Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / 434ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Stellar 9 holer.

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 3 rubber tee pads on every hole.
- Signs to aid in navigation to create a nice flow.
- Disccatchers are in great shape.
- Water fountain after hole 9
- 2 Kiosks, 1 with course map
- Great variety and use of available land, great choice to keep this course at 9 instead of cluttering it with filler holes.
- signal view pencils at the course map were a nice touch
- Course is scenic and challenging for higher leveled players while still offering a solid course for beginners.
- No safety issues noted and pedestrian traffic was minimal
Cons: - White tees are only 1/3 of the size of the other tees.
- Every shot from the far tees was a blind shot, with some of the tee signsbeing misleading to where the basket is (for example #2 sign shows the basket off to the left,but is it sraight down the hill to the right.)
- The longer the tee you choose, the less the distance varies. 6 of 9 holes on the blue are 394-452, with 2 others being just outside that rage (less than 150 ft. difference from the shortest and longest holes. with 5 holes being with in 20 feet of the average)
Other Thoughts: This course is probably the best 9 holer I have played. It ranks higher than most of the 18 hole courses I have played. The only thing this course lacking is enough land for 9 more holes of similar quality.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Dz Miller
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is my home course! A great 9 in the valley in a beautiful park! I play here alot the course is great for all level of players thanks to the three tee placements. M-town seems to give all golfers I know a great challenge no matter what skill level. Park has low traffic so taking youre time here no problem. Hole layout great lots of different looks to increase throwing srtategy and skill.
Cons: Only 9 holes makes me cry...I cant take nothing from this baby but I want 18 now! Very few ace runs unless you play whites 2,6 and 9 from reds and thats tricky!
Other Thoughts: Im very close to parks and recreation in the area. Course will get 9 more holes around 2012. New layout will not effect old 9 and will add a nice pond shot cant wait!!! Please come support this great course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem!

1    8/1/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It seems that the creator of this course had a decision to make...18 mediocre holes or 9 great ones. they definately made the correct decision! great variety of open and wooded. open holes have some trees around basket giving a little more challenge. awesome elevation change, maps at each tee were well marked. 3 tees for each hole allows you to change it up when you decide to play this course multiple times in a row.
Cons: large number of bugs (gnats etc)
Other Thoughts: if you are driving along I-81 stop and play this course! I wish I didnt live 4 hours away from it so I could play it weekly!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Near perfect course design

2-4    5/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
I debated reviewing this course since I can't say much that already hasn't been said, but I would be cheating this course by not supporting it with a rating. Signal View DGC demonstrates near perfect course design. Each of the 9 holes is perfectly plotted on the available land allowing for shot variety, elevation changes, 3 tees, and smooth course flow. The park is adequately suited for 9 holes and I fear what adding another 9 may detract from the current layout. With that said, being only a 9 holer is not a "Con" at this course. Instead of jamming 18 mediocre baskets around the park, the designers opted for high quality 9 holes with multiple tee pads. They succeeded.

Everything else has been listed by the previous reviewers, i.e. practice basket, beautiful landscape, easy access/parking, scorecards with map and pencil, etc. What's really important for me was how the 3 tee locations significantly changed the degree of difficulty per hole. Too common is the average course with multiple teepads that simply adds distance. Not signal view. Playing from white (beginner) will not overwhelm new players with a straight throw at the basket. Red (intermediate) tees changes each hole enough to provide some interesting throw possibilities per hole, adding strategy and challenge. Blue (advanced) tees play fiercely different than Red from not only more distance, but a completely different look at the fairway (except hole 1). Adequate tee signs are at each blue tee pad and are marked with distance to hole per white, red, blue pad. Arrows near baskets point you to next hole.
Cons:
- The white teepads are smaller and basically only a strip of rubber (instead of full pad) to mark their location. I suspect to save money and since they are probably rarely used.
- Only one Basket location per hole (i think).
- Long walk between holes 6 and 7, however well marked. Simply follow the white dashes painted on trees to travel between holes. This goes for all holes in the woods.
- No water hazards or major OB threats.
- Bugs, bugs, bugs. Annoying, annoying, annoying! (unavoidable in this part of the country, but still a con although minor).
Other Thoughts:
I agree with the other reviewers. This is a 9 hole course you wish more 18's were modeled after. However, the difference in play between Red and Blue teepads is enough to be satisfied. I suggest starting Hole 1 on Red, hole 2 blue, hole 3 red, then alternate between blue and red every other hole and play the 9 twice (So on the second lap hole 1 will be blue tee, hole 2 will be red, etc). I stopped to play this course while traveling for work, and will now always stop in passing.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ambitious Nine in the Shenandoah

