Asheboro, NC 
North Asheboro Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #15
4 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Perfectly Serviceable

1    10/26/2015   10/26/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun, short 18 hole course in the middle of an otherwise pretty park. The first nine is very heavily wooded and features some incredibly tight lines. Perfect throws there will net birdies, but short holes can turn into par scrambles if you miss the tight gaps.

The back nine (well, the back 10 actually), largely feels like a completely different course. It plays through the park's arboretum, and really has a lot more openness to it. Though some of the holes are still somewhat wooded, there is much more opportunity and need to "air it out" a bit.

Overall the course makes pretty good usage of the available terrain to give golfers a test of both their accuracy and power. Finesse players will enjoy the frontside, whereas power players will be able to take good advantage of some easier par 4s on the back.

Baskets here are nice mach 5's with huge hole signs on top of them so they are very easily visible from the tees which is nice, because some of the holes carve tight corridors through the trees.

Decent concrete teepads on every hole, though it would be nice if they were a bit longer. Attempts at hole signs on all of the holes, but it seems many of them have unfortunately been stolen. There is some good navigational aid from hole 8 to #9 which is situated across the parking lot which was a good thing. The rest of the course flows very intuitively.

My 3 favorite holes were 9, 13, and 14. 9 is a tunnel shot out of a chute of trees down to a basket on the right which is tucked in a nice grove of trees. Very reasonable to make a birdie, but the trees made for challenging putts. Hole 13 is just really pretty in its location up in some mature trees at the top of the park. There is a nice backhand line, and there also is a "local route" flick out to the left. 14 was also really fun, it is a steep left to right swing through dense woods, but again there is an alternate route of a backand or forehand roller out to the right. I think it is smart to have narrow holes like these that still give the player a bit of choice of which line to choose.

A very nice kiosk marks the begining of the course and is easily visible from the parking lot.
Cons: There were a few holes on the front where the lines were a bit much and seemed too much like poke-and-pray. 6 was the worst offender in my book. 8 also played this way because the tee is aimed off to the left which forces throws into the trees. I'm not sure these holes really should be par 4s, I think they would be better suited as 3 pars with a slightly improved tee location or line clearance. I am not a fan of increasing hole par to account for the inevetability of crashing off of a tree.

On the back side, I'm not sure the par 4s really needed to be par 4s. The hole par is a bit inflated on them.

12 was a really nice hole to play (even with the above hole par inflation). It is a sweeping anhyzer around a big tree with a swampy area to the right. Unfortunately, this swampy area seems to extend well out into the fairway and walking that hole was a nasty mess.

Holes 16,17, and 18 really seemed like afterthoughts. The first 15 holes made really good use of the terrain, but it looks like the course just ran out of places to be. 16 is a short, throwaway hole that is a simple midrange or putter to a basket under a tree, and the basket is close to the line of play for hole 12 - especially with a ricochet off of a tree. 17 plays almost straightaway to a basket near the baseball fence. 18 plays over the walking path and bridge to a pin across the water. These 3 holes did not live up to the rest of the course and were a disappointing finish to the round.

Many of the hole signs have been stolen.
Other Thoughts: Overall this cource was a good course. Nothing overly flashy or terribly bad either. I had fun playing it and would definitely come back more if it were closer to me, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again. I kept thinking throughout the round that this course is very vanilla, and maybe that's the best description I have for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2-4    5/3/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 59  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a couple of minutes off the highway. Easy to follow the flow of this course. Tee pads are all concrete. The baskets have a large round yellow sign on top showing the number of the hole.

There are shots that finish left, right, and down the center. There are uphill and downhill shots.

The course is on the short side and will appeal to beginners. There is enough challenge to hold a more experienced player's attention as well. There is a good mix of open and wooded with the first 8 being wooded and the last 10 being fairly open with the exception of 14.

The course manages to stay away from other park activities for the most part, but 17 and 18 require shots over the walking path. Visibility is good and there shouldn't be an issue if you take a quick glance for walkers.
Cons: Following the course is easy but the baskets are often out of view from the tee and the signage does nothing to tell you which way the basket is.

Unless you are confident in your throw, lay up on #10 and avoid the rough at all costs. It was a swamp. It may be mowed when conditions are drier.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course. I played through twice on two occasions so I could remember the basket locations. If you're passing through on the highway, give this course a try.

The first time I played here the #10 basket had been stolen. It is now back in place.

I was in a group of three this weekend and we played the course in just under an hour, so it can be a quick one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I thought Asheboro had Zebras?

1    11/18/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall the course is a park style shorter course where you're playing around other park facilities through mostly sparse trees with no real overgrowth.

