Ypsilanti, MI 
EMU DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
what a waste

1    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through some fields behind the football stadium at EMU. IM fields are nearby.

Teeposts-- about the only plus here. The only course on the day with a diagram of the hole. Accurate distances.
Cons:
Everything else

Baskets-- most are bent up and wonky. the ones that are actually present and accounted for.

Design-- holy hell. hole #1 is easy enough, hole #2 is completely missing. no tee sign, no basket. Hole #3 is a complete mess. the long tee is ridiculous with a big hill up to a flat portion of land. #4-- had no idea where this hole was until we were leaving... #5 tee sign there, no basket. #6-9 were there (I think)

Teepads-- why did #1 have flypad and none of the others had ANY sort of teepad?
Other Thoughts:
With no obstacles, a terrible layout and very little challenge (besides the wind) this course is on the pisspoor side. I don't recommend anyone going out of their way to play this course, and I'm glad we didn't...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Needs some love

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Ryejake03
Played: 98  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice terrain, could be cool, lots of room for more holes.
Cons: Layout is questionable, could only find about 5 baskets, played a few holes then left, spent too much time wandering, looking for the next hole.
Not many obstacles
Could not find pad, or basket 2
Other Thoughts: Needs some attention, needs better signage, I think some baskets are missing

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 who needs obstacles?

5+    10/7/2011   1/7/2012
Review By: HYPNO-TOAD
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: tee signs with distance - nice baskets - you will likely be the only golfer around - lots of wide open space to work with. longs and shorts
Cons: kind of plain, multi-use land. the university uses part of the course to dump mulch & dirt. hole 3's basket was missing last time I was there. funky walk to 4's tee
Other Thoughts: a couple holes have rows of street lights in play to make for an interesting shot. I have heard rumors of 9 more holes going in past the pond on 4. campus police like to loiter in the parking lot sometimes. community garden on hole 6 if your hungry. I remember when all that land used to be woods when I was a kid, before they put in the softball fields. i remember finding fire pits and rockstacks and "hunting a witch".

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be good with a budget

5+    11/22/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Never crowded
-Free
-Little chance to lose your disc
-Hole 4 is actually really cool, no matter where you approach it from, make sure you go find it.
-Elevation comes into play on hole 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9.
-Good baskets.
Cons: - Very few tee pads, and those that are there are rubber. Some aren't even dirt, because they haven't been played enough to wear away the grass. Hole 9 shorts you get a concrete tee from the sidewalk.
- Not always clear where to go next, and sometimes there's a moderate walk to the next hole. Especially problematic with hole 4, which is hidden behind the tee pad for hole 5. As far as I can tell the short tee sign for hold 4 has been removed, long is way back alongside the asphalt.
- No trees. And bad use of terrain. This course has some of the better hills available in Ypsilanti here. Unfortunately, they did not have the budget to clear fairways in the brush. So all the holes are along the field, and have little hazard except for rough on the side.
Other Thoughts: With some more attention this course could actually be good, and probably 18 holes to boot, but right now, EMU doesn't seem to care about the course, and local players have better options available nearby. If you're in the area and looking for a change of pace or some fieldwork, it can be fun, but its probably not worth your trip.
Hopefully someday we'll get a redesign that makes this exciting but right now the most accurate description is "Meh."

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

1    7/11/2009   9/25/2010
Review By: writtenkits
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: - Beginners Meca.
Cons: - Boring as heck. Almost no obstructions and the holes are pretty close to the tees.

- The view is the same throughout.

- There is a hole (can't remember which) that is close to a garden. It's so easy to have your discs land there.
Other Thoughts: It was my first course and I was lucky I still had enough curiosity to keep playing. Really don't travel here if you're not close. There are plenty of quality courses that are just as close. Play here for practice on putting and that's about it.

  Drive a bit, seriously...

1    4/6/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: xenogears76
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: - Free
- Close to campus
- Quick (only when you figure out how to navigate this monstrosity)
Cons: - Laid out TERRIBLY.
- Very hard to figure out where the holes are in comparison to the others.
- Holes 6,7, and 8 are totally messed up due to the construction on campus.
- There is trash all over the course.
- Hole 4 is a complete mess.
- No maps anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I read about this course about three days ago. I was excited to just get out and play for a bit, even though I read it was a short, easy course. This course is in terrible condition! It is only three years old, and it looks like it's been about that long since anyone has done any work to it. By time I figured out where all the holes were, and in what direction they went, I was very frustrated. There are dozens of other courses within ten minutes of this monstrosity. Save yourself the anguish and just drive a bit...

 why bother

5+    0/0/0000   3/30/2010
Review By: cassidymayne
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: It has baskets, and signage. Due to EMU construction there is some risk reward on hole 4 now due to making the pond come somewhat into play (took down fence and brush).
Cons: The construction has put all the waste dirt in mounds all over the course. Removed the short tee to hole 8. The post is sitting on top of one of the dirt mounds. The course features pretty much the same shot over and over. No real challenge
Other Thoughts: Don't waiste your time unless you just need a quick simple fix for your disc golf needs. Other than that go to bandamer, mary beth, or lakeshore. You will have a lot more fun at any of those courses

 Nice escape

2-4    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: ypsidisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Nice long holes let you rip some good drives.
Elevation changes make it interesting. All holes have signs with best route. Its quiet and there isnt ever very many people playing.
Cons: 4 out of the nine were almost the same, only difference was the length and angle of approach, which doesnt matter because its a wide open field. The signs at each hole dont give an indication of which way to for next hole, Which means youll probably miss hole 4.
Other Thoughts: This course has one of my favorite holes. #4.
It can be hard to find.

After hole 3 basket, follow tree line away from baseball field. Youll come to a clearing, basket is to your right near the bushes.
For tee, continue walking towards football stadium, the tees are near the road along some thick bushes.

 Practice course

5+    5/21/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fair practice course, area is a wide open field good for driving. No one was there when I played, so no waiting.
**update** I went back and played through again, going to holes 3-5. Hole #4 is by far the best, as it actually feels like a real DG course, with trees and a tight driving area.
Cons: Almost all holes are basically the same; no concrete tees; poorly marked holes - I missed holes 3-5 because I didn't know they were across the street. **update** not very well kept. the area is an overgrown field currently
Other Thoughts: Practice makes perfect. Other than that, no reason to play on this course. **update** nice for a quick round to simply get better at the game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

7/8/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: bwalter723
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place for starters, very simple & wide open lay out. Also a great place to practice distance driving. Playing on the long tees adds a good bit of distance to each hole. Never crowded so if you are solo you can blaze through it in about 20-25 minutes if you only have time for a short game.

*This last Pro is just a perk to the nature of the surrounding area not to the course layout*

I love how holes 7-9 are lined up with raspberry bushes.
Cons: Long tees don't change whole play much (excluding 7 & 8). Offers very little challenge. Easy to miss hole 4 (my favorite hole). I don't care for the mats that are laid down at hole 1 & 2, they seem to be more slippery than helpful.
Other Thoughts: Amazingly people seem to lazy to pick up their discs if they go into the softball diamond. I've gone about 9 times in 2 weeks (normally go between work and class) and found 3 discs just over the fence.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.