Disc Golf Store
Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #8 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 403ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Love this course

2-4    10/19/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: connecticutsfinest
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical with a good mix of shots
Awesome scenery
Very clean nearly trash free
Nice signage
Well designed
Cons: Ob fence on 16, 17 have barbed wire and come into play
Other Thoughts: I love the new back nine, it was just a really fun course! Very beautiful with the mountains.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great pit stop when traveling on the 81

1    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.4 Years
Pros: -beautiful mountain views - i stopped with my camera a few times.
-lots of dogleg shots with open and mixed wood on every hole.
-trash cans and no trash
-nice pads on 3 tees per hole
-two basket locations that were marked on the map at the front
Cons: -bugs (bring some bug spray for all courses in this 200 mile area)
-i thought #9 was going to be a water shot but it is just a painted OB area.
-poison ivy just off the fairways be careful or throw well
Other Thoughts: What a great stop on the 81. I would typically rate it lower for just being 9 holes but it just played really well and was just the hour break i needed during my trip. Thanks so much!

 Great 9 Hole

1    6/26/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: May not have much more to say that hasn't already been covered but I wanted to add to the praise.

- Great variety of tee pads. Which makes it fun for a mixed group of beginners to experts. Of if you just want to play a short aces round.
- Best use of rubber pads I've seen with pads anchored into the ground so they don't shift and can be mowed over.
- Good variety of open, lightly treed and in the woods shots. (check out FredVegas' pics)
- Even the wooded shots don't pose much risk of eating discs.
- Great signs
- Beautiful scenery
Cons: - It's only 9 holes (I talked with some locals and the other nine holes should happen soon.)
- Minor issue that the signs only show location of two tees but they do give distances for all three. We had not trouble finding all the tees.
- If you're looking for a big arm course this isn't it. Even on the long tees there's only one hole over 500'.
Other Thoughts: Well worth pulling off I-81 to play this wonderful little course. You can always play it three times to try all the tees.

Can't wait for the other 9!!

If anyone involved in planning the other nine reads this - think about adding some water hazards and maybe a hole with an obstacle like some 20-30 ft bushes.

 Best 9 hole course

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 28.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has to be the nicest 9 hole course I have ever played. Beautiful scenic area, well groomed course and a challenge. Uphill, Downhill, open & wooded, hyzers & anhyzers.

This is how I like Disc Golf Courses. It is obvious that the planners of this course had growing the local disc golf scene in mind by installing beginner tee pads. The scorecards & pencils are a nice touch. The info sign as you approach the first tee on where you could get discs at the Community Center shows that the local community is really trying grow the sport locally.

Marked very well but even with out the next tee signs you could navigate this course fairly easily. It was a beautiful day and I was the only one on the course. I played the the Mid (red) tees as the front 9 to learn the course & then played the long (blue) tees as the back 9. All along the course benches & trash cans are right next to the play area. Good hole signs by the long (blue) tees and next tee signs that make navigating the course a breeze. The long & mid tees have nice rubber tee pads. The beginner tees are just markers but beginners aren't going to be running up to throw.
Cons: The only bad thing was the gnats, they were a true menace but I survived them. The gnats weren't a problem all along the course but when they were around it could mess up a putt.
Other Thoughts: This course has more of the little things than any other course around. This is a premium community park for such a small town. Little league fields, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts. There is good parking, water fountains, covered tables, restrooms.

The grass is cut nicely all along the course. This is the best groomed course I've been to.

As I finished my second round I met a couple of the locals getting ready to start a round. They informed me that a large area of land right next to the course had recently been purchased and a back 9 were going to be installed. Including holes that play on a lake. They didn't say when the new holes were going in but if the new holes are as nice as the first 9 it will be an A+ course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Day In The Valley

2-4    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well-maintained course in the Shenandoah Valley.
-Very easy to find & get to - minutes from I-81
-Excellent signage for each hole & to move you around the course.
-Benches on many holes.
-Three tees for each hole- Tee pads are rubber mat type.
-DiscCatcher Baskets
-Plenty to do and challenge all skill levels - tackle all aspects of this course and your game is well on it's way.
-Outstanding use of area & terrain - many elevation changes, some subtle. Making many holes play longer then marked.
-Some Scenic vistas & wild life spotting opportunity.
-Restroom -By ball fields between holes 6 & 7.
-Park is part of the Civil War Trail. The mark is on the hill to the left of the 1st pin.
Cons: -Not many found
-Rubber tee pads become slick with dampness & leaves.
-Poison Ivy along many fairways (It is Virginia!)
-Valley nats & buggy things (Bring bug spray depending on season)
-Only 9 Holes
Other Thoughts: I so want to give this course a higher rating but the 9 hole format is so well constructed, I WANT 9 MORE!!!!
The best way I can describe this course is it is a third generation Virginia course. I'll explain and try to be brief. I started playing golf in 84 here in the Valley at Sherando Park in Stephens City. Back then the course was across the street from where it is now and it was a classic VA course for the time. Rather short, pretty wooded, mach I baskets. I believe it was in the late 90s but they moved the course to where it currently resides creating a second generation VA course maintaining the wooded nature but extending the length and adding some open field holes. Signal View Takes this concept and kicks it up a notch by extending the idea exponentially but still maintaining a course that can be enjoyed and challenged by all levels and players.
The 3rd annual, Maurertown Fly is coming in a few weeks. This is a PDGA sanctioned, C-Tier event and is OUTSTANDING on many levels. One that stands out is the local support for the park, the course, the tournament and each other. It truly is a great day in the valley. Keep an eye out for it, you may have to register early to get in. Great Job, Guys!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous Park and Great Views

2-4    7/12/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fantastic gem, nestled in the foothills of the Shenandoah Mountains, this course is very scenic, has some seriously challenging holes and is a good workout.