It's mostly a gap hitting course and the course does a good job of moving the gaps to earlier and farther back in fairways to give it some variety.

There's a good balance to the designs, you have different shots to work and some more unconventional lines. There's a good mix between shorter and longer par 3's.

The course has has a good blend of more open/sparse tree holes to more wooded technical shots. You start off with shorter more technical holes then as you go on you get in to some longer holes with more room to rip a disc.

Not a lot of elevation but the course utilizes a hillside running down towards the creek and a big knoll that has a dropoff you throw off twice.

The creek that runs through the middle and kind of splits the front and back 9 is never really any danger to throw in; and if you do you can get it back.

Front and back 9 ends at the parking lot and you're never really far from the parking lot.

There are some really fun holes on this course, mostly on the back 9. Some longer holes where you need hit gaps and keep it low so you'll need a driver.

Atmosphere - It's your average neighborhood park destination with volleyball, playgrounds and the other usuals. It's maintained pretty well for what it is. The course does a decent job of staying away from most of it until more towards the end.

Equipment - Concrete pads of decent size. Older baskets but they have big bright yellow numbers on top to help you spot them.

Teesigns are basic with no map but are there. Course map at the parking lot by #1.
Cons: Layout - This course is hard to pin down in a way. You start off with some shorter technical shots which are a mix of super easy lines to ones that are much tighter and awkward almost. When you get to 8 that effect is exaggerated because it's almost impossible to get a disc that far on that angle with the fairway shape.

The back 9 starts off much better but here it gets a bit more confusing where you have to figure out which tee and basket you're headed towards often. I played 9 to 11 without realizing it.

I don't like the way the course ends especially after it gets much more interesting on the back 9. It looks as if they just ran out of room and crammed three not so great holes in at the finish.

There are some possible safety issues in a few places where you throw in close proximity to a sidewalk or over it. This wasn't a problem when I was there.

I think the basket placements weren't always optimal and that part of the design could of been done better.

Overall I think the course just didn't have enough room to give it more potential. It's clear the designer had some good ideas but was forced to cram in other holes that made less sense.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun little course to kill some time. Lots of birdie and ace runs with some longer shots and a chance to let one rip. Nice balance overall but some nick pick problems add up in the end and take away from the experience.

There's parts of the course I'd rate much higher but overall I went with two because it starts off and finishes in such a mediocre almost boring way.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Everyday Course

5+    8/6/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: A_Osborne
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -requires a variety of different shots
-easy to navigate
-locals are good about returning lost discs
Cons: -hole 10 is a swamp all year long and it is very easy to lose a disc in the high grass
-every time they put up new tee signs, they are gone within the next week or two every time
-tee pads are pretty short
Other Thoughts: me and my friends play this course 3-4 times a week on average after school. it is a great course to practice all kinds of shots, and provides some good challenges. There is a good variety of long and short holes, as well as wooded and open shots. Its a great course for beginners along with experienced players needing a confidence boost.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 tons of little trees

1    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 81  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It has 18 holes
-The park is pretty nice
-baskets are nice
-easy to get to off the highway if you are passing by.
- Other stuff to do at this park.
Cons: -The tee pads were very short and hard to do a nice walk up.
- Some tee signs were missing.
- pretty short course
-par 4s were really easy
Other Thoughts: - Pretty nice for the land that they had available
- The people we met at the course were very nice.
- Nothing special to say the least but if you are close it is a pretty good course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Closest Course To Home

5+    5/13/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 45.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fair use of available land, with good variety. Offers a challenge without being heartbreaking. The big, bright number signs atop the baskets are a huge help to an old blind man like me, even with my familiarity with the course.
Cons: Looks like the designer ran out of land before he was ready to do so. Some crossover and encroachment on the back side, but is probably necessary to prevent encroachment on other activity areas, like the kids' playground. The only major design flaws are having to shoot across busy sidewalks near the end of the round, but again, that's due to running out of land. There are several instances of baskets and next tees being in very close, maybe too close proximity. The five par 4's seem rather arbitrary, but are probably so rated, so as to encourage Novices, which is subtly messaged by the simplistically cool green tee signs.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite, funniest disc golf memories is that of playing this course on a hot Summer Sunday and finding a family splashing and 'swimming' in the creek on the back side, despite the fact that the park has a nice swimming pool.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

