Asheboro, NC 
North Asheboro Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #7
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Trey133

5+    1/9/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Great use of large treetops for a couple tunnel ideas. (12 and 16)
Interesting hole layouts with long and short shots.
Forgiving pars for newer players.
Bathrooms and vending machines there that the course kinda centers itself around.
Cons: This course has heavy non disc golf foot traffic.
Holes 5, 8, 9, 16, 17, 18 all contend with other people using the park (mostly soccer games).
Disc theives wait under the hill at hole 9, they usually can't speak english (latino) and will NOT stop running.
This course gets sopping wet in the rain and doesn't dry up very well. VERY muddy at times.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 is the most challenging birdie on the course.
Couple bombs that are very scenic!
Great course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Quick play

2-4    12/29/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and bright signs on top of the baskets make navigation and spotting the baskets easy. Most holes are short and playing for par can be fairly easy. Several of the holes play through some wooded hills and add some challenge. A couple are almost chuck and pray holes, but the woods aren't so bad as to leave you without hope on your second shot. Several shots on the back nine that play through mostly open fields with just a few trees to navigate around.
Cons: Not any real intersesting or unique holes. Not much length to the course. Several of the holes can be wet and muddy almost all the time. I played last summer and now in winter and they were damp both times. Not a swamp but something to deal with.
Other Thoughts: A nice little course, and worth playing if you are in the area. Godd place to bring your mid range and putters. Not worth a long drive, but if you heading down 64 stop in and give it a try, it's a quick play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 You can score well here

2-4    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine holes are wooded and pretty much alternate from slightly wooded, to thread the needle wooded. These holes present a good challenge by requiring accuracy however none are very long as the average hole length is approx 235 feet.

The back nine is open with few trees and rolling hills. There are two or three over 300 but the rest of them are still pretty short.

The park seemed to be very clean and really didn't have a problem getting three rounds in with four people playing as it is a short course and an easy walk. The course starts and ends at the parking lot and is easy enough to navigate. There is a bathroom and vending machines as well.
Cons: For a newer player like myself there really aren't any cons. I honestly think it provides enough challenge for the more experienced player also however you will need to leave the destroyers and bosses at home!
Other Thoughts: I let my friend use a champ JK Valk that I had and he threw it in the brush on hole 10. It had been raining and the whole right side of the fairway was like a marsh. Needless to say three people with soaking wet feet and I still didn't get my disc back. Even if it is dry the brush over there is thick so be wary. As long as you can throw it over no need to worry but if you don't have the arm for it throw to the left of the tree and go for the safe three.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North Asheboro DGC

5+    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: aj4heels
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very solid course as it has nearly every shot and gives you a different look on each hole. This is my home course so I play it quite often and still can't seem to have that perfect round of scoring. There is a great balance of wooded and open holes as well. There is plenty of shade within the course which makes for a very scenic round.
Cons: You might run into some hispanic soccer games in the fairways of 9, 10, and 11 but typically they'll pause while you throw over. #1 is annoying because you won't really be able to see the basket unless you know where you are looking.
Other Thoughts: This course can beat you up, or you can have great round, sometimes in the same day. # 2 plays to be the hardest hole on the course, and rightfully so, it plays as an uphill narrow anhyzer, or right hand flick, it's a strange window that is not always easy to hit.
# 9 is also a very challenging hole with a set of trees shaped like a crescent moon guarding the basket.
Be smart on # 10 if you can throw a 300' RHBH hyzer shot then you should be fine going over the junk, but if you're not confident then don't throw there because it'll be a miracle to find your disc.
# 11 plays shorter than it looks so make sure not to throw it too far past because you'll be in the creek.
#13 is tough to make a 2 on but I don't seem to have trouble ever getting a 3, you can go either backhand or flick but neither one is a walk in the park.
#14 has a really good hyzer line that most people don't see the first few times but be smart to not overthrow that shot.
# 8 and # 15 are most likely the holes that you will see the least amount of 2's on.
You should be able to finish the course with 3 birdie's but the window's for 16 and 17 are much smaller now with the leaves hanging down.
Sometimes I love this course, sometimes I hate it, no matter what though I will respect it.
As a last note there is not a hole on the course that I haven't 2'd or seen 2'd. The main thing is to go out there have some fun and throw enough good shots to keep you coming back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginners Course