1    3/20/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well maintained course in a well maintained park in a beautiful area of the country conveniantly located just moments from I-81. Three tees per hole and a practice basket. Decent sized flat rubber mats. Course follows a route that avoids other park purposes. Course offers expert level distance and mixes open air placement golf, technical woodsy golf and elevation in a way that keeps each hole very unique from one another. Course offers trouble early, doorway into the woods holes, placement bombs, tight tree lined screamers, fast greens, R and L doglegs, tricky approaches and wide open wind battles. Really has everything needed to test your game here. Has an 18 hole feel as each hole is well designed and thought out. This is not your standard municipal 9 here. Hole 1 is a fun opener through a set of twin trees and then uphill in the open air to a protected basket. Hole 3 is a huge down and up wooded L dogleg par 4. Holes 2 and 4 dive downward from openness into the woods. 5 and 6 are woodsy beasts with long tight fairways that require odd challenging lines, 7,8 and 9 are more open long holes that reward big arm accuracy...great finishing holes. Lot's of interesting nuances here..you won't get bored. Probably in my top 3 of niners I have played..better than many 18 holers I have played..worth 2 rounds from the blue and red tees I'm sure.
Cons: Basket for hole 3 was missing..what a letdown. I kind of felt the 2 woods holes were just a bit too tight for my skill level....as a first timer I maybe didn't know the lines or don't have the skill set for those long tight twisty fairways...some will love them some will hate them. They may thin out in time and provide more lines.
Other Thoughts: Not all mats are installed properly. Degradation will be an issue if not corrected eventually. Outside of hole 2 nothing really gave the shot of an ace. All the holes are pretty long and require multiple throws to set up your putt. I personally enjoy a few ace runs here and there.(not a con..a preference) I truly think this is worth a stop for any DGer on I-81. I really enjoyed this course. Offers both great challenge and great maintenance. Often challenging courses are impossible to maintain...not here. If it's ever going to be 18 and of the same quality ..this will be a destination course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

2-4    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a course that has a lot of potential and will become very interesting when the final 9 are put into place. The blue tees are in my opinion much better tees to play then the others any day. Red are in my opinion the hardest ones to play. The lines for the reds just are not there for several holes. Whites well if you can't putt and make birds they will get you as well. The tee pads no complaints there. Great grip all day on them, and no obstructions on them or near them. Every hole with every tee pad just about has a line it's just a matter of knowing where that line is and your first few times you will not know the line or see the lines. You have to have a good selection of throwing styles as well. Backhand, flick, over head shot (thumber etc) or just great control of your disc to flip them over when you need to. All holes from all tees can be simply made in 3. It's risk or reward on this course. You can reach pretty much every pin it's just a matter of is it worth the risk to try and do so. If you can toss a disc 300-350 your set on this course no need to bomb it any further. Most holes a very controllable midrange or putter will do just great even from the blues it's more about the accuracy then distance. Some of the roughs will cost you a stroke if not 2.
Cons: No cons on the course just beware the bugs are out and they can get on your nerves.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing the course and it's a very nice set up in a small town setting. The park is very clean and well taken care of. Some walks from each pin location can be long at times but it does give the best possible set up with the land they have and currently are using. Well planned out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Day In The Valley

