Ann Arbor, MI
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #4
3 / 150ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bandemer

1    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Jacobie2125
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wildlife and holes were pretty easy to find, and with three sets of tees for each hole there is something for everyone.
Cons: Was muddy in spots and was kind of crowded.
Other Thoughts: Holes had very tight windows that call for well controlled throws.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Historical Gem!

2-4    7/21/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (3) concrete Tee pads per hole (red, white, blue), allow for replay variety. Tees are not just diff lengths, but on diff sides of fairway, making them completely different holes.
Historical feel to it, old course with lots of markings on posts and leftover glow artifacts. Loved reading all the names of "aces" and "skipped aces" on each marker.
Great variety for golfers of diff skill sets. Reds play really short, great for approach and putt game. Left, right and straight shots needed for each. Blue adds length and difficulty to drives.
Nice area right off of Hgwy 14 (exit 4), easy access to park and course. FREE!!!!
Cons: Not a "pretty" course by any stretch of the imagination. Some stumps, rocks and rough ground so watch your steps as you walk. Short walk to Hole 3, longer walk to 7, not unbearable, just more annoying than anything.
Parking is tough to come by, very limited near the course, may have to walk a bit if packed.
Other Thoughts: Personal note, my very first Hole-in-One this weekend!! Hole #9 (red) 200 feet, my Stratus flew true.
Put this one on the Wish List for sure, have to check it out, play all 3 tee sets.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ann Arbor's Best Public Course (For Now)

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course map by long tee for hole #1
* 3 concrete tee pads from 3 different angles on every hole give some pre playability to this short 9 hole course
*Tee signs with distance at every hole
*Mostly wooded and technical but not impossible holes
*Most holes easy to duece form the short tee and challenging to par from the long tees
*free to play
*park entrance less than 100 yards from M14 barton exit
*park minutes from downtown ann arbor
*unless course is crowded the rounds are very quick
*wooded and right next to huron river, very scenic
*minutes from Independence Lake Disc Golf Course
*holes are not at all repetetive
* Very good use of elevation
Cons: * Very very crowded during peak hours
* Only 9 holes
* No long holes
* Needs more trash cans
Other Thoughts: Might not be worth going too far out of your way for, due to the size but a fun course for anyone visiting Ann Arbor or nearby. Very good for working on your approach game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I liked Bandemer and U will 2

1    11/8/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location, Location, Location. (very close to the lovely city of Ann Arbor so one could play it during their lunch break as Ben was doing when I joined him on the last hole the other day or one could play this DGC B4 or after work, B4 they went home or school)

This DGC is geared for the recreational players than the pro caliber player, having said that they're are 3 sets of CEMENT TEES, which would be awersome for the AM/ Rec player who wants wants to mix it up a little.

Good mix of lefty/ righty/ straight holes

plenty of room for more holes

ample parking/ restroom

Map of DGC @ Kiosk that's just before # 1

wood chipped fairways, I know some people don't like this kind of fairway, but it reduces weeds and grass in which the city doesn't need to mow constantly, thus saving a little $$ and it prevents wet areas in which people would be complaining about if they're weren't woodchps on the fairways. So IMHO I'm glad to see this kind of fairway for this kind of DGC.

Cons: tees weren't very long

Tee signs we're negleted and needs some reparing or replacement

Other Thoughts: I like these kind of DGC, They're very important to the grand scheme of Disc GOLF growth as they allow rec/ am players to develop their respective skills before advancing to the bigger DGC that are in this area. (We call courses like this where I'm from as "feeder DGC", These DGC will feed the bigger DGC). And I was told once 9 holes are better than no holes. I've been all around the world and some communities just don't have the room nor cash flow for championship DGC. But there are plenty of parks around the world with enough land to install a DGC like Bandemer for the future growth of DGC and I'm glad I played it today.

I slso saw a Father and his son (Chris and Jackson??) playing today. His son wasn't even ready for Hudson Mills, but was very eager playing with Dad at Bandemer and that's what makes DGC like this one stand out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun, quick 9 hole course

2-4    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Chaching92
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great after school/after work course.

Close to downtown, yet doesn't feel like you're in the city at all.

Good atmosphere of local players.

Plays very quickly and is ideal for after school/after work.

Good variety of shots for being a quick 9 hole course.
Cons: Can be a little muddy.

