Ann Arbor, MI 
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #8
5 / 290ft.   5 / 330ft.   5 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Da Mer

5+    9/17/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: 24chains
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for playing MOB golf, easy to go for the glory and end up in the shule. Very close to downtown AA which is great for those who live in the city and dont want to drive far. Awesome setting for Friday night Glow rounds.
Cons: Stump's, Casual water which can get up to 4-5ft deep, skeeter.. all the usual with courses in MI. But what I would really say is a con would be the lack of trash cans as well as the often unmowed fairways. disc eaters for no reason.
Other Thoughts: could squeeze in a couple more holes but would make a goofy 12 hole course, I would make some holes longer and let the big arms play tunnel golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a nine hole course

1    9/20/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Multiple tees-- Three tees per hole give you a truly unique look at each hole. Honestly, these tees aren't any easier because they're closer, it would be easy to play all 27 tees as unique holes.

Signage/nav--Excellent! the long walks have nav signs. each tee has a sign. with distance.

Upkeep-- Beautifully kept course close to downtown and UofM.

Dedication-- The walking paths through the course are separated from the disc golf which is always nice.

Variety-- A little of everything here.
Cons: 9-holes-- technically, only nine holes, but as I said above, could easily be made 27.

Length-- definitely a lot of aceable holes and challenge factor is not really that high.
Other Thoughts: A good time. A quick play (if you play nine). I was pleasantly surprised and would quickly play another round here if in Ann Arbor again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good, quick urban course

5+    7/4/2009   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads, well marked and signed. Multiple tee pads make this short, tight course fun to play. Technical shots are rewarded, wild throws are punished, but you will rarely get into any real trouble because the pin is never that far away.

Old industrial/reclaimed landscape is interesting.

Close to A2, and US 23.
Cons: Horrible footing in the "fairways. Muddy with lot's of stumps.

Short urban course, good for a nooner of after work quickie.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a good job with what they had to work with, the 3 pads/tee is super nice. It is not quite like playing 27, but close.

If you live close, or are driving by on US 23 and want to check one off the list this is a good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go Blue!

5+    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Minutes from Univ of Michigan's campus and the heart of Ann Arbor. Particularly well suited to beginners, avid recreational players and a "friendly" round for intermediate players (not much to challenge the Pro level player here). Red, white, and blue tees truly provide significantly different levels of difficulty and shot variety. Allows players of different skill levels to play a round together while allowing everyone to match the challenge to their skill level - no one has to feel over-matched or under challenged. Holes are laid out prety nicely and the triple tee pads often require distinctly different approaches to the same basket.

Flows reasonably well and getting from hole to hole is easy most of the time. There are a couple of holes where the next tee bit of a hike, but they've posted some "Next Tee" signs after those baskets to get you going in the right direction. There's a course map posted near 1st hole - navigation's pretty easy if you remember which holes have a decent walk to the next tee.

Distance to pin is clearly displayed on a post next to each tee pad, and although each hole isn't mapped out on them, you can usually see where the basket is as you approach the tee or with a relatively short walk partway down the hole.

Course plays pretty well and makes for a quick, fun round. I like playing from the different tee pads to make a more complete round and work in a bit of variety.

Park is generally well maintained: baskets in good shape.

Practice Basket neat 1st tee.

Fairly low risk of disc loss, although the brush in some spots is thick enough to swallow drives that get away from you.

Although I'm not a big fan of nine-hole courses, I have to admit that multiple tee pads provide quite a bit of variety in a relatively compact area - minimizes negative impact to the environment as less area gets beat down and subjected to abuse.
Cons: If you intend to play this as strictly a nine hole course (i.e. play only the red, the white, or the blue tees), it really doesn't provide very much shot variety. Variety really only comes into play as you move among the different sets of tee pads.

Although course plays well, it has a pretty rough look to it and really isn't what you could call a scenic setting. Has some rough, nasty, patches right in the middle of a few fairways. If you like neat, manicured fairways, this isn't your type of disc golf.

Tee pads are shorter than on most courses - wished I had more room to work on many of my drives.

Elevation change is not really a factor, at least not enough to make you change your approach to the shot.

I've been noticing more trash strewn about the course the last few times I've played here.
Other Thoughts: Closest course to UM, only about a 2 1/2 mile walk from: Central Campus, North Campus, downtown Ann Arbor. If you're a UM student without a car, this is the course for you.

With three sets of tee pads in such different locations, it's a good idea to look around to make sure someone else isn't throwing off another tee at the same basket.

Fairways comprised of wood chips/mulch mean discs tend to skip a bit more than they do on grass. This can help or hurt depending on the circumstances, but you might want to account for it.

