Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / 434ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Signaling Views of the Great Shenondoah Valley!

1    5/2/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 rubber tees with red, white and blue tees and single Discatcher baskets and typically 2 pin placements. Good variety of mostly open and wooded holes and great use of the rolling elevation, pond, OB and natural features. Navigation was fairly easy and signage good. Bathrooms by ball fields. Close proximity to Interstate 81 and Route 66.
Cons: Basically one big loop of 18 holes. A little bit of hike between hole 8 and 9. Barbed wire fences on the boundary. Red tees are basically natural, very short rubber. Couple holes were missing tee signs. Decent chance of losing discs in the OB and pond. I donated a brand new Starlite Boss to the cows on hole 15 after it flipped and never came back inbound, eat more chicken - mooo.

Holes 2 and 3 are not really golf shots IMO, these are very short hard turning tight tunnels with nasty rough. The Blue tees on holes 7 and 8 were a bit unfair and not really much fun to play. Hole 6 plays a little close to the playground. Could use some more benches at the tees.
Other Thoughts: Signal View DGC is set in the Shenondoah County Park on a Great Shenondoah Valley ridge top with gorgeous sweeping panoramic vistas of the Blue Ridge Mountains to the east and the Ridge-and-Valley Appalachians to the west. A vast rolling cow pasture provides an OB boarder along the entire east side of the course.

The course starts out with beautiful hole 1, mostly open with a gap to hit and the tall pines protecting the basket. Holes 2 and 3 were a bit disappointing after that start. I really enjoyed holes 4, 5, 6, and 7. Hole 8 from the Blue tee was a bit ridiculous, but otherwise a decent hole. Then you walk the ball field to splendid and slightly elevated hole 9. The rest of the holes are all solid with a couple legit par 4s and a par 5 on 15. Hole 13 is the only suspect hole on the back half and it's listed as a par 2! From the Blue tee you play to the basket in the blind and have to go over the pines for the ace or par 2, otherwise you pitch to the shorter tees and play from there for a bogey 3 or throw in par 2. Hole 17 is probably the signature hole playing over the pond on top the ridge. Hole 18 ends the course with a nice open and slightly elevated bomb back to the parking lot.

Overall Signal View is a very good course and well suited for players of all skill level. It's not a must play as it has some flaws, but you will not likely be disappointed playing here and will find some very nice golf shots along with some spectacular views!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Now 18 Holes

1    10/19/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety. Great scenery.
Cons: Rubber mats for tees, and the Red tees have only mini mats.. Long walks between some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course recently expanded from 9 to 18 holes. The 9 hole course was championship quality and several original holes remain. The new layout shows a lot of imagination. Every hole has Blue, White, and Red tees and 2 basket positions but only one set of baskets. There is a mix of open and woods with dense
briars. There is a large sign with the new course layout and scorecards near the parking area. The course map on the scorecard is really too tiny to be useful but there is adequate on-course signage with nice tee maps and helpful Next Tee signs. Nice use is made of the rolling terrain and conflict is avoided with other users of this narrow multi-purpose park.

A staggering range of skill testing is available with the widely spaced multiple tees plus alternate pin placements and beginners to pros can find satisfaction and challenge. Some holes on the back nine seemed a little dull after surviving the narrow wooded sections but I assume summer rough and frequent winds
on this ridge will bolster the course's defenses. #17 makes for a nice signature hole and winds will ask questions of every thrower regarding laying up before the water hazard, taking a route around it, or going for it. I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of wrong answers. There is a cover photo for all time waiting if a talented photographer can catch a disc in flight amid rising waterfowl with the basket and the stunning ridge beyond as the backdrop.