1    6/10/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: tmgoff
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The local parks department has done disc golf proud with this liitle course. The ebb and flow of the course is logical with only a minor spot of confusion coming up as you move from holes 11, 12, and 13.
Cons: The tee boxes are all abbreviated and could be ankle breakers for those accustomed to full length run ups.
Other Thoughts: Every hole on this course is a par 3, regardless of how they might be marked and so, number 17 if I remember correctly, is obsurdly short, an open 170 to the pin. I wouldn't 'road trip' for this course but if you live in and around Asheboro and you're interested in learning the game this is a perfect course to cut your teeth on.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 north asheboro DGC

2-4    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: braxtynh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course has good elevation changes and variation of of wooded and open holes. very good pin placement overall.
Cons: some holes have "luck shots". you pretty much have to throw a disc and hope it lands near the pin without hitting numerous trees. hole 10 can get rahter tricky. it has swampy like grass and mud to the right of the fairway.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun, unbusy course

2-4    4/26/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had lots of variety. The front 9 are almost all heavily wooded with "interesting" pin locations. The back nine are much more open, but still have obstacle,low branch, trees around the pin to keep things interesting.

The course isn't very populated so you can really take your time. I also found it to be one of the more scenic courses in the area.
Cons: As I alluded to earlier, some of the necessary lines on the front nine are a little unrealistic, at least in contrast to the difficulty of the remaining course. Some of the baskets on the back nine have the holes surrounded by trees. No one is going to be able to get it between a chosen 2 foot gap from 300ft so it seems like a cheap way to make things difficult. It ruins your chance at an ace.
Other Thoughts: If you go right on hole 10, you will end up in a massive swamp. DON'T DO THIS.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf oasis

5+    1/5/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2014
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety, some wooded, some open, some short, some decently long. Great for beginners because your chances of losing a disc are nil and the holes are fairly short. The elevation changes and variety keep experienced players happy. Seldom crowded. Well maintained. You get a good laugh at locals playing with dollar store frisbees from time to time (At least I do).
Cons: Not extremely challenging or long, gets swampy so wear some boots. Mexicans tend to play soccer across the fairways of 9, 10, and 11 during the summer but they'll politely halt for you if you ask. The right side of the fairway on 10 is permanently muddy and rife with briers and avoid turning your disc over too much or it will sail over a barbed wire fence or you'll have to use your ninja skills to get it back. I've been asked just about every time I've played what I'm playing so if you don't like to be bothered when disc golfing be prepared. This course is slowly but surely starting to miss some tee signs and get slightly trashier but not enough to knock it down, I pick up most of the trash anyway.

The concrete tees are a major botch job, they're rough enough that hard pivoting on them all day will hurt your knees. I'm working on remedying that.

The course is gaining in popularity and that's increasing the negative nature of holes 17 and 18, which aren't great designs to begin with with their close proximity to ball fields, sidewalks and bridges. They throw over sidewalks which is a no-no in my book, especially in a park that is increasing in popularity with other park goers. Waiting for safety is becoming an issue.
Other Thoughts: The infamous hawk is no longer around seemingly. The posted distances don't seem quite right on some holes, might just be me. This is my home course now, I learned on Castle Hayne. I tend to score a 10 under at Asheboro and a 1-2 over at Castle Hayne if that tells you anything about the difficulty. Got my first ace on hole 6, nice hole, hyzer flipped a Sidewinder.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A very good course with very little to improve

