Richmond, KY 
Camp Catalpa DGC Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Apparently Seasonal Fun

1    1/18/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 235  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a hilltop park beside a beautiful lake, the 18 Discatcher baskets and 9 concrete tees at Camp Catalpa represent a really nice application of an unusual choice in configuration. Most 'Dual Nines' go in with ('only') the expense of nine baskets each with two tees, so it's impressive when they've invested in twice the baskets to double the fun. Given the limitations of park space, it was probably the best choice: they've created some distinctly different lines, depending on whether you're playing the yellow front nine loop or the red back nine.

Excellent use of elevation and the park trees (toward the front), and the woodsy glade lanes carved in the back mean that over half the baskets are 'blind' off the tee, but once you've completed your first loop, you'll have a feel for the layout. The flow is relatively intuitive, even for first timers, particularly when you pay attention to the signage at the course and hole tips on here. Otherwise, there are a couple of times where you might stray down the wrong path.

Highlights for me included the beautiful valley crosser from a recessed tee on holes 4/13 and the demanding, S-curving fairway on hole 15. I also thought it was unique to see the VERY different lines off the trapezoidal tee pad on 9/18, where the former leads on back to the beginning, while the 'finisher' is a blind hyzer (rhbh) ace/deuce opportunity (where most folks try to find some excuse to bomb the finishing hole.

There are amenities, such as good signage with posts that had bag hooks, (mostly) level concrete for tee pads (see below, though), trash cans, and bridges or paving stones where needed. Finally, the course seems to stand independent from the other activities in the park (a big plus in the safety factor).
Cons: The concrete tees are just a tad small, and not always flush with the ground, and the 8/17 tee is sloping noticeably down forward (which means it can stay a little slick in the shade there). The course has a few areas where wet conditions can get a little too sloppy and treacherous. They've tried to address this with pavers, but watch your footing on the paths to 7 and 8 when muddy. The course map needs to be upgraded from the tee signs.

No one has mentioned this yet, but for you winter course baggers: this turns out to be a 'seasonal' course. When I arrived the gate was closed. Because I saw someone parked there and exercising his dog in the park, I found a safe place to park and walk in. When the ranger drove by a couple of times and didn't say anything, I assumed it was OK. As I was leaving, I noted the gate was open, but then I saw him stop and lock it back up. Turns out it has a sign that says 'park closed for the season'. Oops
Other Thoughts: Probably the most challenging of the three courses within a short drive of Richmond, KY, I enjoyed Catalpa, along with Berea College and Aldersgate Camp on a sunny calm January day. Camp Catalpa has enough technicality and medium/short distances to interest a Rec to Int level player. There aren't a lot of 'Big-D' holes, if you're looking for that sort of thing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/14/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really tight fairways on most holes. Close to were I was staying.
Cons: Totally screwed if you land in the bush. Very overgrown. Some kind of HAM radio group camping in the middle of 2 holes....Sweet!
Other Thoughts: Rough to play at times but still fun

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 9 concrete tee pads and 18 baskets. The Discatcher Pro baskets are in good condition and the yellow and red bands help you easily differentiate between the front and back 9. There is a course map and practice basket near the parking area.

There are many small elevation changes and rolling hills through the course. It is completely wooded with scattered trees or dense woods lining the fairways.

There is a great shot variety with plenty of left and right curving shots required. Considering there are only 9 tee pads, many of the holes feel completely different because of such different basket placement.

There's an excellent variety of hole length for such a wooded course with holes ranging from about 170 to 440. Despite how short some of the holes are, I don't consider any of them gimmie birdies because of all the trees. Hole 6 and15 are my favorite holes here with the big S curved fairway and hole 15 is definitely a pro par 4.
Cons: Navigating the course can be a bit tough in a few places.

Some of the tee signs are missing making it tough to locate baskets on a few holes.

Some of the tee pads are very narrow and not very long.

The rough was very dense when I was here.

Due to all the trees, the fairways on one or two holes seemed a little on the lucky side without a very well defined route to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Less experienced players could be frustrated by the many trees, dense rough and possibility to loose a disc, but more advanced players who can keep it on or near the fairway should enjoy the challenge this course presents.

Overall the is a very fun course that uses the land well and does a good job feeling more like an 18 hole course than a 9 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Wanderer

1    11/4/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
~Accessible park with good amenities
~Nice baskets (red and yellow for hole distinction)
~Concrete tee pads
~Pleasant setting
~Wooded ambiance
~Tee pads were finished too smooth, can be slippery
~Navigation issues after hole No. 4
~Somewhat repetitive
~Numerous signs are missing
~More directional "next tee" indicators are needed
Other Thoughts:
Played on a brisk Autumn morning while driving down to Tennessee. Easy to find with ample parking and a respectable restroom facility. Park kiosk has some helpful information. Two baskets per hole creating an 18 hole layout utilizing 9 tees. Tee pads are on the small side and need a heavier broom finish as they were slippery when I played. Entire course is a lightly wooded technical layout focusing on mostly midrange tee shots. Errant throws will be costly and the underbrush is extremely thick in places. Navigation after Hole No. 4 is very tricky and confusing even with the course map I brought.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course for only having 9 tees- especially if you like catalpas

