Ann Arbor, MI 
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #4
3 / 150ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Not bad, not great.

1    8/24/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Triple tee colors for variety
Brush is not daunting, found discs easily.
Good mix of shots
Lively area with lots of another things to do after/before a round.
Cons: At least two holes with trees down, now this is not a single tree in the fairway. It looks more like a Tornado went through.
Lots of joggers using the course as a nature trail... maybe I'm ignorant that it has one through it?
Other Thoughts: When writing reviews for 9-hole courses, I try to compair them to other 9h, not their 18-30 big brothers. That being said, this is probably my favorite 9h course so far.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Conveniently located in AA and dynamic with 3 tees for each hole!

1    8/18/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Off the beaten path nine hole course nicely squeezed into Ann Arbor
+ Tee pads, tee pads, TEE PADS!
+ Concrete tee pads, too :)
+ A couple technical lines to hit depending on the tee pad you choose
+ Quality wooden tee markers and next tee signs point the way
+ Bathrooms/parking
Cons: - Hole-to-hole layout isn't very intuitive/sensible at times (consult a map to find all three tee pads if it's your first time)
- It's not easy to just walk to the tee you want to throw from, sometimes you have to hunt around
- Multiple tees have redundant lines, so there really aren't 27 unique lines to hit
- Very rough rough with disc eating capabilities
- Unremarkable surroundings, not very pretty or anything
- Downed trees and tangled brush on the walking paths and in the rough - right now it's not in tip top shape
- Wouldn't really want to play alone
- Cramped fairways (1/2/9, and 5/6)
- Long walk between 6 and 7
Other Thoughts: A rating of 2.5 for a 9-holer is good, in my opinion. By far the best part about these nine holes (and what earned the rating I gave it) are the 27 concrete tees and the options they offer. Sometimes there aren't big differences between them (redundant lines), some tees are hard to find if you haven't played the course several times, and some are kind of getting eaten and hidden by tangles of trees and bushes. Regardless, the 27 tees allow you to pick your favorites and have a satisfying quick round (or multiple rounds).

Bandemer Park isn't a spectacular course, there's no wow factor, and the holes aren't very diverse, but it has great equipment and it's in OK shape. The fairways themselves are mostly clear anyway. It's not a "hidden gem". It isn't a course I recommend traveling to play, but might be worth adding if you are playing an area course, coming into downtown AA to eat some sushi at Totoro, and have extra time to kill. It just seems convenient for Ann Arbor. Definitely play it if you're in AA and need to get your disc golf fix but don't want to drive to one of the many spectacular nearby courses (this was the case for me and my wife).

The 9 holes play very quick and they're not very challenging, but keep in mind the course is out of the way of everything and somewhat secluded. Playing alone probably isn't dangerous, but based on what I saw when I played it, it would be a good idea to bring a friend or at least be prepared. It was really nice to have a spotter on a couple holes anyway, since the rough definitely has the potential to eat discs and there are several holes with blind pin placement. Oh, and leave your drivers at home (unless you might use one as a weapon).

I don't live in Ann Arbor anymore, but if I did, would I rather play Bandemer to get my disc golf fix, or drive 15-20 minutes (if traffic is good) to one of the nearby awesome 18+ holers? I don't know. I might just take a portable basket to the Arb with friends ;) In all seriousness, Bandemer is a great resource for disc golf in the area and definitely serves a noble purpose. Good people have been involved with the course and I give them kudos for installing and maintaining it in such a tangled mess. That being said, in its current condition, 2.5 is the fairest and most honest assessment I can give Bandemer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bandemer

1    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Jacobie2125
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wildlife and holes were pretty easy to find, and with three sets of tees for each hole there is something for everyone.
Cons: Was muddy in spots and was kind of crowded.
Other Thoughts: Holes had very tight windows that call for well controlled throws.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

2-4    8/6/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: ghs_meteo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded setting. Challenging holes. Clear, distinct fairways. Paths were well-maintained.
Cons: Lots of underbrush in some places that could be trimmed. Pieces of trash around. Could be marked better - bushes were growing over some of the marker posts.
Other Thoughts: Only 9 holes, but we went around and played twice. Great time and a beautiful woodsy oasis at the edge of a bustling college city.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Historical Gem!

2-4    7/21/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (3) concrete Tee pads per hole (red, white, blue), allow for replay variety. Tees are not just diff lengths, but on diff sides of fairway, making them completely different holes.
Historical feel to it, old course with lots of markings on posts and leftover glow artifacts. Loved reading all the names of "aces" and "skipped aces" on each marker.
Great variety for golfers of diff skill sets. Reds play really short, great for approach and putt game. Left, right and straight shots needed for each. Blue adds length and difficulty to drives.
Nice area right off of Hgwy 14 (exit 4), easy access to park and course. FREE!!!!
Cons: Not a "pretty" course by any stretch of the imagination. Some stumps, rocks and rough ground so watch your steps as you walk. Short walk to Hole 3, longer walk to 7, not unbearable, just more annoying than anything.
Parking is tough to come by, very limited near the course, may have to walk a bit if packed.
Other Thoughts: Personal note, my very first Hole-in-One this weekend!! Hole #9 (red) 200 feet, my Stratus flew true.
Put this one on the Wish List for sure, have to check it out, play all 3 tee sets.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ann Arbor's Best Public Course (For Now)

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course map by long tee for hole #1
* 3 concrete tee pads from 3 different angles on every hole give some pre playability to this short 9 hole course
*Tee signs with distance at every hole
*Mostly wooded and technical but not impossible holes
*Most holes easy to duece form the short tee and challenging to par from the long tees
*free to play
*park entrance less than 100 yards from M14 barton exit
*park minutes from downtown ann arbor
*unless course is crowded the rounds are very quick
*wooded and right next to huron river, very scenic
*minutes from Independence Lake Disc Golf Course
*holes are not at all repetetive
* Very good use of elevation
Cons: * Very very crowded during peak hours
* Only 9 holes
* No long holes
* Needs more trash cans
Other Thoughts: Might not be worth going too far out of your way for, due to the size but a fun course for anyone visiting Ann Arbor or nearby. Very good for working on your approach game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Quick & Free

5+    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: OpposableThumbs
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Literally downtown Ann Arbor, and directly off of M-14 & Main st. makes it incredibly easy to get to. Also, leaves you in downtown a2 free to go to any of the restaurants, bars, hotels etc.