Pretty well wooded - feels like a typical Michigan course: favors players with a strong short and technical game. Big bombers are sure to find this course frustrating, and will be happier throwing at Ponds of Lakeshore (about a twenty min drive from Bandemer).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: jayseiler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course, Nicely maintained and great if you like a techinical course where you need to help sneak it past trees. The three tees helps to give you variety when wanting to play 18 versus 9.
Cons: Kind of a bummer it's only 9. The course leaves you wanting more. As others have reported it can get very buggy due to it being so close to the river and with wetlands surrounding it. A passing train can be a little annoying when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Recommend you play in a group the first time. It helps on some of the holes to have a spotter since it can be easy to misplace a disc under some of the fallen trees/limbs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Mecca

5+    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Da Bonger
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my MECCA!!! Great course to learn on from the red (my bud hit an ace on the 6th, or so he says). Since there are three tees to choose from you can somewhat chart your progress as you improve. The fairways have had a fresh layer of wood chips put down and it's a nice scenic walk through the woods from 6 to 7 and 2 to 3. If you come in from the North Main St. side you might even catch a glimpse of the U of M and Pioneer co-ed rowing teams. Yowzah!
Cons: Only 9 holes!! I try to play 18-21 holes everyday but it does get a little boring. Bring the bug spray!! There is some mud and water that pose a threat on the 5th and 6th holes but what's life without some challenges.
Other Thoughts: So far my favorite course. It's becoming an old friend. If, god forbid, I ever move I'll be making the pilgrimage back here at least once a season.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2008   7/5/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Bandemer Park has a very nice layout, they did a good job of making a challenge on every hole yet never making it too overwellming. A couple small hills and creek add to the nice layout. No two holes are alike here!

Course Maintinance-
This is one of the best maintained dg courses I've been too! Woodchips completely cover most of the holes, there are 3 sets of teepads (all which appropriately change the challenge level), and every tee has a wood post that gives distance.
Cons:
-Theres not too many cons here. The biggest negative is that its only 9 holes. Also there's long walks between 2-3 & 6-7, but both send you down nice walking trails.
Other Thoughts:
-Up to this point, Bandemer Park is definitely the best layed out and maintained 9 hole course i've played!

-I travel to Ann Arbor every once in a while, and I play here everytime I go. Its really easy to access from the highway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice after work course

1    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: maynes32
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three sets of tee pads each give a very different look, as mentioned by other reviewers.

Nine holes + proximity to downtown = great course for a quick nine after work.

Wood-chipped fairways (also easy on the feet) and lack of grass/undergrowth mean few lost discs.
Cons: Holes tend to be a little uninspired. They had a bunch of land through the trees to work with so the holes tend to be shorter, techy "between the trees"-type holes.

The lack of meaningful variation in distance means that if you play the same set of pads the whole way through, you are seeing the same challenge over and over.
Other Thoughts: As suggested by a friend of mine, this can easily be used to create a 27-hole course by mix and matching use of tee locations three times through the course. This also helps to mitigate the distance con, as rotating pads will usually give a marked difference in distance.

Overall, this is a very enjoyable beginner or recreational course. I marked it down for lack of variety and lack of real play at higher skill levels.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be sooo good

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: ypsidisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tees are well marked. Having pads is a good thing, though they are a little short. Each hole has three tee spots which is nice because you can play it three times and basically have different holes.
Cons: The bugs were ridiculous, i found myself killing a mosquito every time I stopped moving, this makes it a little hard to concentrate.
When you take a shot and walk up the fairway, you have to look at the ground the whole time because of the random stumps and sticks.
Mud was an issue as well, if your disc goes left or right just a tad too much, you will get mud on your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Could be a very nice course. The mud and tree stumps are really the only problem.
Bugs are natural and can only be stopped to a certain extent. I do advise bug spray. Other than those things its really not that bad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic 9-hole!

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely phenomenal par-3! Multiple tees on each hole change the landscape and approach. Mulch bed keeps things dry on the fairways. Steady crowd but never too busy; always friendly people. Most holes are tight and accuracy is key, however there are a few open areas for clean drives. Play through once on the blue tees, and then go again from the whites or reds. A quick and fun course. Aces possible on almost every hole.
Cons: No cons that I can think of.

**update**
this course has lost a bit of luster now that I've played it a bunch.
Other Thoughts: Exit off Barton Drive from M-14; park is on the left. Drive past the car park and over the bridge; course is around the bend.

Course is very clean, with well marked signs, even on long walks between holes. Bring something to drink.

**update**
to make all my ratings consistent, i will drop bandemer down to a three star, since it is only a nine-hole course. but still a phenomenal one!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.