Pierceton, IN 
Little Bighorn Golf Club Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #7 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Accurate Name

5+    6/29/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Variety - LITTLE holes, and BIG holes. Boomers and Ace opportunities. Woods and open holes.
Love the lines on the woods holes. Long holes have some tree lines/OB areas to make them interesting.
13 is my favorite, with two trees creating a window for your drive, and a creek at 235'
Not much chance of loosing a disc.
Rubber tees are grippy.
Signs are good, navigation is easy.
No real conflicts with golf course.
Downed trees, etc, are cleared pretty quickly.
Trash cans at every hole (hit one from 15 once)
Cons: A few areas are exposed and can be uncomfortable on hot days.
Bugs can be bothersome 5-9
Long walk to 1 and from 18
Only one bench/resting area.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop, but not a huge disc selection.
Grounds are taken care of pretty well, grass can get a little long in the rough occasionally.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Private Course in the Area

5+    4/12/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: Boyz-N-The Woods
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good mix of short, long, wooded, open and water holes.
- Basket quality is great.
- Marked well besides a couple of conflicting par numbers on certain holes.
- Pro shop
- Well maintained
- Price is fair for a private course.
Cons: - Distance (personally I like it but beginners might be overwhelmed by it)
- Bathrooms are a little too far away from the disc golf section of the course.
- Only 1 bench to rest on
- Pro shop used to have a bigger disc selection for sale.
- With so many open holes the course can be a pain on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: LBH is a great course for experienced players it's filled with the type of holes that make players better. Some people won't like the distance but scenery is awesome, there's a lot of nature to admire.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees - Rubber tee pads. 2 Per Hole (Pro & AM). Each pad provides unique challenges per hole. Pads are 4 x 10.

Baskets - 18 Mach 5 baskets that are extremely grippy. Each basket has a bright orange flag above it to help locate the basket.

Signs - Each hole has a sign for it (including the practice hole). Only one sign per hole. It tells the location for both tee pads and the distances for each tee pad including the hazards.

Easy to Navigate - Just follow the path. Tees for next hole are close to the previous basket (with the exception of hole 10)

Pro Shop - This course shares land with a Ball Golf Course and has a pro shop with discs, drinks, and snacks.

Golf Carts - For a small fee, golf carts are available for the disc golf course. I would recommend getting one because the course covers a large amount of land.

Variety - A few holes are flat. The flat holes are very very long and/or have several trees as obstacles (1,2,5,6,7,8,9,12,14,15,17). The course is half in the woods and half in the open (all holes have multiple obstacles with the exception of holes 3 and 4). Wind is a major factor on the open holes.

Elevation - This course has a great about of elevation for holes 5-9. Hole 9 is a bomb throw downhill while holes 5-8 go up and down. Hole 18 is an uphill Ace Run.

Variety 2 - The distances vary per hole. The longest Pro hole is 700 feet while the shortest AM hole is 148 feet (uphill).

Power Lines - This course plays under power lines. The electric sounds the lines create make this course very unique.

Water - There are a few creeks and a pond that flow throughout this course. (holes 3, 5, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 18). It adds to the challenge. Holes 3 and 13 have tools to help you grab discs that have gone into the water.

Clean course - This course is well maintained since it shares land with a ball golf course. Trash cans on every hole and grass always mowed.

A much needed course for the location. Definitely a must play if you are in Northen Indiana.

If you have a cart, the journey from hole 9 to 10 is unique (see cons).

Practice Hole (technically there are 19 holes). The practice hole starts you off and it is very short but on a rolling hill. There is a sign detailing the hole.

This course has room to expand. Could easily be turned into 24 holes.
Cons: Lack of shade in summer heat - Some holes are in the open and there is a lack of shade.

Tees - Rubber pads can be uneven for some holes. It does not effect me but some people will see this as a con.

Baskets - Some baskets are tilted (1, 5, 6, and a few others).

Pay to play - I prefer courses that are free to play. However, this course is on the other half of the land owned by a ball golf course. 3 dollars per person to play without a cart. 10 dollars per person to play including a cart (it is worth it).

If you are walking, the journey from hole 9 to 10 is a very long walk. Can be annoying for some.