The most controversial feature of the expansion will no doubt be the creation of several par two holes. I suspect the legitimacy of a hole which is an ace run from Red tee to near pin and nigh unreachable from Blue tee to far pin being an across the spectrum par two will be questioned, as well as should par twos exist in disc golf?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

2-4    10/19/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: connecticutsfinest
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical with a good mix of shots
Awesome scenery
Very clean nearly trash free
Nice signage
Well designed
Cons: Ob fence on 16, 17 have barbed wire and come into play
Other Thoughts: I love the new back nine, it was just a really fun course! Very beautiful with the mountains.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, Scenic

1    8/12/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 120  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There was lots of great scenery on this course.
-Great mix of open and wooded holes.
-Holes were all well marked. Signs were informative and the [very necessary] next tee signs were great.
-Most holes had several shot possibilities
-Holes were very picturesque and were well landscaped.
-Bathrooms located near baseball fields
-Tees were well marked 'Blue' or 'Red' and were marked at the front of the tee pads so you could immediately tell which direction they were facing.
Cons: -This is not a quick play off the interstate. Expect to spend at least 40 minutes playing this course.
-The course does not seem to be played very much and was therefore rough in spots.
-LONG walks between holes, especially on the way to hole 7. The "Next Tee" signs are a lifesaver.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course and would rank among the best 9 holes courses I have played. There is tons of potential here and it could make for a very solid 18 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilly course but nice

1    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Jamiesjammin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Great tee boxes, well marked, nice baskets, course well maintained.
Cons: Lots of hills, poison oak all over the woods on the course. Easy to wind up having to get your disc out of those woods bc they are so close to the baskets.
Other Thoughts: It is very spread out to only be nine holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 Hole Course

5+    9/6/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 50  Reviewed: 16
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, clean park with panoramic views of the mountains.
-Well thought out layout for the three tee positions on each hole. Reds are very beginner friendly, blues are tight and technical, and whites are in the middle.
-Nice signage and baskets (note that the signage for each hole is next to the blue tee, so if you are playing a different set of tees walk past the blue to see your distance)
-I flypads aren't perfect but i'll list them under pros as the ones that are full sized work well. The holes where they are cut short and used just to show the front of the tee pad would have been better off just being blocks in the ground as footing can get tricky with these.
-Very well maintained. I've been here more than a dozen times and never seen high grass in the fields or trash through the woods. Not much non-disc golf traffic to worry about where this course plays.
-Nice variety of lines and shots required. You will use more discs and techniques than you would think to play nine holes of golf.
Cons: -The con is obvious, it's nine holes. I respect that the designer probably had room to cram 18 short holes in this area and instead put in 9 great holes in but even so, something is always lost when you finish 9 and start back over on a basket you've already played.
Other Thoughts: As of this writing Signal View is the highest rated 9 hole course anywhere and it's certainly the best nine hole course i've ever played. I can't think of another nine hole course that i will make sure i stop and play if i'm passing through the area. The blue tees are as tight and and demanding as any 9 holes I have played, but its tough to play a second nine, whether from the same tees or the alternates, and enjoy yourself as much as the first time through. There has been talk for a few years of more land being made available for another 9, and if that happens this course will certainly be pushing into the middle 4s. If you're in the area make the trip to play this one, its one of the few 9 holers that's worth a drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great pit stop when traveling on the 81

1    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
Pros: -beautiful mountain views - i stopped with my camera a few times.
-lots of dogleg shots with open and mixed wood on every hole.
-trash cans and no trash
-nice pads on 3 tees per hole
-two basket locations that were marked on the map at the front
Cons: -bugs (bring some bug spray for all courses in this 200 mile area)
-i thought #9 was going to be a water shot but it is just a painted OB area.
-poison ivy just off the fairways be careful or throw well
Other Thoughts: What a great stop on the 81. I would typically rate it lower for just being 9 holes but it just played really well and was just the hour break i needed during my trip. Thanks so much!

 I liked it

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well cared for course with excellent signs and amenities. It is a quick nine holes that neatly starts and ends with open shots near the parking lot and wraps through woods and fields around a multi-use park. Other park activities do not generally interfere with the disc golf course.

The tees are not concrete, but are clean, grippy, thick, rubber mats. They are pretty decent. Benches, trashcans, restrooms, and directional signs are everywhere that you need them. Alternate pin placements add variety when they are moved (though their current location is not marked anywhere; you'll need to wander down the fairway and have a look.) Multiple tees add difficulty. Red tees run around 250 feet with clear views of the pin. Blue tees range around 350 feet with more difficult angles. Blue tees range mostly in the 400s and often offer no clear shot to the pin.