2-4    5/10/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is set up very well. Tees are marked and the holes are easy to find. There is a nice mixture of open and wooded holes. There is also a playground for the kids. Great course for pros and beginners both. Got a 2 my first game here.
Cons: There is a walking path through a couple of the holes.
Tees are rough so don't trip.
Hole 10 is a disc eater.
Other Thoughts: Definately worth making plans to visit this course. One of my favorites.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/19/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 112  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of holes - I would say over half the holes are really good disc golf holes.
- Signs w/ distances
- Large poles w/ numbers above the baskets make it easier to see them and also make sure you are throwing to the correct basket
- Good use of elevation
- No really boring distances - all holes are good tests of skill, in terms of distance.
Cons: - Some really bad holes. Hole 1's pin is in an awful place (way too guarded), hole 2 is terrible and hole 8 could be the best hole on the course by simply moving the tee 50 - 75 feet to the left. This would also get that tee further from 7's basket (see below)
- Lots of non golfer traffic
- No par 4's or 5's
- Some baskets way to close to the next tee
- Course doesn't flow very well. You have to make sure you are on the correct hole or you will certainly be playing holes out of order quickly.
Other Thoughts: A quick fun course - good course for a first course in a town. I just hate seeing bad holes where very simple changes could be made (i.e. 1's pin and 8's tee) and they would be drastically better.

Not worth driving to play it, but if you are within 20 - 30 minutes of it, worth heading out there and checking it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Fun!

1    5/16/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good little course in an established North Asheboro city park. The park is tucked away in a little sub-division. The front 8 are in a moderately wooded area and are are fairly easy to navigate. Hole one kind of intimidated as the basket was up over the hill and set back behind some trees. The more open holes are mainly 9 - 18 which share space with an arboretum. I really like 15 with it's open space, creek crossing and established trees to the basket. 16 is wide open to the basket but, a bit of griplock can set you out of the way. I really liked the challenge of throwing over the bridge and creek on 18 to end the course. Another great touch was the big flags on the baskets.
Cons: course flow was confusing at times and we had a hard time find the tee pad for number five which was above basket 4 near the tennis courts. Some kind of sign or arrow directing you would be nice. Another concern is the fact that on hole 4 you are almost in someone's back yard and an errant throw could hit a house.
Other Thoughts: Situated in a clean, established older park that had a bit of appeal for an easier, more laid back game. I didn't feel like I had to rifle the disc to get good distance on my tee shots. It was pretty easy find off of highway 220. The course was designed in 2007 but, I swear when playing, it felt like it was from the late 1980's!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 209  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, short course in a nice, clean park.
- Good mix of holes. First 8 holes play in woods. Last 10 holes are more open, with several wooded holes thrown into the mix. Course also has several nice uphill & downhill holes.
- Course is easy to navigate. On the front part of the course (first 8 holes), it's a short walk from basket to next tee. Other parts of course include arrows directing to next tee.
- I like the giant markers on top of the baskets. Nice touch to make baskets easier to spot, especially on the wooded holes.
- Course is definitely beginner friendly. No long holes - longest is 360 feet. Not much chance to lose discs. Water comes into play on several holes. On holes #9, 11, 18, shallow creek remotely comes into play, so discs in there will be easy to retrieve. Water on #6 might be more unforgiving.
- Course presents some good risk/reward holes, even for more advanced players. Some holes are potential ace chances, but errant shots could get punished (especially on wooded holes.)
- Park seems to be kept in great condition. It includes tennis & basketball courts, baseball field, nice walking trail, playground, restrooms.
Cons: Course has a couple weird flow issues. After finishing #9, you pass the basket for #11, on your way to #10 tee pad. After finishing #12, the closest tee pad is #15. Also, several holes throw at each other in opposite directions.
- A couple wooded holes have extremely narrow fairways. #6 especially has no natural fairway, plus a huge puddle/water retention area. #2 & 7 could also use a little clearing.
- Tee pads are a bit short. Not a problem on most holes, but it is a factor on 300 ft+ holes that require a longer run up.
- Some holes might interfere with other park goers. The most obvious example is #18 that requires you throwing over the walking trail and bridge. Also #2 & 4 come close to houses & backyards. It shouldn't be an issue, but worth noting.
Other Thoughts: This is the second-best place in town to find cheetahs, gazelles, leopards & rhynos. After the NC Zoo, of course.
- This is a solid neighborhood park course. Even though it's relatively short, it's no pushover. On a good day, you can score really low here. On the days you're off your game, you'll be fighting for your pars.
- #16 & 17 (especially #17) seemed to be the only real pushover/easy holes on the course. The park seemed to have a little more room to make a couple better holes.
- The course is short enough that you can squeeze in a round in no time. I played 2 rounds in 90 minutes.
- My favorite hole is #10. The longest on the course (360 ft), requires a throw over tall grass (at least when it's not winter, as seen in the pic) and around a tree to a slight dogleg left fairway. Basket is up a slight hill, so the hole plays a little longer than listed. Depending on how often the tall grass is cut, you might have to spend a little extra time searching for a disc that doesn't find the fairway.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.