Macon, GA 
Claystone Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #9 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Blue Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    5/25/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: antibomb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very pretty course and park
-Not very crowded typically
-Has garbage cans at most holes
Cons: -$3 a person
-Campers
-Could use more bathrooms
Other Thoughts: -Nice beach and lake
-Bringing bug spray can be a good idea depending on what time of the year it is

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok course

1    1/1/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads
Good baskets
Good signage
Easy flow
Holes 11-18 are OK
Cons: Repetitive:

If you like a course with multiple ace runs then holes 1-10 are sure to not dissapoint. Most of these holes are in the 200ft. range and are unoriginal and seem repetitive.

Simple and very basic in design.

Other Thoughts: For a pay to play course I would like more of challange than this course presents.

The lack of creativeness really hurts this course. There is a nice lake that comes into play on the back holes which provides more of a challange, but because the front 9 is so weak this course is deserving of the lowest rank I have ever given for a review. For me, the course really did not get interesting till hole 11, and by that time the round was already half over.





1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than it's rating

1    5/8/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: thaban
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful Layout
- Garbage cans at every hole
-Easy to find and play
- Greens and Tees were very well kept
Cons: - Entrance fee to park
- Almost every hole is aceable
Other Thoughts: If you find yourself in this area please take the time to play this course. Found it driving back to Wisco and the course did not dissapoint

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I came to Play at Claystone!

1    1/30/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with hole sponsors, Hole #, Par, and distance, with a map included.

2) Nice long grippy concrete tees are always appreciated.

3) Fairyly beginner friendly while still fun and challenging shots for decent players. It is short enough for the beginner but there are enough fun unique shots that others will enjoy the course too.

4) You have a couple choices on how to throw almost every hole. There are some straight lines at a lot of the basket or you can choose to work the disc one direction or another.

5) Nice mix of trees in the wooded holes. There are a lot of different trees but there is also a nice variety of the density of the foliage.

6) Nice garbage bins (probably the nicest looking bins I have seen on a disc golf course).

7) Benches on occasion throughout the course.

8) Decent elevation change on this course. There are some uphills some downhills, some across the slopes, and some that shoot from one hill to another hill over a valley.

9) Only a couple of holes don't have at least a little elevation change but there still are some rolling hills that come into play.

10) Risk/reward is present on a handful of holes but is most influential in your shot making on #15 where you have a 325' water carry right at the basket or you can lay up to the left without crossing any water, or you can throw to the right which can range between the 150' and 325' carry depending on how much you want to bite off, but there are trees that also will dictate what line you take. Great hole!

11) $3 fee per person is still worth the cost. Normally parks charge per vehicle not per person but I am fine with a $3 charge per person. It helps keep away the riff-raff.

12) Easy navigation around the course . . .always nice for a travelling disc golfer like myself.

13) Overall a short course but the distance variation with a handful under 200', some between 200-300' a few over 300' and then the long bomber of #17 over 400'.
Cons: 1) Distance is wrong on #16 . . . I think it was at least 75' longer than it said.

2) Some of the chains on the basket are rusty, while it didn't seem to affect performance at all, but it eventually will.

3) Hole #15 is slightly out of the norm for the course because of the water carry . . . the rest are short enough and fair enough that beginners can do just fine, but #15 would feel like a kick in the walnuts to a beginner. The left route is tight and not really a fairway, the right route is still a decent carry over the water. Perhaps a second tee on that hole would be better.

4) Slightly long walk from #18 back to the parking area which is pretty nitpicky, but I thought I would mention it.

5) No bathrooms available to the course, but I am sure there are a couple around the park.

6) There are a couple of places where other people might be in the way and that is on the last few holes. There is a dock and a few boats along #18 and I would imagine there are often people around the area on #15-17.

7) While I like wooded holes a lot, the second half of the front nine becomes a little repetitive. All those holes are the same distance basically. The lines may change but the distance does not.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I had a really good time at this park. The holes were all fun but still challenging, there was good variety, and the amenities were nice. I would recommend this as a nice stop on a roadtrip to help break up the driving, but I wouldn't call it a destination course. I used it to add to my course tally and also break up the drive from Atlanta to Valdosta. I would go back again if I had the chance, especially if I have my wife with me because this is the type of course she can really enjoy, short enough to be able to reach some holes possibly, but still fun and challenging throws. I know she would have appreciated a short tee with less water on #15 because she decided to just skip the hole entirely rather than be guaranteed to lose a stroke and disc. I am giving this course a 3.5 and stating it is actually a 3.25. It is not comparable to the other 3.5 courses I have rated, but it still is much more fun and better than the other 3.0 disc courses I have rated.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Macon the grade

1    11/24/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 213  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole had a good sign and a concrete tee pad. The shape of fairways and concentration of trees was varied from hole to hole. Not a long course, but a few holes will test your arm for distance. A very nice walk through woods and along the lake shore.
Cons: Most holes are quite easy to reach, which will decrease the challenge for very skilled disc golfers. Some camp sites and roads are close to the fairway on one or two holes. Paying $3 per person was uncool, should be $3 per car IMO (especially if you are only playing one round).
Other Thoughts: A fun course that I would recommend to explorers looking to get one more good course in. Not the most challenging you will find, but very nice layout with some water and distance on the back nine. Glad I included it on my daytrip.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Play around the Lake