2-4    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well-maintained course in the Shenandoah Valley.
-Very easy to find & get to - minutes from I-81
-Excellent signage for each hole & to move you around the course.
-Benches on many holes.
-Three tees for each hole- Tee pads are rubber mat type.
-DiscCatcher Baskets
-Plenty to do and challenge all skill levels - tackle all aspects of this course and your game is well on it's way.
-Outstanding use of area & terrain - many elevation changes, some subtle. Making many holes play longer then marked.
-Some Scenic vistas & wild life spotting opportunity.
-Restroom -By ball fields between holes 6 & 7.
-Park is part of the Civil War Trail. The mark is on the hill to the left of the 1st pin.
Cons: -Not many found
-Rubber tee pads become slick with dampness & leaves.
-Poison Ivy along many fairways (It is Virginia!)
-Valley nats & buggy things (Bring bug spray depending on season)
-Only 9 Holes
Other Thoughts: I so want to give this course a higher rating but the 9 hole format is so well constructed, I WANT 9 MORE!!!!
The best way I can describe this course is it is a third generation Virginia course. I'll explain and try to be brief. I started playing golf in 84 here in the Valley at Sherando Park in Stephens City. Back then the course was across the street from where it is now and it was a classic VA course for the time. Rather short, pretty wooded, mach I baskets. I believe it was in the late 90s but they moved the course to where it currently resides creating a second generation VA course maintaining the wooded nature but extending the length and adding some open field holes. Signal View Takes this concept and kicks it up a notch by extending the idea exponentially but still maintaining a course that can be enjoyed and challenged by all levels and players.
The 3rd annual, Maurertown Fly is coming in a few weeks. This is a PDGA sanctioned, C-Tier event and is OUTSTANDING on many levels. One that stands out is the local support for the park, the course, the tournament and each other. It truly is a great day in the valley. Keep an eye out for it, you may have to register early to get in. Great Job, Guys!!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous Park and Great Views

2-4    7/12/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fantastic gem, nestled in the foothills of the Shenandoah Mountains, this course is very scenic, has some seriously challenging holes and is a good workout.

Every hole has three tee placements, White (easy) Red (Medium) and Blue (Hard). Baskets are new and very nice, with yelllow bands making them highly visible.

Hole by Hole:

Hole 1: This is a nice start to the cours, a slighlty uphill field throw, to a basket that's guarded by a small corpse of trees. The blue tee placement is over 400 feet from the hole, so it's a good challenge.

Hole 2: This is a snaking, wooded downhill shot, and if you're playing Blues or Reds, it's a good idea to have someone scout your throw, as it's a blind toss (especially for blue tee). The fairway first goes to the right, then left, then sharp right at the end, so it's a challenge to park one on this hole.

Hole 3: This is the longest hole on the course, with the Blue placement being over 500 feet from the pin. It features a straight wooded fairway for the first 200-300 feet, then a slight uphill dogleg left to the hold. The dogleg is hard to cut short, because of the number of trees, but if you can do it, you will be able to save a stroke.

Hole 4: Another fairly long hole, this one running downhill. You start next to the baseball field, throwing down a nice, long open area into the woods. The hole is located next to the road, so any overshot on the approach can be hazardous!

Hole 5: A nice long uphill throw, with a snaking fairway makes this hole very challenging, especially from the blue placement.

Hole 6: This hole features a skinny wooded fairway, and rewards accuracy. The fairway snakes abit toward the basket, so careful placement is the key.

Hole 7: This hole is located on the other side of the baseball diamond, with the tee pads located behind the maintenance shacks. This is a nice, open throw with some trees strategicly placed to mess with your line. A fairly long hole, this one is a good "rip it" hole.

Hole 8: Gorgeous tee placement, especially for the blue, gives you a nice clear field of throw, but the basket is in a wooded area that's blocked by large spruce trees to the left. If you miss the opening to the left, you may find yourself in some serious trouble. This is a good hole to have a spotter on. Once past the spruces, the hole is located in a pretty area with some neat trees and the occasional bunny rabbit.

