Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / 434ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great 9 Hole

1    6/26/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 75  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: May not have much more to say that hasn't already been covered but I wanted to add to the praise.

- Great variety of tee pads. Which makes it fun for a mixed group of beginners to experts. Of if you just want to play a short aces round.
- Best use of rubber pads I've seen with pads anchored into the ground so they don't shift and can be mowed over.
- Good variety of open, lightly treed and in the woods shots. (check out FredVegas' pics)
- Even the wooded shots don't pose much risk of eating discs.
- Great signs
- Beautiful scenery
Cons: - It's only 9 holes (I talked with some locals and the other nine holes should happen soon.)
- Minor issue that the signs only show location of two tees but they do give distances for all three. We had not trouble finding all the tees.
- If you're looking for a big arm course this isn't it. Even on the long tees there's only one hole over 500'.
Other Thoughts: Well worth pulling off I-81 to play this wonderful little course. You can always play it three times to try all the tees.

Can't wait for the other 9!!

If anyone involved in planning the other nine reads this - think about adding some water hazards and maybe a hole with an obstacle like some 20-30 ft bushes.

 Best 9 hole course

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has to be the nicest 9 hole course I have ever played. Beautiful scenic area, well groomed course and a challenge. Uphill, Downhill, open & wooded, hyzers & anhyzers.

This is how I like Disc Golf Courses. It is obvious that the planners of this course had growing the local disc golf scene in mind by installing beginner tee pads. The scorecards & pencils are a nice touch. The info sign as you approach the first tee on where you could get discs at the Community Center shows that the local community is really trying grow the sport locally.

Marked very well but even with out the next tee signs you could navigate this course fairly easily. It was a beautiful day and I was the only one on the course. I played the the Mid (red) tees as the front 9 to learn the course & then played the long (blue) tees as the back 9. All along the course benches & trash cans are right next to the play area. Good hole signs by the long (blue) tees and next tee signs that make navigating the course a breeze. The long & mid tees have nice rubber tee pads. The beginner tees are just markers but beginners aren't going to be running up to throw.
Cons: The only bad thing was the gnats, they were a true menace but I survived them. The gnats weren't a problem all along the course but when they were around it could mess up a putt.
Other Thoughts: This course has more of the little things than any other course around. This is a premium community park for such a small town. Little league fields, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts. There is good parking, water fountains, covered tables, restrooms.

The grass is cut nicely all along the course. This is the best groomed course I've been to.

As I finished my second round I met a couple of the locals getting ready to start a round. They informed me that a large area of land right next to the course had recently been purchased and a back 9 were going to be installed. Including holes that play on a lake. They didn't say when the new holes were going in but if the new holes are as nice as the first 9 it will be an A+ course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Every hole a nice challenge

1    5/6/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: amlenke
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and technical. Many of the holes in my opinion are a par under where they probably should be. But all in all a very good course. Also three tees is nice for varying ability levels, though I found some were hard to find.
Cons: The tee colors need to be re-done as they don't follow the standard color scheme. From farthest to closest they go blue, red, white instead of the more standard blue, white, red.

They should update from rubber mats to concrete pads.

The signs are very misleading. I often had to scout the baskets to make sure of where I was throwing. Most shots from the long tee are blind shots. I am sure a few more rounds here and that will not be an issue.

There could be just a few more signs between holes as I had to keep walking and hope the tee was in that direction.

I know I mention a lot of cons here but they are purely aesthetic. Technicality is great.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. One of the regulars told me that they are utilizing the rest of the land including a pond to creat the "back" nine.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar 9 holer.