All baskets are in permanent position. Does not have multiple pin placements per hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my lakehouse and I play it every time I am in town (Warsaw). It is worth the price each and every time I play it.

The pro shop is always up to date including the newest released discs (mostly innova). The owner of the course places orders once a month and will take requests for future orders.

In addition to the practice hole (to start the course), there are 3 practice baskets next to the clubhouse. It gives you the feel of a high quality ball golf course except that it is disc golf.

This is a very long course. If you are new to disc golf, play the AM tees. If not, the pro tees are worth the challenge.

I would recommend this course for any lover of disc golf whether you are a beginner or a professional. You won't be disappointed.

The disc golf course never interferes with the ball golf course.

If the throw pads were level and concrete I would rate this course a 4.5 out of 5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great course worth driving to!

5+    8/11/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: djext1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Friendly and courteous staff
- Good hot food and cold drinks at the clubhouse
- Moderate to good pro shop featuring Innova discs
- Well maintained and groomed course
- Well thought out holes
- Good risk vs reward options on most holes
- Golf carts when available
- Flags on each pin
Cons: - Water hazards that may not allow for even a chance at getting you disc back
- No maps, which makes you sometimes unsure of where to go next, and whether or not you are in the way of ball golfers in some spots
- Very soppy in many areas after a good rain (even a day or two after)
Other Thoughts: Well laid out and maintained course. It takes you along side a regular 'ball golf' course in which you share much of the unused space around and between fairways. There is very little chance of crossing into fairways between ball golf and disc golf though due to the excellent way it's laid out. Only on one occasion were we potentially in the way of ball golfers. The thing that was most pleasant, and stood right out from the start, was the quiet...being on a ball golf course it was much more peaceful and quiet compared to a city park. Something to keep in mind if you shank that putt, as the ball golfers won't appreciate you dumping profanities during their backswing.. =P

The walk wasn't bad at all. There were no cart rentals the day we played due to damp ground, but we got 3 rounds in and wasn't very tired at all.

The first few holes bring you through somewhat open fairways with some trees dotted around making you choose your shots carefully. Then about hole 4 or 5 it starts opening up into some big wide open holes that finish with some light trees protecting the pin.

After the long, open holes you wind your way into some short but fun wooded holes that snake over some hills and forest. You eventually get led back out of the woods and into some more open, lightly tree'd holes, and then finish up with the last few holes being in the woods again.

The water hazards were very fun where they occurred. There was really only one hole that scared me a bit, the other ones with water in play were fairly simple to avoid trouble unless you really mess up off the tee. However, on all holes with water in play, there are long poles with claws on them to help get a disc out (if you can see it), which I thought was a nice touch.

Most holes were pretty straight forward, some scenic, some not so much, but a good blend. A map of the whole place would have been nice. Something maybe showing both the ball golf course and the disc golf course, so you know where you are going, and where to stay out of. The hardest part was finding the first hole. Once you find that, they do a pretty good job of directing you to the next tee. Only a couple holes were sketchy. Each pin was well marked and visible from the tee in just about every hole that I can remember. Each pin had a nice tall flag on it. These flags were very helpful for us as it was pretty windy that day.

They had decent food available at good prices. Things like hotdogs, sandwiches, nachos, chips, etc.

I can't recommend this course enough to folks in the area. I live about 45 mins away from it, and we all plan to make the drive down there quite often. For us it was worth the drive and the small cost to play on such a great course.

$3 to play for the day, $7 for a cart per person for 18 holes. Course opens at 8am. Rubber tees.

If you are passing through or live near here, check the course out...it's worth the drive.

***Only addition: Golf Carts Golf Carts Golf Carts! The last trip we took there, we decided to take out the golf carts for the round.. It was SO nice to play with a cart. As disc golfers we generally don't get afforded the chance to use golf carts. So all I can say is, if you play here, and have never used a golf cart during a disc golf round, spend the $7, get a cart, and thank me later :) Walking isn't bad at all, but driving in a cart is heavenly!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: Morty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The glof cart is a must hole 1 is a long way from the club house. well groomed course the $ was well worth it. this is one place to check out if your in the area
Cons: The price of beer was pricey other than that i like it alot wish it was closer to my house

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.