Disc Golf Store
Ann Arbor, MI 
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #2
3 / 150ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad, not great.

1    8/24/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Triple tee colors for variety
Brush is not daunting, found discs easily.
Good mix of shots
Lively area with lots of another things to do after/before a round.
Cons: At least two holes with trees down, now this is not a single tree in the fairway. It looks more like a Tornado went through.
Lots of joggers using the course as a nature trail... maybe I'm ignorant that it has one through it?
Other Thoughts: When writing reviews for 9-hole courses, I try to compair them to other 9h, not their 18-30 big brothers. That being said, this is probably my favorite 9h course so far.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Conveniently located in AA and dynamic with 3 tees for each hole!

1    8/18/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Off the beaten path nine hole course nicely squeezed into Ann Arbor
+ Tee pads, tee pads, TEE PADS!
+ Concrete tee pads, too :)
+ A couple technical lines to hit depending on the tee pad you choose
+ Quality wooden tee markers and next tee signs point the way
+ Bathrooms/parking
Cons: - Hole-to-hole layout isn't very intuitive/sensible at times (consult a map to find all three tee pads if it's your first time)
- It's not easy to just walk to the tee you want to throw from, sometimes you have to hunt around
- Multiple tees have redundant lines, so there really aren't 27 unique lines to hit
- Very rough rough with disc eating capabilities
- Unremarkable surroundings, not very pretty or anything
- Downed trees and tangled brush on the walking paths and in the rough - right now it's not in tip top shape
- Wouldn't really want to play alone
- Cramped fairways (1/2/9, and 5/6)
- Long walk between 6 and 7
Other Thoughts: A rating of 2.5 for a 9-holer is good, in my opinion. By far the best part about these nine holes (and what earned the rating I gave it) are the 27 concrete tees and the options they offer. Sometimes there aren't big differences between them (redundant lines), some tees are hard to find if you haven't played the course several times, and some are kind of getting eaten and hidden by tangles of trees and bushes. Regardless, the 27 tees allow you to pick your favorites and have a satisfying quick round (or multiple rounds).

Bandemer Park isn't a spectacular course, there's no wow factor, and the holes aren't very diverse, but it has great equipment and it's in OK shape. The fairways themselves are mostly clear anyway. It's not a "hidden gem". It isn't a course I recommend traveling to play, but might be worth adding if you are playing an area course, coming into downtown AA to eat some sushi at Totoro, and have extra time to kill. It just seems convenient for Ann Arbor. Definitely play it if you're in AA and need to get your disc golf fix but don't want to drive to one of the many spectacular nearby courses (this was the case for me and my wife).

The 9 holes play very quick and they're not very challenging, but keep in mind the course is out of the way of everything and somewhat secluded. Playing alone probably isn't dangerous, but based on what I saw when I played it, it would be a good idea to bring a friend or at least be prepared. It was really nice to have a spotter on a couple holes anyway, since the rough definitely has the potential to eat discs and there are several holes with blind pin placement. Oh, and leave your drivers at home (unless you might use one as a weapon).

I don't live in Ann Arbor anymore, but if I did, would I rather play Bandemer to get my disc golf fix, or drive 15-20 minutes (if traffic is good) to one of the nearby awesome 18+ holers? I don't know. I might just take a portable basket to the Arb with friends ;) In all seriousness, Bandemer is a great resource for disc golf in the area and definitely serves a noble purpose. Good people have been involved with the course and I give them kudos for installing and maintaining it in such a tangled mess. That being said, in its current condition, 2.5 is the fairest and most honest assessment I can give Bandemer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good, quick urban course

5+    7/4/2009   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads, well marked and signed. Multiple tee pads make this short, tight course fun to play. Technical shots are rewarded, wild throws are punished, but you will rarely get into any real trouble because the pin is never that far away.

Old industrial/reclaimed landscape is interesting.

Close to A2, and US 23.
Cons: Horrible footing in the "fairways. Muddy with lot's of stumps.

Short urban course, good for a nooner of after work quickie.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a good job with what they had to work with, the 3 pads/tee is super nice. It is not quite like playing 27, but close.

If you live close, or are driving by on US 23 and want to check one off the list this is a good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2008   7/5/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Bandemer Park has a very nice layout, they did a good job of making a challenge on every hole yet never making it too overwellming. A couple small hills and creek add to the nice layout. No two holes are alike here!

Course Maintinance-
This is one of the best maintained dg courses I've been too! Woodchips completely cover most of the holes, there are 3 sets of teepads (all which appropriately change the challenge level), and every tee has a wood post that gives distance.
Cons:
-Theres not too many cons here. The biggest negative is that its only 9 holes. Also there's long walks between 2-3 & 6-7, but both send you down nice walking trails.
Other Thoughts:
-Up to this point, Bandemer Park is definitely the best layed out and maintained 9 hole course i've played!

-I travel to Ann Arbor every once in a while, and I play here everytime I go. Its really easy to access from the highway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 79  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 3 sets of concrete tees for every hole makes great use of compact layout and really changes some of the holes, signs everywhere make this easy to navigate for quick and easy play
Cons: No long holes, course is a little rough still but should break in
Other Thoughts: Park is secluded bring water and bug spray

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A diamond in the rough

6/28/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of concrete tees for every hole, which vary not only in distance, but in the angle which one must approach the pin from. A single hole could be a lefty hole from the blue tees, a straight shot from the whites and a short "deuce or die" from the reds.
The course is very well marked. Not only are all tees and baskets labeled, but every time there is a long walk between holes, signs direct you. This attention to detail is something I rarely see on a small par-3 course, or any course for that matter.
Cons: The tee pads are far too short for a proper run-up, then again many of the holes are so short that one is not required. It's almost like 20% had been subtracted from the PDGA suggestions for both factors. Pros may scoff at the length from the blue tees, which are often not really longer than the whites. I don't mind the wood chips all over the course (though it is a bizarre site), but there are still many places on the course and the trails between holes where standing water builds up and mosquitoes breed.
Other Thoughts: Should be designated par-3 on every hole, even at the recreational level, which I think will be the course's primary audience. A nine hole course tucked away in a town park is not going to draw pros from the 24 hole courses in the surrounding Metroparks. However, as a rec-level nine holer, this is one of the best I've played, and I had a great time here. It is still new and most definitely rough around the edges in places, but I think the course in Bandemer park is turning out to be quite a gem.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.