Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
4 / 305ft.   4 / 412ft.   4 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Challenging, Scenic

1    8/12/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 85  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There was lots of great scenery on this course.
-Great mix of open and wooded holes.
-Holes were all well marked. Signs were informative and the [very necessary] next tee signs were great.
-Most holes had several shot possibilities
-Holes were very picturesque and were well landscaped.
-Bathrooms located near baseball fields
-Tees were well marked 'Blue' or 'Red' and were marked at the front of the tee pads so you could immediately tell which direction they were facing.
Cons: -This is not a quick play off the interstate. Expect to spend at least 40 minutes playing this course.
-The course does not seem to be played very much and was therefore rough in spots.
-LONG walks between holes, especially on the way to hole 7. The "Next Tee" signs are a lifesaver.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course and would rank among the best 9 holes courses I have played. There is tons of potential here and it could make for a very solid 18 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilly course but nice

1    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Jamiesjammin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Great tee boxes, well marked, nice baskets, course well maintained.
Cons: Lots of hills, poison oak all over the woods on the course. Easy to wind up having to get your disc out of those woods bc they are so close to the baskets.
Other Thoughts: It is very spread out to only be nine holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 Hole Course

5+    9/6/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, clean park with panoramic views of the mountains.
-Well thought out layout for the three tee positions on each hole. Reds are very beginner friendly, blues are tight and technical, and whites are in the middle.
-Nice signage and baskets (note that the signage for each hole is next to the blue tee, so if you are playing a different set of tees walk past the blue to see your distance)
-I flypads aren't perfect but i'll list them under pros as the ones that are full sized work well. The holes where they are cut short and used just to show the front of the tee pad would have been better off just being blocks in the ground as footing can get tricky with these.
-Very well maintained. I've been here more than a dozen times and never seen high grass in the fields or trash through the woods. Not much non-disc golf traffic to worry about where this course plays.
-Nice variety of lines and shots required. You will use more discs and techniques than you would think to play nine holes of golf.
Cons: -The con is obvious, it's nine holes. I respect that the designer probably had room to cram 18 short holes in this area and instead put in 9 great holes in but even so, something is always lost when you finish 9 and start back over on a basket you've already played.
Other Thoughts: As of this writing Signal View is the highest rated 9 hole course anywhere and it's certainly the best nine hole course i've ever played. I can't think of another nine hole course that i will make sure i stop and play if i'm passing through the area. The blue tees are as tight and and demanding as any 9 holes I have played, but its tough to play a second nine, whether from the same tees or the alternates, and enjoy yourself as much as the first time through. There has been talk for a few years of more land being made available for another 9, and if that happens this course will certainly be pushing into the middle 4s. If you're in the area make the trip to play this one, its one of the few 9 holers that's worth a drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great pit stop when traveling on the 81

1    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
Pros: -beautiful mountain views - i stopped with my camera a few times.
-lots of dogleg shots with open and mixed wood on every hole.
-trash cans and no trash
-nice pads on 3 tees per hole
-two basket locations that were marked on the map at the front
Cons: -bugs (bring some bug spray for all courses in this 200 mile area)
-i thought #9 was going to be a water shot but it is just a painted OB area.
-poison ivy just off the fairways be careful or throw well
Other Thoughts: What a great stop on the 81. I would typically rate it lower for just being 9 holes but it just played really well and was just the hour break i needed during my trip. Thanks so much!

 I liked it

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well cared for course with excellent signs and amenities. It is a quick nine holes that neatly starts and ends with open shots near the parking lot and wraps through woods and fields around a multi-use park. Other park activities do not generally interfere with the disc golf course.

The tees are not concrete, but are clean, grippy, thick, rubber mats. They are pretty decent. Benches, trashcans, restrooms, and directional signs are everywhere that you need them. Alternate pin placements add variety when they are moved (though their current location is not marked anywhere; you'll need to wander down the fairway and have a look.) Multiple tees add difficulty. Red tees run around 250 feet with clear views of the pin. Blue tees range around 350 feet with more difficult angles. Blue tees range mostly in the 400s and often offer no clear shot to the pin.

What I mostly like about the course is it's general charm. Most of its shots are well framed and there is no real bramble. It is a lovely, easy walk though woods and fields. It is beat in but not beat up, well cared for, and scenic.
Cons: The course has only nine holes. Adding another nine pins permanently in the alternate placements would provide a full 18 shots and help the course tremendously. There are a few long walks between holes - particularly between 6 and 7. The red tees are only grass, and the other tees slope and bend with the ground.

The course has some good shots, but they are fairly simple - more enjoyable than challenging. I don't recall any risk reward decisions or tricky pin placements (except for the fake water hazard on the 9th hole.) Elevation challenges are moderate. Technical woods shots aren't really tight or demanding. There is no water. The park's trees and location keep wind to a minimum, and only one blue tee is longer than 500 feet.

Gnats were swarming in the fields rendering the course less enjoyable. #8 requires throwing over a gravel road, and joggers were running the disc golf trails - which is, you know, dangerous.

I would have preferred level tees and an indication of each pin's current placement, but those are minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fairway maps and distances are at the blue tees only, and the tee signs are small and near the ground. If you don't know where to look you might miss them.

You'll need a mighty thumber to hit 3A and 7A from the blue tees.

