Macon, GA 
Claystone Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #16 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 not great....but not bad either

2-4    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow. I had no problem getting around this course.

-Concrete tee pads. They are smaller then most concrete tee's I've seen, but 85% of the holes here are 225' and under.

-Nice park in general.Plenty of other stuff to do here, and the course seems like it avoids the rest of the park activities as much as possible

-Last 4 holes are great. After playing 14 pitch and putt holes its nice to finish on 4 holes that any course would love to have.

-Looks like the park did a good job of tornado clean up. I only noticed obvious damage on 2 holes (7, 16) and none of it affected play at all.In fact, I thought 16 looked really cool with the beauty of the lake mixed with the burnt look of the trees and ground.

-There are signs on every hole.(see cons also)

-Park felt safe.I saw quite a few park rangers out there.With that much law there I wasn't at all worried about my car, anything in it, or my personal safety.

-Good beginner course.
Cons: -Too short. The first 14 holes are almost all 225' and under. Hole 11 claims to be 340' but I would guess its more like 315'ish, and its way downhill.

-No shot variety. For a RHBH Every hole is straight or hyzer.

-Tee signs are inaccurate and placed very poorly. On nearly every tee the sign is placed within 1ft of the top right corner of the teepad. The danger of smacking your hand on a RHBH followthrough is real.Leftys get a nice visual distraction as well. Also the distances are off on the longer holes. 11 15 17 18 did not seem correct to me.

-Ticks. I pulled 3 of them off of me in march, I'd bet that in the summer they get real bad.

-Trash. There was a lot of trash in the bushes near a few pads. Pack it in pack it out locals.
Other Thoughts: This course is not horrible or anything, but unless you live nearby, or are in macon for some reason don't bother. If you do play here though, you will have a good time. I really liked the setting, but the course is fair at best.

I bet its nice in the summer when you can play 18,then cool off in the lake before round 2.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A little short but sweet

1    2/17/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Most of course in good repair. Grounds are mostly well kept. The course makes good use of the elevation. Teepads are concrete. Nice metal tee signs. Good flow, loops back to start. Fairways do not cross and are well defined. #15 is very nice epic over water shot.
Cons: Holes 3-7 are a little short. One of the teepads is crumbling/broken, one is being repaired. Teepads are a little small, I didn't measure them but them seemed smaller than 4x8.
Other Thoughts: #1 Teepad is missing (from a tornado?) but the form is there, I'm guessing they will pour a new one soon. Some erosion control may be needed on a couple teepads on the back 9. There is at least one nice bench that I remember, and i saw at least one trashcan. I don't use benches and I pack out my trash so those items being in short supply don't mean as much to me as some reviewers. I have my doubts about some of the yardage on the signs, but as I have no means to measure the distance it could just be me. There is an alternate "fairway" on #15 shows on the tee sign(see the photos I posted here) for people who don't want to risk a long shot over water. I think this is an excellent beginner course. No "next tee" signs I noticed, but with the leaves down this time of year I had zero difficulty locating the next tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

2-4    5/27/2009   11/10/2008
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty park on a lake with many other activities available other than disc golf. Tees are well marked and signs are in goos repair. The course and park have recovered well from the 2008 tornado that did quite a bit of damage. All the tees anre back in place and the course has been cleaned p from all the debris that was left behind. There is very little elevation change available here but what is available was used very well adding some variation and intrest. All the locals I ran into were very nice folks and the people at the front takeing your money will direct to the starting hole.
Cons: With the exception of the last four holes this is a short course. However the tress and terain have been used well to add enough difficulty. There had been quite a bit of rain lately and the curse suffered quite a bit with drainage problems. This added a subtantial mosquito population to add some disraction too. Bring repellant. There are not enough trash cans available and probably explains all the trash on the course. Mostly used water bottles, no excuse for leaveing these behind guys. Clean up after yourself.
Other Thoughts: Even though most of the holes are very short here 200 ft or shorter, there is plenty of fun to be had. A few alternate tees would go a long way to adding difficulty and fun to this course. The more accomplished players are going to post real impressive scores here. It is worth the $3.00 to come and see hole #15 and the long water throw. Not many can carry the water straight at the basket, but most can throw accross the short way and then you can say you braved the water hole.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Millde Georgia's Gem

5+    5/30/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2008
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great use of terrain
-Excellent setup to require shot selection.
Cons: Baskets 1 and seven are damaged.
3 dollar park fee.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great combination of wooded and open holes with plenty of elevation change. The first 9 holes are relatively short but will require you to use a variety of shots. The design of the tee and basket placement requires controlled shots and most holes will have you thinking about disc selection and what type of throw you will be making. For example As a lefty, I have to throw a uphill medium hyzer on one, a very flat straight shot on two, a very high hyzer around a dogleg on three, a downhill straight as an arrow shot on four, and a tomahawk on five and that is just the first five holes. The Front nine also gives a recreational player the confidence required to tackle the back nine holes. Because of the shorter distances you can still get a par even if you hit a tree twenty foot in front of you. Some may find the front 9 short but you will get plenty of opportunity to throw long on the back nine. Claystone has 5 holes on the back they may involve water so if you use floating discs, do not forget to bring them. Wind from the lake may also be a factor on baskets 16, 17, and 18. The lake winds will have you thinking about putting or approaching. The course did have some damage from a tornado so it is still being repaired. The player community has removed many fallen and damaged trees caused from tornado damage in April and a couple of the wooded holes have been changed. As of Late Sept. All of the baskets have been replaced leaving only tee pads one and seven needing work along with a couple of missing signs. Once the remaining repairs are completed, I am sure that Claystone will once again reign one of middle Georgia's most enjoyable courses.

Check out the Links section for pics of the damage from the past.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth playing

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with easy to locate next tee. Course was well maintained and had some challenging holes mixed in with some easier shorter holes.
Cons: Front nine has many holes under 200'
Other Thoughts: Played three different courses today and this was the most enjoyable. It was worth the three dollars.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

3/1/2008   3/1/2008
Review By: bcamp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out, easy to find tees, well kept fairways. The back 9 is much more open with some beauty water holes!
Cons: Front 9 are short holes with lots of trees. Cost $3 per person to play
Other Thoughts: For Macon's first course it is VERY good and considering the nearest course is 45 miles away this is a great place to play

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.