Hole 9: THis is a slight uphill long-ish par 3 hole. The basket is a straight shot from the tee boxes, and there's a small wood "island" on the right side of the fairway, where I managed to land on my tee off.

Overall this is an excellent course, super well maintained and the signage is among the best I've ever seen.
Cons: Not enough holes! Also beware of wildlife. This area has copperhead snakes in it, so be careful when reaching for discs in the wooded areas.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Leaves You Wanting More

2-4    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tee positions per basket. Long rubber teepads for the two longer tee locations. Great example of how to create a course for all levels of play by having multiple tee locations.

Signs at each hole showing path and distances. "Next tee" location signs after each basket.

Good variety - start and end with fairly open shots, playing in/out of the woods holes #2-#4, amongst the woods holes #5-#6, openish left-turning holes with some trees for #7-#8. Some changes in elevation, some right-turning and S-shaped flights needed, too.

Absolutely stunning views of the neighbouring hills.

Practice basket. Room to take some practice drives.
Cons: Only nine holes.

Not enough time in the open to enjoy the great views! :-)
Other Thoughts: The whites average just under 200', require mostly just straight shots, and provide only a minimum of obstacles for the beginning player. The average distance from the reds is just over 300', brings more obstacles (trees) into play, and requires different turning flight paths. The blues stretch the average distance out to about 425', requires even more complicated flight paths, and, of course, increases the number of trees to work around.

3.5 miles from I81. To find the start after entering the park, keep going left until you can go no further.

Excellent course. Hopefully the desginers/builders can find a way to create nine more holes (or more!) of equal quality and variety.

Update 11/8/14: An Excellent 9er Becomes A Good 18er:

Nine new holes (2-3, 10*, 12-13, 15-18) were recently spliced onto the original nine (1, 4-9*, 11, 14).

The new holes generally fall into two categories. Numbers 2-3, 12-13 are short, carved out of dense small tree/brush areas, and require either straight (red), some shape (white), or awkward shape (blue) throws from the tee. Numbers 15-18 are long, straight, and open. Barbed-wire protected fields full of cow patties run along the entire right side of fairways 15-16, while a pond must be thrown over on #17 (bailout area to left, aka #16's fairway), and finishes with downhill #18 (to the dual-purposed practice basket).

While the new holes add sheer numbers,and some variety, as a whole, they are all weaker than the original nine - added quantity has diluted the overall average quality.

* Original #7, an excellent hole, was cannibalized to create new #9 and #10, two good holes.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 fun in the hills

2-4    11/26/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Big sign at start with bench. Course provides scorecards and pencils. Scorecards are greatly detailed with a map and separate fold for each set of tees. Each Tee pad is marked with very nice rubber mats. Innova baskets Make baskets in the woods much easier to see. Layout was easy to follow with next tee signs, and actual tee signs being easy to spot. Seemed to be well kept and groomed.
Cons: Tees not updated to include the white tees. White tees are not full mats but do great for marking. a bit of a walk from holes 6 to 7. Blue blue tees play quite narrow on most wooded holes. I felt the pars were a little mixed up. All tees are set said to be par 36 which is to high in my opinion, and some of the pars are off were 4's should be 5"s and vise versa.
Other Thoughts: I forgot to add that I played this course twice once from the white to get to know it then from the blues to challenge myself. Was a good way I feel to play 18, was really excited when I almost aced 5 from the whites, then got beat up bad on the blues as it plays long and tight through the woods. altogether great course.

I rated this course based on it being a 9 hole, this park has plenty of room for 9 more even more so given the length of the blues is just as long as some rec 18s, if they can expand they should and this would be a even better course.

I like when colors follow the PDGA rating of red, white, blue, yellow. This course has white, red, blue so a little pet pev of mine, but the par on this course is set to 36 this should be taken a look at because it was not a 36 par course in my opinion.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.