1    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of wooded shots that require the right path
-excellent signs
-concrete tees
-great job of making a pseudo-18 hole course with limited space
-well-maintained grass, etc.
-good variety of hole lengths
Cons: -tees are very narrow
-really only 9 tees/fairways
-brush and growth off fairways can be pretty crazy in places
-navigation can be confusing
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. Do watch out to make sure you don't get hit in the head with a nut or an osage orange. This course requires a lot of shots and allows for birdies in places while challening in others. I don't think this is quite as varied as a true 18 hole course, since it uses 9 tees which each shoot at 2 baskets. However, the placement of the baskets makes the 2 fairways for each tee rather different. I think this was done very well given the space available. The tees could be a bit wider, but oh well. There are a LOT of other random trails on this course so make sure you bring a map, I had one and still managed to waste a bunch of time getting lost at one point. Seeing all the catalpas is cool too, and there are a lot of birds in the area as well. If you're nearby it's definitely worth playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of this course begins with the fact it's unique having two baskets per hole. I expected it to feel like a 9 hole course, but it absolutely feels like 18. I enjoyed the uniqueness.

I usually play courses that have a long range drive from, the tee. This course really challenged me because the fairways were narrow, and shot selection was meticulous. I played the course surprisingly well. The second shot is more important than your first one. I shot mostly 3's. I had a couple 4's. I also had 3 birdies. I shot a 47 first time around. I expected to play worse. Elavation change is nice. The course flows well.
Cons: The only con i see is the teepads are narrow, and a couple are short with no run up space.
Other Thoughts: The overall condition is excellent. I will stop to play this course anytime I pass through.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Catalpa

5+    10/3/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signs that are there are very helpful since there is two holes per fairway. Nice baskets in great condition. Set up well good use of the area, two holes per fairway. Good elevation changes. good variety of distances, never gets all that long. Variety of shots need, forehand and backhand is very helpful to have here. A little challenging because of some tighter fairways.
Cons: Some signs are missing. Some tee pads are short or really narrow(holes 1 and 10) Rough is very thick you do not want to get in it, and there is tons of poison, be careful. With the double hole a fairway there is a small design flaw in my opinion. Almost all holes on front 9 trail off or dog leg to the right, and almost all the back 9 trail off or dog leg to the right. So if your right handed like me you are throwing almost all forehand drives on the front and then backhand on the back.
Other Thoughts: Bird sanctuary pretty cool.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 De gustibus non est disputandum

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My personal rating for this course might be higher than a 3; It's just to my taste: tight fairways, all woods, lots of short-to-medium, quirky holes mixed in with a few long tunnel shots, ubiquitous steep hills that demand cautious landings, major punishment for getting off the fairway. Every shot is a risk-reward decision, and a wide variety of shots are required. I think it's great, but I know it's not for everyone.

The course is well mowed and kept. It's easy to navigate for the most part. The signs are accurate and helpful, though a few more wouldn't hurt. The tees are grippy concrete. Trash cans and benches are at almost every tee. And there are nice gazebos to chill in when you're done.

You might think that 9 tees with 18 pins would get boring, but the alternate placements are so thouroughly different that it's not even like you're throwing the same fairways on most holes.
Cons: The tees tend to be narrow and a few are too short. Navigating from the yellow baskets can be tricky in a few places; signs from the red baskets are more helpful. I saw no water or restrooms. At least one hole (11) throws across a walking path, and other paths criss-cross the paths between holes, which can be confusing. The walks between 5-6/14-15 and 9-10 are unusually long.

Some might consider 9 tees for 18 pins a con. The course has no open shots, zero; that might be a con for some, as might the very thick schule. And particularly on the front nine (yellow) there are a number of shots that some might regard as too short and/or gimmicky (though I liked them.)
Other Thoughts: The front nine (yellow) is significantly shorter and easier than the back nine (red). Also the yellows favor the forehand while the reds favor the backhand. I suggest alternating colors as you play to mix up the challenge a bit: throw even numbers red and odd numbers yellow.

Did I mention the hills? It's very hilly; not a stroll in the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Demanding Little Course

1    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: hipster
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the first course I've played with this particular design. Basically you have a 9 tee pads and 18 baskets. One loop of the course shooting for the red baskets and a 2nd loop for shooting for the yellow baskets. The course is short and places a premium on accuracy. The rough on this course is some of the toughest I've encountered. You do not need many drivers on this course due to the shorter length. I dumped most of my drivers before I started loop 2. The terrain is hilly and rough in areas so wear sturdy shoes.
Cons: The tee pads were a bit short. Course flow is confusing in spots. #8 pad and rough need improvement.
Other Thoughts: I've enjoyed this course and look forward to playing it again sometime. Wear some sturdy shoes. Do not throw your disc into the rough. I wouldn't play this course if it's wet.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/16/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: Airick
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Short Semi tight course. Nice easy walk. All types of shots required to maximize success. Not alot of traffic on course.
Cons: Sticker bushes. 9 tee pads. 18 baskets. Tee pads are a bit on the skinny side on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Course is different and most importantly fun.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.