**Solid concrete pads for all 9 holes at 3 tees that generally provide unique challenges/approaches from each location, sturdy baskets and nice small-ring chains.

**Well-shaded, pretty heavily wooded area makes for a pretty comfortable round even in 90+ degree heat.

**Despite the woodsy setting, fairways only leave select tease-trees surrounded by mulch/packed dirt and roughs are usually light enough to find a lost disc in. Tip: look up when searching for discs here, lots of grabby small trees and fallen branches and trees tend to hold discs that float into the shule.

**Really great opportunity to work on your short game/technical aspects here, lots of odd trees that force different shots and discs out of the player's bag.

Cons: **The course flows very well when playing 1-3 then 4-6, then 7-9.. if playing multiple rounds, getting to play holes 7-3 feels like a nice consistent stretch of playing, but between 3-4 and 6-7 you have to walk a decent ways to the next hole. By no means is it 'far' but its a longer walk than any of the holes are :P..

**Can be a decent amount of litter on the course.. very few garbage cans are present on the park, I would hope the city will add a few at some point, but I doubt they will.

**Very few places to sit, Hole 1 and Hole 6 have picnic tables, but that's about it. Not a huge deal since the course is short, but after 2-3 rounds, it'd be nice to have.

**No hole allows you to really open up. Two come close, but one (#3) is a blind dogleg right from the blue tees, the other (#7) plays over a field (one of the rare moments not in the middle of a forest) into the woods, where trees deny the satisfaction of a long flight with aplomb.
Other Thoughts: **Plays fast even when the park is really busy. I'll play 27 (a round from each tee box) in about an hour and a half. Can be a pro or con, depending on what you're looking for out of your round.


**Overall, this is a gem of a spot in the middle of downtown Ann Arbor. It's not super challenging, but it does provide plenty of opportunities to work on your game in a really pretty fun setting. Could be easily worked into a tour of SE Michigan if you were hoping to hit multiple courses in a day.


**Kudos if you can find the hidden river spot (its to the right when approaching hole 7) with the split tree and tagged up bench. Beautiful spot to relax for awhile mid-round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I liked Bandemer and U will 2

1    11/8/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1142  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location, Location, Location. (very close to the lovely city of Ann Arbor so one could play it during their lunch break as Ben was doing when I joined him on the last hole the other day or one could play this DGC B4 or after work, B4 they went home or school)

This DGC is geared for the recreational players than the pro caliber player, having said that they're are 3 sets of CEMENT TEES, which would be awersome for the AM/ Rec player who wants wants to mix it up a little.

Good mix of lefty/ righty/ straight holes

plenty of room for more holes

ample parking/ restroom

Map of DGC @ Kiosk that's just before # 1

wood chipped fairways, I know some people don't like this kind of fairway, but it reduces weeds and grass in which the city doesn't need to mow constantly, thus saving a little $$ and it prevents wet areas in which people would be complaining about if they're weren't woodchps on the fairways. So IMHO I'm glad to see this kind of fairway for this kind of DGC.

Cons: tees weren't very long

Tee signs we're negleted and needs some reparing or replacement

Other Thoughts: I like these kind of DGC, They're very important to the grand scheme of Disc GOLF growth as they allow rec/ am players to develop their respective skills before advancing to the bigger DGC that are in this area. (We call courses like this where I'm from as "feeder DGC", These DGC will feed the bigger DGC). And I was told once 9 holes are better than no holes. I've been all around the world and some communities just don't have the room nor cash flow for championship DGC. But there are plenty of parks around the world with enough land to install a DGC like Bandemer for the future growth of DGC and I'm glad I played it today.

I slso saw a Father and his son (Chris and Jackson??) playing today. His son wasn't even ready for Hudson Mills, but was very eager playing with Dad at Bandemer and that's what makes DGC like this one stand out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun, quick 9 hole course

2-4    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Chaching92
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great after school/after work course.

Close to downtown, yet doesn't feel like you're in the city at all.

Good atmosphere of local players.

Plays very quickly and is ideal for after school/after work.

Good variety of shots for being a quick 9 hole course.
Cons: Can be a little muddy.

9 holes can be a bit unsatisfying if your looking to make a whole day of discing.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the course, the rest of the park is very nice and lies on the river. This is nice if bringing non-players, who will enjoy the nice walking/running paths.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the bando 27

5+    12/22/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: HYPNO-TOAD
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 pins- 27 tees, each tee offers a different shot, there are no redundant tees. Wood chips: fairways covered in wood chips making it a great course to play in rain- never muddy - blues and whites are challenging deuces, with 6 and 8 blue being exceptionally tricky- glow league wednesday night, sometimes switching to thursday, a great nine hole course- bring your girlfriend and have her throw reds
Cons: nowhere to open up, all technical wooded holes, tee pads only consist of two blocks, only seems to be a problem on 8 white for me though as most of the holes are less than 270
Other Thoughts: holes 4-6 of this course is on what used to be a dirt bike obstacle course, there are still humps of concrete and other unusual terrain, also there are very large cottonwood trees throughout this course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.