Ann Arbor, MI 
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #5
3 / 180ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice after work course

1    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: maynes32
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three sets of tee pads each give a very different look, as mentioned by other reviewers.

Nine holes + proximity to downtown = great course for a quick nine after work.

Wood-chipped fairways (also easy on the feet) and lack of grass/undergrowth mean few lost discs.
Cons: Holes tend to be a little uninspired. They had a bunch of land through the trees to work with so the holes tend to be shorter, techy "between the trees"-type holes.

The lack of meaningful variation in distance means that if you play the same set of pads the whole way through, you are seeing the same challenge over and over.
Other Thoughts: As suggested by a friend of mine, this can easily be used to create a 27-hole course by mix and matching use of tee locations three times through the course. This also helps to mitigate the distance con, as rotating pads will usually give a marked difference in distance.

Overall, this is a very enjoyable beginner or recreational course. I marked it down for lack of variety and lack of real play at higher skill levels.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be sooo good

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: ypsidisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tees are well marked. Having pads is a good thing, though they are a little short. Each hole has three tee spots which is nice because you can play it three times and basically have different holes.
Cons: The bugs were ridiculous, i found myself killing a mosquito every time I stopped moving, this makes it a little hard to concentrate.
When you take a shot and walk up the fairway, you have to look at the ground the whole time because of the random stumps and sticks.
Mud was an issue as well, if your disc goes left or right just a tad too much, you will get mud on your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Could be a very nice course. The mud and tree stumps are really the only problem.
Bugs are natural and can only be stopped to a certain extent. I do advise bug spray. Other than those things its really not that bad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic 9-hole!

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely phenomenal par-3! Multiple tees on each hole change the landscape and approach. Mulch bed keeps things dry on the fairways. Steady crowd but never too busy; always friendly people. Most holes are tight and accuracy is key, however there are a few open areas for clean drives. Play through once on the blue tees, and then go again from the whites or reds. A quick and fun course. Aces possible on almost every hole.
Cons: No cons that I can think of.

this course has lost a bit of luster now that I've played it a bunch.
Other Thoughts: Exit off Barton Drive from M-14; park is on the left. Drive past the car park and over the bridge; course is around the bend.

Course is very clean, with well marked signs, even on long walks between holes. Bring something to drink.

to make all my ratings consistent, i will drop bandemer down to a three star, since it is only a nine-hole course. but still a phenomenal one!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 91  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 3 sets of concrete tees for every hole makes great use of compact layout and really changes some of the holes, signs everywhere make this easy to navigate for quick and easy play
Cons: No long holes, course is a little rough still but should break in
Other Thoughts: Park is secluded bring water and bug spray

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A diamond in the rough

6/28/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 62  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of concrete tees for every hole, which vary not only in distance, but in the angle which one must approach the pin from. A single hole could be a lefty hole from the blue tees, a straight shot from the whites and a short "deuce or die" from the reds.
The course is very well marked. Not only are all tees and baskets labeled, but every time there is a long walk between holes, signs direct you. This attention to detail is something I rarely see on a small par-3 course, or any course for that matter.
Cons: The tee pads are far too short for a proper run-up, then again many of the holes are so short that one is not required. It's almost like 20% had been subtracted from the PDGA suggestions for both factors. Pros may scoff at the length from the blue tees, which are often not really longer than the whites. I don't mind the wood chips all over the course (though it is a bizarre site), but there are still many places on the course and the trails between holes where standing water builds up and mosquitoes breed.
Other Thoughts: Should be designated par-3 on every hole, even at the recreational level, which I think will be the course's primary audience. A nine hole course tucked away in a town park is not going to draw pros from the 24 hole courses in the surrounding Metroparks. However, as a rec-level nine holer, this is one of the best I've played, and I had a great time here. It is still new and most definitely rough around the edges in places, but I think the course in Bandemer park is turning out to be quite a gem.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time

6/16/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: zatch_5412
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really close to downtown Ann Arbor. Within biking distance if you live in town. If you know your way around the Ann Arbor trails you can ride them all the way to the park.

Three concrete tee pads at every hole is a definite plus. The placement of each tee is well thought out, and can completely change the way you approach some of the holes. Even though it's only 9 holes you could play a round from the reds and round from the blues and still have it feel like a fresh challenge on the second round.

It's hard to describe exactly what it is I like about this course. I play it a few times a week, and I still have a great time when I play.
Cons: The course itself looks a bit rough around the edges. The last reviewer wasn't exaggerating about the shredded wood everywhere. it looks essentially like they walked a giant wood chipper through the woods, missed a few trees, and then stuck a basket at the end.

Like most courses I've played the mosquitos can get pretty bad, so grab the spray.

The long path to the last three holes has a tendency to get a little muddy (it takes you around a low lying area) and with the amount of rain we've gotten it's getting a little overgrown. Not bad enough to be any sort of problem though, I just thought I would mention it.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Ann Arbor, it's definitely worth a visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be more fun in the future

1    5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting location (starts out near a highway overpass, but quickly goes into deep woods), very convenient to downtown Ann Arbor, which is awesome.

The park itself is really pretty, since it runs along the Huron River, but there are no water holes, so there's no real risk of losing a disc.

Holes are clever at times, forcing you to really think about how to throw - high precision is needed at times.

Even though it's a smaller 9 hole course, there are a couple of holes you can get a nice long drive out of.

Each hole has three tee pads, each with well thought out positions and distances.
Cons: [Update] In its second year, the course has softened up a ton, and is much more playable than it was when I first wrote this review, last year.

Last year there was shattered wood everywhere, since they had just created the course.

This year - much nicer.

[End Update]

Finally, none of the holes have par marked on them. I understand some people always play a hole as a three, but many recreational golfers enjoy comparing themselves to a more realistic 3-5 par. In my opinion, if you play the red tee pad, you should use par 3 for every hole. If you play white or blue (not a huge difference), then use the amateur pars I've entered in the Hole Info section. Given the dense woods on almost every hole, I think they're fair.
Other Thoughts: No drinking fountain or water source nearby. No stores nearby to stop at, either. Bring bug spray, too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.