Box Elder, SD 
Douglas Schools Disc Golf Aboretum Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #4 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short School Course

1    5/10/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signage
-Nice baskets
-Cement tees
-A good form of recreation for the Jr High kids of Douglas Schools.
-Decent length for a school course.
Cons: -Can be very overgrown. It wasn't too bad in May when I played but it was already getting there and I imagine it is only mowed a few times yearly.
-Can also lose discs in the bog near the stream, lots of cattails in there.
-Getting across the stream was fairly hard, steep-ish muddy banks and no bridges.
-Could be quite windy.
-Lots of ticks and other bugs to be found when the grass gets high.
-Holes all seemed the same.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent attempt at building a course on school grounds. In order to make it better they would have to build more bridges over the creek, keep it mowed somewhat often, and drain the bog better. I wouldn't stop here unless you are a course bagger as there are plenty of better courses in the Black Hills including Jackson Park and Omaha Park in nearby Rapid City. If you do decide to play, come in the spring or early summer, wear pants, and be prepared to spend time looking for discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bahhh

1    8/12/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: jcdillon28
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is short and the baskets and tees are easy to find and navigate. It has a couple holes that have a tree you have to go around.
Cons: Really no variation in hole length. Even though the course has alternate hole placement the alternate spots are just about the same length,

The vegetation here makes this course almost unplayable in a few spots. I recommend wearing pants and covered shoes. There are lots of prickly weeds every where.

I played in the summer when school was not in session and it appeared that the only spot that got cut down was right by the basket. Which is fine but the waist high grass and cattails make it pretty darn hard to find a disk.

There also only seemed to be one bridge at the front of the course. So getting to hole Five was a hike. You end up going across the bridge a few time but you have to walk to the front of the course only to walk back down the course.
Other Thoughts: My brother and I played this course and we spend more time trying to find our disks than we did playing. For the size of the course it was crazy how long we were out there.

We ended up loosing two disks out there. One on hole one and one on hole six. The growth was so thick we just could not find them. The creek was pretty much dried up but down by the cattails was just a bog.

I recommend having a spotter on holes 5, 6, and 7. If you don't have one and your disk ends up in the cattails and waist high grass good luck finding it.

This would be a decent course if it was mowed down some.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Timing may be everything

1    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is gentle. The tee to basket and basket to tee is easy to navigate. Course is easy to find and easy to play.
Cons: This is a long pants course. The vegatation was high when we played it. It was a hinderance to speed as we spent quite a bit of time searching in the weeds even though we were not far from the basket. It seems as though the course was and is fairly well maintained but we had to use the bridge too many times to make it a smooth course.
Other Thoughts: Timing is part of the course depending on the time of the year it is played based on the vegation. After a cutting, course would be better to play, but as previous review stated, hay bales on course. Over all this is a easy play course for those who are still learning and trying new techniques.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kids these days have it all.

1    7/27/2008   2/27/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a field just across the street from a jr. high school and behind a housing development. The course has well built cement tee boxes. The course was very easy to find, someone wrote good directions, the first tee was right across the street and the last basket too. The course is signed with distance information. There are some mature trees near tee boxes and baskets and a small creek used prominently. For a jr high school course, there is some honest distances. I would not recommend this course for any highly skilled players. It seems mostly good for beginners, in fact my daughter enjoyed it. I had the course all to myself when I was there.
Cons: Essentially this course is just a big open hay field with a small creek in the middle of it. In the creek area there are some trees to be found, otherwise the course is wide open. When I played one of the main obstacles was cubed bails of hay. Which I can only imagine was a good thing because otherwise I think the grass would have been waist high. The course bridges that provide access to the back three were thrown into the creek when I was there and it made getting across near impossible.

The course does appear to be on school property and I imagine the course availability is limited to non-school hours. I played in the summer and just parked in the school lot, I imagine that during the school year you may need to find another place to park. There also seems to be some sort of nature trail along the creek area which may cause you to have to wait. It can get very windy here.
Other Thoughts: I did not go into this course with high expectations, and it did not disappoint. This is maybe the fifth course I've played at a jr high school and it always makes me jealous a little bit how lucky these kids are.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.