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 238  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 3 rubber tee pads on every hole.
- Signs to aid in navigation to create a nice flow.
- Disccatchers are in great shape.
- Water fountain after hole 9
- 2 Kiosks, 1 with course map
- Great variety and use of available land, great choice to keep this course at 9 instead of cluttering it with filler holes.
- signal view pencils at the course map were a nice touch
- Course is scenic and challenging for higher leveled players while still offering a solid course for beginners.
- No safety issues noted and pedestrian traffic was minimal
Cons: - White tees are only 1/3 of the size of the other tees.
- Every shot from the far tees was a blind shot, with some of the tee signsbeing misleading to where the basket is (for example #2 sign shows the basket off to the left,but is it sraight down the hill to the right.)
- The longer the tee you choose, the less the distance varies. 6 of 9 holes on the blue are 394-452, with 2 others being just outside that rage (less than 150 ft. difference from the shortest and longest holes. with 5 holes being with in 20 feet of the average)
Other Thoughts: This course is probably the best 9 holer I have played. It ranks higher than most of the 18 hole courses I have played. The only thing this course lacking is enough land for 9 more holes of similar quality.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Dz Miller
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is my home course! A great 9 in the valley in a beautiful park! I play here alot the course is great for all level of players thanks to the three tee placements. M-town seems to give all golfers I know a great challenge no matter what skill level. Park has low traffic so taking youre time here no problem. Hole layout great lots of different looks to increase throwing srtategy and skill.
Cons: Only 9 holes makes me cry...I cant take nothing from this baby but I want 18 now! Very few ace runs unless you play whites 2,6 and 9 from reds and thats tricky!
Other Thoughts: Im very close to parks and recreation in the area. Course will get 9 more holes around 2012. New layout will not effect old 9 and will add a nice pond shot cant wait!!! Please come support this great course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem!

1    8/1/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It seems that the creator of this course had a decision to make...18 mediocre holes or 9 great ones. they definately made the correct decision! great variety of open and wooded. open holes have some trees around basket giving a little more challenge. awesome elevation change, maps at each tee were well marked. 3 tees for each hole allows you to change it up when you decide to play this course multiple times in a row.
Cons: large number of bugs (gnats etc)
Other Thoughts: if you are driving along I-81 stop and play this course! I wish I didnt live 4 hours away from it so I could play it weekly!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Near perfect course design

2-4    5/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
I debated reviewing this course since I can't say much that already hasn't been said, but I would be cheating this course by not supporting it with a rating. Signal View DGC demonstrates near perfect course design. Each of the 9 holes is perfectly plotted on the available land allowing for shot variety, elevation changes, 3 tees, and smooth course flow. The park is adequately suited for 9 holes and I fear what adding another 9 may detract from the current layout. With that said, being only a 9 holer is not a "Con" at this course. Instead of jamming 18 mediocre baskets around the park, the designers opted for high quality 9 holes with multiple tee pads. They succeeded.

Everything else has been listed by the previous reviewers, i.e. practice basket, beautiful landscape, easy access/parking, scorecards with map and pencil, etc. What's really important for me was how the 3 tee locations significantly changed the degree of difficulty per hole. Too common is the average course with multiple teepads that simply adds distance. Not signal view. Playing from white (beginner) will not overwhelm new players with a straight throw at the basket. Red (intermediate) tees changes each hole enough to provide some interesting throw possibilities per hole, adding strategy and challenge. Blue (advanced) tees play fiercely different than Red from not only more distance, but a completely different look at the fairway (except hole 1). Adequate tee signs are at each blue tee pad and are marked with distance to hole per white, red, blue pad. Arrows near baskets point you to next hole.
Cons:
- The white teepads are smaller and basically only a strip of rubber (instead of full pad) to mark their location. I suspect to save money and since they are probably rarely used.
- Only one Basket location per hole (i think).
- Long walk between holes 6 and 7, however well marked. Simply follow the white dashes painted on trees to travel between holes. This goes for all holes in the woods.
- No water hazards or major OB threats.
- Bugs, bugs, bugs. Annoying, annoying, annoying! (unavoidable in this part of the country, but still a con although minor).
Other Thoughts:
I agree with the other reviewers. This is a 9 hole course you wish more 18's were modeled after. However, the difference in play between Red and Blue teepads is enough to be satisfied. I suggest starting Hole 1 on Red, hole 2 blue, hole 3 red, then alternate between blue and red every other hole and play the 9 twice (So on the second lap hole 1 will be blue tee, hole 2 will be red, etc). I stopped to play this course while traveling for work, and will now always stop in passing.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ambitious Nine in the Shenandoah