1    8/23/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a real pleasure to play. Overall I'd say that it's very good and lots of fun, but it just lacks any stellar qualities. It's got one set of tees and one basket position. The fairways are very good with lots of shape variety (4 St/ 6 Lt/ 7 R/ 1 S). There's very well balanced elevation variety (2 Flat/ 8 Up/ 8 D), but the biggest elev. change is only 15 ft. There is very nice terrain with good variety (9 Woods/ 9 Mixed). I really liked the old hard woods and pines mixed with well manicured grass on some holes; holes 12-17 are in a nice arboretum. I thought the front nine holes were a little better than the back nine, but I tend to like wooded holes more than open shots. Almost all of the holes are good, and some are quite good, but none really make you say, "Wow!". The tee signs were good, but basic. The concrete tees were fine but a little short. I loved the Mach V baskets, and one of the best touches is that each hole has a large round number elevated by a pole for extra visibility. It was easy to navigate with helpful directional markers. It's also got all of the amenities covered-- a very good warm up basket; an online map that's adequate, if basic; a message board with a large map; restrooms; score cards online (but the pars are very questionable); some park trash cans.
Cons: One of the really positive aspects of this course is that there are no serious flaws. There's really very little that needs to be improved here.
Hole 17 is a short, open, lackluster hole.
There are a few potential safety issues that might arise during tournaments if there are lots of people there.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.) It's short for White level players, though, so that makes it easier to score lower. This makes it fun for shorter throwing players (like me).

Course Difficulty: 5 (out of 10)

You be the judge-
If there was a second set of longer tees I'd bump the rating up.
The hole lengths are rather weighted toward holes in the 200-299 ft range (2<199/ 11 of 200-299/ 5 of 300-360).

This course is certainly worth a visit. If it was closer to me I'd play it often.

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section there for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Easily in my Favorites

8/6/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course. It reminds me a lot of OT Sloan (course near me), except that it has elevation and more wide open holes. The baskets were DGA New II Baskets. They had poles extending from the top with number plates attached. This made the baskets easier to spot. The course included a practice basket near the first tee. There was a large information board with rules, a course map, and distance /par for each hole. The tees were 3ft X 6ft raised concrete surrounded by gravel. There were signs at the tee with par and distance on them, but not a map. The course equipment had a very professional appearance. The course was beautifully maintained with restrooms, shelters, and other amenities (swimming pool, tennis courts, ball field). The first 9 holes were wooded and most of the remaining holes were out in the open with trees protecting baskets and providing obstacles to navigate.
Hole# 2 was a nice anhyzer shot to a basket tucked slightly off to the right, but the next hole required a much harder anhyzer turn than the previous hole. The 4th hole was an uphill shot to a strategically placed basket. The 5th hole was bordered by the tennis courts on the left and thick wood line to the right. The basket was tucked to the right at the end of the wood line. This was the most open hole on the front 9. The 7th hole was a straight shot towards the basket 188ft away. The alley way towards the pin was very tight but gave alleys to attack the basket with your putter. The 9th hole was a wonderful hole. The tee is on one end of a hill with a two trees forming a field goal at the other end. Once your drive bursts through the field goal, it finds a meadow at the bottom of the hill. The basket is surrounded by a cresent shaped grove of trees that shield it from the drive. The back 9 is weaved through a meadow with trees and a creek that winds through it. The 13th hole was an uphill shot with many trees between the tee and basket. There are both hyzer and anhyzer paths to the basket, but you need to be accurate to weave through obstacles. The 14th hole has a hard anhyzer path that appears to be the intended route, but there is the possibility of going right to left over a road that moves through the park. The 15th hole gives a nice s-shaped flight to the basket that is tucked slightly to the left. The 17th hole is an easy 172ft shot that really has no obstacle to the basket. There is a small tree that can easily be avoided. The 18th hole is over the creek with trees strategically blocking a straight flight attack.
Cons: There are only five holes over 300ft, but what this course lacks in length is compensated by character. The tee signs could have added maps, but the baskets are visible enough that they really aren't necessary. Most of the transitions from green to tee are easy to follow as they are relatively close to each other, but the transition from #4 and #5 is a little tricky. The 5th tee is on the corner of the tennis courts near the wood line. I have only one real complaint. I prefer larger tees, but they were large enough for most holes. The real problem comes from the gravel surrounding these tees. It ends up on top of the tee and filling in the rough finish. This can cause a slippery situation if you aren't careful. I found myself pulling up short on my drives because of the uncertainty of my footing.
Other Thoughts: This course has every type of shot represented. It is the type of course that I would travel the 3hrs back to play again and again. It doesn't have 700ft holes or shots over large bodies of water, but it is fun. If you haven't played it, then do. If you have played it, then do it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.