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: allroundgoodguy9
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety from front 9 to back 9.
Course loops back to start and flows well.
Several benches and trash cans, good general upkeep of park.
Mix of terrain from roadside to forested to open field to lakeside holes.
Cons: Lack of bathrooms or places to refill on water.
Only single tee locations means some holes are pretty difficult for beginners.
Several holes went up and down several large hills.
Other Thoughts: We ended up having to get water at a nearby empty campsite.
I do wish there were beginner and advanced tees for the holes, especially the long throw over the lake at 15.
The park the course is in is quality. The beach is clean and well-kept, and there are several nice picnic areas. Great place to spend a day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a perfect course for me on a hot, long, DG roadtrip.
-clean and safe
-short with lots of variety (elevation, water, obstacles)
-concrete tee pads (slightly narrow though)
- easily navigated
-lots to do for the family including a beach!
Cons: I did enjoy myself here but here are a few cons:
-3$ per person
-could be more challenging
-tee signs are nice but are towards the front of the pad
-some play near campers and boaters
Other Thoughts: The beach is a huge asset. We took a few dips in the water.
The last 4 holes were outstanding. At the entrance we asked where the Disc Golf course was, the worker said "we don't have golf," we then asked about frisbee golf and were pointed where to go. Park down by the beach and you will see the DG kiosk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick play, with chance for a swim

1    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quick play, took me an hour and ten mins to play a full round (which included a few delays...explained later)

- Nice use of open fields, elevation, tess, and of course, the lake.

- MOSTLY away from campground and beaches.

- Cleared out fairly well.

-VERY good flow to this course, only hangup was The walk around the lake on Hole 15

-Great mix of distances, some as low as 170 ft, with some holes in the upper 300's

-While the first 10 or so holes are mostly under 225ft, they still provide a nice variety of shots.

- Pads and Baskets both in great conditions

-Holes 16-18 are Just beautiful open holes by the lake
Cons: -Hole 15...the walk around the lake is a killer. beautiful hole. poorly done. ALSO, I had to throw around boats, and a guy tying up his boat on the shore on the tee side of the lake (see photo in links)

-If you have a bad shot, prepare to spend some time searching, outside of the fairways, it can be overgrown.

-Had to deal with campers (who are slow to move) on holes 11 (campsite to the right of hole) and 14. (road to the right of the hole)

-Pads are very narrow (2' or so wide), but they are fairly long

-People flying by on Jetski's on the lake can be distracting

-Grass was a little high in some places, but nothing out of the ordinary for georgia in the summer

-$3 park entry fee
Other Thoughts: -Even though there are some negatives, and the fact i lost a disc on this course, i'd still reccomend this to anyone in the area. Good, well though out (minus hole 15) course

-If from out of the area, there is a "beach" for swimming in the lake at this park. come down, play a round, and dive in the lake to cool off before a second round. Easy to play 2 rounds in a day and get your money's worth

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course

1    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quick play inside a park. Here are my highlights from my round:

- Took me about 60 minutes to play thr round. This is always great to have a quick game, or to get in 36 holes if desired.

- Easy to navigate the course. I never got lost or questioned where the next hole was.

- Even with short holes there is a good variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots.

- Good elevation changes at times for the holes. This makes for a thoughtful drive and approach.

- The course does wrap back into itself so you end where you started.

- Scenery was great at certain points in the course. There was a lake to view and the trees made a nice environment.
Cons: - No bathrooms or common area between the front and back 9 holes.

- The holes were a little too short at times.

- Hole 15 goes over water. I don't mind that it goes over water, but getting from the teepad to the disc after you throw it takes forever. This was a great concept for a hole, but poorly executed.

- If I am going to pay to play I expect a better course. This is a little different because you're paying ot get into the park, not to exclusively play disc golf, but still.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round at the course, but it was pretty forgettable. I have played worse courses, but this wasn't something I will go out of my way to play again.

A note on the other reviews, there was no disrepair on the course at all. I would not have known anything about storms or destruction if the other reviewers hadn't said anything. Asthetically, this is a nice course, but my rating comes down mainly due to course complexity and design.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on beautiful park land that sits right on an equally beautiful lake. Although the course was a recent victim of some storm/tornado damage it has been repaired very well. All teepads are decent length considering the length of many of the holes. The holes also flow pretty naturally from one to another.
Cons: Hole 1-10 are all under 250 ft (with most being under 200 ft). The holes that do get longer all play near water. Hole 15 you have the option to throw across the water but the pad doesn't point in the direction of the hole.
Other Thoughts: Claystone Park is a good disc course for those players to learn the overhead shot or touch shots with their putter. The front nine is basically set up just for that. The back nine is where risk vs. reward comes into play. While it is fairly easy to par out the back nine holes a risky shot might earn you tough to get birdie. Fairly easy to shoot in the 40s on this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center