Ann Arbor, MI 
Bandemer Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #8
3 / 290ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 I liked Bandemer and U will 2

1    11/8/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1381  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 28.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location, Location, Location. (very close to the lovely city of Ann Arbor so one could play it during their lunch break as Ben was doing when I joined him on the last hole the other day or one could play this DGC B4 or after work, B4 they went home or school)

This DGC is geared for the recreational players than the pro caliber player, having said that they're are 3 sets of CEMENT TEES, which would be awersome for the AM/ Rec player who wants wants to mix it up a little.

Good mix of lefty/ righty/ straight holes

plenty of room for more holes

ample parking/ restroom

Map of DGC @ Kiosk that's just before # 1

wood chipped fairways, I know some people don't like this kind of fairway, but it reduces weeds and grass in which the city doesn't need to mow constantly, thus saving a little $$ and it prevents wet areas in which people would be complaining about if they're weren't woodchps on the fairways. So IMHO I'm glad to see this kind of fairway for this kind of DGC.

Cons: tees weren't very long

Tee signs we're negleted and needs some reparing or replacement

Other Thoughts: I like these kind of DGC, They're very important to the grand scheme of Disc GOLF growth as they allow rec/ am players to develop their respective skills before advancing to the bigger DGC that are in this area. (We call courses like this where I'm from as "feeder DGC", These DGC will feed the bigger DGC). And I was told once 9 holes are better than no holes. I've been all around the world and some communities just don't have the room nor cash flow for championship DGC. But there are plenty of parks around the world with enough land to install a DGC like Bandemer for the future growth of DGC and I'm glad I played it today.

I slso saw a Father and his son (Chris and Jackson??) playing today. His son wasn't even ready for Hudson Mills, but was very eager playing with Dad at Bandemer and that's what makes DGC like this one stand out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun, quick 9 hole course

2-4    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Chaching92
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great after school/after work course.

Close to downtown, yet doesn't feel like you're in the city at all.

Good atmosphere of local players.

Plays very quickly and is ideal for after school/after work.

Good variety of shots for being a quick 9 hole course.
Cons: Can be a little muddy.

9 holes can be a bit unsatisfying if your looking to make a whole day of discing.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the course, the rest of the park is very nice and lies on the river. This is nice if bringing non-players, who will enjoy the nice walking/running paths.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the bando 27

5+    12/22/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: HYPNO-TOAD
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 pins- 27 tees, each tee offers a different shot, there are no redundant tees. Wood chips: fairways covered in wood chips making it a great course to play in rain- never muddy - blues and whites are challenging deuces, with 6 and 8 blue being exceptionally tricky- glow league wednesday night, sometimes switching to thursday, a great nine hole course- bring your girlfriend and have her throw reds
Cons: nowhere to open up, all technical wooded holes, tee pads only consist of two blocks, only seems to be a problem on 8 white for me though as most of the holes are less than 270
Other Thoughts: holes 4-6 of this course is on what used to be a dirt bike obstacle course, there are still humps of concrete and other unusual terrain, also there are very large cottonwood trees throughout this course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Da Mer

5+    9/17/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: 24chains
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for playing MOB golf, easy to go for the glory and end up in the shule. Very close to downtown AA which is great for those who live in the city and dont want to drive far. Awesome setting for Friday night Glow rounds.
Cons: Stump's, Casual water which can get up to 4-5ft deep, skeeter.. all the usual with courses in MI. But what I would really say is a con would be the lack of trash cans as well as the often unmowed fairways. disc eaters for no reason.
Other Thoughts: could squeeze in a couple more holes but would make a goofy 12 hole course, I would make some holes longer and let the big arms play tunnel golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a nine hole course

1    9/20/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Multiple tees-- Three tees per hole give you a truly unique look at each hole. Honestly, these tees aren't any easier because they're closer, it would be easy to play all 27 tees as unique holes.

Signage/nav--Excellent! the long walks have nav signs. each tee has a sign. with distance.

Upkeep-- Beautifully kept course close to downtown and UofM.

Dedication-- The walking paths through the course are separated from the disc golf which is always nice.

Variety-- A little of everything here.
Cons: 9-holes-- technically, only nine holes, but as I said above, could easily be made 27.

Length-- definitely a lot of aceable holes and challenge factor is not really that high.
Other Thoughts: A good time. A quick play (if you play nine). I was pleasantly surprised and would quickly play another round here if in Ann Arbor again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good, quick urban course

5+    7/4/2009   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads, well marked and signed. Multiple tee pads make this short, tight course fun to play. Technical shots are rewarded, wild throws are punished, but you will rarely get into any real trouble because the pin is never that far away.

Old industrial/reclaimed landscape is interesting.

Close to A2, and US 23.
Cons: Horrible footing in the "fairways. Muddy with lot's of stumps.

Short urban course, good for a nooner of after work quickie.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a good job with what they had to work with, the 3 pads/tee is super nice. It is not quite like playing 27, but close.

