Course. Good, especially where there are trees.

1    12/19/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: Central Scrutinizer
Played: 107  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 24.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Mach V baskets.

As you might expect, the terrain is nicely groomed and I don't remember seeing any place where you could lose a Disc easily.

The holes are interesting and moderately challenging in the woods and the most is made of those that necessarily exist out in the open. Some well-placed shallow water hazards are there, too, and some nice PVC-pipe fetching devices are left for you to easily snatch your Disc should it unfortunately take a little bath.

You'd better believe there is good roller territory! The grass for the open holes is good enough to hit golf balls off of it, so if you have a roller option in your arsenal, you might enjoy that aspect here.

The rubber pads appear to be of better quality than the type I'm used to seeing. In most cases, they weren't in bad shape.

If you like pulling your longest distance driver out of your bag and firing away with it, you'll get to do that on several occasions, unless you are Scott Stokely circa 1998.

I found 3 golf balls. I keep them for when I need to dislodge Discs from trees. :-)
Cons: You do have to walk a fair amount to access the course, and also to return to your car after finishing. Since there was no sign directing us to the first tee at the pro shop, we started walking the ball golf course until we spotted the back side of the Disc Golf welcome sign a good 1,000 feet or more into the property. It took 20 minutes to figure out what was going on. Once you're there, though, the course isn't difficult to navigate.

There is another spot on the course with a good 500' or 600' walk where a nice hole could've been put in. I think it was near the halfway point, just after exiting the densest of the wooded holes. We weren't sure if we had missed a hole or not. It turns out we just needed the exercise.

Good pro players won't be challenged here, but it should be fun for them. Some of the wooded territory is adequately challenging for most of us mortals, but certainly nothing that will come close to frustrating an advanced player. (I'm a middle-aged former mediocre Am-1 player who can't throw over 300' and I shot a +3 here today).
Other Thoughts: Even with lengthy walks to and from the course from the parking lot, it's wide open with well-manicured grass...Time to practice those rollers on your way back to your car!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

1    11/12/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 106  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of ball golf course terrain plus surrounding wooded areas. This course has everything - long bomber holes, technical wooded holes, elevation changes, water hazards, etc.

Two sets of tees on most holes - back tees were very challenging.

Very well marked even though there wasn't a map on the score card.
Cons: Basket on hole #1 has plastic chains and isn't regulation height.

Rubber tee pads were uneven (due to settling underneath them) and worn in some spots - made footing uncertain since they were wet when I played.

There weren't many ball golfers out on the day we played but some of the holes (especially long tees) looked like they could have conflicted with ball golf fairways pretty easily.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. The scenery is quite nice and it was very challenging and fun. I wish there were more courses like this as it is an excellent use of the empty spaces in between ball golf holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice use of space

1    10/9/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays between holes on a ball golf course, and through a section of woods. The space available is used excellently, none of the holes really conflict with the golf course at all, so the two sports can coexist without safety issues either way. There is a nice selection of longer holes with a few obstacles, and a handful of shots through denser trees with tight lines to hit. The holes with enough trees to define a line were a balanced mix of left and right turning shot, and called for several different shot shapes to keep things interesting.

The tees are great rubber pads, some of the nicest I've played on. They seemed sturdier and grippier than other rubber pads I've played on, and had a nice diamond plate style texture. The longer set of tees had a good set of tee signs with hole distance and layout. The shorter set of tees offers an easier layout for less experienced players, with a lot less distance on the open holes and more open lines in the woods.
Cons: There are too many open, long holes here. They get pretty repetitive after a while, there could be a lot more holes back in the woods and it would be a lot more fun and interesting. There are some navigation issues in a couple spots, it's not completely obvious where to go. One spot has a really long walk between holes, it seems like it was designed with golf carts in mind, we chose to walk and it took a while.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice use of the unused space on and around the golf course, and a fun course. With pretty good tees and signage, and even a practice hole before the 1st hole, it seems like some money and work goes into the course. Beginners will find some holes a little long, but they're not too punitive or tough for a beginner to have some fun. More experienced players won't be really challenged or tested here, but there are some good holes that make it worth a stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great course worth driving to!

5+    8/11/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: djext1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Friendly and courteous staff
- Good hot food and cold drinks at the clubhouse
- Moderate to good pro shop featuring Innova discs
- Well maintained and groomed course
- Well thought out holes
- Good risk vs reward options on most holes
- Golf carts when available
- Flags on each pin
Cons: - Water hazards that may not allow for even a chance at getting you disc back
- No maps, which makes you sometimes unsure of where to go next, and whether or not you are in the way of ball golfers in some spots
- Very soppy in many areas after a good rain (even a day or two after)
Other Thoughts: Well laid out and maintained course. It takes you along side a regular 'ball golf' course in which you share much of the unused space around and between fairways. There is very little chance of crossing into fairways between ball golf and disc golf though due to the excellent way it's laid out. Only on one occasion were we potentially in the way of ball golfers. The thing that was most pleasant, and stood right out from the start, was the quiet...being on a ball golf course it was much more peaceful and quiet compared to a city park. Something to keep in mind if you shank that putt, as the ball golfers won't appreciate you dumping profanities during their backswing.. =P

The walk wasn't bad at all. There were no cart rentals the day we played due to damp ground, but we got 3 rounds in and wasn't very tired at all.

