Reeve, WI 
Vaughn Monson Memorial Share
Uploaded By: TJM1977 Hole #7 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My favorite course in the Barron Area

2-4    6/28/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: MrSkellyBones
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2014
Pros: This is a fun Par 3 course. It's great for beginners learning to throw lines with their disc and disc selection and shot placement are key. Most of the holes are potentially ace-able, even for a new player and shooting par is no problem. Every hole is signed and the pathing is very easy to follow.

There is a bathroom, pavilion, water well pump and garbage cans all around. The course is well maintained and if you bring a mid day meal you could easily spend a full day out there.
Cons: There is a stillwater swamp that you throw over on hole 8. While your unlikely to loose a disc in it (it's only about 50 feet across and right up against the tee pad), on less windy days the mosquitoes must be awful. Bring bug spray.

You have to double back from the pin on 5 to play 6, and do the same thing again from pin 6 to the 7 tee pad.

Any shot off the beaten path is very rough. My friend lost the same disc twice in two different areas (Hole 1 and 8). Unfortunately we couldn't turn it up the second time. Fortunately he put his number on it after loosing it the first time.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. It's not to heavily wooded like Chetek but gives you enough obstacles to throw similar kinds of shots. Most of the holes are around 200 feet so your midranges will really feel the love. My Buzzz and Zombee got a lot of play. It was particularly nice for my Zombee whom I can throw pretty strait but not so far.

All the holes are par 3.

Hole 1: Tee off is next to the water pump by the pavilion. Danger left as it's wooded. A large fern blocks direct shots at the hole down by the road.

Hole 2: Tee off is next to the treeline by the tennis court. Treeline blocks most hyzer approaches while there is danger in going to far left into the road. One of my favorite holes to play it low and fast on.

Hole 3: Tee is just right of hole 2 pin. Very strait forward hole, a tree to the right makes hyzers a bit more dangerous but it can be bent around pretty easily.

Hole 4. Tee is across the road left of hole 3. One of the more difficult holes. I little longer and you have to cross a field and then a treeline to get to the pin. Still par-able but much more difficult to hit chains on your throw.

Hole 5. Walk back towards the road to find the Tee. I love this hole, a strait low chute to an uphill pin. Fire away and keep it strait.

Hole 6. Walk back towards the hole 5 tee pad. Pad should be about 30 feet to the left. Very similar to 5, a bush blocks more direct shots to the hole but a good hyzer line will get you right there.

Hole 7. Walk back to tee pad 6. Pad should be about 30 feet to the left of it. Danger long here if you go into the woods. Perhaps the longest hole on the course. Right side tree line makes it much more difficult to go directly to the pin so throw anhyzer or aim down the right chute.

Hole 8. From hole 7's pin, go right to the clearing by the fence. You should find the pin right in front of a swamp. Pretty short hole. A small 50 foot wide swamp is directly in front of the pad but the pin is well clear of it.

Hole 9. Walk through the clearing behind the 8 pin and you should find the 9 tee pad to the left. A very short hard dog leg right. There is more swamp left as well so keep it as right as you can.

There is a secret tee pad in the woods to the left of hole 1's pin. Shoot out from it to the putting pin for the secret hole 10 =). The best time to play it is right after finishing one. Cross the path that ran along one on the left side. There's a wood block to mark where the tee starts.

Very small and very out there

1    4/27/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: nin1002
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Par 3 that is short and quick to play. All the holes have signage and are easy to find. In fact, you can see almost all 9 holes from any spot in the park! Semi technical if you are looking for a little bit of accuracy/target practice. All the holes except hole 9 are very realistic hole-in-one chances for any player with a moderate skill set.
Cons: The entire course criss-crosses over itself. When I was there, my group was the only group there, so no issues with other people. But, if there are other people there, it will constantly be an issue of hitting someone with your disc. In addition, the park area (swingset) is right in the middle of all this and would create another dangerous situation. The course is EXTREMELY short. I think there were two holes that were longer than 200 feet. There was not much variety to it, and it was not worth the trip out there. I thought this course was close to the Barron course, but in fact it was about 25 minutes away.
Other Thoughts: Well, I have never played on a course where Amish buggies went by on the road during the game (this happened multiple times). Just to reinforce the "you are way out there" premise. The town of Reeve did not appear in my Garmin GPS, either, so finding it was more difficult than I expected.

Tiny town, great course

2-4    7/14/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Urbanator
Played: 68  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of birdies and aces to be had, but the holes are not without challenges. There's trees, some baskets tucked into thick woods, low ceilings, etc. Varied shot selection. Plays fast. Easy to find and navigate. Wind not usually a big factor. Well-maintained.
Cons: Easy to loose discs-thick forest areas behind some baskets in tall grass, swamp and thick white pins if throw too high.
Other Thoughts: Reeve is probably the tiniest place with a disc golf course. Great Discraft Ace Race site in September.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town Course

1    5/29/2010   6/3/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vaughn Monson Memorial is a great small and I do mean small town course. If you blink your eye you might miss Reeve, WI all together. The course is short with an average hole length of 200ft. It's a great place for beginners to learn the game, but it will challenge intermediate players with heavily graded greens and old growth pines cluttering the fairways. You have to think about most of you shots on this course. There is a good variety of rights and lefts, a little bit of elevation on one or two holes, and some water to contend with. About half of the holes are open and half have a low celling that makes shot shaping a must. Metal signs with the hole number and length on them are very helpful. The course is fairly easy to follow and has a good flow.

The land the course sits on is used very well. You can tell that someone put in some thought in when placing the pins. Pin placement is probably the best part about the course. Most of the pins are tucked up in the woods that surround the park, or placed behind a tree so you don't have a clean line at the basket. Every hole on the course has something different and I don't think I threw the same drive or disk more than twice.

The park has a playground and horse shoe pits, as well as a pavilion and grills. Great place to stop with the family for a picnic. The park was clean and was nicely mowed when I played it.
Cons: First con for me was the natural tee pads. They were a bit rutted and I really like having a nice surface to throw from. Next there is really no elevation to speak of but there is a little hill toward the back of the course that could be used a bit better in my opinion. Two of the pins are just at the bottom of the hill and one of the pads plays from the middle of it. It is not a big hill but I like elevation changes even if they are small. It was also a bit wet when I played but that is not really controllable. If the park is busy with other park users it could be a problem but when I played there was only a small group of local players. The course is short with the longest hole at only 251ft, if you have a big arm and want to bomb this course is not for you.

All in all I really enjoyed the two rounds I played here.
Other Thoughts: I played with some locals and they were very friendly and even helped me find an errant drive that went in the swamp. It is a great course but a little bit too far of a drive for me to play on a regular bases, but I will defiantly play it again at some point. It is worth a stop if you are in the area but it won't blow your mind by any means.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Revee park

1    2/17/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: moto451
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good course that runs through lots of mature trees that will make you throw every shot in the book good for beginners and intermediate players but pros will find it short longest hole is around 250ft but its my home course and I play it pretty much everyday
Cons: Only par 3 course and natural tees can be under water with some rain but all in all decent course
Other Thoughts: good course to check out if your in the area

  

5+    5/14/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Vanor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A number of interesting holes, lots of trees to play around and one water hazard. The course is well kept, and they do a decent amount of maintenance during the spring.

It also offers a "putting green" near hole 1
Cons: not very long, it's only a par 3 and the longest hole is 250 or so feet.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to play if you're in the area, they added two new holes last year (09) to include one with a water hazard.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.