What I mostly like about the course is it's general charm. Most of its shots are well framed and there is no real bramble. It is a lovely, easy walk though woods and fields. It is beat in but not beat up, well cared for, and scenic.
Cons: The course has only nine holes. Adding another nine pins permanently in the alternate placements would provide a full 18 shots and help the course tremendously. There are a few long walks between holes - particularly between 6 and 7. The red tees are only grass, and the other tees slope and bend with the ground.

The course has some good shots, but they are fairly simple - more enjoyable than challenging. I don't recall any risk reward decisions or tricky pin placements (except for the fake water hazard on the 9th hole.) Elevation challenges are moderate. Technical woods shots aren't really tight or demanding. There is no water. The park's trees and location keep wind to a minimum, and only one blue tee is longer than 500 feet.

Gnats were swarming in the fields rendering the course less enjoyable. #8 requires throwing over a gravel road, and joggers were running the disc golf trails - which is, you know, dangerous.

I would have preferred level tees and an indication of each pin's current placement, but those are minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fairway maps and distances are at the blue tees only, and the tee signs are small and near the ground. If you don't know where to look you might miss them.

You'll need a mighty thumber to hit 3A and 7A from the blue tees.

The course played very fast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole

1    6/26/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: May not have much more to say that hasn't already been covered but I wanted to add to the praise.

- Great variety of tee pads. Which makes it fun for a mixed group of beginners to experts. Of if you just want to play a short aces round.
- Best use of rubber pads I've seen with pads anchored into the ground so they don't shift and can be mowed over.
- Good variety of open, lightly treed and in the woods shots. (check out FredVegas' pics)
- Even the wooded shots don't pose much risk of eating discs.
- Great signs
- Beautiful scenery
Cons: - It's only 9 holes (I talked with some locals and the other nine holes should happen soon.)
- Minor issue that the signs only show location of two tees but they do give distances for all three. We had not trouble finding all the tees.
- If you're looking for a big arm course this isn't it. Even on the long tees there's only one hole over 500'.
Other Thoughts: Well worth pulling off I-81 to play this wonderful little course. You can always play it three times to try all the tees.

Can't wait for the other 9!!

If anyone involved in planning the other nine reads this - think about adding some water hazards and maybe a hole with an obstacle like some 20-30 ft bushes.

 Best 9 hole course

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has to be the nicest 9 hole course I have ever played. Beautiful scenic area, well groomed course and a challenge. Uphill, Downhill, open & wooded, hyzers & anhyzers.

This is how I like Disc Golf Courses. It is obvious that the planners of this course had growing the local disc golf scene in mind by installing beginner tee pads. The scorecards & pencils are a nice touch. The info sign as you approach the first tee on where you could get discs at the Community Center shows that the local community is really trying grow the sport locally.

Marked very well but even with out the next tee signs you could navigate this course fairly easily. It was a beautiful day and I was the only one on the course. I played the the Mid (red) tees as the front 9 to learn the course & then played the long (blue) tees as the back 9. All along the course benches & trash cans are right next to the play area. Good hole signs by the long (blue) tees and next tee signs that make navigating the course a breeze. The long & mid tees have nice rubber tee pads. The beginner tees are just markers but beginners aren't going to be running up to throw.
Cons: The only bad thing was the gnats, they were a true menace but I survived them. The gnats weren't a problem all along the course but when they were around it could mess up a putt.
Other Thoughts: This course has more of the little things than any other course around. This is a premium community park for such a small town. Little league fields, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts. There is good parking, water fountains, covered tables, restrooms.

The grass is cut nicely all along the course. This is the best groomed course I've been to.

As I finished my second round I met a couple of the locals getting ready to start a round. They informed me that a large area of land right next to the course had recently been purchased and a back 9 were going to be installed. Including holes that play on a lake. They didn't say when the new holes were going in but if the new holes are as nice as the first 9 it will be an A+ course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.