The first few holes bring you through somewhat open fairways with some trees dotted around making you choose your shots carefully. Then about hole 4 or 5 it starts opening up into some big wide open holes that finish with some light trees protecting the pin.

After the long, open holes you wind your way into some short but fun wooded holes that snake over some hills and forest. You eventually get led back out of the woods and into some more open, lightly tree'd holes, and then finish up with the last few holes being in the woods again.

The water hazards were very fun where they occurred. There was really only one hole that scared me a bit, the other ones with water in play were fairly simple to avoid trouble unless you really mess up off the tee. However, on all holes with water in play, there are long poles with claws on them to help get a disc out (if you can see it), which I thought was a nice touch.

Most holes were pretty straight forward, some scenic, some not so much, but a good blend. A map of the whole place would have been nice. Something maybe showing both the ball golf course and the disc golf course, so you know where you are going, and where to stay out of. The hardest part was finding the first hole. Once you find that, they do a pretty good job of directing you to the next tee. Only a couple holes were sketchy. Each pin was well marked and visible from the tee in just about every hole that I can remember. Each pin had a nice tall flag on it. These flags were very helpful for us as it was pretty windy that day.

They had decent food available at good prices. Things like hotdogs, sandwiches, nachos, chips, etc.

I can't recommend this course enough to folks in the area. I live about 45 mins away from it, and we all plan to make the drive down there quite often. For us it was worth the drive and the small cost to play on such a great course.

$3 to play for the day, $7 for a cart per person for 18 holes. Course opens at 8am. Rubber tees.

If you are passing through or live near here, check the course out...it's worth the drive.

***Only addition: Golf Carts Golf Carts Golf Carts! The last trip we took there, we decided to take out the golf carts for the round.. It was SO nice to play with a cart. As disc golfers we generally don't get afforded the chance to use golf carts. So all I can say is, if you play here, and have never used a golf cart during a disc golf round, spend the $7, get a cart, and thank me later :) Walking isn't bad at all, but driving in a cart is heavenly!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 get the cart, or walk for miles

1    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: only course around with ave holes over 400ft
great for getting driver practice
can rent carts... but its like 15 bucks or more
for a ball golf course, they tried to add in some woods play... but minimal
Cons: too open, this aint kansas and a ballgolf course has different intentions when designing holes
from basket to next tee is the furthest i've ever seen, with a cart ya might not notice, on foot its worth it to throw practice drives from basket to next tee
Other Thoughts: great conditioned course, kept up like a ball course
expensive all around, but they have cooked food, tons of discs, just not worth the drive for me, yet i'll play it once a year or so
wish they had some mandos to make you shape diferent shots, not much variety, just long open holes

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  kdegraff

1    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: kdegraff
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very good champion course with well maintained tees, signs and baskets. Nice variety of open and wooded holes with some water (but not to much). This course is part of a ball golf course so there is a clubhouse with restrooms, a snack bar, and discs for sale. There are 3 practice putting baskets next to the clubhouse to warm up on and a practice hole just before you get to #1. (its always nice to warm up)
Cons: A long walk to hole #1, from #9 to #10 and back from #18. Some holes are nearly impossible to birdie unless you can throw the perfect extremely long tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course (a hidden treasure), never crowded. Much nicer than many free "park" courses. They have a course manager who approched us on the back 9 asking our opnion on a few holes he wants to change and make better.
Although this truely is a LONG course, we played from the pro tees walking in 1 1/2 hours. You do have the option to rent a cart.

Hope you find this helpful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: Morty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The glof cart is a must hole 1 is a long way from the club house. well groomed course the $ was well worth it. this is one place to check out if your in the area
Cons: The price of beer was pricey other than that i like it alot wish it was closer to my house

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long and......long.

1    11/8/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: zud00
Played: 112  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice hole, nice rubber tees, nice baskets with flags above for locating them easily, nice tee marker signs, variety of holes, pro and am tee pads, option to ride golf cart.
Cons: Very long, holes in the woods were seperate from holes in the open, long hole after long hole after long hole, long walk from course club house to start and end of disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This course was different than any other course I have played. The fact that I played on a very windy day (20-25 mph gusts) and very cold (about 35 F) made this course more difficult than it already was. To sum up my overall review in one word would be: LONG.

If I play this course again, I will definitley consider using a golf cart. The walk to the first hole is quite long from the clubhouse. There is also a very long trek after the 9th hole to hole 10. The journey back to the clubhouse after hole 18 is even longer and up a huge hill.

The first few holes of this course were out in a more open area with some larger trees and the third hole had a small pond in play. Hole four was super long playing at over 700 feet (we played the pro tees) and was in the wide open.

Holes 5-9 were in the woods and I really liked these holes a lot. They were not nearly as long and they had a lot of elevation changes.

Holes 10-18 were more out in the open and all seemed very long.

If you have a long arm, then this course is for you, if not, it will be very frustrating. I guess I'm just use to having birdie (2) opportunities on most holes from most other courses I play and it seemed that a 2 was only possible on a handful of holes on this course.

$3 for 18 holes walking, $12 for 18 holes riding (recomended). Check the link provided for scorecard with lengths of the holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.