Americus, GA 
Georgia Southwestern DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bencybul Hole #5 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A few unexpected gems

5+    4/8/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offers a great platform for disc golf in an otherwise course free surroundings.
upon first glance the course is simple, but as it has grown in there are some hidden gems to discover.
Multiple lines on most tee shots. And all of them are pretty playable at any skill level because of how short the holes are.
Cons: There really is not a single hole that allows you to let one rip. The longest hole currently maxes out at 295.
The beginning and ending of the course are about a 5 minute walk from one another. Making playing back-to-back rounds difficult.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

8 holes

5+    10/7/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: scottb16
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/9/2013
Other Thoughts: We now have 8 holes; number 7's basket went missing. The first 3 holes are behind the nursing building, the next 3 are across the street, and to get to the final 2 holes, keep walking in the direction that 7's tee box is pointing and you will go around one dorm and will find 8's tee box.

 Nice nine hole course

1    2/17/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Georgia Southwestern DGC is on a college campus, and as a result, the course is very well taken care of and manicured. The tee pads and baskets are in very good shape, and the course is not very crowded. There is very little understory, and the topography is flat to gently rolling. While there is a water hazard, it is a stream that cuts across a fairway, so even if your disk finds the water it is shallow and can be retrieved easily. So, there is no need for floating disks.
Cons: It is a shame the course is only nine holes, as it seems they had the room to get in about 12 if done properly. If you are not a local, figuring out where to start, and navigating from hole to hole takes a little looking, but this is minor complaint. Finally, hole nine is good hike back to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: Georgia Southwestern DGC is a very nice nine hole course that is relatively open, short, and in a park like setting. So, you can still score if you don't have the biggest arm. Because there is very little understory, even if you have an errant drive, or crack a tree, a nice upshot or approach will allow you to save par. I only wish that when I was in college, I had something like this right on campus. In conclusion, I would agree with the last reviewer and say that the course isn't worth traveling to get to, but if you are in the area, it is a very nice course and is definitely worth playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A College with a disc course cramed in.

5/15/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice to play in a small college atmosphere.
-Hot coeds on the nature trail (at least a pro for me)
- The largest tee pads I have ever throw from
-Most holes have tee signs
Cons: - Only 9 holes
-Some tee signs are missing
- Be prepared to search for holes 4 and 8.
- A very LONG hike back to your car after you play the 9 holes
-Baskets could be closer to the next tee pad.
-Back four are slightly grown up were weeds were left growing around the baskets. (eight had weeds growing through the bottom of the basket)
Other Thoughts: The designer did a decent job of using what they were given for the 9 holes but unfortunately they did not have a whole lot to work with. The concrete tee pads are well kept and the largest I have ever played. The first three holes are located in a wooded square about the size of a football field with sidelines located right in the middle of the campus. This is nice because you can see and meet some of the students walking the perimeter walking trail. The moderately wooded area in the first 3 holes does not really provide the player an easy shot without a little luck so your will be provided with a challenge even at a shorter distance. The scenery is nice while playing the first three but you have to really have to search for the remainder of the course. After you cross the street, 4 through 9 are more open but not very long. After you finish 9 you will be very far away from where you started. I would say that a third of the walk will be getting back to where you started for your next 9. I talked to some locals while teeing off on hole one and they said they were just playing one through three over and over. I did not understand why until I took my voyage back to my car from the 9. In fact, after playing 9 I only played the first three again because of the lack of loop. If I went to this college or lived close, It would be good enough for me to play 3 or 4 times a week, but I would not travel specifically to visit it if I lived out of town. That being said, course is playable and I commend GSW for giving up the space to allow Disc Golf on their campus. A visiting player will find the Course at GA Veterans State Park very enjoyable and less than 20 miles away so if you wanted to go for GA Veterans State Park, you could play GSW as as second course and make a day out of it.

(A lefty will enjoy this course as well as a righty)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.