1    3/20/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.9 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well maintained course in a well maintained park in a beautiful area of the country conveniantly located just moments from I-81. Three tees per hole and a practice basket. Decent sized flat rubber mats. Course follows a route that avoids other park purposes. Course offers expert level distance and mixes open air placement golf, technical woodsy golf and elevation in a way that keeps each hole very unique from one another. Course offers trouble early, doorway into the woods holes, placement bombs, tight tree lined screamers, fast greens, R and L doglegs, tricky approaches and wide open wind battles. Really has everything needed to test your game here. Has an 18 hole feel as each hole is well designed and thought out. This is not your standard municipal 9 here. Hole 1 is a fun opener through a set of twin trees and then uphill in the open air to a protected basket. Hole 3 is a huge down and up wooded L dogleg par 4. Holes 2 and 4 dive downward from openness into the woods. 5 and 6 are woodsy beasts with long tight fairways that require odd challenging lines, 7,8 and 9 are more open long holes that reward big arm accuracy...great finishing holes. Lot's of interesting nuances here..you won't get bored. Probably in my top 3 of niners I have played..better than many 18 holers I have played..worth 2 rounds from the blue and red tees I'm sure.
Cons: Basket for hole 3 was missing..what a letdown. I kind of felt the 2 woods holes were just a bit too tight for my skill level....as a first timer I maybe didn't know the lines or don't have the skill set for those long tight twisty fairways...some will love them some will hate them. They may thin out in time and provide more lines.
Other Thoughts: Not all mats are installed properly. Degradation will be an issue if not corrected eventually. Outside of hole 2 nothing really gave the shot of an ace. All the holes are pretty long and require multiple throws to set up your putt. I personally enjoy a few ace runs here and there.(not a con..a preference) I truly think this is worth a stop for any DGer on I-81. I really enjoyed this course. Offers both great challenge and great maintenance. Often challenging courses are impossible to maintain...not here. If it's ever going to be 18 and of the same quality ..this will be a destination course.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

2-4    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a course that has a lot of potential and will become very interesting when the final 9 are put into place. The blue tees are in my opinion much better tees to play then the others any day. Red are in my opinion the hardest ones to play. The lines for the reds just are not there for several holes. Whites well if you can't putt and make birds they will get you as well. The tee pads no complaints there. Great grip all day on them, and no obstructions on them or near them. Every hole with every tee pad just about has a line it's just a matter of knowing where that line is and your first few times you will not know the line or see the lines. You have to have a good selection of throwing styles as well. Backhand, flick, over head shot (thumber etc) or just great control of your disc to flip them over when you need to. All holes from all tees can be simply made in 3. It's risk or reward on this course. You can reach pretty much every pin it's just a matter of is it worth the risk to try and do so. If you can toss a disc 300-350 your set on this course no need to bomb it any further. Most holes a very controllable midrange or putter will do just great even from the blues it's more about the accuracy then distance. Some of the roughs will cost you a stroke if not 2.
Cons: No cons on the course just beware the bugs are out and they can get on your nerves.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing the course and it's a very nice set up in a small town setting. The park is very clean and well taken care of. Some walks from each pin location can be long at times but it does give the best possible set up with the land they have and currently are using. Well planned out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Day In The Valley

2-4    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 33.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well-maintained course in the Shenandoah Valley.
-Very easy to find & get to - minutes from I-81
-Excellent signage for each hole & to move you around the course.
-Benches on many holes.
-Three tees for each hole- Tee pads are rubber mat type.
-DiscCatcher Baskets
-Plenty to do and challenge all skill levels - tackle all aspects of this course and your game is well on it's way.
-Outstanding use of area & terrain - many elevation changes, some subtle. Making many holes play longer then marked.
-Some Scenic vistas & wild life spotting opportunity.
-Restroom -By ball fields between holes 6 & 7.
-Park is part of the Civil War Trail. The mark is on the hill to the left of the 1st pin.
Cons: -Not many found
-Rubber tee pads become slick with dampness & leaves.
-Poison Ivy along many fairways (It is Virginia!)
-Valley nats & buggy things (Bring bug spray depending on season)
-Only 9 Holes
Other Thoughts: I so want to give this course a higher rating but the 9 hole format is so well constructed, I WANT 9 MORE!!!!
The best way I can describe this course is it is a third generation Virginia course. I'll explain and try to be brief. I started playing golf in 84 here in the Valley at Sherando Park in Stephens City. Back then the course was across the street from where it is now and it was a classic VA course for the time. Rather short, pretty wooded, mach I baskets. I believe it was in the late 90s but they moved the course to where it currently resides creating a second generation VA course maintaining the wooded nature but extending the length and adding some open field holes. Signal View Takes this concept and kicks it up a notch by extending the idea exponentially but still maintaining a course that can be enjoyed and challenged by all levels and players.
The 3rd annual, Maurertown Fly is coming in a few weeks. This is a PDGA sanctioned, C-Tier event and is OUTSTANDING on many levels. One that stands out is the local support for the park, the course, the tournament and each other. It truly is a great day in the valley. Keep an eye out for it, you may have to register early to get in. Great Job, Guys!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.