Every hole has three tee placements, White (easy) Red (Medium) and Blue (Hard). Baskets are new and very nice, with yelllow bands making them highly visible.

Hole by Hole:

Hole 1: This is a nice start to the cours, a slighlty uphill field throw, to a basket that's guarded by a small corpse of trees. The blue tee placement is over 400 feet from the hole, so it's a good challenge.

Hole 2: This is a snaking, wooded downhill shot, and if you're playing Blues or Reds, it's a good idea to have someone scout your throw, as it's a blind toss (especially for blue tee). The fairway first goes to the right, then left, then sharp right at the end, so it's a challenge to park one on this hole.

Hole 3: This is the longest hole on the course, with the Blue placement being over 500 feet from the pin. It features a straight wooded fairway for the first 200-300 feet, then a slight uphill dogleg left to the hold. The dogleg is hard to cut short, because of the number of trees, but if you can do it, you will be able to save a stroke.

Hole 4: Another fairly long hole, this one running downhill. You start next to the baseball field, throwing down a nice, long open area into the woods. The hole is located next to the road, so any overshot on the approach can be hazardous!

Hole 5: A nice long uphill throw, with a snaking fairway makes this hole very challenging, especially from the blue placement.

Hole 6: This hole features a skinny wooded fairway, and rewards accuracy. The fairway snakes abit toward the basket, so careful placement is the key.

Hole 7: This hole is located on the other side of the baseball diamond, with the tee pads located behind the maintenance shacks. This is a nice, open throw with some trees strategicly placed to mess with your line. A fairly long hole, this one is a good "rip it" hole.

Hole 8: Gorgeous tee placement, especially for the blue, gives you a nice clear field of throw, but the basket is in a wooded area that's blocked by large spruce trees to the left. If you miss the opening to the left, you may find yourself in some serious trouble. This is a good hole to have a spotter on. Once past the spruces, the hole is located in a pretty area with some neat trees and the occasional bunny rabbit.

Hole 9: THis is a slight uphill long-ish par 3 hole. The basket is a straight shot from the tee boxes, and there's a small wood "island" on the right side of the fairway, where I managed to land on my tee off.

Overall this is an excellent course, super well maintained and the signage is among the best I've ever seen.
Cons: Not enough holes! Also beware of wildlife. This area has copperhead snakes in it, so be careful when reaching for discs in the wooded areas.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Leaves You Wanting More

2-4    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Three tee positions per basket. Long rubber teepads for the two longer tee locations. Great example of how to create a course for all levels of play by having multiple tee locations.

Signs at each hole showing path and distances. "Next tee" location signs after each basket.

Good variety - start and end with fairly open shots, playing in/out of the woods holes #2-#4, amongst the woods holes #5-#6, openish left-turning holes with some trees for #7-#8. Some changes in elevation, some right-turning and S-shaped flights needed, too.

Absolutely stunning views of the neighbouring hills.

Practice basket. Room to take some practice drives.
Cons:
Only nine holes.

Not enough time in the open to enjoy the great views! :-)
Other Thoughts:
The whites average just under 200', require mostly just straight shots, and provide only a minimum of obstacles for the beginning player. The average distance from the reds is just over 300', brings more obstacles (trees) into play, and requires different turning flight paths. The blues stretch the average distance out to about 425', requires even more complicated flight paths, and, of course, increases the number of trees to work around.

3.5 miles from I81. To find the start after entering the park, keep going left until you can go no further.

Excellent course. Hopefully the desginers/builders can find a way to create nine more holes (or more!) of equal quality and variety.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 fun in the hills

2-4    11/26/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Big sign at start with bench. Course provides scorecards and pencils. Scorecards are greatly detailed with a map and separate fold for each set of tees. Each Tee pad is marked with very nice rubber mats. Innova baskets Make baskets in the woods much easier to see. Layout was easy to follow with next tee signs, and actual tee signs being easy to spot. Seemed to be well kept and groomed.
Cons: Tees not updated to include the white tees. White tees are not full mats but do great for marking. a bit of a walk from holes 6 to 7. Blue blue tees play quite narrow on most wooded holes. I felt the pars were a little mixed up. All tees are set said to be par 36 which is to high in my opinion, and some of the pars are off were 4's should be 5"s and vise versa.
Other Thoughts: I forgot to add that I played this course twice once from the white to get to know it then from the blues to challenge myself. Was a good way I feel to play 18, was really excited when I almost aced 5 from the whites, then got beat up bad on the blues as it plays long and tight through the woods. altogether great course.

I rated this course based on it being a 9 hole, this park has plenty of room for 9 more even more so given the length of the blues is just as long as some rec 18s, if they can expand they should and this would be a even better course.

I like when colors follow the PDGA rating of red, white, blue, yellow. This course has white, red, blue so a little pet pev of mine, but the par on this course is set to 36 this should be taken a look at because it was not a 36 par course in my opinion.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 holes

1    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees for every hole. Nice park, very quiet. Well planned course. Well maintained!
Cons: Only 9 holes, but it's a start! Needs a little more signage to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course with lots of promise. The park is very nice. All of the tees are rubber mats. There are 3 sets of tees, beginner, intermediate and advanced. Brand new baskets. The par 5 holes should only be 4's in my opinion. I think this is a great place to spend some time playing. There's a great practice area before the first tee. Score cards are provided and on the score card they include the distances for all of the tees and a map of the course. Best of all, all of the children at the park were well behaved and none of them were climbing on the baskets!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.