The course played very fast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole

1    6/26/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: May not have much more to say that hasn't already been covered but I wanted to add to the praise.

- Great variety of tee pads. Which makes it fun for a mixed group of beginners to experts. Of if you just want to play a short aces round.
- Best use of rubber pads I've seen with pads anchored into the ground so they don't shift and can be mowed over.
- Good variety of open, lightly treed and in the woods shots. (check out FredVegas' pics)
- Even the wooded shots don't pose much risk of eating discs.
- Great signs
- Beautiful scenery
Cons: - It's only 9 holes (I talked with some locals and the other nine holes should happen soon.)
- Minor issue that the signs only show location of two tees but they do give distances for all three. We had not trouble finding all the tees.
- If you're looking for a big arm course this isn't it. Even on the long tees there's only one hole over 500'.
Other Thoughts: Well worth pulling off I-81 to play this wonderful little course. You can always play it three times to try all the tees.

Can't wait for the other 9!!

If anyone involved in planning the other nine reads this - think about adding some water hazards and maybe a hole with an obstacle like some 20-30 ft bushes.

 Best 9 hole course

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has to be the nicest 9 hole course I have ever played. Beautiful scenic area, well groomed course and a challenge. Uphill, Downhill, open & wooded, hyzers & anhyzers.

This is how I like Disc Golf Courses. It is obvious that the planners of this course had growing the local disc golf scene in mind by installing beginner tee pads. The scorecards & pencils are a nice touch. The info sign as you approach the first tee on where you could get discs at the Community Center shows that the local community is really trying grow the sport locally.

Marked very well but even with out the next tee signs you could navigate this course fairly easily. It was a beautiful day and I was the only one on the course. I played the the Mid (red) tees as the front 9 to learn the course & then played the long (blue) tees as the back 9. All along the course benches & trash cans are right next to the play area. Good hole signs by the long (blue) tees and next tee signs that make navigating the course a breeze. The long & mid tees have nice rubber tee pads. The beginner tees are just markers but beginners aren't going to be running up to throw.
Cons: The only bad thing was the gnats, they were a true menace but I survived them. The gnats weren't a problem all along the course but when they were around it could mess up a putt.
Other Thoughts: This course has more of the little things than any other course around. This is a premium community park for such a small town. Little league fields, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts. There is good parking, water fountains, covered tables, restrooms.

The grass is cut nicely all along the course. This is the best groomed course I've been to.

As I finished my second round I met a couple of the locals getting ready to start a round. They informed me that a large area of land right next to the course had recently been purchased and a back 9 were going to be installed. Including holes that play on a lake. They didn't say when the new holes were going in but if the new holes are as nice as the first 9 it will be an A+ course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Every hole a nice challenge

1    5/6/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: amlenke
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and technical. Many of the holes in my opinion are a par under where they probably should be. But all in all a very good course. Also three tees is nice for varying ability levels, though I found some were hard to find.
Cons: The tee colors need to be re-done as they don't follow the standard color scheme. From farthest to closest they go blue, red, white instead of the more standard blue, white, red.

They should update from rubber mats to concrete pads.

The signs are very misleading. I often had to scout the baskets to make sure of where I was throwing. Most shots from the long tee are blind shots. I am sure a few more rounds here and that will not be an issue.

There could be just a few more signs between holes as I had to keep walking and hope the tee was in that direction.

I know I mention a lot of cons here but they are purely aesthetic. Technicality is great.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. One of the regulars told me that they are utilizing the rest of the land including a pond to creat the "back" nine.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar 9 holer.

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 3 rubber tee pads on every hole.
- Signs to aid in navigation to create a nice flow.
- Disccatchers are in great shape.
- Water fountain after hole 9
- 2 Kiosks, 1 with course map
- Great variety and use of available land, great choice to keep this course at 9 instead of cluttering it with filler holes.
- signal view pencils at the course map were a nice touch
- Course is scenic and challenging for higher leveled players while still offering a solid course for beginners.
- No safety issues noted and pedestrian traffic was minimal
Cons: - White tees are only 1/3 of the size of the other tees.
- Every shot from the far tees was a blind shot, with some of the tee signsbeing misleading to where the basket is (for example #2 sign shows the basket off to the left,but is it sraight down the hill to the right.)
- The longer the tee you choose, the less the distance varies. 6 of 9 holes on the blue are 394-452, with 2 others being just outside that rage (less than 150 ft. difference from the shortest and longest holes. with 5 holes being with in 20 feet of the average)
Other Thoughts: This course is probably the best 9 holer I have played. It ranks higher than most of the 18 hole courses I have played. The only thing this course lacking is enough land for 9 more holes of similar quality.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Dz Miller
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is my home course! A great 9 in the valley in a beautiful park! I play here alot the course is great for all level of players thanks to the three tee placements. M-town seems to give all golfers I know a great challenge no matter what skill level. Park has low traffic so taking youre time here no problem. Hole layout great lots of different looks to increase throwing srtategy and skill.
Cons: Only 9 holes makes me cry...I cant take nothing from this baby but I want 18 now! Very few ace runs unless you play whites 2,6 and 9 from reds and thats tricky!
Other Thoughts: Im very close to parks and recreation in the area. Course will get 9 more holes around 2012. New layout will not effect old 9 and will add a nice pond shot cant wait!!! Please come support this great course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.