Disc Golf Store
Kingman, AZ 
Cactus Flats Share
Uploaded By: weum107  
The Practice Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lives up to the name.

1    1/2/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: Kamper76
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: Wide open, holes clearly market, baskets for every hole, full 18 round course, easy to navigate.
Cons: A tad too many cacti, could end up picking needles out of your disks for a while, very open, so weather plays a huge part, very dusty, no trash bins, all par 3's.
Other Thoughts: Lots of wildlife, saw many jack rabbits and a snake or two, was better than I was expecting when first rolling up on the course, worth playing if you're in the area.

Flat!

1    3/5/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: grgr66
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Friendly staff at the college provided a map with which you would never find all the baskets wihout a local player.
Also very empty the day I was there.
Creative use of the school training equipment makes a nice chalenge to some of the holes.
Cons: Coming from Canada I found this course VERY open. The tallest tree being only 10 feet. This all contributes to the high winds I encountered that made my discs a little uncontrollable.
Slightly dangerous to try to play it where it lies when you encounter one of the many large, sharp cacti.
Other Thoughts: All in all a decent course and worth stopping by when going through Kingman

Not worth it.

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: BloodDust
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good baskets and 18 holes a + Wild life makes it pretty.
Cons: The ground is made up of nothing but dirt and goat heads. Cactus are every where and if you hit one be prepared to spend 30+ min picking the needels out of ur disk.
Other Thoughts: This course is not worth it imho.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cactus Flats

2-4    10/20/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Lukeslayerski
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wide open long holes to really see what your discs can do
Cons: so many different desert bushes. if your disc lands in one and you retrive it, you'll probably come out with a little blood
Other Thoughts: the only 18 hole cousre in the area with plenty of challenges

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic area & nice grounds on the Mohave campus, easy to locate. Good design with descent hole/shot variety, also nice variety of distance & pin placements with some blind pins. Fair amount of obstructions & good use of plants for pin cover on a number of holes. The course offers a descent challange & with alternate tee placements is playable at any level. The layout is easy to navagate, there are signs to help some with pin placements & to next hole. Mach 5 baskets in nice shape. Nice flow of play.
Cons: Footing is fair to poor, understandable for a new course but not forgivable. Tee pads would be a major improvement. Did not see any trash cans or restrooms, there was some broken glass & trash on the course & a picnic table down in the dry gultch.
Other Thoughts: Turned out to be better than I expected, the holes here have a nice amount of distance from the long tees. Had to look around a bit for pins on a few occations or throw blind, but that's to be expected first time out. There's a Roaps Course that shares part of the DG course grounds but only one hole used any of it as an obstruction. There was a high wall that had a pin hiden behind it, had to walk up first to find it. Would have been interesting had they used a bit more of the obstacle course. There was not much wind the day I played, no snakes or many thorns. There were some spiders & desert rabbit though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

1    4/10/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: erbguy
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes laid out nicely, plenty of obstacles, pleasent scenery, free to play, and relatively easy to navigate.
Cons: There was so much wind that I thought I was throwing in a tornado, I'm still finding cactus needles in a few of my discs, a few baskets were not visible from thier tees, and heaven forbid if you lose sight of your disc mid-flight.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course all-in-all, and I wound up having a great time in spite of the wind. Afterwards however, it took about an hour to remove all the needles from my discs and the soles of my shoes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cactus Flats

1    9/28/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: desertdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cactus obsticles, Cool layout
Cons: Wind, basket visibility
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. I love the desert, so the cactus and snakes were a plus for me.The wind however does play a big factor in enjoyment. The day I went there the wind was a little mutch. But loved the course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It was some where to golf and has different scenery than what I am used to.Dont really have much else to say good
Cons: This course is wide open, if not for the 50 mph wind it would be a pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Check the wind for the day before you play because it was basicly unplayable the day I went with 35 to 50 mph gusts that blew my star max around like paper,the locals said it was always like that.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A True Desert Delight!

5+    3/29/2008   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Features 18 excellent holes with a 19th for putting and practice.....well marked, high quality baskets.....a unique and challenging desert layout with a genuinely Arizona feel.... easy to navigate with well marked tee boxes and very nice signs at each..... not in the middle of town, thus providing a more professional feel....and a well placed set of beginner tees at each stop. Lots of local wildlife throughout (quail, jackrabbits, lizards and more!) Another fine course, Mr. Pine!
Cons: Very few... a lack of trash receptacles makes the course more natural, but there are always a few morons who don't care to take their garbage out with them. Honestly, I like it just the way it is.
Other Thoughts: A real experience. This course exceeded my expectations all the way to the end. Already boasting a well-built 9-hole course in the middle of town (check out Firefighters Memorial Park's 9-er...beautiful!!), Kingman now pushes further forward in it's quest for coolness with an 18-hole gem. Alternate route to the course may be a bit easier....take Stockton Hill Road a bit further to Jagerson instead (passing College and Potter). Make a right and travel a mile or so to the course which is on your left as you approach Mohave Community College. If you are sharp, you can see baskets for holes 1 through 6 as you approach. Take your first left as you enter the campus and park behind the NAU Mohave building. You can't miss hole 1 ... 20 feet from the building. The residents of Kingman are fortunate to have someone like Robert Pine to provide the city and the world's disc golfers with such wonderful local courses. Your efforts are not wasted, sir. Folks....check out this course if you are passing through on I-40 or plan a trip to the desert because you will be glad you did!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.