Blackfoot, ID 
Blackfoot DGC Share
Uploaded By: troyskeen Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hometown

5+    12/27/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: pacatak
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
Pros: I like the simplicity, its not always a bad thing and getting a good score helps with the confidence.

Well Marked. Easy to find holes.

Nice location. by a lake and river bottoms
Cons: Easy now that they removed the trees.

Other Thoughts: I've played this for years. Love the location, probalby the first place I played Disc golf.

We recently played in the winter. Our discs flew far and skipped off the snow.

 Needs trees

1    6/14/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -quick easy course, can be completed in 30 minutes (I spent about 20 minutes on my first time to the course)
-easy to find next tee
-easy to locate baskets from the tee
Cons: -too short, the first basket I overthrew by about 20 feet (and I don't have very far drives compared to most people with my experience)
-not enough trees or obstacles, but it sounds like that was due to dead ones being pulled out, hopefully new ones will fill in fast
-home made baskets, they threw off my game terribly, didn't have very good chains for catching, they also seemed to be too high but that may have been an optical illusion.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a decent course, if you want to try out a new course and want a quick break from driving down the interstate, it's worth it. Only about 3 minutes off the interstate and right next to a lake and skatepark. Also, it is located just past many food places and walmart and other such places which you may need to visit during a long drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 getting better

5+    9/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: fiya79
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy to navigate, close to me, lots of stuff to do in the park, some interesting shots.
Cons: Terrible, terrible tee pads. throw from the grass. Lots of trees were removed circa 2006 and really made the course super easy. baskets don't catch well.
Other Thoughts: tons of trees were planted in 2008, a sprinkler system was installed and maintenance has improved. Inn 5-10 years this course could be tough! still worth playing during a 30 minutes break on a road trip or as part of a family outing to swim or boat.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Hey...it's something to throw at w/extras

5+    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: troyskeen
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok....so this is Blackfoot Disc Golf Course at Jensen's Grove in Idaho. The course was clearly added without too much worry about technical difficulty, or maybe they did. The course is very small; it's a 9 hole course with the longest hole being #8 at 341. The funny thing is that this course really only has 2 holes that are semi-technical and #8 is one of them. Ok...so I have shanked a driver onto the freeway on my first big throw of the day a couple of months ago. I'm a guy that can appreciate simple and this course is definitely simple. I love it because I can be there from my home/office in 5 minutes and I can rush through the course in about a half an hour. It's a great "take a break" course. Another big plus for this course in the summer is that the park has more to offer like the reservoir, playgrounds, a skate park and such. It's pretty darned good for a small town park.
Cons: It's quite short. The tee pads are deteriorated asphalt.
Other Thoughts: I'm not experienced enough to complain about the baskets. They seem to work for me, but if you're an ol' pro and really serious about the game, you may not like them, but then again...if that's the case, you don't belong on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Quick Lunch

2-4    8/26/2008   5/26/2009
Review By: English101
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find and play. Nicely maintained park full of places to entertain children. You can literally see where kids are playing from any hole on the course without having to worry about them getting hit by a disc. Course is very beginner friendly. Some of the holes have interesting obstacles, some of which are man made.
Cons: The pros and cons of this course may be the same things. For many, this course is too easy. An ace on this course may barely even feel like an ace on some holes. The catchers and teepads are odd. The teepads (although okay) are made of asphalt, and it remains to be seen how they will wear. The catchers are homemade, and are workable. (some will probably find them frustrating.)
Other Thoughts: It is a fairly small convenient park. If you are taking the family or want to sneak in a quick round at lunch, this is a great place to get it done.

If you are looking for a bit more of a challange or want to sample what the local area has to offer in terms of disc golf you would probably check out: Bengal Ridge (Pocatello), Freeman Park (Idaho Falls), or Lake Walcott (Rupert). If you want a short course that still presents more of a technical challange, try Upper Ross Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Alright little park

7/1/2006   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
Pros: Not a bad stop for a quick little trip. Easy to find your way around and can be played very quickly. A player can blast through these 9 holes on a 30 min lunch break. Signs are helpful, and course is easy to find.
Cons: Tees started fairly well, but the gravel had came loose last time I played through and their integrity was a bit compromised. Baskets are very strange, like nothing I've ever really seen, some people love them, I am not very fond of them.... I disc hitting the rim of the basket will be shot right out, as well as discs hitting the very top.

Many trees have been removed since the originally design, thus making the course a bit less challenging than even the original design.
Other Thoughts: It's been nearly 2 years since i've played through the course, so there could be many changes since then.

 

5+    4/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
Pros: Good, easy, beginner course. Well maintained. Metal signs provide a well marked course.
Cons: Short course, all flat terrain.

 Jensen Grove Joy!

6/24/2004   3/31/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Literally a stone's throw from the highway....Well marked tee boxes and nice baskets. Good looks and angles around cozy park foliage.
Cons: A little small....but not a bad course at all considering it is is the heart of agriculturally prolific rural Idaho....a nice trip...
Other Thoughts: Played here on occasion while working in Idaho Falls....placed 7th in 2004's 2nd annual Pride Days Tournament....led the pro pack with a -5 after round 1, but finished -2 overall after 3 rounds (ouch)....Watch for dense shrubbery near the turn and try not to hit any path-walkers! Good times....was previously called Jensen Grove Disc Golf Course....nice people in Idaho if you haven't been there...recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.