Ann Arbor, MI 
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #3
4 / 220ft.   4 / 300ft.   4 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 3 sets of concrete tees for every hole makes great use of compact layout and really changes some of the holes, signs everywhere make this easy to navigate for quick and easy play
Cons: No long holes, course is a little rough still but should break in
Other Thoughts: Park is secluded bring water and bug spray

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A diamond in the rough

6/28/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of concrete tees for every hole, which vary not only in distance, but in the angle which one must approach the pin from. A single hole could be a lefty hole from the blue tees, a straight shot from the whites and a short "deuce or die" from the reds.
The course is very well marked. Not only are all tees and baskets labeled, but every time there is a long walk between holes, signs direct you. This attention to detail is something I rarely see on a small par-3 course, or any course for that matter.
Cons: The tee pads are far too short for a proper run-up, then again many of the holes are so short that one is not required. It's almost like 20% had been subtracted from the PDGA suggestions for both factors. Pros may scoff at the length from the blue tees, which are often not really longer than the whites. I don't mind the wood chips all over the course (though it is a bizarre site), but there are still many places on the course and the trails between holes where standing water builds up and mosquitoes breed.
Other Thoughts: Should be designated par-3 on every hole, even at the recreational level, which I think will be the course's primary audience. A nine hole course tucked away in a town park is not going to draw pros from the 24 hole courses in the surrounding Metroparks. However, as a rec-level nine holer, this is one of the best I've played, and I had a great time here. It is still new and most definitely rough around the edges in places, but I think the course in Bandemer park is turning out to be quite a gem.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time

6/16/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: zatch_5412
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really close to downtown Ann Arbor. Within biking distance if you live in town. If you know your way around the Ann Arbor trails you can ride them all the way to the park.

Three concrete tee pads at every hole is a definite plus. The placement of each tee is well thought out, and can completely change the way you approach some of the holes. Even though it's only 9 holes you could play a round from the reds and round from the blues and still have it feel like a fresh challenge on the second round.

It's hard to describe exactly what it is I like about this course. I play it a few times a week, and I still have a great time when I play.
Cons: The course itself looks a bit rough around the edges. The last reviewer wasn't exaggerating about the shredded wood everywhere. it looks essentially like they walked a giant wood chipper through the woods, missed a few trees, and then stuck a basket at the end.

Like most courses I've played the mosquitos can get pretty bad, so grab the spray.

The long path to the last three holes has a tendency to get a little muddy (it takes you around a low lying area) and with the amount of rain we've gotten it's getting a little overgrown. Not bad enough to be any sort of problem though, I just thought I would mention it.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Ann Arbor, it's definitely worth a visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be more fun in the future

1    5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting location (starts out near a highway overpass, but quickly goes into deep woods), very convenient to downtown Ann Arbor, which is awesome.

The park itself is really pretty, since it runs along the Huron River, but there are no water holes, so there's no real risk of losing a disc.

Holes are clever at times, forcing you to really think about how to throw - high precision is needed at times.

Even though it's a smaller 9 hole course, there are a couple of holes you can get a nice long drive out of.

Each hole has three tee pads, each with well thought out positions and distances.
Cons: [Update] In its second year, the course has softened up a ton, and is much more playable than it was when I first wrote this review, last year.

Last year there was shattered wood everywhere, since they had just created the course.

This year - much nicer.

[End Update]

Finally, none of the holes have par marked on them. I understand some people always play a hole as a three, but many recreational golfers enjoy comparing themselves to a more realistic 3-5 par. In my opinion, if you play the red tee pad, you should use par 3 for every hole. If you play white or blue (not a huge difference), then use the amateur pars I've entered in the Hole Info section. Given the dense woods on almost every hole, I think they're fair.
Other Thoughts: No drinking fountain or water source nearby. No stores nearby to stop at, either. Bring bug spray, too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.