Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
5 / 215ft.   5 / 324ft.   5 / 458ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Stellar 9 holer.

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 3 rubber tee pads on every hole.
- Signs to aid in navigation to create a nice flow.
- Disccatchers are in great shape.
- Water fountain after hole 9
- 2 Kiosks, 1 with course map
- Great variety and use of available land, great choice to keep this course at 9 instead of cluttering it with filler holes.
- signal view pencils at the course map were a nice touch
- Course is scenic and challenging for higher leveled players while still offering a solid course for beginners.
- No safety issues noted and pedestrian traffic was minimal
Cons: - White tees are only 1/3 of the size of the other tees.
- Every shot from the far tees was a blind shot, with some of the tee signsbeing misleading to where the basket is (for example #2 sign shows the basket off to the left,but is it sraight down the hill to the right.)
- The longer the tee you choose, the less the distance varies. 6 of 9 holes on the blue are 394-452, with 2 others being just outside that rage (less than 150 ft. difference from the shortest and longest holes. with 5 holes being with in 20 feet of the average)
Other Thoughts: This course is probably the best 9 holer I have played. It ranks higher than most of the 18 hole courses I have played. The only thing this course lacking is enough land for 9 more holes of similar quality.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Dz Miller
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is my home course! A great 9 in the valley in a beautiful park! I play here alot the course is great for all level of players thanks to the three tee placements. M-town seems to give all golfers I know a great challenge no matter what skill level. Park has low traffic so taking youre time here no problem. Hole layout great lots of different looks to increase throwing srtategy and skill.
Cons: Only 9 holes makes me cry...I cant take nothing from this baby but I want 18 now! Very few ace runs unless you play whites 2,6 and 9 from reds and thats tricky!
Other Thoughts: Im very close to parks and recreation in the area. Course will get 9 more holes around 2012. New layout will not effect old 9 and will add a nice pond shot cant wait!!! Please come support this great course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem!

1    8/1/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It seems that the creator of this course had a decision to make...18 mediocre holes or 9 great ones. they definately made the correct decision! great variety of open and wooded. open holes have some trees around basket giving a little more challenge. awesome elevation change, maps at each tee were well marked. 3 tees for each hole allows you to change it up when you decide to play this course multiple times in a row.
Cons: large number of bugs (gnats etc)
Other Thoughts: if you are driving along I-81 stop and play this course! I wish I didnt live 4 hours away from it so I could play it weekly!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Near perfect course design

2-4    5/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
I debated reviewing this course since I can't say much that already hasn't been said, but I would be cheating this course by not supporting it with a rating. Signal View DGC demonstrates near perfect course design. Each of the 9 holes is perfectly plotted on the available land allowing for shot variety, elevation changes, 3 tees, and smooth course flow. The park is adequately suited for 9 holes and I fear what adding another 9 may detract from the current layout. With that said, being only a 9 holer is not a "Con" at this course. Instead of jamming 18 mediocre baskets around the park, the designers opted for high quality 9 holes with multiple tee pads. They succeeded.

Everything else has been listed by the previous reviewers, i.e. practice basket, beautiful landscape, easy access/parking, scorecards with map and pencil, etc. What's really important for me was how the 3 tee locations significantly changed the degree of difficulty per hole. Too common is the average course with multiple teepads that simply adds distance. Not signal view. Playing from white (beginner) will not overwhelm new players with a straight throw at the basket. Red (intermediate) tees changes each hole enough to provide some interesting throw possibilities per hole, adding strategy and challenge. Blue (advanced) tees play fiercely different than Red from not only more distance, but a completely different look at the fairway (except hole 1). Adequate tee signs are at each blue tee pad and are marked with distance to hole per white, red, blue pad. Arrows near baskets point you to next hole.
Cons:
- The white teepads are smaller and basically only a strip of rubber (instead of full pad) to mark their location. I suspect to save money and since they are probably rarely used.
- Only one Basket location per hole (i think).
- Long walk between holes 6 and 7, however well marked. Simply follow the white dashes painted on trees to travel between holes. This goes for all holes in the woods.
- No water hazards or major OB threats.
- Bugs, bugs, bugs. Annoying, annoying, annoying! (unavoidable in this part of the country, but still a con although minor).
Other Thoughts:
I agree with the other reviewers. This is a 9 hole course you wish more 18's were modeled after. However, the difference in play between Red and Blue teepads is enough to be satisfied. I suggest starting Hole 1 on Red, hole 2 blue, hole 3 red, then alternate between blue and red every other hole and play the 9 twice (So on the second lap hole 1 will be blue tee, hole 2 will be red, etc). I stopped to play this course while traveling for work, and will now always stop in passing.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.