Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #5 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee: Dogleg left to uphill basket at the end of the fairway.



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging, Scenic

1    8/12/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 86  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There was lots of great scenery on this course.
-Great mix of open and wooded holes.
-Holes were all well marked. Signs were informative and the [very necessary] next tee signs were great.
-Most holes had several shot possibilities
-Holes were very picturesque and were well landscaped.
-Bathrooms located near baseball fields
-Tees were well marked 'Blue' or 'Red' and were marked at the front of the tee pads so you could immediately tell which direction they were facing.
Cons: -This is not a quick play off the interstate. Expect to spend at least 40 minutes playing this course.
-The course does not seem to be played very much and was therefore rough in spots.
-LONG walks between holes, especially on the way to hole 7. The "Next Tee" signs are a lifesaver.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course and would rank among the best 9 holes courses I have played. There is tons of potential here and it could make for a very solid 18 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 Hole Course

5+    9/6/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, clean park with panoramic views of the mountains.
-Well thought out layout for the three tee positions on each hole. Reds are very beginner friendly, blues are tight and technical, and whites are in the middle.
-Nice signage and baskets (note that the signage for each hole is next to the blue tee, so if you are playing a different set of tees walk past the blue to see your distance)
-I flypads aren't perfect but i'll list them under pros as the ones that are full sized work well. The holes where they are cut short and used just to show the front of the tee pad would have been better off just being blocks in the ground as footing can get tricky with these.
-Very well maintained. I've been here more than a dozen times and never seen high grass in the fields or trash through the woods. Not much non-disc golf traffic to worry about where this course plays.
-Nice variety of lines and shots required. You will use more discs and techniques than you would think to play nine holes of golf.
Cons: -The con is obvious, it's nine holes. I respect that the designer probably had room to cram 18 short holes in this area and instead put in 9 great holes in but even so, something is always lost when you finish 9 and start back over on a basket you've already played.
Other Thoughts: As of this writing Signal View is the highest rated 9 hole course anywhere and it's certainly the best nine hole course i've ever played. I can't think of another nine hole course that i will make sure i stop and play if i'm passing through the area. The blue tees are as tight and and demanding as any 9 holes I have played, but its tough to play a second nine, whether from the same tees or the alternates, and enjoy yourself as much as the first time through. There has been talk for a few years of more land being made available for another 9, and if that happens this course will certainly be pushing into the middle 4s. If you're in the area make the trip to play this one, its one of the few 9 holers that's worth a drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Every hole a nice challenge

1    5/6/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: amlenke
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and technical. Many of the holes in my opinion are a par under where they probably should be. But all in all a very good course. Also three tees is nice for varying ability levels, though I found some were hard to find.
Cons: The tee colors need to be re-done as they don't follow the standard color scheme. From farthest to closest they go blue, red, white instead of the more standard blue, white, red.

They should update from rubber mats to concrete pads.

The signs are very misleading. I often had to scout the baskets to make sure of where I was throwing. Most shots from the long tee are blind shots. I am sure a few more rounds here and that will not be an issue.

There could be just a few more signs between holes as I had to keep walking and hope the tee was in that direction.

I know I mention a lot of cons here but they are purely aesthetic. Technicality is great.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. One of the regulars told me that they are utilizing the rest of the land including a pond to creat the "back" nine.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ambitious Nine in the Shenandoah

1    3/20/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well maintained course in a well maintained park in a beautiful area of the country conveniantly located just moments from I-81. Three tees per hole and a practice basket. Decent sized flat rubber mats. Course follows a route that avoids other park purposes. Course offers expert level distance and mixes open air placement golf, technical woodsy golf and elevation in a way that keeps each hole very unique from one another. Course offers trouble early, doorway into the woods holes, placement bombs, tight tree lined screamers, fast greens, R and L doglegs, tricky approaches and wide open wind battles. Really has everything needed to test your game here. Has an 18 hole feel as each hole is well designed and thought out. This is not your standard municipal 9 here. Hole 1 is a fun opener through a set of twin trees and then uphill in the open air to a protected basket. Hole 3 is a huge down and up wooded L dogleg par 4. Holes 2 and 4 dive downward from openness into the woods. 5 and 6 are woodsy beasts with long tight fairways that require odd challenging lines, 7,8 and 9 are more open long holes that reward big arm accuracy...great finishing holes. Lot's of interesting nuances here..you won't get bored. Probably in my top 3 of niners I have played..better than many 18 holers I have played..worth 2 rounds from the blue and red tees I'm sure.
Cons: Basket for hole 3 was missing..what a letdown. I kind of felt the 2 woods holes were just a bit too tight for my skill level....as a first timer I maybe didn't know the lines or don't have the skill set for those long tight twisty fairways...some will love them some will hate them. They may thin out in time and provide more lines.
Other Thoughts: Not all mats are installed properly. Degradation will be an issue if not corrected eventually. Outside of hole 2 nothing really gave the shot of an ace. All the holes are pretty long and require multiple throws to set up your putt. I personally enjoy a few ace runs here and there.(not a con..a preference) I truly think this is worth a stop for any DGer on I-81. I really enjoyed this course. Offers both great challenge and great maintenance. Often challenging courses are impossible to maintain...not here. If it's ever going to be 18 and of the same quality ..this will be a destination course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

2-4    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a course that has a lot of potential and will become very interesting when the final 9 are put into place. The blue tees are in my opinion much better tees to play then the others any day. Red are in my opinion the hardest ones to play. The lines for the reds just are not there for several holes. Whites well if you can't putt and make birds they will get you as well. The tee pads no complaints there. Great grip all day on them, and no obstructions on them or near them. Every hole with every tee pad just about has a line it's just a matter of knowing where that line is and your first few times you will not know the line or see the lines. You have to have a good selection of throwing styles as well. Backhand, flick, over head shot (thumber etc) or just great control of your disc to flip them over when you need to. All holes from all tees can be simply made in 3. It's risk or reward on this course. You can reach pretty much every pin it's just a matter of is it worth the risk to try and do so. If you can toss a disc 300-350 your set on this course no need to bomb it any further. Most holes a very controllable midrange or putter will do just great even from the blues it's more about the accuracy then distance. Some of the roughs will cost you a stroke if not 2.
Cons: No cons on the course just beware the bugs are out and they can get on your nerves.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing the course and it's a very nice set up in a small town setting. The park is very clean and well taken care of. Some walks from each pin location can be long at times but it does give the best possible set up with the land they have and currently are using. Well planned out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.