Reeve, WI
Vaughn Monson Memorial Share
Uploaded By: TJM1977 Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 213ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tiny town, great course

2-4    7/14/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Urbanator
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are tucked in well among a fair number of trees. Mostly RHBH hyzer shots. Not crowded. Plays very fast; 20 minutes easy. Tee boxes are good. Well maintained.
Cons: Easy to loose discs-thick forest areas behind some baskets, tall grass, swamp.
Other Thoughts: Reeve is probably the tiniest place with a disc golf course. Great Discraft Ace Race site in Septeber.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town Course

1    5/29/2010   6/3/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 67  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vaughn Monson Memorial is a great small and I do mean small town course. If you blink your eye you might miss Reeve, WI all together. The course is short with an average hole length of 200ft. It's a great place for beginners to learn the game, but it will challenge intermediate players with heavily graded greens and old growth pines cluttering the fairways. You have to think about most of you shots on this course. There is a good variety of rights and lefts, a little bit of elevation on one or two holes, and some water to contend with. About half of the holes are open and half have a low celling that makes shot shaping a must. Metal signs with the hole number and length on them are very helpful. The course is fairly easy to follow and has a good flow.

The land the course sits on is used very well. You can tell that someone put in some thought in when placing the pins. Pin placement is probably the best part about the course. Most of the pins are tucked up in the woods that surround the park, or placed behind a tree so you don't have a clean line at the basket. Every hole on the course has something different and I don't think I threw the same drive or disk more than twice.

The park has a playground and horse shoe pits, as well as a pavilion and grills. Great place to stop with the family for a picnic. The park was clean and was nicely mowed when I played it.
Cons: First con for me was the natural tee pads. They were a bit rutted and I really like having a nice surface to throw from. Next there is really no elevation to speak of but there is a little hill toward the back of the course that could be used a bit better in my opinion. Two of the pins are just at the bottom of the hill and one of the pads plays from the middle of it. It is not a big hill but I like elevation changes even if they are small. It was also a bit wet when I played but that is not really controllable. If the park is busy with other park users it could be a problem but when I played there was only a small group of local players. The course is short with the longest hole at only 251ft, if you have a big arm and want to bomb this course is not for you.

All in all I really enjoyed the two rounds I played here.
Other Thoughts: I played with some locals and they were very friendly and even helped me find an errant drive that went in the swamp. It is a great course but a little bit too far of a drive for me to play on a regular bases, but I will defiantly play it again at some point. It is worth a stop if you are in the area but it won't blow your mind by any means.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Revee park

1    2/17/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: moto451
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good course that runs through lots of mature trees that will make you throw every shot in the book good for beginners and intermediate players but pros will find it short longest hole is around 250ft but its my home course and I play it pretty much everyday
Cons: Only par 3 course and natural tees can be under water with some rain but all in all decent course
Other Thoughts: good course to check out if your in the area

  

5+    5/14/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Vanor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A number of interesting holes, lots of trees to play around and one water hazard. The course is well kept, and they do a decent amount of maintenance during the spring.

It also offers a "putting green" near hole 1
Cons: not very long, it's only a par 3 and the longest hole is 250 or so feet.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to play if you're in the area, they added two new holes last year (09) to include one with a water hazard.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.