9 holes can be a bit unsatisfying if your looking to make a whole day of discing.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the course, the rest of the park is very nice and lies on the river. This is nice if bringing non-players, who will enjoy the nice walking/running paths.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the bando 27

5+    12/22/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: HYPNO-TOAD
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 pins- 27 tees, each tee offers a different shot, there are no redundant tees. Wood chips: fairways covered in wood chips making it a great course to play in rain- never muddy - blues and whites are challenging deuces, with 6 and 8 blue being exceptionally tricky- glow league wednesday night, sometimes switching to thursday, a great nine hole course- bring your girlfriend and have her throw reds
Cons: nowhere to open up, all technical wooded holes, tee pads only consist of two blocks, only seems to be a problem on 8 white for me though as most of the holes are less than 270
Other Thoughts: holes 4-6 of this course is on what used to be a dirt bike obstacle course, there are still humps of concrete and other unusual terrain, also there are very large cottonwood trees throughout this course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Da Mer

5+    9/17/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: 24chains
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for playing MOB golf, easy to go for the glory and end up in the shule. Very close to downtown AA which is great for those who live in the city and dont want to drive far. Awesome setting for Friday night Glow rounds.
Cons: Stump's, Casual water which can get up to 4-5ft deep, skeeter.. all the usual with courses in MI. But what I would really say is a con would be the lack of trash cans as well as the often unmowed fairways. disc eaters for no reason.
Other Thoughts: could squeeze in a couple more holes but would make a goofy 12 hole course, I would make some holes longer and let the big arms play tunnel golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a nine hole course

1    9/20/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 205  Reviewed: 201  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Multiple tees-- Three tees per hole give you a truly unique look at each hole. Honestly, these tees aren't any easier because they're closer, it would be easy to play all 27 tees as unique holes.

Signage/nav--Excellent! the long walks have nav signs. each tee has a sign. with distance.

Upkeep-- Beautifully kept course close to downtown and UofM.

Dedication-- The walking paths through the course are separated from the disc golf which is always nice.

Variety-- A little of everything here.
Cons: 9-holes-- technically, only nine holes, but as I said above, could easily be made 27.

Length-- definitely a lot of aceable holes and challenge factor is not really that high.
Other Thoughts: A good time. A quick play (if you play nine). I was pleasantly surprised and would quickly play another round here if in Ann Arbor again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice after work course

1    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: maynes32
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three sets of tee pads each give a very different look, as mentioned by other reviewers.

Nine holes + proximity to downtown = great course for a quick nine after work.

Wood-chipped fairways (also easy on the feet) and lack of grass/undergrowth mean few lost discs.
Cons: Holes tend to be a little uninspired. They had a bunch of land through the trees to work with so the holes tend to be shorter, techy "between the trees"-type holes.

The lack of meaningful variation in distance means that if you play the same set of pads the whole way through, you are seeing the same challenge over and over.
Other Thoughts: As suggested by a friend of mine, this can easily be used to create a 27-hole course by mix and matching use of tee locations three times through the course. This also helps to mitigate the distance con, as rotating pads will usually give a marked difference in distance.

Overall, this is a very enjoyable beginner or recreational course. I marked it down for lack of variety and lack of real play at higher skill levels.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will be more fun in the future

1    5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting location (starts out near a highway overpass, but quickly goes into deep woods), very convenient to downtown Ann Arbor, which is awesome.

The park itself is really pretty, since it runs along the Huron River, but there are no water holes, so there's no real risk of losing a disc.

Holes are clever at times, forcing you to really think about how to throw - high precision is needed at times.

Even though it's a smaller 9 hole course, there are a couple of holes you can get a nice long drive out of.

Each hole has three tee pads, each with well thought out positions and distances.
Cons: [Update] In its second year, the course has softened up a ton, and is much more playable than it was when I first wrote this review, last year.

Last year there was shattered wood everywhere, since they had just created the course.

This year - much nicer.

[End Update]

Finally, none of the holes have par marked on them. I understand some people always play a hole as a three, but many recreational golfers enjoy comparing themselves to a more realistic 3-5 par. In my opinion, if you play the red tee pad, you should use par 3 for every hole. If you play white or blue (not a huge difference), then use the amateur pars I've entered in the Hole Info section. Given the dense woods on almost every hole, I think they're fair.
Other Thoughts: No drinking fountain or water source nearby. No stores nearby to stop at, either. Bring bug spray, too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.