If you live close, or are driving by on US 23 and want to check one off the list this is a good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go Blue!

5+    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 212  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Minutes from Univ of Michigan's campus and the heart of Ann Arbor. Particularly well suited to beginners, avid recreational players and a "friendly" round for intermediate players (not much to challenge the Pro level player here). Red, white, and blue tees truly provide significantly different levels of difficulty and shot variety. Allows players of different skill levels to play a round together while allowing everyone to match the challenge to their skill level - no one has to feel over-matched or under challenged. Holes are laid out prety nicely and the triple tee pads often require distinctly different approaches to the same basket.

Flows reasonably well and getting from hole to hole is easy most of the time. There are a couple of holes where the next tee bit of a hike, but they've posted some "Next Tee" signs after those baskets to get you going in the right direction. There's a course map posted near 1st hole - navigation's pretty easy if you remember which holes have a decent walk to the next tee.

Distance to pin is clearly displayed on a post next to each tee pad, and although each hole isn't mapped out on them, you can usually see where the basket is as you approach the tee or with a relatively short walk partway down the hole.

Course plays pretty well and makes for a quick, fun round. I like playing from the different tee pads to make a more complete round and work in a bit of variety.

Park is generally well maintained: baskets in good shape.

Practice Basket neat 1st tee.

Fairly low risk of disc loss, although the brush in some spots is thick enough to swallow drives that get away from you.

Although I'm not a big fan of nine-hole courses, I have to admit that multiple tee pads provide quite a bit of variety in a relatively compact area - minimizes negative impact to the environment as less area gets beat down and subjected to abuse.
Cons: If you intend to play this as strictly a nine hole course (i.e. play only the red, the white, or the blue tees), it really doesn't provide very much shot variety. Variety really only comes into play as you move among the different sets of tee pads.

Although course plays well, it has a pretty rough look to it and really isn't what you could call a scenic setting. Has some rough, nasty, patches right in the middle of a few fairways. If you like neat, manicured fairways, this isn't your type of disc golf.

Tee pads are shorter than on most courses - wished I had more room to work on many of my drives.

Elevation change is not really a factor, at least not enough to make you change your approach to the shot.

I've been noticing more trash strewn about the course the last few times I've played here.
Other Thoughts: Closest course to UM, only about a 2 1/2 mile walk from: Central Campus, North Campus, downtown Ann Arbor. If you're a UM student without a car, this is the course for you.

With three sets of tee pads in such different locations, it's a good idea to look around to make sure someone else isn't throwing off another tee at the same basket.

Fairways comprised of wood chips/mulch mean discs tend to skip a bit more than they do on grass. This can help or hurt depending on the circumstances, but you might want to account for it.

Pretty well wooded - feels like a typical Michigan course: favors players with a strong short and technical game. Big bombers are sure to find this course frustrating, and will be happier throwing at Ponds of Lakeshore (about a twenty min drive from Bandemer).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: jayseiler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course, Nicely maintained and great if you like a techinical course where you need to help sneak it past trees. The three tees helps to give you variety when wanting to play 18 versus 9.
Cons: Kind of a bummer it's only 9. The course leaves you wanting more. As others have reported it can get very buggy due to it being so close to the river and with wetlands surrounding it. A passing train can be a little annoying when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Recommend you play in a group the first time. It helps on some of the holes to have a spotter since it can be easy to misplace a disc under some of the fallen trees/limbs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Mecca

5+    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Da Bonger
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my MECCA!!! Great course to learn on from the red (my bud hit an ace on the 6th, or so he says). Since there are three tees to choose from you can somewhat chart your progress as you improve. The fairways have had a fresh layer of wood chips put down and it's a nice scenic walk through the woods from 6 to 7 and 2 to 3. If you come in from the North Main St. side you might even catch a glimpse of the U of M and Pioneer co-ed rowing teams. Yowzah!
Cons: Only 9 holes!! I try to play 18-21 holes everyday but it does get a little boring. Bring the bug spray!! There is some mud and water that pose a threat on the 5th and 6th holes but what's life without some challenges.
Other Thoughts: So far my favorite course. It's becoming an old friend. If, god forbid, I ever move I'll be making the pilgrimage back here at least once a season.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2008   7/5/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 111  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Bandemer Park has a very nice layout, they did a good job of making a challenge on every hole yet never making it too overwellming. A couple small hills and creek add to the nice layout. No two holes are alike here!

Course Maintinance-
This is one of the best maintained dg courses I've been too! Woodchips completely cover most of the holes, there are 3 sets of teepads (all which appropriately change the challenge level), and every tee has a wood post that gives distance.
Cons:
-Theres not too many cons here. The biggest negative is that its only 9 holes. Also there's long walks between 2-3 & 6-7, but both send you down nice walking trails.
Other Thoughts:
-Up to this point, Bandemer Park is definitely the best layed out and maintained 9 hole course i've played!

-I travel to Ann Arbor every once in a while, and I play here everytime I go. Its really easy to access from the highway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.